January 2018

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom
Powered by InsaneJournal

Previous 20

Jan. 14th, 2018


[info]katara

| 153 |

Title: X-Men: Grand Design (2017-2018) #2 (of 2)
Author: Ed Piskor
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 14, 2018
Book Summary: Revisit all of X-Men history with Eisner-winning writer/artist Ed Piskor!!! Relive the biggest moments in X-Men history: The flight of the Sentinels! The discovery of the Savage Land!! The death of Charles Xavier!!! For the X-Fan inside everyone!
Book Review: "Until the Universe blinks out, there is always more to the story"
-Uatu the Watcher

This issue picks up right where the last issue has left off. Where issue one introduced the stories of mostly Jean and Scott, this one kinda moves toward the X-Villians as well as the X-Men as a team. Of course, we do see more of the Phoenix here as well.

Our first villians are quickly introduced as Mesmero, Mastermind, and Magneto. Magneto is a mutant who has the ability to deal with the electromagnetic energy. He can manipulate to his whim and he is considered one of the most powerful mutants because of it.

Xavier pushes his X-Men into battle against Magneto but whether or not they have won against him is really not known. Magneto has put up a battle and so did the X-Men. In the end, Magneto's departure has left questions that have no answers at the moment.



Their next opponents did not give the X-Men much of a chance to recover from Magneto. Much like Magneto, these mutants were angry at being outcasts in human society and did their best to upset the delicate balance that the X-Men were trying to thread together that would keep war from happening. Although these mutants were often defeated and put away for some time, it did not necessarily mean they had changed their colors. They continued their war against humanity and the X-Men as much as they could.

Magneto's complete hatred of humanity is well documented throughout his course of run-ins with the X-Men. In the beginning, he held a team called the Mutant of Evil Mutants and had them carry out his agenda to destroy humanity. Unfortunately some of Magneto's plans often tried changing those non-mutants into mutants themselves. He wanted to make a society filled with mutants and he the ruler. Of course, the X-Men were not about to let this happen and clashed heavily with the Brotherhood time and time again.

Magneto was not one to take a beating and simply disappear forever. No, that was not Magneto's character at all. He believed in trying to get other mutants to join in his crusade against the human population. Unfortunately he did not count on others to be there to help out such as the Fantastic Four, whom battled against Namor's anger for humanity.

Magneto continued on recruiting for his cause unaware that there was another mutant waiting in the shadows and bidding his time. The mutant named Mutant Master whose interested reigned upon the Phoenix Force. He sent out his leiutenants out in search for ways to gain information to the Phoenix Force. Unfortunately they often meet up against the X-Men with no chance of gaining any sort of information Mutant Master required.

When their plan crashes, the X-Men find themselves in a new world called The Savage Land. Here the world seems locked in time to millions of years ago. Here dinosaurs and ancient humans roam the land battling to be the dominant species. They are unaware that the outside world is under attack by an invader named The Stranger has learned that the Mutant Master may have an idea on whom the next Phoenix host may be on Earth. Unfortunately he is not quite welcomed by Magneto and the two battle it out.

And this leads to Mastermind being turned into stone.

The X-Men's next opponent is Xavier's half brother, Cain Mako aka the Juggernaunt. From there, it becomes Trask and his robots called the Sentientals.

It is not long before Jean has had enough and decides that it has come time for her to leave the X-Men. After having villians try to discredit them and their cause and to be public enemy with the Avengers determined to capture them and bring them forth to justice, Jean believes that it has become too dangerous for her to continue. She leaves the X-Men and transitions into civilian life. Here she finds herself leading a normal life and finding love unaware that Mastermind has been trying to get his hands on her.

With Jean gone, the X-Men are continued to be hunted and are introduced to a new villian named The Banshee. He attacks the X-Men and is taken down by the new member named The Mimic. They learn that Banshee has been brainwashed by a mutant named Master Mutant, whom they discover, is still trying to find clues as to whom the Phoenix Force is coming for.

Mimic is quickly removed from the ranks of the X-Men and Jean returns after having her own battles against other mutant villians. During the time, Cain is put up to wires and finds himself yelling "It's here! I can feel it!" Xavier has no idea exactly what his brother is yelling about.



Cain escapes the X-Men and meets up with Banshee's evil cousin named Black Tom.

During this time, Xavier vanishes off the face of the Earth and no one has any idea where he may be. Jean does her best using Cerebro in hopes of finding him but even that turns out to be useless. As she is in communication with Banshee, she tries to warn him to watch out but Banshee is hit from behind by a bolt of energy and crashes below.



We find out that Mutant Master has Xavier, whom Mutant Master believes is one of the most powerful mutants and is the one the Phoenix Force will be seeking out. A battle between ensues between the X-Men and Mutant Master but the X-Men are captured. Jean uses what is last of her power reserves to awaken Banshee and Xavier. The X-Men free themselves and another battle ensues again and the Mutant Master is revealed to a space alien. As his co-horts turn against him, He does the one thing he believes that will keep out of their hands - he destroys himself.



I think I have shared enough on this issue. The rest will be up to you to read. We know that the next issue will deal with both the Phoenix and Dark Phoenix Sagas.

Once again, I must say that this was indeed a worthy issue to pick up. I love how Ed Piskor is compacting the X-history into these issues and giving us a bit more of the Phoenix Force than I expected. There was so much information to wrap my head around that I came out from the last page wishing that the third issue was out but I will have to wait until the coming week. :D

My only harp is the art. In one of the panels, Jean's hands looked huge and so out of place within the panel. I think that has been only grip with these issues is the art doesn't feel up to standards. I am quite sure it is just me and just my pet peeve. :D

Here is to the next issue!

Jan. 13th, 2018


[info]katara

| 152 |

Title: Harley Quinn: Be Careful What You Wish For Special Edition (2017) #1 (Harley Quinn (2016-))
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Paul Mounts (Illustrator), Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), Chad Hardin (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 13, 2018
Book Summary: If you thought you’d seen all the mayhem Harley was capable of unleashing with the help of an all-powerful genie and infinite wishes...well, we wish you’d known better!
Book Review: This issue was actually given out during a loot crate thing. Then it was re-issued for public consumption and given some new material to go along with it.

This issue is also the last swan song for Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti.

Harley decides to spend a day at the beach. Unfortunately the water is polluted with garbage and needles, which one of them gets stuck right in the behind of Harley. This also angers her that she sets out to do some damage to the ships that she believes that are behind the polluted waters. Unfortunately for Harley, she ends up nearly drowning in the process but she also ends up getting a fabulous treasure. Once she is back on dry land, she finds a place to inspect her treasure lamp and rubs it. Out pops a genie, who grants some of the most ridiculous requests she can make.

I have to admit this was a rather interesting and fun for Harley. It was funny to see her various wishes and even more funny as hell to see a male version of her.

Unfortunately this issue was just not for me. I loved the hijinks but who doesn't when it comes to Harley? I am not what it was that made me not entirely fond of this issue. I love Harley and I love what is being done with her. She is becoming the anti-hero and not under the thumb of Joker. She is growing and becoming something she knows she can be.

I cannot wait to see more of her.

[info]katara

| 151 |

Title: X-Men: Grand Design (2017-2018) #1 (of 2)
Author: Ed Piskor
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.75/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 12, 2018 to January 13, 2018
Book Summary: From Eisner award-winning creator Ed Piskor (Hip-Hop Family Tree) comes a thrilling new series chronicling all of X-Men history! X-MEN: GRAND DESIGN stitches together the most important moments in mutant history, creating a comprehensive narrative celebrating the X-Men's past, present, and future. The first in a trilogy, GRAND DESIGN returns to Charles Xavier's assembly of Cyclops, Marvel Girl, Iceman, Angel, and Beast! A must for fans looking to brush up on their X-Men lore or as jumping-on point for Marvel's merry mutants.
Book Review: In this new series, we find Uatu the Watcher observing the Earth and it's inhabitants. He calls over Recorder, a small little human-like robot, that lands on his shoulder. Recorder tells him that another Watcher by the name of Eternity had been a bit concerned about him.



Uatu seems to ignore the concern from the other Watcher and decides that the time has come for them to begin their story of Earth.

And he begins to weave his tale of the inhabitants of Earth, speaking of the mutants that had been part of Earth's history for as long as humans have been on the planet.



Then his tale turns to the Mutants such Namor and Howard Stark, whom had bought a powerful technology from the Xaviers.

And this, my friend, is where our story really begins to take root. We see Xavier and Storm herself as a child on the streets of Cairo. Xavier is determined to save her from Amahl Farouk, the leader of the thieves, aka The Shadow King.

After he returns to his home, Xavier begins to work on a project called Cerebro. Here he will be able to find other mutants and be able to offer them help.

And one would be in need of his help as a young child - Jean Grey.

She and her friend were playing when tragically her friend was hit by a car. Jean felt guilty for not being able to save her friend and withdrew into the recesses of her mind in trying to cope with her death.



Several light years away from Earth, a powerful deity named the Phoenix Force was scourging around galaxies in search for the one who would be able to host her powers. But in a single moment, it would change direction and head toward the galaxy that encased Earth within having felt the energy coming from one Jean Grey. It knew it had found it had the right host.

It is then the story turns to Scott Summers' family. Here we find that precisely after the Phoenix Force has felt the powerful energy of Jean Grey, the Shi'Ar have captured Christopher and Katherine Summers. Unfortunately the couple would watch their plane, a Cessna, blow up taking their kids with it. Katherine, distraught by the thought of losing her children, made the decision that she would never allow anyone to take her and the Shi'Ar responded by destroying her.



Here we continue the mutant history of others such as Angel and the arrival of Magneto's team, the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants.

This was an interesting condensing version of the mutant universe of the X-Men. I love how we get a bit more fresh information upon this universe. We see things that only Uatu has been able to see from his vantage point. Here he is the observer over history. He tells you how things have been since the beginning of humanity and how mutants had become part of that history - the good and bad parts of it.

I really enjoyed this one. I am not a fan of the art though. I did like the way the pages seemed rather old as if we are looking back at older comics that have since yellowed with age. But I do suppose that with Uatu behind the scenes giving us his take, that it was made to be this way.

I am looking forward to seeing how the last issue comes out.

Jan. 12th, 2018


[info]katara

| 150 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #34
Author: Jimmy Palmiotti, Amanda Conner, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date:
Book Summary: “GOSSAMER”! Look, we know Harley’s crossed paths with some ridiculous guest stars...but we assure you, this is the looniest one yet! And in the “Secret Origins” backup, see where Harley’s most steadfast companion and tenant, Big Tony, comes from—and why he sticks by the side of his insane (but very charming) landlord!
Book Review: Where the last issue was full of mourning, this one is completely different.

Harley has decided to put both Mason's death and the mayoral run behind her and head off to Florida to visit her family. Of course this would not be a trip without Harley doing something along the way to cause she and her friends to be placed in jail. Of course, she gets bailed out and her trip continues onward.



It was nice to see Harley reunite with her family especially after all that has happened and being surrounded by them allowed her a chance to relax more than she does. There were no worries and no thoughts of Madison and the Mayor nor of anyone getting hurt. Just a simple time with her parents.

Of course we also got to see Harley's hyenas.



I had always wondered about them and it was nice to get to see them finally pop up. It was also a great surprise to see they had mated with females and had pups. Even Harley seemed quite delighted about this and I can say she acted quite the proud Momma over them.

As to what is next for Harley is quite unknown. The husband and wife team that has been apart of Harley's flagship are leaving and what direction the next writers will have remains to be seen until the next issue to come. I am glad, however, to see Harley and Ivy back to being together. Even more, I am hoping that there is no more to come between them. Mason was one thing and now that he is gone, I would love to see something blossom more between them.

This issue was wonderful and I am quite looking forward to seeing where this series heads.

[info]katara

| 149 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #10 (Darth Vader (2017-) (Single Issues) #10)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 12, 2018
Book Summary: Vader's showdown with Jocasta Nu comes to a startling conclusion! What secret information has the Jedi librarian risked her life to protect? And can she stop Vader from getting it?
Book Review: This issue picks up right where the last issue leaves off.

It is Vader vs Jocasta Nu.

And even more exciting is the lightsaber that Jocasta Nu is wielding. This is one lightsaber that is the most interesting of the ones that we have seen. It seems like a rifle of sorts but at the same time it is not. Perhaps an old relic of the Ancient Jedis?



Unfortunately Vader destroys it. Nu knows that her entire library as well as the information disks are at stake. She does not want the Empire to get their hands on them nor does she want the blood of the Force-sensitive children on her hands and thus she will do anything to ensure that they never fall into the hands of the Empire.

Even if does mean her life.

And so Nu jumps as soon as an explosion upon the wall of Jedi Library opens. Her lightsaber of choice is another interesting one and it looks a lot like a saber. As she sails down, she is fired upon by the clones below and as Vader comes into view, they do the same upon him. A patrolling ship spots the activity and tries to stop the clones from firing upon Vader.

As Vader jumps over onto the ship, he pretty much kills off the leader Clone and takes over command, demanding that the ship's pilot stop them from firing. Nu sees this as her chance to fall off the building but she is stopped and brought aboard by Vader.

Vader learns the memory crystal that Nu had been so desperate to hide from the Empire as well as himself bears information about Force-sensitive children. Nu tells him that now that he knows about it exactly what is planning to do on the information. It is also during this time that the Clones on board learn that Vader was once a Jedi named Anakin Skywalker. Of course, this little bit of tidbit information also gets everyone on board killed as Vader does not want anyone to know who he was once upon a time.

He also lets Nu go. As to his reasons, we will never know but she is the first Jedi that has been able to esape to live another day. He also does not tell the Emperor of the memory crystal. Instead, choosing to destroy it instead.

This also leads to a very interesting thing to come about in the future after the events of Return of the Jedi.



This story continues to keep my interest. To see Vader have some sort of external struggle between the Sith Lord he has become and Anakin Skywalker, the Jedi he once was, was a really wonderful to see. I loved how he took the memory crystal and destroyed it, rather than turn it over to Palpatine. This tells me that Anakin still has some humanity beneath that metal suit he wears and he does not want to see another child wind up like he has become.

This issue really wraps up the storyline for Nu. Although I must say that it was more of a whimper than something I would have thought that would be the outcome. I knew that Nu hd been the only Jedi survivor from her encounter with Vader but the question does remain: Since the Extended Universe no longer exists, does this mean there may be more Jedi that may stay under the radar?

I suppose these will be answered in the coming issues and I am looking forward to it.

Jan. 11th, 2018


[info]katara

| 148 |

Title: Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey (2017-2018) #3 (of 5)
Author: Matt Rosenberg, Joe Bennett (Illustrator), Leinil Yu (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 11, 2018
Book Summary: Beast doesn't know how or what shape it will take, but he knows they are running out of time before the Phoenix makes its true presence known.
Book Review: This issue starts us right off into an intense dream Jean Grey is having. In her dream, she finds herself piloting the space shuttle through radiation before it splashes into the water.



When she wakes herself up, she finds that she is not at home at all but in the middle of a supermarket surrounded by broken bottles of water. Jean has no idea what has happened and this scares her that she races off amid people whom want her to be checked out by the EMTs.

The scene changes to a father and son, whom are in the middle of Jamica Bay enjoying fishing. Unfortunately their tranquility is shattered when the Phoenix Force comes up out of the water and tips over their boat.

The X-Men are headed to the cemetery where Jean Grey lies. There they find her coffin empty and now they need to find her. Kitty knows of one person who can help them.

The scene returns to Jean Grey. She is at a car repair place where a young Wolverine is working on her vehicle. Unfortunately something said causes Jean's psychic abilities to appear and send Wolverine flying into the wall. As Jean apologizes for this, Wolverine simply brushes it off as nothing more than an earthquake.

The X-Men are in England with Emma Frost, who tells them she has already had a run-in with the Phoenix Force and it was not a pleasant experience. She goes on to tell them that during her time with Scott, she often finds his mind wandering, thinking of Jean.

And she knows where Jean is.

In New Mexico.

Jean is running from something. It keeps calling for her but she keeps ignoring it. It is not until she goes into a building and lock the door that it breaks it down to reveal the Phoenix herself.



The X-Men arrive in New Mexico only to find something is quite going on.


This issue gives us some really bizarre events that I have found even a bit confusing. Heck some of the storyline has been a bit confusing. That is until I have gone back through the first two issues and re-read them again to understand that Jean seems to have made each person appear to her. Maybe not realizing it. I am pretty sure she does it to give herself some familiar comfort in this isolated world.

But at the same time all of the storyline is coming together to give us a bigger picture but exactly what bigger picture it is remains to be scene. It seems that only the Phoenix has motivate to keep it under wraps until the time comes to reveal it. We know the Force is behind Jean's ressurrection but at what cost? Is that why the Phoenix is haunting younger Jean?

Still a lot of questions but still no real answers in sight at the moment. I am hoping that the next issues will fully wrap up this storyline and give us the answers we so desire.

Jan. 9th, 2018


[info]katara

| 147 |

Title: Fire and Fury: Inside the Trump White House
Author: Michael Wolff
Format: Epub
Rating: 5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 5, 2018 to January 9, 2018
Book Summary: With extraordinary access to the Trump White House, Michael Wolff tells the inside story of the most controversial presidency of our time

The first nine months of Donald Trump's term were stormy, outrageous—and absolutely mesmerizing. Now, thanks to his deep access to the West Wing, bestselling author Michael Wolff tells the riveting story of how Trump launched a tenure as volatile and fiery as the man himself.

In this explosive book, Wolff provides a wealth of new details about the chaos in the Oval Office. Among the revelations:

— What President Trump's staff really thinks of him
— What inspired Trump to claim he was wire-tapped by President Obama
— Why FBI director James Comey was really fired
— Why chief strategist Steve Bannon and Trump's son-in-law Jared Kushner couldn't be in the same room
— Who is really directing the Trump administration's strategy in the wake of Bannon's firing
— What the secret to communicating with Trump is
— What the Trump administration has in common with the movie The Producers

Never before has a presidency so divided the American people. Brilliantly reported and astoundingly fresh, Michael Wolff's Fire and Fury shows us how and why Donald Trump has become the king of discord and disunion.
Book Review: Much like the rest of the world, I had not actually planned on reading this book. This book was, in my mind, just another book banking on the Trump White House. I am not a fan of Trump. Have never been a fan of his in the past or in the present. I never believed he was qualified to become president and had been one of many millions of Americans that had believed that the election of 2016 was one of the worst one records mainly because Trump supporters had come out of the woodwork believing in the lies of one Donald Trump. He had certainly weaved himself a web around his supporters, blinding them into believing he was a much better candidate than that of Hilary Clinton.

As the book drew near, Trump seemed to start sweating as if he knew that this book could be explosive once the public got their hands on it. Suddenly he started screaming that it was "Fake News!" and that he did not give the author any sort of privilege to White House members. Hell, even the White House members were denying it and this in turn caused the public to hunger for the book.

And that hunger suddenly grew more intense when Trump started threatening the author and the publisher with a lawsuit.

It was then the public wanted very much to know exactly what was in this book that Trump wanted very much to hide from the public.



Ever since Donald Trump threw his hat into the election ring, he had been hoping that it would be for naught. After all, Melania had no desire to leave her ivory tower at Trump Tower to move into the White House. He had promised her that it all would be over and then things could go back to normal while all the while he could scream that the election was stolen from him.

When he found he had won the election, he and the rest of his supporters were stunned and the rumor was that Melania, whom cherished her privacy and glided tower at Trump Tower, cried knowing she would have no choice but to move into the White House.

And once he was in the White House, he set about erasing everything his predecessor had done. Not because anything Obama did was completely wrong but because Trump had a complete disdain for the Obamas.

And what of the fear of being poisoned? Well Trump believes that buying fast food is the best route because in his mind no one knows the food is for him and certainly no one would dare poison such food that would be considered consumption for the public.

This book was filled with interesting information about the Trump White House and how everyone within does their best to fill Trump's head with believable fantasies that he is one of the greatest presidents.

Despite Trump's protest over this book, I would not be suprised if this book becomes a national bestseller. In fact, I actually expect it to be with both sides - liberal and conservative - interested in the narrative Wolff's book brings with all the tidbits and whatnots to it.

Jan. 6th, 2018


[info]katara

| 146 |

Title: Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey (2017-2018) #2 (of 5)
Author: Matt Rosenberg, Carlos Pacheco (Illustrator), Leinil Yu (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 6, 2018
Book Summary: A light in the darkness is not always welcome. Kitty Pryde, Old Man Logan and Cyclops are leading teams of X-Men all across the globe, chasing events connected to the Phoenix. But with teammates disappearing and familiar enemies returning, the X-Men are fighting a losing battle.
Book Review: There are strange psychic events happening all over the world but no one - not even the X-Men - know what is causing them. The teams have been split up to check out several troubling spots but each one has left them with more questions than answers.

Unbeknowst to the X-Men, Jean Grey is alive and working as a waitress in her home town. Here she has no idea who she really is or what is could be capable of. During one of her shifts at the diner, she meets a man, whom introduces himself as Erik. What Jean doesn't know is that Erik is Magneto and he seems to recognize her even if she has not recognized him. He does hint to this when she is pouring him some coffee.



As Jean heads to the back with Erik's order, she is confronted by one of her co-workers whom asks her about Erik. Jean admits he seems familiar to her. She goes on to tell her that she has not been sleeping and when she does she has nightmares. Before Jean can go further, Erik's order is ready and she heads out to the diner only to find him gone.

Over in the X-Mansion, we find the X-Men gathered around Cable whom has Cerebro's helmet on and he is trying to find something that would help them. Just when there doesn't seem to be anything, Cable picks up the feeling of pain before he is hit with something hard.

The X-Men are gathered outside the school. Headmistress Kitty Pryde lets them know that it is the Phoenix Force is that is returning and that she will be sending out teams to check out locations. The teams are dispatched but each of them come up empty. The teams return they are confront by the presence of Magneto. A fight between them ensues but when Magneto is gone, the X-Men are perplexed by the idea he ordered coffee in the middle of their fight.

Jean is surprised by Erik's return and let's him know his order was returned to the kitchen. As Jean refreshes his cup of coffee, she tells him his nose is bleeding but Erik waves it off as something that happens frequently because he had once been part of World War II. It is then Jean catches sight of the outside on fire...

This was an interesting chapter into the Phoenix resurrection saga. I cannot wait to see Jean return to full form and exactly how things will be between she and her younger half. And even more exactly how the Phoenix all fits into this. Does this mean Phoenix and Jean will remain? After all Cable said he felt pain before Cerebro short-circuited on him. One can only assume that the Phoenix feels pain from being apart from Jean?

Regardless I am quite looking forward to seeing how this story pregresses next week.

[info]katara

| 145 |

Title: Rogue & Gambit (2018) #1 (of 5)
Author: Kelly Thompson, Pere Pérez (Illustrator), Kris Anka (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 6, 2018
Book Summary: Everybody's favorite X-couple is reunited! And boy, are they not happy about that… Kitty Pryde must send Rogue and Gambit on an undercover mission to find a group of kidnapped mutants. What they discover on this mission will shock them. But will it also bring them closer together…? It's a high-stakes adventure caper that only the two hottest X-Men can deliver!
Book Review: Everyone's favorite couple are back together.

Okay not exactly back together but they are together for a mission.

According to Kitty, Cerebra has picked up a large scale of mutants on an island but something is going on with those mutants. They seem to be disappearing and no one can figure out why. Which leads Kitty to suggest she send Gambit and Rogue together on this mission. Of course, Rogue is less than thrilled at the prospect of being sent with Gambit and doesn't understand why Kitty and Colossus don't go. Of course, Kitty has reasons for remaining behind - she is in charge and thus her word is final.

As Gambit and Rogue head off to the island, Gambit's jealousy over Deadpool and Rogue's kiss and Rogue only worsens the jealousy by rubbing it in that Deadpool is a far better kisser. As two settle into a room, the pair meet two mutants before heading off to find out why the mutants are disappearing.

Only to find themselves in deep trouble.

Gambit and Rogue have always been my favorite couple. Ever since I was a teenager, I had always been rooting for them to be together. I know there has been a lot going on between them and I know I am far behind in their storylines to really catch up but there will always be a part of me rooting for the two of them to get back together.

This story seemed to be a bit short but it does give us the beginning of a storyline for them. Mutants are disappearing but there is no answer as to why. So these two will have to pair up to find out why. I am sure there will be romance and quite a bit of comedy between the two. I expect it between them because the road to romance will never be paved with such good intentions.

I am quite looking forward to seeing how this story goes. I really would love to see them settle things between them even if it does not put them together as I would love to.

Jan. 3rd, 2018


[info]katara

| 144 |

Title: The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air #1)
Author: Holly Black
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 3, 2018
Book Summary: Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.


Jude was seven years old when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

In doing so, she becomes embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, discovering her own capacity for bloodshed. But as civil war threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.
Book Review: It has been quite sometime since I last picked up any of Holly Black's books. I think the most recent ones I had read were the collaboration between she and Cassandra Clare.

But I had been hearing good things about this book and thought, "What the hell? It doesn't hurt to read this."

I can actually say I was not disappointed and devoured the book within hours.

Our narrator is a young girl named Jude. She and her two sisters laid witness to the murder of their parents on the night they whisked away to live in the land of the fae. Her sister, Vivi, is part of the fae and it was her father that killed their parents. Because of this, Vivi has vowed to make her father's life miserable and has made her choice in seeing to it that she returns to the mortal world.

Despite the trauma of that night, Jude and Taryn, have adapted to the world of the fae but it has not meant that everyone in the fae world has opened their arms to them. In fact, the two girls have been subject to ridicule by members of the fae.

While Taryn believes that following the rules are what is best for them, Jude wants to be a knight in the Court of the High King. For her, she believes only rebellion and bloodshed will earn her what she wants.

This story really pulls you into the world of the Fae and you feel as though Jude is standing right next to you, weaving you an image of a world only she and her sisters have seen. This world is beautiful and so are the fae but the fae as beautiful as they are, they are also extremely cruel. You will find yourself hating Cardan, the dastardly prince, who loves tormenting Jude and her sister, Taryn whenever he has the chance.

But the thing is Jude is no angel. You will find yourself torn between hoping that she will turn the tables on Cardan and his group to hating what she has become since becoming part of the fae world. As for Taryn, I feel she is too cowardly to stand up for herself and although I understand she has no desire to cause trouble for both she and her sister; but there comes a time when you need to stand up to the bullies that torment you every chance you get. You will earn no place that you desire if you cannot stand up for yourself.

And Vivi.

She has no desire to remain within her father's world and does everything possible to make him disappointed in her. She leaves the fae world and ventures into the mortal world without letting any of them know. It is discovered later that she has a girlfriend named Heather, who's parents she has already met. Heather, on the other hand, wants to meet Vivi's family but Vivi continues to stall her.

I like Vivi. She rebels against the world she has no desire to be part of. She would rather be part of the world her father tore her from.

Have I mentioned that I quite looking forward to reading the next book? 2019 cannot seem to get here fast enough!

Jan. 1st, 2018


[info]katara

| 143 |

Title: Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey (2017-2018) #1 (of 5)
Author: Matt Rosenberg, Leinil Yu (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.25/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 1, 2018
Book Summary: She will return, like a Phoenix from the ashes. Years ago, Jean Grey died and the X-Men mourned her. Since then, the world has changed, her teammates have lived without her and died without her. And now, when strange events start happening all over the world, those teammates can only come to one conclusion – the one true Jean Grey is back!
Book Review: Guess who is baaaccckkk!

Something strange is going on in Jean's hometown of Annadale-On-Hudson, New York. Two young children, who are enjoying an afternoon of bike riding, come across a body laying on the ground in a pool of blood. The two are trying to see if the girl is okay but she rises up with no eyes in her eyesockets wanting to play a game of frisbee. It is then that they are interrupted by another girl holding a dead pigeon in her hands. Suddenly the girl with the dead bird rises up in the air causing the dead pigeon to awaken and fly off.

The scene changes and we find ourselves with the X-Men, who have arrived upon hearing of this incident. They know something strange is going on especially finding those same two children floating. When they return to the X-Mansion, the X-Men are perplexed by these strange events and even more when they are sent off in three groups to even more stranger events.

Each of three groups are attacked in each location but as suddenly as the attacks have come, they are gone. And once more it leaves the X-Men with more questions than answers.

In another part of the city, two waitresses are outside witnessing an event up above. A Phoenix-like projection has appeared above them and disappeared. It is then we find Jean Grey is one of those waitresses. Later on, we find Scott Summers outside her door waiting to take her on a date.

So this sort of confused me. Does this mean Scott knows Jean is back? Or is this just the workings of the Phoenix Force coming into play? Or maybe Jean is living a life inside of the White Hot room where she is back with the others? None of these answers seem to be within reach at the moment.

Am I glad to see Jean back? Yes, I am. I missed her. Don't get me wrong I like the younger Jean but I am not entirely fond of her. I cannot wait, however, to see the two Jeans coming face to face. i think that will be an interesting storyline right there.

[info]katara

| 142 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #33
Author: Jimmy Palmiotti, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), Amanda Conner (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 31, 2017 to January 1, 2018
Book Summary: “AFTERMATH” part two! We said the election would change Harley’s life forever, and we weren’t kidding! For one of the people closest to her...it’s ended their life! And in the “Secret Origins” backup story, you’ll learn how the incredible Eggy came to be the man...err, egg...he is today!
Book Review:
This issue opens where the last issue left off. Mason has been killed and now the members of Harley's crew as well as Mason's mother and Harley herself are finally having their chance to mourn his death. Together, they gather at his grave during this dreary and rainy day to take this moment to remember and to mourn his loss. Although his death was not as earth-shattering as many other deaths have been in the past, Mason's death is still felt among the group. It is a loss shared between both Mason's mother and Harley more than anything else. He was important to Harley and to his mother, a loss of a child is the most painful loss a parent should never have to feel.

Ivy offers Harley companionship during this time of grieving but Harley declines the offer. Ivy decides to leave to allow Harley time to heal.

After they return, Madame Macabre, who is going through a much different stage of grief, has made the decision to leave. She doesn't want to be in a place where she knows Mason isn't there and wants to be able to carry her last memories of him where he had been happy. Harley understands and watches Madame Macabre leave.

From there, we see a bit of a change in Harley from feeding the animals to returning to the game of roller derby. Plus her reunion with Ivy.

This issue offered real action but gave us a bit of an insight upon on how everyone is dealing with Mason's death. Although I have not been a fan of Mason's, I felt sorry for his mother and must only imagine exactly what sort of grief she is going through. Unlike Harley, whom seems to be going through the stages of grief, Madame Macabre's grief is different. This is a mother who had to bury her child when she should not have had to.

The one thing I am surprised is the fact she didn't seem angry at Harley for his death. I would have thought she would have lashed out in some way or another to lay the blame of his death at Harley's feet. Perhaps she doesn't which really surprises me over the entire thing. I do feel sorry for her and I hope we see her later on when she has come to grip with Mason's death.

This issue was somewhat of an aftermath epilogue letting us know what has happened to Harley since Mason's death. We know that there is more to come but this was just a simple forethought to end the Mason storyline. What is in Harley's future? One can only hope that Harley is going to make Madison pay for what she has done and I am seriously looking forward to that match.

Dec. 6th, 2017


[info]katara

| 141 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #9
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator), Francesco Mattina (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 6, 2017
Book Summary: As the threat of the Jedi continues to menace the fledgling Empire, Vader finds himself on the trail of Jedi his master has commanded him…to keep alive?
Book Review: This issue picks up right where we leave off with the last. Vader has been made aware of Master Jedi Jocasta Nu is still alive by Emperor Palpatine. However, Palpatine, who normally prefers to have the Order of Jedi dead, wants this one kept alive and sends Vader out to retrieve her. Vader does as he is told by his Master and heads out to the Jedi Temple to retrieve Jocasta Nu. He informs the clone troopers stationed outside to allow no one in.

Inside, Jocasta Nu has drawn out her lightsaber against the Grand Inquistor in the library. Jocasta Nu is angry that anyone not a Jedi would dare step foot within these sacred walls of the temple and she lets it be known that his kind is really not welcomed whatsoever in the temple. A battle ensue between the two of them but not without Vader finally appearing to halt the Grand Inquistor from doing any harm to Jocasta Nu. He does, after all, need her alive because the Emperor wants the Jedi secrets.

Of course, Jocasta Nu isn't going to go quietly and sets out to destroy the Jedi files of force-sensitive children. She knows that if this information falls into the wrong hands, there could be horrible repercussions. As Vader arrives, she tells him that it is too late. It is then that the Droid that guards the temple archives announces that the Jedi within the Vader uniform is Anakin Skywalker and this surprises Jocasta Nu. She knows that this is very bad...extremely bad that Skywalker is a Sith lord now.

If you love lightsaber battles, then this is definitely the issue for you! Unfortunately this issue held very little of Vader but that is going to be expected especially when there is a larger storyline playing out around you. The interesting bit is that there is a bit of a small relationship between Jocasta Nu and the Grand Inquistor and it is not in the romantic sense. I would suspect that he was once a Jedi Apprentice who tried undoubtly to get pursue the information within the walls and was thawed.

I would love to see a limited series about Jocasta Nu. She seems to be a pretty interesting character.

[info]katara

| 140 |

Title: Magyk (Septimus Heap #1)
Author: Angie Sage
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.85/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 29, 2017 to December 6, 2017
Book Summary: The first part of an enthralling new series leads readers on a fantastic journey filled with quirky characters, clever charms, potions and spells. Ages 9+.

The 7th son of the 7th son, aptly named Septimus Heap, is stolen the night he is born by a midwife who pronounces him dead. That same night, the baby's father, Silas Heap, comes across a bundle in the snow containing a newborn girl with violet eyes. The Heaps take this helpless newborn into their home, name her Jenna, and raise her as their own. But who is this mysterious baby girl, and what really happened to their beloved son, Septimus?

The first part of this enthralling new series leads readers on a fantastic journey filled with quirky characters, clever charms, potions and spells, and a yearning to uncover the mystery at the heart of this story...who is Septimus Heap?

Angie Sage writes in the tradition of great British storytellers. Her inventive fantasy is filled with humor and heart: Magyk will have readers laughing and begging for more.
Book Review: When he was born, Septimus Heap was whisked away by his nurse claiming that the baby was stillborn after birth. It is during this time as well that Silas Heap finds a baby girl and takes her home to raise. Years later, Jenna has grown up in the Heap household and they learn exactly who she is - a princess and that Septimus is alive. Now she, Silas, ExtraOrdinary Wizard named Marcia, a brother named Nicko, and boy who was a guard to the wizard tower are off to visit Aunt Zelda to find where Septimus is and why he had been taken.

This story was actually a fund read and I rather enjoyed it. Although I will admit, there seemed to be a lot of Harry Potter elements weaved into the story but not to the point where the story feels like it is a Harry Potter rip-off. This story stands out on its own. It's storyline weaves itself, drawing you in, and keeping you glued until the last page has been turned. You will find yourself wanting to read more and looking forward to reading the next book.

This book is geared toward both children and the young adult genre. I believe if they liked the Harry Potter books, I think they will definitely enjoy this one.

Nov. 30th, 2017


[info]katara

| 139 |

Title: Jean Grey (2017-) #9
Author: Dennis Hopeless, Victor Ibañez (Illustrator), David Yardin (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 30, 2017
Book Summary: PSYCH WAR PART 2! Trapped in the mind of the White Queen! Will Jean be able to escape? And will she be ready in time for the Phoenix?
Book Review: "Imagine that. All it took was a little death and desperation to turn you into me."
-Emma Frost to Older Psy-holo Jean


This issue completely picks up where the last issue has left off.

Young Jean is in terrible shape after the war caused by older Jean and Emma. She is rushed to the hospital but there doesn't seem to be anything that any of the staff can do to keep the psy-flames from continuous appearing. This sends Older Jean to try to go back into young Jean's body but something rejects from entering her body.

Emma gets the idea of taking young Jean out of the hospital after that display and hijacks a life saving helicopter. They load the unconscious young Jean into it and head away from the hospital.

In another part of the world, Hope has been told of a cosmic detention on Earth. The young woman knows exactly what is here and heads off in the direction.

As we return to Emma and Older Jean, it appears that young Jean may have stablized but Emma's curiosity about the tiny spark that Emma believes Older Jean found. Older Jean tells her that it was actually younger Jean who found it. Older Jean continues to feel guilty for her part in all of this but inquires why would Emma continue to hold onto it.

"Power," Emma answered.

Of course, Emma reveled in the power that the Phoenix Force gave her and she wanted to keep it for herself.

The two of them land where they are met by three young women (The Stepford Cuckoos?) who try form a psychic link with young Jean only to unleash something -

"It's Here," young Jean announced.

The Phoenix Force hovers above them.

Now with the arrival of the Phoenix Force, does this mean this will be the issue that will awaken the older Jean from her grave. We have been teased by this and it is set for this upcoming month of her arrival. So I can only surmise the arrival of the Phoenix Force in this issue is the arc to the rebirth of older Jean Grey.

But if this is how it will be, then what is going to happen to young Jean in the scheme of this?

I mean this may not entirely lead up to older Jean's rebirth and I could be entirely jumping the gun here.

So if it is not for the awakening of Older Jean, what does this mean for the younger Jean? And now that the arrival of the Phoenix has come, exactly how is younger Jean going to avoid the fate of becoming its host?

I suppose we won't find out any of these answers until the next issue. So stay tuned!

Nov. 29th, 2017


[info]katara

| 138 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth 2017 Special #1
Author: Adam Smith, Katie Cook, Alessandro Ferrari, Jeff Stokely, Curry Ross, Delilah Dawson, Roger Langridge, Jared Cullum (Illustrator) , Derek Kim (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 29, 2017
Book Summary: Celebrate Jim Henson’s Labyrinth with an all-new collection of short stories celebrating the various characters and creatures from the world of Labyrinth. Includes the never-before-told story of how Sir Didymus met his trusted steed Ambrosius. Also includes the story of a goblin running late to the famous “Dance Magic Dance” sequence from the film.
Book Review: I had been hearing stories that there would be some Jim Henson's Labyrinth to be rolled out soon. Most of them had been hyped up causing many fans of the movie to be thrilled with the idea that our favorite movie would be given some type of further story or even some backstories for many of the characters.

Of course, there were the mangas called "Return to the Labyrinth". Although it was not entirely well-received by many of the older fans, the manga offered some taste of the beloved fantasy movie's characters. Still fans held up their hopes.

And their years of patient hope and waiting had arrived in the form of four short stories. Each story delivered tales of the denizens of the Labyrinth, breathing life into those of who were fan favorites and not be left out - the goblins themselves.

In "The Right Steed for the Right Deed" follows Sir Didymus on a quest to find himself a noble steed. Of course, the search for a trusty steed leads Didymus to the wrong sorts of creatures until he comes across a set of goblins who have a caged dog. One of the goblins lets it be known to Ambrosius that it is most likely that he is looking to be dinner and not anything else. It is then that Didymus comes out of hiding and declares that Ambrosius belongs to him. The two race off together and avoid the angry goblins that were chasing after them.

"The Wrong Toby" finds Jareth, the King of the Goblins, mumbling about Toby. Two of the goblins - Poxie and Mushmug - overhear him talking about a baby in a candy-stripe outfit and head out to the human world in hopes of finding the baby to bring it back to their king. The two look high and low in the human world and cannot seem to find a baby for their king. That is until they come across a gingered cat asleep. The two of them take the cat back to the kingdom where the cat gets loose, sending the two goblins scrambling after it. Once they recapture the cat, they head to the castle where they find Jareth holding Toby in his arms. Unfortunately for the two goblins, the cat is definitely not what their king was contemplating over.

"Cup of Tea?" - Remember the little blue worm that invited Sarah to come meet his missus and drink some tea? This story is all about him. It takes place shortly after Sarah leaves, taking the long route to the castle. Of course, the little worm is a bit put out over her dismissal of his invitation to come in for a spot of tea that he takes it upon himself to see if he can find one of the denizens who would be willing to come over and have tea with he and his missus.

"Into the Bog" finds three goblins who call themselves "The Threatening Trio" who are on patrol near the bog. Unfortunately for them, they fall from the top and only one of them lands into the bog. The other two goblins sort of remove themselves from him and the poor goblin finds himself alone. The three are reunited and the other two dip their foot into the bog just to be nice.

"Beauty or the Beast" follows Jareth and Toby. Jareth has since decided that Toby is his heir apparent and one day he will inherit the entire goblin kingdom. But Toby really isn't interested in owning a kingdom at the moment. He is, after all, still a baby who is crying. Jareth takes Toby into his arms and shows him what he can be if he stays with him. For a moment seems to be contemplating this as Sarah's image appears on the mirror but in the end, Toby picks his sister over Jareth.

In the last short story titled "Run, Goblin, Run" follows a goblin whom seems to be late for Jareth's song, Dance Magic Dance.

These were some really awesome stories that will tide me over. I am hoping that there is more to come seeing this as issue one but I suppose we shall just have to see. :D

[info]katara

| 137 |

Title: You Can't Spell America Without Me: The Really Tremendous Inside Story of My Fantastic First Year as President Donald J. Trump
Author: Alec Baldwin, Kurt Andersen
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.75/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 23, 2017 to November 29, 2017
Book Summary: Political satire as deeper truth: Donald Trump's presidential memoir, as recorded by two world-renowned Trump scholars, and experts on greatness generally

"I have the best words, beautiful words, as everybody has been talking and talking about for a long time. Also? The best sentences and, what do you call them, paragraphs. My previous books were great and sold extremely, unbelievably well--even the ones by dishonest, disgusting so-called journalists. But those writers didn't understand Trump, because quite frankly they were major losers. People say if you want it done right you have to do it yourself, even when 'it' is a 'memoir.' So every word of this book was written by me, using a special advanced word processing system during the many, many nights I've been forced to stay alone in the White House--only me, just me, trust me, nobody helped. And it's all 100% true, so true--people are already saying it may be the truest book ever published. Enjoy."

Until Donald Trump publishes his account of his entire four or eight or one-and-a-half years in the White House, the definitive chronicle will be You Can't Spell America Without Me: The Really Tremendous Inside Story of My Fantastic First Year As President.

He was elected because he was the most frank presidential candidate in history, a man always eager to tell the unvarnished truth about others' flaws as well as his own excellence. Now that refreshingly compulsive un-PC candor is applied to his time as leader of the free world. The mind-boggling private encounters with world leaders. The genius backroom strategy sessions with White House advisers. His triumphs over the dishonest news media. The historic, world-changing decisions -- many of them secret until now. What he really thinks of Melania and Ivanka and Jared, Donald Jr. and Eric and the other one. And many spectacular, historic, exclusive photographs of him in private and public, making America great again.

Presented by two of America's foremost Trump scholars, Alec Baldwin and Kurt Andersen.
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.75

It had been a long time since I watched SNL. It wasn't until I started hearing that Alec Baldwin's portrayal of Donald Trump was not only hilarious but also one of the most convincing. Since then, I have been glued to the television on Saturday Night just to watch what Alec's parody will be of Donald Trump. Of course, they have had plenty of material for the week to play around.

When I found out that this book was coming out, I was a bit aprenhensive. I knew Alec was great in his portrayal of Donald on television but how would he fair in writing this book in character?

But I found I was not at all disappointed in the least. Alec delivered each and every word to the point I came to believe that it was I was actually hearing the real Donald Trump speaking in my head. There never seemed to be a point where Alec broke from character. There was moments of giggles and there were moments of bouts of laughter.

This book really delivered when it comes to poking fun at Trump.

If you are a big fan of Alec's portrayal of Donald, then you will definitely find yourself immerse with Alec as he takes on Donald's persona.

Nov. 22nd, 2017


[info]katara

| 136 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #8 (Darth Vader (2017-) #8)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 21, 2017 to November 22, 2017
Book Summary: LEGACY'S END CONTINUES! Vader and the Inquisitorius set their sights on one of the most dangerous Jedi remaining alive...and it's not who you'd expect.
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.9

This issue opens up with Vader choking one of the Imperial officers in front of the Emperor. Exactly what the officer has done to warrant such a punishment is never really told but whatever it was, it must have been severe enough to be brought before the Emperor and Vader. The Emperor, on the other hand, decides that enough punishment has been dealt and forces Vader to halt the force-choke. This does not seem to forbode well for Vader that he causes his anger to rise. This leads us to know that this restaint placed by the Emperor does not last forever because there are two other Imperial Officers that end up on the far end of Vader's rage later on and even they are not as lucky as this Colonel.

As for the Jedi Master Archivist Jocasta Nu, she arrives on Coruscant for a way into the Jedi Temple. When she finally manages to find a way in, she is angered when she sees the Grand Inquistor leisurely leaning back in his seat perusing the books at his disposal. Of course, this angers Jocasta Nu but she cannot engage with him just yet. She has a mission that needs to be completed and only once it is done, then will she be able to remove the scum from the library. As she moves deeper into the library and into an area where a droid keeper awaits her, she lifts up a mysterious disk to show she has come to use it (?).

A mysterious wreckage has been found by members of the Imperial guards. A piece from the wreckage appears to show a Jedi symbol. Of course, this piece is what brings Vader from his meditation and to where the Imperial Investigator is, whom appears to be not happy whatsoever by his presence. In fact, he tells Vader that he is "only there as an observer" and nothing more. This only causes Vader to become angry and reply, "No you are."

The important disk shows where every force-sensitive child is located. She knows that if the Sith were to get ahold of it, then any chance of defeating them would be for naught. Since it seems to be not discovered at this moment, then it would appear safe for the time being. Once it is safe, she decides now is the time to engage the Grand Inquistor in the library.

Have I mention how much I love this series? No, then know I do. This has been a great series giving us look into what Vader was doing between Episodes 3 and 4 and during Rebel.

In this issue, there is a lesson Vader is learn. He should have some restaint in his rage but we know that even with the Emperor's leash upon it, there will be times that hold will be loosened to the point that Vader's rage will go unrestraint. Unfortunately there will be people who will feel this rage to come. So far we know of only two to three people who have come across it but I am certain as we go into this series, there will be more to come.

As for Jocasta Nu, I am curious as to how to she has managed to remain under the radar after all this time. I would have suspected she would have been the first to be found especially since she has knowledge of the Orders' ongoings. Apparently this has not been the case. Now what lies in her fate remains to be seen until the next issues to come. Still I would love to know what she has been doing prior to this.

I am looking forward to seeing the issue what is to come.

Nov. 20th, 2017


[info]katara

| 135 |

Title: City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments #4)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Format: Epub
Rating: .5/5
Status: Did Not Finish
Reading Date: November 18, 2017 to November 20, 2017
Book Summary: The Mortal War is over, and sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is back home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She’s training to become a Shadowhunter and to use her unique power. Her mother is getting married to the love of her life. Downworlders and Shadowhunters are at peace at last. And—most importantly of all—she can finally call Jace her boyfriend.

But nothing comes without a price.

Someone is murdering Shadowhunters, provoking tensions between Downworlders and Shadowhunters that could lead to a second, bloody war. Clary’s best friend, Simon, can’t help her—his mother just found out that he’s a vampire, and now he’s homeless. When Jace begins to pull away from her without explaining why, Clary is forced to delve into the heart of a mystery whose solution reveals her worst nightmare: she herself has set in motion a terrible chain of events that could lead to her losing everything she loves. Even Jace.
Book Review: Book Rating: . 5 or level BOREDOM

I tried. I really tried to read this book but I just couldn't go any further. Clary still does nothing to offer any interest in this story and she is still a level omega Mary Sue.

No idea what Cassandra was thinking but I suppose she needed to milk this cow with further books of this series.

I doubt I will ever revisit this series from now or in the future. I have removed all further books from my Nook and have started looking for something more that won't cause me to hate the lead female more than I should.

Nov. 18th, 2017


[info]katara

| 134 |

Title: City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Format: Epub
Rating: .5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 15, 2017 to November 18, 2017
Book Summary: To save her mother's life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters - never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family's past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he's willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City - whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of the New York Times bestselling series The Mortal Instruments.
Book Review: Real Rating: .5

This book was a chore for me to read. I had to put it down several times and walk away from it because I am at the point I really hate Clary. In fact, I hate her so much more than my dislike for Bella Swan. I honestly never thought it was possible to hate a character so much as it is now.

Clary is the most self-centered, annoying, selfish Mary Sue I have ever come across. People who love this series will say she wants to help but I have to disagree. She has to be center of attention and if she is not, then she sulks. She proves this when the others leave her behind and go to the city without her. She sulks because of it and does the most stupidest thing because suddenly she is an expert in creating and casting her own runes! It is a miracle! No other character can do that! OMG!

Her character is never redeemed in this series. She makes it worse when Max dies. Instead of mourning for a nine-year-old little boy, she does the complete opposite.

Sorry but I would have punched her lights out by now and drowned her in the lake.

I like Isabelle far more than I like Clary.

As for Valentine, he was a watered down version of Voldemort. There was nothing really threatening about him. With Voldemort and his Deatheaters, they were more frightening because even though you knew that the most dangerous were locked away, there were still more out there who were waiting in the shadows and you could never really tell whom was one. Valentine's were demons. They did not terrify me whatsoever or made me think, "Oh wow! These guys are badass!" Nope. These were more "yawn. Another demon. yawn."

And what do you know Jace and Clary are not siblings! OMG! Because incest is nasty! And what better than have a plot twist where a new introduced character was actually really Jonathan! How original!

Oh yeah my nephew is really going to owe me his soul for the next lifetimes we go into because these books make my brain throb and my desire to burn these books more tempting.

Previous 20