July 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom
Powered by InsaneJournal

Previous 20 | Next 20

May. 6th, 2017


[info]katara

| o81 |

Title: The Dark God's Bride (The Dark God's Bride #1)
Author: Dahlia Lu, Dahlia L. Summers
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 2, 2017 to May 6, 2017
Book Summary: An ancient god on a destructive path of vengeance...

Imprisoned by the Archangel Lucifer ages ago, Summit, the Dark God, wanted nothing less than equivalent retribution. After breaking free and successfully retaining some splintered shards of his sanity, Summit set out to confront Lucifer. The Archangel was nowhere to be found. He has, however, left behind his most coveted mortal bride. The Dark God stormed into Hell to capture Lucifer's one and only weakness, but inadvertently abducted the wrong female - his own.

A reluctant heroine...

As a mortal raised among the demons inside a floating castle in Hell, Amara's life is not exactly what you would call normal. When she finds herself abducted by a half-mad god, who mistook her for the woman who brought her up, Amara chooses to hide her identity to protect her foster mother at the risk of her own life.
Book Review: I have had this book on my Nook for quite some time and I thought I would take a moment to check it out. This was truly a little gem of a book.

Our story opens as the dark god Summit awakens. He has no memory of who he is only that Lucifer had locked him away. He hears that Lucifer has taken a mortal for a bride and he decides that he is going to kidnap her. Unfortunately for him, he actually kidnaps the wrong woman. Amara is actually the foster daughter of Lucifer's wife.

During the beginning, he begins to call himself Noctis since he really does not remember who he is and takes Amara to a group of Lycans thinking that she will be harmed or even maybe killed. Unfortunately for him, he comes back to find her in the middle of a game of strip poker.

There are moments of where Amara does try twice to escape him and he always brings her back. She does her best to annoy the hell out of him and he wants nothing more than to kill her in front of Lucifer for revenge but we do so see a change come. He starts to find himself caring for her and she the same.

But that cliffhanger - I just was not expecting. At least now, it has me curious about reading the next book in this series.

I actually pleased with this book. I found it to be a rare gem of a book and a great read. I tend to have these little gem books under piles of books that are bestsellers and normally these little gems are great to get away from the mainstream area of books. If you want a book to get away with, then this one would definitely be one to consider.

May. 5th, 2017


[info]katara

| o80 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #19
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), J. Bone (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator), Bret Blevins (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 5, 2017
Book Summary: “DEADLY SIN” finale! Harley Sinn’s shown Harley her absolute worst…but she-and you-are not ready to see Harley Quinn’s rage unleashed! This one will shock you to your core! And in the backup story, “Harley Loves Joker” part three, a simpler time in the past for Harley and The Joker becomes much more complicated when they’re forced to mix it up with Batman!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

This issue continues where the last one left off.

We find out anti-heroine, Harley, tied up and bleeding in a room filled with broken bones and skulls. With a little help from a sort of talking-skull/ghost, she frees herself and heads off in search of weapons.

The other anti-hero, Red Tool, has found out where they have Harley and has gone to rescue her on his own. Of course you know this never ends quite well on Red Tool's part and he blasted right out the building.

Harley heads up to find the ones responsible for not only her kidnapping but also the murders of those missing people. She finds the final boss at the top and a nice little Harley-style climatic fight ensues with the bad guy in more pain than anything but that has always been Harley's way - give pain when they given you pain first.

This comic was a nice little wrap up. Harley is really growing on me. I like how her character continues to get fleshed out ever a bit more with each issue. I am quite looking forward to seeing what the next storyline brings to the table and what Harley will be getting herself into next.

[info]katara

| o79 |

Title: Jean Grey (2017-) #1
Author: Dennis Hopeless, Victor Ibañez (Illustrator), David Yardin (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 4, 2017 to May 5, 2017
Book Summary: When a teenage JEAN GREY traveled through time and arrived in the present, she learned the terrible fate that befell her predecessor: Possessed by a cosmic entity called the Phoenix, Jean was trapped in an endless cycle of life and death. Determined to escape that future, Jean set out to write her own destiny. But now, she's visited by a premonition that the Phoenix is coming for her…and in this new ongoing series by DENNIS HOPELESS (ALL-NEW X-MEN, SPIDER-WOMAN, X-MEN: SEASON ONE) and VICTOR IBANEZ (EXTRAORDINARY X-MEN, STORM), she's going to fight tooth and nail to escape becoming its next victim!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

This is not the Jean Grey you know.

This is not the Jean Grey whom was consumed by the Phoenix and died time and time again.

This Jean Grey does not want to become that Jean Grey and she is going to do everything possible to change her entire destiny but she is having these promonitions that that the Phoenix is coming for her and that there may not be any escape from it.

I haven't picked up X-Men comics in over twenty years and I thought I would return to the X-Men universe with this issue. This issue introduced me to another Jean Grey. Since I haven't followed the X-Universe in a long time, I am a bit confused as to why this Jean Grey was ripped from her world and brought to this one but I suppose as the issue progresses I will find out.

Still this issue has promise as Jean Grey navigates through this new world as she tries to change her life so that she will not share the same fate as the other Jean Grey. I am quite looking forward to seeing how this story pans out and to see if Jean and can even keep the Phoenix force at bay.

May. 4th, 2017


[info]katara

| o78 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 1: The Night of the Nasty Nostril Nuggets (Captain Underpants #6)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 2, 2017 to May 4, 2017
Book Summary: The sixth "epic novel" in Dav Pilkey's hugely popular series explains the awful truth about Captain Underpants (he is really the school principal), details "the night of the nasty nostril nuggets," offers up "the unnecessarily disgusting chapter," and even explains how "you can't have your cape and Edith, too."
George and Harold are "C" students (and bad spellers), but they are very good at "saving the entire planet from the nasty forces of unrelenting evil" and also at ketchup-toilet pranks. Unfortunately, they can't save Melvin Sneedly from getting paddled by his bionic hamster. But, frankly, they wouldn't want to, because besides being the school brainiac, Melvin is also a tattletale. When his robot-making hobby backfires horribly, Melvin transforms himself into the Bionic Booger Boy instead of a bionic superboy. Can Captain Underpants save everyone from this "greenish, glistening behemoth?"
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Our heroes, Harold and George, are back and this time they set out to teach the class how to do a "squishy". Of course this excites the rest of the class and even Ms. Ribble, who has changed much of her personality due to events from the last book.Unfortunately for everyone in the class is halted by Melvin Sneedly, the school's brainiac, who refuses to let anyone out the door until he has shown off his Combine-O-Tron 2000 during the class's demonstration speech.

However, the class is less interested and more interested in heading to the cafeteria for ketchup. This seems to annoy Melvin, who is determined to show off his invention. Once he has had Sulu the hamster undergo a groundbreaking transformation, Melvin proceeds to demonstrat with the hamster but Sulu doesn't obey. Instead, Sulu proceeds to spank Melvin sending Melvin running off in tears.

The class celebrates the end and the rest of the class follows after him chanting "Squishes!" but not George and Harold. They stay behind with the hamster. They offer to take Sulu home with them and the hamster takes them up on the offer.

Mr. Krupp is in a foul mood. He demands coffee from Miss Anthrope, who tells him to get it himself. This seems to only fuel Mr. Krupps mood as he heads to the bathroom. There at the door is Ms. Ribble, who is trying to hold back her laughter until she hears Krupp yell about having ketchup on his underwear.

Mr. Krupp heads off to find George and Harold and blames them for the new fad going around the school. Harold, who is sitting at the lunch table with George and several other members of their class, tells him they had nothing to do with it and even another speaks up for them. Unfortunately Melvin takes this moment to stick his nose and tell Mr. Krupp that they had taught the class the prank. Mr. Krupp sends the kids to the detention.

While in detention, the two boys create a new comic called "Captain Underpants and the Terrifying Tale of Tattle-Tron 2000" with Melvin as the villain character. The class loves it but not Melvin, who is angry at being portrayed by the two boys in their comic that he storms home to invent something that would make him much cooler than George and Harold. It is too bad though that Melvin's allergies (triggered by the cat). As he sets his invention on to become combined with the robot, his allergies make an unfortunate appearance adding to the transformation.

The next day, George and Harold bring Sulu to school to show their class what they have taught the hamster. It is during this moment that Melvin enters as a Bionic Booger Boy. From there hilarity ensues as the cold and flu season makes it dreadful appearance.

This was another fun read. I had been waiting for quite some time to see Melvin become the next villain of sorts. This time his need for attention and to prove that he can be cooler than George and Harold was his undoing. Instead of taking a moment to think things through, he went and created something that had dire consequences especially since his allergies were acting up. Yet, George and Harold proved once again to be the heroes that Captain Underpants should be and that is the hilarity of it all. This is still their mess and they still have to continue to keep Mr. Krupp from learning what they have done to him.

I have really come to love this series. The things these two kids do is funny as hell and there is always some moral lying underneath the rubble of each book.

May. 2nd, 2017


[info]katara

| o77 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Woman (Captain Underpants, #5)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 1, 2017 to May 2, 2017
Book Summary: George and Harold are having a normal kind of week. Yesterday they found out they were going to flunk fourth grade. Today they've created an evil, super-powerful monster. The Wicked Wedgie Woman is on a mission to take over the world ... and she'll give a whopping wedgie to anyone who stands in her way! Watch out!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

George and Harold are back once again and this time so is the Hypno ring that got them here in the first place.

Their prank this time revolves around their teacher, whom they use the Hypno ring on. Unfortunately for Harold and George they were not paying attention to the news. The news told them that the rings worked differently upon women and caused them to do the opposite of things. So now their teacher is Wicked Wedgie Woman and she wants to get rid of Captain Underpants. So she sets out her two robots (that look exactly like Harold and George) to find him.

This series never seems to have a dull moment. There is always something going on and Harold and George never really seem to learn a lesson even at the end when they should. Yet if they did I doubt we would have these fun continuations. George and Harold are smart. Very smart for their young age and they are producing their own brand of comics to the masses at school.

But pranking seems to be their number one priority and keeping their teachers - as well as Mr. Krupps - on their toes.

I am sure some parents would see these books as a means to teach children that it is okay to misbehave and cause trouble but there is always a moral to these stories - there are always consequences to the trouble you make.

[info]katara

| o76 |

Title: Unamused Muse (Mt. Olympus Employment Agency: Muse #2)
Author: R.L. Naquin
Format: Epub
Rating: 3/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 30, 2017 to May 2, 2017
Book Summary: Wynter Greene, newly minted Muse at the Mt. Olympus Employment Agency, is on loan for six weeks to Hades, CEO of Underworld, LLC. Not a bad gig, if she doesn’t mind running errands across the River Styx. She hardly ever has to clean up after the three-headed dogs that guard the front gates. But she could do without so many people eager to fix her up on what literally amount to blind dates from Hell.

All Wynter wants to do is get her six weeks over with so she and Phyllis, her talking plant, can go home, and she can go back to work inspiring people. If she can keep from screwing up on this job, she’ll get a clean slate at Mt. Olympus.

Stripped of her Muse title, Wynter discovers she still can’t stop herself from inspiring people, even when the people she’s encouraging are supposed to be trapped in eternal torment.

Not the best way to win points with her new boss.
Book Review: Wynter is banished to the Underworld for six weeks. Upon her arrival, she learns that she will be taking over for a woman who is on maternity leave and she will be a personal assistant to the head of the Underworld itself, Hades. Her many tasks include walking the three-headed guard dogs and helping find fresh reading material for the Hags of the Underworld book club.

I must say the Hags of the Underworld book club was quite entertaining. I loved how she went up against the most powerful witches and actually won against them. It was a first for them to have anyone say anything remotely against them but Wynter seemed to have won this round.

Wynter's character was more fleshed out in this book. She seemed more the person who was embracing her role rather than how we first met her - nonchalant about the direction she was going in life.

Another bonus to this book is we learned a bit more about Wynter and her mother, Persephone. I honestly was surprised to find this out especially when the first book kept throwing out there the "unknown father" every chance it got. And even more, we learned exactly what the cause was for Persephone's odd behavior.

I am going to be honest. I actually thought the father was Bacchus. I know he is not entirely like Demeter in the way of nature but he does have a way with the plants. I mean if you stop to think about it he is the God of Wine, which is from grape vines. Okay so that might be different but if you stop to think about it it sort of made sense. I just was not expecting Persephone being the Goddess-mother. That sort of threw me off.

I really hope Wynter's character continues to develops more when she returns to the agency.

May. 1st, 2017


[info]katara

| o75 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants (Captain Underpants #4)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 1, 2017
Book Summary: Professor Pippy P. (Pee-Pee) Poopypants is a brilliant scientist, but his ridiculous name means no one takes his fantastic inventions seriously. And now he's on the rampage! He's armed with fiendish inventions Shrinky-Pig 2000 and the terrible Gerbil Jogger 2000. Can Captain Underpants stop him?
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Harold and George are back once again alongside Captain Underpants!

In this book, we find Professor P. Poopypants in Swissland (the country where everyone has a really hilarious name) and he has discovered the answer to both the world's trash and food problems. He decides to go to America to show off his invention but everyone just laughs at his name.

Over at Jerome Horwitz Elementary School, Mr. Fyde has decided that it is time to retire because he keeps hearing things that are causing him to question his sanity. This leaves open the position of Science teacher. Professor Poopypants takes up the job only to find that the children laugh at his name. He decides the best course is revenge and shrinks the school down. With the school at his mercy, he starts to make them change their names into something funny.

Of course, Captain Underpants with the help of his two sidekicks (can we even call them his sidekicks?), Harold and George, defeat the Professor.

This series only seems to get better and better with each book. I haven't found one yet that I have not liked. I found it hilarious when they had to change their names to please Professor Poopypants. Mr. Krupps became Lumpy Pottybiscuits while George and Harold become Fluffy and Cheeseball.

These books are funny and the illustrations are fun to look at as you read the book. If you are trying to get a child to read or know someone who is starting to read, these books would be a great addition to the collection.

Apr. 30th, 2017


[info]katara

| o74 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Invasion of the Incredibly Naughty Cafeteria Ladies from Outer Space and the Subsequent Assault of the Equally Evil Lunchroom Zombie Nerds (Captain Underpants #3)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 29, 2017 to April 30, 2017
Book Summary: Hooray for Captain Underpants! Everybody's favorite waistband warrior is back, ready to fight for Truth, Justice, and all that is Pre-Shrunk and Cottony. If you've read Dav Pilkey's first two comic epics, The Adventures of Captain Underpants and Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets, you already know the brave Captain is really just crabby old Principal Krupp, hypnotized into becoming the world's greatest superhero every time someone snaps their fingers. And of course you know the trouble-making hypnotists are none other than Jerome Horwitz Elementary School's two most notorious tricksters, George and Harold ("We rule!" "Me, too!").
Well, George and Harold--surprise, surprise--are at it again. The cranky lunch ladies quit after George and Harold fool them into baking super-volcanic krispy kupcakes that flood the school with gigantic green globs o' goo. Mr. Krupp finds replacements and fast, but he unwittingly hires the tentacled alien trio of Zorx, Klax, and Jennifer in disguise! Will they turn everyone in school into evil zombie nerds? Can George and Harold save the world before it's too late? All seems lost until the diabolical Zorx snaps his... um, tentacles in front of Mr. Krupp, and the power of wedgies comes to the rescue once again.

Captain Underpants's third outing is better than ever, with patented Flip-o-Rama animation and wacky bonus comics like "Captain Underpants--Wedgie Wars" and "Captain Underpants and the Night of the Living Lunch Ladies." (Ages 8 to 12) --Paul Hughes
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

George and Harold are back!

Our story opens with a meteor moving across the sky only to stop over the school and unseemingly disappear. When morning comes, no one seems to realize that the shooting star was actually a space ship carrying aliens bent on conqueroring the Earth (and one of them had funniest name!). So when Harold and George play a prank on the lunch ladies and the women quit, the aliens find it the perfect opportunity to begin with the kids and adults there. It is up to George and Harold (and Captain Underpants!) to save the day!

My opinion:

I have come to love these books. They are funny and I love watching George and Harold try to keep Captain Underpants from getting his backside kicked so many times. These books have even brought my nephew to sit with me just so we can read together.

I know these books are not aimed at adults and have been banned in most libraries but I think if people would take the time and read these with their children, I believe they would find them funny and engaging.

George and Harold are great pranksters but at the same time they are also getting a dose of Karma with turning Mr. Krupps into Captain Underpants. They are learning a lesson with this and doing everything they can to keep everyone from learning who Captain Underpants really is.

I am seriously looking forward to seeing how these books play out in the rest of the series.

[info]katara

| o73 |

Title: The Perfect Weapon (Star Wars (canon))
Author: Delilah S. Dawson
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 29, 2017 to April 30, 2017
Book Summary: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens with this exclusive ebook short story set shortly before the events of the film, featuring a quick-witted mercenary who takes big risks for bigger rewards—and now faces the challenge that will take her to the edge.

There are plenty of mercenaries, spies, and guns for hire in the galaxy. But probably none as dangerous and determined as Bazine Netal. A master of disguise—and lethal with a blade, a blaster, or bare handed—she learned from the best. Now it’s her turn to be the teacher—even if schooling an eager but inexperienced recruit in the tricks of her trade is the last thing she wants to do. But it’s the only way to score the ship she needs to pull off her latest job.

An anonymous client has hired Bazine to track down an ex-stormtrooper and recover the mysterious package he’s safeguarding. Payment for the mission promises to be astronomical, but the obstacles facing Bazine will prove to be formidable. And though her eager new sidekick has cyber skills crucial to the mission, only Bazine’s razor-sharp talents will mean the difference between success or failure—and life or death
Book Review: Real Rating: 3.5

This book follows the bounty hunter Bazine a.k.a. The Perfect Weapon. From childhood, she was trained to be the perfect foe...the perfect assassin. She is one not be trifled with and those who have, well, they have met their demise at her hands.

Our story opens on a cantina, Bazine is there to meet a mysterious client. After ridding herself of a few "admirers", she let up to a room where she is given a task to find a metal case. She takes the case and is saddled with a slicer named Orri Tenro on a ship called the Sparrowhawk. They head toward the planet of Vashk in search of this case.

My opinion on this:

Okay, I get it. She is a beautiful woman. She wears black. I got that several times already. You do not need to continously put this out there. We get it. We get it. Just please stop.

The thing I would have liked to know is her backstory. Her complete backstory. There are no mentions of her parents or even how she really ended up being with her mentor and turned into this assassin. This is pretty much something I would have loved to have gotten the story on. This book gave nothing of importance to her character.

This book was short and I suppose it was meant to be that way. I had high hopes that this book would reveal more but I found myself disappointed. I vould not even connect with Bazine in any way and I wish I could have. She has so much potential rather than being just in one scene of The Force Awakens. Maybe we might get something more and I will hang onto that hope.

Apr. 29th, 2017


[info]katara

| o72 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets (Captain Underpants #2)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 29, 2017
Book Summary: George and Harold are up to their usual tricks. Last time they hypnotized Principal Krupp into believing he was Captain Underpants. Now, by mistake, they bring to life the most disgusting, life-threatening monster -- the terrible Turbo Toilet 2000. Can anyone save the school from the terrifying attack of the Talking Toilets? Watch out world, big briefs are back!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

George and Harold are back.

And so is Captain Underpants.

Our story begins with there being an upcoming Invention fair at the school. Both Harold and George were in it last year when they invented a glue that sticks people to their chair. This, however, did not go well with the teachers and students and it certainly did not go well with Mr. Krupp. In fact, this year's invention competition finds both Harold and George banned from it.

All this thanks to Mr. Krupp.

But George and Harold are determined to enter and win the grand prize - one day of being Principal of the school. They sneak into the place where all the inventions are at but Melvin is there. Melvin shows them his invention - the PATSY 2000. This invention has the ability to take an image and bring it to life. Melvin demostrates this when he places an image of a mouse in the machine and the a mouse runs out. Harold and George are unimpressed and make Melvin promise not tell on them. Unfortunately this comes back to bit them when everyone's inventions fail and Melvin tells on them.

This, of course, delights, Mr. Krupps, who has been looking for reason to now put them in permanent detention.

But Harold and George invent a quick way to fill those chalk boards and work on their comic book at the same time but they need to print the book before the morning. They know they are not suppose to leave, but they do this anyways and head out to the copy machine. The teachers are in there so they decide to use Melvin's invention.

And that is where the fun begins!

My opinion:

This one was hilarious! I found myself laughing out loud this evening while I was waiting for my friend to get off work. Harold and George never seem to learn any lesson from the last time and unfortunately Mr. Krupp being Captain Underpants is not helping anything for the boys.

I love how Mr. Krupps is still unaware that he is the underwear hero and that his alter ego is just funny as hell. He keeps those boys on their toes and they have no idea when or where he is going to appear at the snap of a finger.

This book is definitely something I think parents should read with their kids. It would keep the entire family laughing at the antics the two boys are getting into. It is well worth it.

[info]katara

| o71 |

Title: The Adventures of Captain Underpants (Captain Underpants #1)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 28, 2017 to April 29, 2017
Book Summary: Pilkey plays with words and pictures, providing great entertainment. The story is immediately engaging—two fourth-grade boys who write comic books and love to pull pranks find themselves in big trouble. Mean Mr. Krupp, their principal, videotapes George and Harold setting up their stunts and threatens to expose them. The boys' luck changes when they send for a 3-D Hypno-Ring and hypnotize Krupp, turning him into Captain Underpants, their own superhero creation. Later, Pilkey includes several pages of flip-o-ramas that animate the action. The simple black-and-white illustrations on every page furnish comic-strip appeal. The cover features Captain Underpants, resplendent in white briefs, on top of a tall building. This book will fly off the shelves.
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Meet George and Harold.



These two fourth-grade students love playing pranks at school. They also love making their own comic book, Captain Underpants.



To distribute the comic to the rest of their school, they sneak into the office of the secretary and print them up. Unfortunately for these two, their principal, Mr. Krupp, is not a fan of children especially both Harold and George. He had been trying for quite some time to catch them in their act of pranking and one day, he gets his wish.



He brings to the two boys to his office and blackmails them into doing various chores at his home but the two boys are desperate to keep from being plummeted by their fellow classmates for ruining a football game and find a small ad in the paper for a hypno-ring.

When the ring comes in, they head to the principal's office to hypnotize him and it works!



Once they have him under their power, the two boys use their moment to not only get their things back but also to change Mr. Krupp, into first a chicken, and then a monkey, and finally their comic book superhero, Captain Underpants!



It is from there that all the hijinks ensue with Captain Underpants!

My opinion:

Although I am not the targeted audience with this book, it was a hilarious read. I found myself laughing out loud over the things these two kids get into with Captain Underpants. It was funny and fast-pace that kept you turning the page to the very end.

This would be a book that if you want to get your middle-grader reading. He or she would find it engaging and giggle at the parts of ensuing hijinks that makes Captain Underpants hilarious. George and Harold are pulled along for the ride as they try to keep Captain Underpants from getting into an assortment of trouble.

While reading this book, my nephew found himself interested when I started giving him small spoilers to the book that he came over to read beside me. This not normal for him. Although he does read on his own, he is often picky when it comes to books but I think now he may sit down with my Nook and read something other than the Percy Jackson books over and over again.

Seriously let your child read this book. You won't regret it especially once you hear them laughing.

Apr. 28th, 2017


[info]katara

| o70 |

Title: Unfinished Muse (Mt. Olympus Employment Agency: Muse #1)
Author: R.L. Naquin
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 22, 2017 to April 28, 2017
Book Summary: Wynter Greene is a chronic quitter—in work, in life, and in love. When she quits a job, a boyfriend, and a seemingly minor craft project all in one day, the dormant deity blood in her veins triggers a Welcome Package from the gods. A talking—and singing—houseplant named Phyllis bullies Wynter into taking a job at the Mt. Olympus Employment Agency.

Stuck with a job in the Muse department, Wynter discovers that helping others finish what they start isn’t easy, especially for someone who can’t seem to finish anything of her own. And how is Wynter supposed to focus on anything when that guy from the Dreams and Nightmares department keeps distracting her with his rippling muscles and magnetic stare?

Wynter needs to figure her job out soon. Each failure is a tick mark on her record, and if she continues to miss her deadlines, she’ll be reassigned to the Underworld as a dog walker.

And scooping poop for a giant three-headed dog is nobody’s ideal career.
Book Review: Real Rating: 3.5

Meet Wynter Greene, chronic quitter extraordinaire. She has recently decided to terminate her job and cut ties with her boyfriend. Of course during this moment of madness, she finds out that her plant, Phyllis, can talk and coaxes her into going to an agency that could help her find something worthy. What Phyllis does not tell her is that the agency she sends her to is connected to world where Gods and mythical creatures are real.

Wynter learns that somewhere down the line she has the blood of the Greek Gods running through her veins. On top of that, she has no knowledge of who her father is and her mother refuses to tell her anything about him.

When Wynter survives orientation and the tasks set for she and others, she is assigned to the Muse department. She only gets one day training and her next tasks are three people - a toothpick artist, a scrapbook maker, and a urban developer. She has to inspire each one of these before the deadline. If she does not, she will be reassigned to the Underworld.

But can a chronic quitter accomplish this fete?

My opinion:

I am not sure what to think of Wynter at this moment. I could not find myself connecting her in any way as I had with Patrice until nearly the very end of the book. I am not sure if it was the whole nonchalant approach to life or what. Part of me had to put the book down and come back to it because Wynter was becoming frustrating and the story just became a chore to read.

The only thing that I really enjoyed about this book was the concept of the whole agency that had been built by the Greek Gods. It was fun and one of the most interesting ideas I had seen yet. In this book, it was a bit more fleshed out than it had been in the Gorgon series. I suppose it would be with the many more pages this novel had than that with Patrice's story.

I will read the next book in this series. I hoping that by the time I finish with that one I will be able to connect further with Wynter but we will see.

Apr. 22nd, 2017


[info]katara

| o69 |

Title: Lost & Found (Undercover Gorgon #2)
Author: R.L. Naquin
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 22, 2017
Book Summary: Word is getting around about Patrice’s illegal, after-hours sleuthing. Circe, a fierce and dangerous witch, has lost track of her only daughter and insists that Patrice track the girl down. Patrice can’t refuse the job, since Circe is threatening to rat her out to the bosses upstairs, but at least there’s a large wad of cash involved.

The clues lead everywhere and nowhere, and the search causes serious complications to Patrice’s fledgling romance with a certain blue-eyed delivery guy.

Unfortunately, things aren’t what they seem, and somebody may be pulling a fast one at Patrice’s expense.
(less)
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Patrice is settling into life at the Mt Olympus Employment Agency just nicely with the exception of her extracurricular activities in the after hours. Now Circe, the second most powerful witch, has come to her needing her help. She makes Patrice an offer she cannot refuse - help her find her missing daughter or the big bosses will know what she is up to. Patrice has no choice but to go on the hunt for Kyra, Circe's daughter. With the help of her roommate, Lizzy, Patrice will have to navigate through the worldof the Olympian night clubs to find her!

Have I mentioned these are just so fun to read? They really are and I always find myself wanting more at the end. These stories are really nice but I am sad that they are really short. I would love to see them be a bit more longer. Patrice's character development has a lot of potential for much more growing and I would love to see exactly how she interacts with the others and not just those that she has to approve their applications. I mean, she hooked up with the Sphinx but I want to know how did it happen? When did it happpen? I know it was short-lived because of riddles but was there a bit more that could have happened?

There are so many questions that have not been answered and I would love to see what Patrice is capable of and I would love to see more of the Gods and Goddesses of Olympus.

[info]katara

| o68 |

Title: Witches War (Undercover Gorgon #1)
Author: R.L. Naquin
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 22, 2017
Book Summary: ********Be sure to read “Episode #0, Becoming”********

Patrice is finally comfortable in her life as a gorgon. By day, she rules the Mt. Olympus reception area with a fist of iron, a glare of stone, and a headful of snakes. After hours, she sneaks around “borrowing” magical items from other departments to aid in her secret missions to help people behind the scenes.

She thinks she’s covered her tracks until a powerful goddess comes to her for a favor. If Patrice agrees to help, she could start a war with all the witches of ancient Greece.

But if she refuses, she could anger the most powerful witch of all.
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Meet Patrice, who upon turning twenty. found out she was a descendant of Medusa, the fierce queen of the Gorgons. Patrice is whisked away from her home and her parents and placed in a world of mythological Gods and Goddesses and mythical creatures.

Here she becomes part of the Mt. Olympus Employment Agency. Her job as a receptionist puts her in an unique position. She gets to bark out orders and help out those who need her but Patrice has a side hobby - she likes to "borrow" magical items and help out others with odd jobs. Her last odd job was removing a basilisk from under a porch.

Now a powerful Goddess has come to ask her for help retrieve something that was taken from her. If Patrice refuses, it could be the end of her. So what is a Gorgon to do?

Have mentioned that I love this series? It may be short and sweet but it keeps you turning the pages until the end. I absolutely love the way the mythology is used. It is fun and unique and enjoyable. Patrice is an interesting and put in a spot where she knows she cannot refuses a Goddess. Plus the Goddess knows of her late-night borrowing of magical items.

I had never read anything by R.L. Naquin before but I think now I have found another favorite author!

[info]katara

| o67 |

Title: Becoming (Undercover Gorgon 0)
Author: R.L. Naquin
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 22, 2017
Book Summary: ********This story was included in Transmonstrified and Unfinished Muse. If you’ve already read “Undercover Gorgon” in either of those books, skip this and wait for “Episode #1—Witches War” coming in December 2015.********


Episode #0—Becoming


Patrice has never been comfortable in her own skin. At midnight on her twentieth birthday, her magical Stealth Insurance lapses, leaving her with a headful of live snakes and an aversion to bright light. Now she understands why being human never felt quite right.


Finally in the green skin the gods intended for her, Patrice moves into her new life as a receptionist at the Mt. Olympus Employment Agency. The day job sucks. But sometimes, a problem comes across Patrice’s desk she believes only she can solve. After hours, the magical items in the offices upstairs are left hanging on the walls unused. Who’s going to notice if she borrows a pair of winged sneakers, an arrow tipped with love dust, or a pair of enchanted scissors?


Everything will work out fine—as long as she doesn’t get caught.
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Meet Patrice, who upon turning twenty, found out she was not human at all. In fact, her parents had been keeping a secret from her. The moment her insurance failed she found out that she was a descendant of Medusa, the cursed gorgon. Patrice is not cursed like Medusa was. She won't turn people to stone but her eyes will be sensitive to light.

Patrice is whisked away and finds herself as the receptionist for the Mt. Olympus Employment Agency. Here everything goes through her. One day, a woman comes in with a problem - she has a basilisk living under her porch and she is afraid to let her cat out. Patrice learns that there had been another basilisk but the exterminator that had been sent killed it. So instead of sending another exterminator out, Patrice goes out to take care of it herself. In fact, she even friends it, taking it someplace where it will live peacefully.

And for now, no one seems to know what she has done.

This was a really nice short novella to introduce you to the series. I found myself liking Patrice and I love that she still cares for snake-like creatures that she went out of her way to save the basilisk on her own. It might have been against her job and the agency rules but she still did it. Perhaps not all of her humanity has vanished.

I have a great love for mythology and I have to say that it was Rick Riordan that renewed that love with his Percy Jackson series. I think this small series (can I call it a small series?) will continue that love. It has been fun and enjoyable and I quite looking forward to reading the other two to this one.

Apr. 20th, 2017


[info]katara

| o66 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #18
Author: Paul Dini, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), Amanda Conner (Illustrator), J. Bone (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator), Joseph Linsner (Illustrator), Bret Blevins (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 20, 2017
Book Summary: “Deadly Sin” part two! How can Harley protect somebody who’s vanished into witness protection? Unfortunately, Harley Sinn has a lead that she doesn’t! And in “Harley Loves Joker” part two, Harley tries to make it up to her puddin’ after her colossal blunder—but The Joker’s wrath is not easily soothed!
Book Review: Real Rating: 3.5

This issue picks up where the last one has left off.

Harley has been kidnapped! Red Tool chases after the car that has Harley in it but he is foiled when the police set their sights on him, forcing him to take refuge behind a statute. He calls in to Eggy, who tells him that he does not have to go rescue Harley alone...that he can round up the gang to help. Of course, Red Tool has no patience to wait and heads off to rescue Harley on his own.

Mix in a Batgirl from the future (a storyline looking to appear soon?) and the Mayor trying to rid the city of the homeless via cannibals!

My opinion:

There seemed to be no action whatsoever in it. It felt a bit stalled. Yeah, we know we need to set up the climatic scenes that will lead to the end of this storyline since we have another part of a storyline set up!

I should be used to such tactics but this comic book did nothing for me. It was boring and I nearly put it down to get ready for work but I needed to see if there was just something that would give hint as to why there was an interest in Harley's kidnapping. Yeah, I know it is because she was investigating and the mayor wanted her out of the way but who is the one really behind all of this. There is always the main boss.

I am hoping the series picks up again with the next issue and that there will be more than just a filler.

Apr. 18th, 2017


[info]katara

| o65 |

Title: Darth Vader, Vol 4: End of Games (Star Wars Disney Canon Graphic Novel Darth Vader #4)
Author: Kieron Gillen, Salvador Larroca (Illustrations)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 18, 2017
Book Summary: Darth Vader has been secretly pursuing his own agenda, but now it is time for the End of Games. As Inspector Thanoth returns with some startling information, it seems that Vader may have passed his master's tests. But even after finding favor in the eyes of the Emperor, the Dark Lord's schemes may yet prove his undoing... Plus, the killer droids Triple-Zero and Beetee wreak havoc in their own homicidal adventure! Marvel's in-depth exploration of the Dark Side of Star Wars goes from strength to strength!

COLLECTING: DARTH VADER 20-25
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

This books ends with the last several issues of the comic series, Darth Vader.

The droids, Triple Zero and Beetee, have been sent out to capture Doctor Aphra. Once she is captured, she decides it is time to tell exactly what Vader has been secretly doing behind the back of the Emperor.

Vader returns to Palpatine and learns the reason behind everything. As a Master/Apprentice, Palpatine wanted to make sure that he had chosen the right person to turn to the Dark Side of the Force. He believed that by orchestrating all of this, he believed by teaching Vader that Vader would not disappoint him in the least. Of course, Vader delivers and Palpatine believes he has become what he has desired in an Apprentice.

Cylo has escaped and Palpatine sends Vader once more out on the mission to destroy him. Vader does exactly what he was told to do and destroys Cylo completely but not without complications. Vader is captured and deactivated.

Or at least what Cylo believes Vader to be. Unfortunately while "deactivated", the Sith inside him destroys any remains of his humanity before regaining control to destroy Cylo.

When Vader returns he finds that Alphra has made the Emperor's acquaintance and this displeases Vader immensely because he does not want the Emperor to know of his side plan to find Luke. Of course Alphra does not tell and the Emperor is even more proud of Vader building up his own army, but Vader is still displeased by this act of betrayal. He has her follow him where she tells him that she did not tell the Emperor of his little side job of trying to find Skywalker. Still, Vader is displeased that he pushes Aphra into an airlock and sets her out into space.

Think that was the end of Aphra? Think again. She is rescued by the two homicidal droids and the Wookie Bounty Hunter.

As for Vader, he goes to Tatooine and while waiting for two Bounty Hunters, he destroys an entire village of Tusken Raiders....or he so thoughts..?

This was the perfect ending to the series. It was nice to see the change in Vader between Episodes IV and V. To see him destroy the last remanents of his humanity was interesting. I never thought he would resort to something like that but maybe he didn't entirely kill it off as it does appear once more in Episode VI. Maybe at the moment, he thought he had but those moments with Luke might have brought that part of him rearing back to life. I would love to see this series continue inbetween Episode V and VI. It would be interesting to see what exactly he was doing there too.

[info]katara

| o64 |

Title: Darth Vader, Vol 3: The Shu-Torun War (Star Wars Disney Canon Graphic Novel Darth Vader #3)
Author: Kieron Gillen, Salvador Larroca (Illustrations), Leinil Francis Yu (Illustrator), Kaare Andrews (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: /5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 18, 2017
Book Summary: The Dark Lord of the Sith's unstoppable march continues! The natives of Shu-Torun are revolting, and there's no way the Empire will stand for that. When Darth Vader is tasked with leading a military assault against the planet, could it be that his rise to glory has begun? But who will follow Vader into war? Would you? Then again, it's better to fight alongside Vader than against him. That's a lesson that the ore barons are about to learn. Collecting DARTH VADER #16-19 and ANNUAL #1.
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Whatever you do never ask Vader to dance.

This comic series is set between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back. In this set, Vader has been tasked to bring down a rebellion in Shu-Torun. He has made Trios queen. For now, Vader will have to put aside his need to find the young Skywalker and focus the task at hand. With the twins and the evil counterparts to C-3PO and R2D2 in tow, Vader must prove himself to the Emperor but it won't be easy as espionage and double-crossing are added into the mix!

Although I have loved this series, I felt this series did little to push forth. I suppose with the writers having to insure that it stays in-canon, you really don't have much to do with Vader except send him out to squash a rebellion, install a queen, and search for Aphra, who is currently MIA. Still Vader continues to remain one of the most badass villains to ever grace the screen and comic book pages. I have relatively enjoyed this series and though I am not a fan of this one, I remain loyal to his series.

[info]katara

| o63 |

Title: The Beast of Boggy Creek The True Story of the Fouke Monster
Author: Lyle Blackburn
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 16, 2017 to April 18, 2017
Book Summary: For more than a century, reports of a strange beast known as the Fouke Monster have circulated among the locals in southern Arkansas. Described as a large, hairy man-like creature, it’s said to haunt the vast Sulphur River Bottoms as it travels the secluded waterway known as Boggy Creek.

Over the years, the creature has been seen by numerous witnesses including respected citizens, experienced hunters, famous musicians, and even a police officer. The encounters were often so shocking, they served as inspiration for the classic horror film, The Legend of Boggy Creek, by Charles B. Pierce.

Tales of the creature have long existed in scattered pieces across news clippings, memoirs, police reports, and movies, but it is only now that the complete history of the Fouke Monster has been assembled in one place. This book collects all the facts, theories, and amazing sighting reports, and weaves them into a fascinating tale about this undeniable southern mystery, one that lives on, as frightening encounters with the Beast of Boggy Creek are still being reported today!
Book Review: Do you remember the film The Legend of Boggy Creek?

Then this book will be definitely for you.

This book was well-written and well-researched into the history of the creature that haunts the Boggy Creek area. It dives into the first sightings of the monster and well into the 1970s when the monster made the most appearances, sending several residences fleeing from their homes in terror.

I must say I was deeply impressed with Blackburn's research. He really knew how to separate myth from reality and his research was indeed thorough into this most famous Southern bigfoot. This was the first Bigfoot book I read where the research really showed through both the newspaper clippings and interviews with the locals. There stories really jumped out at you and the author gave you the impression of a caring and sympathic soul who weaved their tales with images that put you in the story.

Honestly it made me feel as if I was the one telling the story and I was the one reliving the encounter.

I enjoyed this book immensely. I was impressed with the research. Not many Bigfoot books out there seemed to be this thoroughly researched. I know some of them are merely stories being told again to the public but that is all most fo them are - stories. There does not seem to be any human element to the story but this book gives you that.

I do plan to read more of Blackburn's books in the future.

Apr. 16th, 2017


[info]katara

| o62 |

Title: I Could Pee on This And Other Poems by Cats
Author: Francesco Marciuliano
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 16, 2017
Book Summary: Cat lovers will laugh out loud at the quirkiness of their feline friends with these insightful and curious poems from the singular minds of housecats.

In this hilarious book of tongue-in-cheek poetry, the author of the internationally syndicated comic strip Sally Forth helps cats unlock their creative potential and explain their odd behaviour to ignorant humans.

With titles like Who Is That on Your Lap?, This Is My Chair, Kneel Before Me, Nudge, and Some of My Best Friends Are Dogs, the poems collected in I Could Pee on This perfectly capture the inner workings of the cat psyche.

With photos of the cat authors throughout, this whimsical volume reveals kitties at their wackiest, and most exasperating (but always lovable).
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

I had planned to sit down and read a horror book this evening but I seem to have a cat that had something else in mind. I found her laying on my e-reader and she had already determined what I was going to be reading. So rather than displease the house queen, I decided to give this little book of poetry a try.

I was not vastly disappointed. Ths little poems (are they even poems?) were enjoyable even causing me to giggle at several of them. I cannot say which ones are my favorites yet but I can say that my top two are - I Could Pee On This and other one (which escapes my memory of its name) is where they are cleaning themselves.

Even the little images were darling.

If you are a cat lover, then this book is definitely something I think you will enjoy. I know I did.

Previous 20 | Next 20