March 2017

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom
Powered by InsaneJournal

Previous 20

Mar. 20th, 2017


[info]katara

| o54 |

Title: Skeletal
Author: Katherine Hayton
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: March 17, 2017 to March 20, 2017
Book Summary: Three months before she died Daina Harrow faced a bully at school.
Six weeks before she died Daina Harrow suffered an assault in the park.
One week before she died Daina Harrow stole a secret people had killed to hide.

That was ten years ago. Ten long years.

Now, her bones have been found on a building site. A coroner's inquest has been reopened. A parade of witnesses is about to start.

And Daina's here. Watching every day as her mother cries in the courtroom. Watching every day as her friends, and her enemies, and her killers lie about her on the stand.
Watching, and making sure that no matter what the coroner hears, you know the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.

So help you God.
Book Review: Review to come soon.

Mar. 17th, 2017


[info]katara

| o53 |

Title: RoseBlood
Author: A.G. Howard
Format: Epub
Rating: 2.5/5
Status: Didn't finish
Reading Date: March 15, 2017 to March 17, 2017
Book Summary: In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germain has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide. Hoping creative direction will help her, Rune’s mother sends her to a French arts conservatory for her senior year, located in an opera house rumored to have ties to The Phantom of the Opera.

At RoseBlood, Rune secretly befriends the masked Thorn—an elusive violinist who not only guides her musical transformation through dreams that seem more real than reality itself, but somehow knows who she is behind her own masks. As the two discover an otherworldly connection and a soul-deep romance blossoms, Thorn’s dark agenda comes to light and he’s forced to make a deadly choice: lead Rune to her destruction, or face the wrath of the phantom who has haunted the opera house for a century, and is the only father he’s ever known.
Book Review: Real Rating: 2.5

This book had a lot of potential. In fact, it drew me during the first couple of paragraphs. After that, it lost me all together. I had hoped this book would be one I would completely enjoy especially as I have loved anything Phantom of the Opera but this one fell so very short.

The main character - Rune - felt Mary Sueish. She is perfect, has this amazing voice, and a tragic past. The other character - Thorn - felt no different. He even seemed to be the perfect Gary Stu for the Mary Sue.

Another thing I cared little for was the fact I felt this book seemed so close to being something quite similar to Twilight. Maybe it was just be with Thorn stalking Rune and telling her they were meant for each other.

Or maybe I have never gotten over my hatred for the Twilight series. >>

Then there was the whole "instalove!". Seriously? In love that quickly? Couldn't we have drawn that out a bit more through the story? Apparently not.

I really wanted to like this book but I could not even connect to any of the characters. I could see why Kat hated Rune because if I had been in the same boat as Kat and had something taken from me in the way Rune took it from her, I would have hated her with every single breath in me. Other than that, Sunny seems to worship Rune on spot.

Another thing that irked the hell out of me was the fact the whole first chapter spilled everything like Rune's power, her tragic life with losing her father and her family trying to kill her, and let us not forget the whole info dump about the school. I wish it had been drawn out and perhaps not so quickly in the first chapter.

I think if the author had kept some of these secrets and info dump and sprinkled them throughout the book, I would have been glued a lot more to the pages but I just could not find it within me to do so with this one. :/

Maybe one day I will re-open this book and see it in a different light but until then I am tossing this book in the pile "books that I have never finished."

Mar. 15th, 2017


[info]katara

| o52 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #16
Author: Jimmy Palmiotti, Amanda Conner, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator), Joseph Linsner (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: March 15, 2017
Book Summary: “Red Meat” part three! Harley mixes it up with the mayor’s bloodthirsty secret weapons…and now she’s taking the fight straight to the steps of City Hall!
Book Review: Real Rating: 3.5

Once more I was thrilled to see the art of Joseph Linsner gracing the pages of this comic book. I have truly missed his art.

Second, this story does conclude one story in a gruesome way but it continues two others which I hope to see a conclusion to before anything further is added.

I have never read anything with Power Girl but I must say that her interaction with Harley is comical. Those two seem to have some sort of fondness for each other, although I believe that Power Girl might say otherwise. Still they are a fun pair and I hope we will be seeing more of her to come. She added a nice addition to the storyline.

I am glad this story is over but I would like to see answers to come with the ones that have sprung up before we see anything new. I understand that there are always other things happening around the world before Harley becomes a part of it but still there are a lot of confusion for us readers that we need to some answers made to the new characters' appearances.

Again I am partially waning away from these comics but there is still the part of me that remains hooked. I think it is mainly that I want to see exactly what Harley is capable of, Yet some of the storylines seem to drag on with no end in sight and yet others spring up for no real reason at the moment except to confuse the reader as to their purpose.

Has Harley's new series lost its luster for me? No, I don't think so yet.

[info]katara

| o51 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #15
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), Khari Evans (Illustrator), Joseph Linsner (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: March 15, 2017
Book Summary: “Red Meat” part two! Harley’s managed to carve out a kind of peace with New York’s corrupt mayor…but once she gets wind of his plans for the city’s homeless population, the deal is most definitely off!
Book Review: Real Rating: 3.5

Squee! I knew I noticed that art of Joseph Linsner! I have always loved the way he drew women especially from his Dawn series. I had not seen anything from him until now and it was a nice treat to be able to take note that I knew that art from somewhere! xD

Okay, okay with that out of the way...

I was confused with this whole storyline. First we were introduced to a young wrestling woman who seems to be gunning for Harley. The reasoning, I suppose, will remain a mystery for now. Then that entire squad of bad guys being up to something. Then you have the alien guy, who I have yet to figure out if he is going to be bad or good because it seems to change from moment to moment like some sort of mood swing. >>

And did I mention Power Girl shows up?

This has a lot going on but where a new storyline is starting, the other two are nowhere near the end of the line. So you have multiple somethings going on but no ending in sight and I can see why a lot of people would become frustrated with this. I know several times I became confused by the going ons.

This book, once held my interest, but now I feel that my attention toward is waning at best. I want to keep up with it but there are so much I can enjoy about it and then there are things I find that bore me to tears. I am going to stay as much as I can and hope that it goes in another direction that will once more renew my interest.

Mar. 14th, 2017


[info]katara

| o50 |

Title: The Crown and the Arrow (The Wrath and the Dawn 0.5)
Author: Renee Ahdieh
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: March 12, 2017 to March 14, 2017
Book Summary: Seventy-one days and seventy-one nights had come and gone since Khalid began killing his brides. This dawn, Khalid would mark the loss of the seventy-second girl, Shahrzad al-Khayzuran. Khalid didn’t know how many more of these dawns he could take. And there was something about this latest girl that piqued his interest. Not only had she volunteered to marry him, but at their wedding ceremony, she had seemed not the least bit afraid. In fact, what he had seen in her eyes was nothing short of pure hatred. She was about to lose her life. Why wasn’t she afraid? Why did she hate him so? He had never before gone to his wife’s chambers before her death at dawn. Tonight would be different.
Book Review: Real Rating: 3.5

The more I read of these little novellas the more my interest in the bigger portion of the series I am looking forward to.

Although this was a nice addition and a real nice treat to see what Khalid's thoughts were upon his new bride, I didn't find it entirely necessary. Yet it worked in a way, I suppose. Just a nice little treat before preparing to devour the next books in the series.

Mar. 11th, 2017


[info]katara

| o49 |

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter #8)
Author: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Format: Epub
Rating: 1/5
Status: Did Not Finish
Reading Date: March 11, 2017
Book Summary: Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, a new play by Jack Thorne, is the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. It will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on 30th July 2016

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes darkness comes from unexpected places.
Book Review: Real rating: .5

I really tried to get into this book but I felt such a disconnection with the characters. Personalities seemed to have changed drastically and the magical aspect that made this world one of the most interesting seemed to be gone. There were very little displays of magic whatsoever that I felt it should have just played out in the muggle world.

This story read like fanfiction rather than a play that was part of the Harry Potter universe. Albus and Scorpious were interesting and I tended to feel sorry for the latter than the former. I understood though Albus' reluctance to be apart of his father's legacy. It seemed like a huge burden to such a young child to carry upon his shoulder. No one ever wants their parents' legacy to hang over them and I suppose I can see why Albus held a bit of a resentment toward his father for it.

Although a part of me was happy to see the Harry Potter universe expanded a bit more, I was just disappointed in the whole thing. It now makes me reluctant to pick the Fantastic Beasts one.

[info]katara

| o48 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth Artist Tribute
Author: Various, Jim Henson (Creator), Mike Allred (Illustrations), Faith Erin Hicks (Illustrations), Eric Powell (Illustrations)
Format: Epub
Rating: 5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: March 11, 2017
Book Summary: Get Lost in the Labyrinth as You’ve Never Seen it Before!



In the thirty years since its original release in 1986, Jim Henson’s timeless fantasy film Labyrinth has captured the minds and imaginations of authors, artists, filmmakers, and fans across the world. In honor of the film’s 30th anniversary, return to the world of Labyrinth and see the beloved characters, imaginative locations, and unforgettable moments as realized by a collection of uniquely original artistic voices in an unprecedented celebration of the cult classic thirty years in the making.

Labyrinth: Artist Gallery features illustrations and testimonials from comics luminaries and newcomers alike, including: Mike Allred, Joëlle Jones, David Mack, Rebekah Isaacs, Eric Powell, Gustavo Duarte, Jill Thompson, Mark Buckingham, Tula Lotay, Faith Erin Hicks, Ramón Perez, Dustin Nguyen, Mike Huddleston, Jeff Stokely, and many more of your favorite artists!
Book Review: This book was amazing!

I felt like I had slipped back into my childhood with this book.

It feels like only yesterday when trailer for The Labyrinth appeared on television causing me to be so excited for it. I don't think I ever disappointed in the movie. I suppose a small part of me wanted to believe that Jareth and Sarah did find each other again later on.

This book was filled with beautiful art and wonderful tribute stories from various people and artists. I enjoyed everything about this book. I don't think there anything wrong with it. Maybe I am biased toward this particular movie and always have been.

Still this book is a must have for any The Labyrinth fan out there.

By the way, did you figure out the "easter egg" at the end? ;D

Mar. 10th, 2017


[info]katara

| o47 |

Title: The Moth and the Flame (The Wrath and the Dawn 0.25)
Author: Renee Ahdieh
Format: Epub
Rating: 5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: March 5, 2017 to March 10, 2017
Book Summary: It started as playful, if barbed, banter before rising to a fateful wager with a most notorious rake—the Captain of the Guard, Jalal al-Khoury—who may have finally met his match in a lovely, if haughty, handmaiden, Despina. But she, too, seems to have met her match in the handsome Jalal. What begins as a tempestuous battle of will and wit in short order becomes a passionate affair spurred on by tragedy of the worst kind.
Book Review: This was the first short novella by Renée Ahdieh I picked up. Normally I would have picked up the first book in the series but I thought a nice, six-chapter book that would the best to get a feel of the series first.

Of course, I understood this book would contain spoilers for the series itself but I expect that with these little novellas.

But it was worth it.

This story follows Despina, an aspiring handmaiden for the new Calipha of Khorasan, Ava, and Jalal, the high captain of the guards, and how a spunky handmaiden was swept off her feet by the very handsome high captain.

I never thought I would find another story that would keep me glued until the very end but this book did. It had romance, humor and moments of tears swelling up in my eyes. It was worth the read even if I did not know all the characters very much but it did give me a really nice introduction to these books.

Now I am hooked and I am looking forward to reading the rest of this series. Renée Ahdieh does a beautiful job with the imagery and she makes you feel as if you are part of the story itself. You might become either character.

This story was worth the read and although it is sometimes best to start off with the first book, a novella can be recommended if you want a chance to give yourself a small introduction to the series itself.

I cannot wait to dive into the rest of these books.

Feb. 26th, 2017


[info]katara

| o46 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #14
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), Khari Evans (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: February 25, 2017 to February 26, 2017
Book Summary: “RED MEAT”! Red Tool lives up to his name and Poison Ivy drops by as Harley investigates what is happening to New York’s disappearing homeless population!
Book Review: Real Rating: 2.5

Normally I have enjoyed the Harley series but this one I just could not like whatsoever. Maybe it was the many storylines going. We had an organization at the beginning plotting something against the homeless. Then we have ant-like alien creatures bringing up some sort of God-like creatures cocoon only to have it open and turn on them, killing them all. And last but not least we have a new hero show up and take Harley on a ride to find that creature, only find it has found them.

Yet according to the blurb to this we were suppose to see Ivy but I did not see her anywhere in sight plus we were suppose to see a bit of Red Tool but correct me if I wrong but did I miss him? Did I miss Ivy?

I am still going to continue this series because I like Harley. I like how she has grown and changed since being the beginning of this series. Plus I want to see this new heroine and what she has to offer. Maybe she might stick around a bit. :D

Feb. 24th, 2017


[info]katara

| o45 |

Title: Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book
Author: Jennifer Donnelly
Format: Epub
Rating: 5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: February 23, 2017 to February 24, 2017
Book Summary: An original addition to the beloved Beauty and the Beast fairy tale, Lost in a Book follows the lonely, bookish Belle as she finds an enchanted book in the Beast’s library called Nevermore that carries her into a glittering new world. There, Belle is befriended by a mysterious countess who offers her the life she’s always dreamed of.

But Nevermore is not what it seems, and the more time Belle spends there, the harder it is to leave. Good stories take hold of us and never let us go, and once Belle becomes lost in this book, she may never find her way out again.
Book Review: Wow!

Just wow!

This book was amazing!

I enjoyed every bit of it and gobbled up the entire thing in a night. I could not put this book down until the very end. It was worth the curosity and makes me want to really see the movie now.

This book is part of the media tie-in with the upcoming movie. It follows Belle shortly after trading her life for the life of her father. She and the Beast are on somewhat of good terms and the Beast has surprised her with the gift of his library. The library is covered in years of dust and she decides to take a day to clean it.

Of course she does learn a bit about the Beast's life from the others but they don't entirely tell her everything and this leaves her frustrated. It is during this time she comes across a book called Nevermore that draws her into its pages.

Behind this little game? Love and her sister, Death.

But who is going to win? Will the book keep Belle forever trapped?

This book really kept me riveted from the front cover to the end. I loved how the characters were a bit more fleshed out and both Belle and Beast's pasts revealed just a bit. This really helped to understand why the Beast was changed.

You find yourself sympathizing with him and feeling every bit of the emotional rollercoaster with Belle as she tries to figure out whether or not she has some start of feelings for him be it friendship or something deeper in meaning.

This book is worth picking up either after you see the movie or before. Trust me it is worth it and you might find yourself just as lost in the pages as Belle was in Nevermore.

Feb. 22nd, 2017


[info]katara

| o44 |

Title: 9 Presidents Who Screwed Up America: And Four Who Tried to Save Her
Author: Brion T. McClanahan
Format: Epub
Rating: 1/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: February 21 to 22 2017
Book Summary: Of the forty-four presidents who have led the United States, nine made mistakes that permanently scarred the nation. Which nine? Brion McClanahan, author of The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Founding Fathers and The Founding Fathers' Guide to the Constitution, will surprise readers with his list, which he supports with exhaustive and entertaining evidence. 9 Presidents Who Screwed Up America is a new look back at American history that unabashedly places blame for our nation's current problems on the backs of nine very flawed men.
Book Review: This book was really hard for me to like. It does touch up on some good points that presidents have overreached their executive power but I don't think the author realized that Constitution is vague when it comes to limiting much of the power of the president. Most presidents have probably read the Constitution but drawn on their conclusion as to what exactly they can and cannot do when it comes to their own presidency.

In times of war, some presidents might overreach their power. Abraham Lincoln ordered the writ of habeas corpus during the Civil War because he was hoping to stop the rebellion in the South. Maybe that was the only way in his mind that would, hopefully, end the war.

Of course many scholars might see this as an overreach and might even see him as using his presidential power far beyond the scope of what our Founding Fathers might have considered but you also have to consider that Presidents in both war and peace will use their presidency power with the demands of the times. Sometimes this is good and sometimes this could be looked at as bad. I don't think these presidents did much wrong.

If McClanahan really wanted to look at presidents that screwed up America, he might look at the ones who did nothing that led up to the Civil War.

This book made me roll my eyes and put it down several times because I think the author's biased toward Cleveland and Coolidge to the point he thinks they seem to the better presidents the U.S. has ever had.

Still if you like history as much as I do, then this book will be for you.

Feb. 15th, 2017


[info]katara

| o43 |

Title: Norse Mythology
Author: Neil Gaiman
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: February 11, 2017 to February 15, 2017
Book Summary: Introducing an instant classic—master storyteller Neil Gaiman presents a dazzling version of the great Norse myths.

Neil Gaiman has long been inspired by ancient mythology in creating the fantastical realms of his fiction. Now he turns his attention back to the source, presenting a bravura rendition of the great northern tales.

In Norse Mythology, Gaiman stays true to the myths in envisioning the major Norse pantheon: Odin, the highest of the high, wise, daring, and cunning; Thor, Odin’s son, incredibly strong yet not the wisest of gods; and Loki, son of a giant, blood brother to Odin and a trickster and unsurpassable manipulator.

Gaiman fashions these primeval stories into a novelistic arc that begins with the genesis of the legendary nine worlds and delves into the exploits of deities, dwarfs, and giants. Once, when Thor’s hammer is stolen, Thor must disguise himself as a woman, difficult with his beard and huge appetite, to steal it back. More poignant is the tale in which the blood of Kvasir, the most sagacious of gods, is turned into a mead that infuses drinkers with poetry. The work culminates in Ragnarok, the twilight of the gods and rebirth of a new time and people.

Through Gaiman’s deft and witty prose emerge these gods with their fiercely competitive natures, their susceptibility to being duped and to duping others, and their tendency to let passion ignite their actions, making these long-ago myths breathe pungent life again.
Book Review: I had never read anything by Neil Gaiman. I had heard things - good things - about his books from friends but after being recommended several books in the past and finding nothing short of disappointments in them, I was afraid to crack open a book by Neil.

This book, however, held myths. Norse myths, to be exact. I was excited. After all, I had loved Edith Hamilton's mythology book when I first read it as a kid.

This book follows the three major players within Norse mythology - Thor, Odin, and Loki - as they play each role of the Norse realmdom and their own roles to come in Ragnorok. You get brief glimpses of the other lesser gods and goddesses of the Norse mythology but that is just it - brief glimpses. Whatever stories that had been told of them are gone, lost to the sands of time. An unfortunate thing because their stories would have been interesting to know as I am sure they played their own parts in the upcoming end of the world but what roles they may have or not played will never be known.

Neil Gaiman gives right in and gives us a tour of Yggdrasil and its nine realms that you may find yourself wishing to visit these worlds even if you can only do so in your imagination. He spins you tales of heroics from Thor, Odin the all-wise Father, and the manipulator trickster God, Loki, and his kin as he builds up an army of the undead to begin setting the course towards the end of the Gods.

This book was fascinating and one book you will truly enjoy sitting down with. Gaiman has a way with words and he draws you into his story until the very end of the page. I have to admit even I was always reluctant to put down this book to get ready for bed or even for work because I loved how weaved his magic to draw back into this world of Norse mythology.

Anyone who loves mythology will love this book.

Feb. 1st, 2017


[info]katara

| o42 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #13
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator), Chad Hardin (Illustrator), Bret Blevins (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: February 01, 2017
Book Summary: “Joker Loves Harley” finale! Just how did a gentle, “reformed” Joker come to arrive at Harley’s doorstep when everyone believed him dead and gone? The answer’s in this issue-and it’ll shock you!
Book Review: This will contain spoilers!

We have arrived at the long awaited conclusion of the whole "Joker Loves Harley".

I am going to be honest when I say I actually thought the last issue ended the storyline. Unfortunately I see how wrong I was but this one really offered a real twist to the reason why Joker sought out Harley in the beginning.

Before I reveal any of that, let us start with the whole issue.

At first with the opening, I thought it was Harley dreaming of having a life with the Joker, having family with him, and then growing old with him but I was surprised to find that it was actually "Joker" himself who was dreaming of it.

Then the story shifts with Harley hovering over the "Joker". She has him tied to some boards and is preparing to open up a bag of bird seeds on him. I think she has pretty much realized that this is not really the Joker. I am not sure how she has figured this out, only that she has somehow has. After the birds have finished beaking him, she cuts him up and bites his nose. You can really see that this has entirely pissed her off and that she is not finished with this guy yet.

The next thing we see again of this "Joker" she has him tied to an electric chair with her gang as the audience.

"An electric chair? Where the hell does she get her hands on this stuff?"

I was asking myself the same question!

It seems our Harley is very resourceful! LOL!

We learn the truth - this is not the real Joker...this is a guy named Edwin, who (I guess) held Harley at one point in time (I have not read the 2013 series yet so I am a bit confused at this point). She promised him that they would meet on equal terms and have lunch but it seems that never came and he seemed the only other way to get to her was to become the Joker.

To make their encounter short, she ends up putting him out of his misery with a bullet to the head.

I felt sorry for Harley at the end of this issue. I think part of her feels horrible for having to kill someone but she did it to rid the guy of any influence that the Joker had on him, plus I think she did it to release him from his own torment or even private hell he was in. I know she felt horrible even for not keeping the promise she had made to him but there has been a lot going on in her own life and one of them is trying to keep on the path she is at the moment.

Again this issue has kept my interest in this series. I have seen Harley flourish in several different aspects and I hope she continues to grow. I know there might be some rough patches coming up for her but who knows what road she will go down.

Jan. 20th, 2017


[info]katara

| o41 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #12
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 20, 2017
Book Summary: “JOKER LOVES HARLEY” part two! Don’t ship Joker and Harley too hard! In this issue, the “reformed” Joker deceives Harley, and when that happens, she goes for his throat!
Book Review: Real Rating: 3.5

This issue picks up where the last one leaves off at with Joker about to be confronted by Red Tool.

Red Tool knows that a leopard does not change their spots overnight and Joker is no exception to this rule. He wants to know why Joker is back in Harley's life and of course, the Joker is more than willing to push buttons of those he likes to piss off.

And he pushes the right one that sends him flying into a crowd of beachgoers.

Where is Harley all this time?

Apparently it seems that before Red Tool left to meet Joker, he messed with Harley's alarm clock. So that when she woke up, she would think it was not time yet and allow her to go back to sleep. Her dreams are filled with the Joker. Are these the what ifs for her? Or were these things that actually had happened - like the many kids with Joker and a life that seemed idyllic?

When Harley finally does awake, she realizes that someone has messed with her alarm clock and she races to get ready to meet Joker.

Once she is out at the designated area, she finds Red Tool beating Joker into the a pulp and she is not happy at all with him. She stops the fight and sends Red Tool away telling him he is probation and knows that the next time they meet again he won't be giving her any sort of brilliant apologies.

As for Joker, he reveals that he helped Harley a bit back by killing Bertha. He goes to tell her that he has changed but Harley isn't buying it and reminds him of the warning she gave him before they parted ways sometime ago.

For my opinion now:

I am not sure what it was about this issue but it seemed rushed a bit. I loved the story and how it ended but the meeting between Harley and Joker didn't feel right. I don't know what it is about it but I felt there was something missing in it.

The comic itself continues to keep my interest simply because I see Harley is growing on her own. She is not quite a hero but she is not a villain anymore either. An anti-hero maybe? I know she is trying to make up for all the things she has done horribly wrong in her life and perhaps she is on this path for a reason. She does, however, deserve a chance to finish things between herself and Joker but this does not seem to be either the right time to do so or she has not quite finished with him yet. Is revenge for everything he has ever done to her in the future? There is no telling on Harley's mindset but it is apparent she is done being Joker's chess piece and toy.

And the question remains: Does the Joker simply cut his losses with Harley?

Somehow I have doubt. I think we will be seeing Mistah J again in the future.

Still I like Harley. I cannot wait to see her grow in this comic.

Jan. 15th, 2017


[info]katara

| o40 |

Title: SLEEPY HOLLOW: Rise Headless and Ride (Jason Crane series #1)
Author: Richard Gleaves
Format: Epub
Rating: 5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 13 to 15, 2017
Book Summary: "May I present the Last Descendant of Ichabod Crane..."

JASON CRANE just turned seventeen years old.

He's a STAR WARS fan and a history geek. He doesn't believe in ghosts or the afterlife. He doesn't believe in psychic powers or tarot cards. He doesn't believe in the Headless Horseman.

But Sleepy Hollow will change all that. Because Jason Crane has a heritage to claim. Jason Crane has a Gift to discover. And Jason Crane has an old enemy who will RISE HEADLESS AND RIDE.

THE JASON CRANE SERIES re-invents and re-imagines classic American ghost literature. Sleepy Hollow, Salem ("The House of the Seven Gables" and the infamous witch trials), and haunted Washington D.C. and Baltimore ("The Fall of the House of Usher" and other works of Edgar Allen Poe.)

The series is set in and among the real-life sights and Halloween events of the modern-day locations. Perfect for planning Halloween tourism! Every place mentioned in Book #1 exists for you to explore: Gory Brook Road, the Tarrytown Lighthouse, the ruin of the Horseman Bridge, the grave of Washington Irving, Patriot's Park, Philipsburg Manor and the haunted Burying Ground of the Old Dutch Church.

Book Review: Meet Jason Crane, the last descendant of the infamous Icabod Crane from the story, Sleepy Hollow.

Jason is typical teenager. He loves Star Wars and history. He is not a fan of sports and tends to approach anything supernatural or paranormal with a scientific skeptism. He is also top of his class. When he finds himself being ripped away from the one home he has known most of his life by his grandmother, Eliza, and to a place known for the story of the Headless Horseman. At first, Eliza is keeping her reasoning for the move secret until she introduces Jason to the descendant of Brom Bones, who is on a mission to find a treasure.

Mix in three other characters - Zef, Kate, and Joey.

Plus the legendary Headless Horseman and you have a retelling of a famous tale.

This book was truly a page-turner. It kept me riveted from the first page to the last page. I hated putting the book down even for a second. The story was refreshing and plot interesting. This was one self-published book that I could not understand that had not been touched by other major publishers. The characters - even the secondary characters - were well-rounded and could stand on their own. I was impressed by the display of depth of these characters. They were not one dimension as other authors often have their secondary characters but these were filled with emotion that you could become invested in these characters along with Jason, his grandmother, and the villian of the story.

I loved this book and it is not often for me to really praise a book like this one but I do love this one. I cannot wait to start reading the second and the third books to this. I hope they are just as good as this one.

Seriously if you love the story of Sleepy Hollow, then pick up this book. You won't regret it at all.

Jan. 13th, 2017


[info]katara

| o39 |

Title: History Buff's Guide to the Presidents: Top Ten Rankings of the Best, Worst, Largest, and Most Controversial Facets of the American Presidency (History Buff's Guides)
Author: Thomas R. Flagel
Format: Epub
Rating: 1.5/5
Status: Did Not Finish
Reading Date: January 12 to 13, 2017
Book Summary: Did you know that Warren G. Harding played poker in the White House at least once a week? Or that Richard Nixon was a Quaker? The History Buff's Guide to the Presidents takes a peek behind the scenes, revealing everything you ever wanted to know about the families, personal habits, and social lives of the most powerful job in the world. Author Thomas R. Flagel's unique perspective on the presidents makes this an essential book for the merely curious and hardcore history buffs alike. From George Washington to Barack Obama, Flagel's top ten lists compile the most religious presidents, the biggest scandals, and more to present a comprehensive history of the American presidents.

Do You Think You Know The Presidents?


�Top Ten Presidential Pastimes


�Top Ten Most Controversial Elections


�Top Ten Assassinations and Attempts


�Top Ten Debt Presidencies


�Top Ten Most Influential First Ladies
Book Review: As a fan of any kind of history, I was excited when this book was dropped into my lap. I could not wait to devour this book when I had my day off. Here was a book about the Presidents. Perhaps this book would contain information not set forth in other books that complied together all presidents.

I was disappointed.

Although this was could be considered a light read, the entire thing failed to capture any sort of my attention. I even tried several times to come back to the book after chores but I could not find a single thing that would draw my attention long enough.

The author seemed to favor one political party over another and pointed out things about that party he cared nothing for seem to be one of the worse. Of course we are going to have good and bad presidents from both. It will be history to decide on which side they will be on, not a single author should be a loud to do that.

Another thing that bothered me about this book is the oddly fact organization. For example, who was a lawyer or who liked playing cards on the weekend. This could have been a fun way of organizing something but it held little information or even a fun fact about any of the presidents that were listed. Of course, there might be a mention of one or two presidents but the others that had been listed were vague or there was nothing at all.

Will I pick this up again later on in the future? I don't know. I might try again but for now I think this book is better left in my unfinished pile.

Jan. 7th, 2017


[info]katara

| o38 |

Title: Harley Quinn #1 (Harley Quinn 2016 #1)
Author: Amanda Conner (Writer), Jimmy Palmiotti (Writer), Chad Hardin (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 06 to 07, 2017
Book Summary: “Die Laughing” part one!

Welcome back to Harley Quinn’s crazy world on Coney Island…now get ready to wave goodbye, because everyone there just might get eaten alive! Harley’s gotta protect her neighborhood against an all-out zombie apocalypse! Break out the chainsaws, everybody!
Book Review: Meet Harley Quinn.

This issue is a revamp of the last series belonging to Harley. This one, however, is DC Universe Rebirth. If you have not touched the other series of her comics, she does - happily - give you a bit of a history of what has happened up until now.

At this point in the series, Harley and Ivy are soaking it up at a spa. Pretty much enjoying the time they have together. Of course, the part ways but not before they tell each other sweetly how much they love each other. -le happy sigh-

With that all said and done, Harley does a rundown of how she met Mistah J while working at Arkham Asylum and how he later would end up breaking her heart.

After being dumped, she did a lot of soul searching and time to herself, she ended up finding herself in the process and ended up joining a squad. She goes on into introducing her friends, Harley Squad, and even fans of her two closest friends - Ivy and Powergirl.

Then we meet the teenage alien runaway who ends up becoming a cow, getting slaughtered, and ending up in the food chain.

And now Zombies.

This issue was interesting. Harley gave me a bit of an update to let me know exactly what has been going on with her life up until now. The only thing is they keep changing her whole history a bit again. I am used to her being just a psychiatrist, not becoming part of the inmates. So this was a bit of a change I was not expecting. I cannot say if it was good because I don't know if changed, if anything, any history between she and Joker. This is my first series of hers and so far I am enjoying it and plan to stick with it at this time.

This could change as the series grows.

So if you have not read any of Harley's series yet, give this one a chance you just might find you enjoy it.

Jan. 6th, 2017


[info]katara

| o37 |

Title: Harley Quinn #2 (Harley Quinn 2016 #2)
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Chad Hardin (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 06, 2017
Book Summary: “Die Laughing” part two! As the plague of zombies on Coney Island continues to spread, Harley must rescue one of her own from the undead hordes…and try to uncover the cause of this corpse-y catastrophe!
Book Review: The zombie apocalypse is in full swing.

And the cause of this zombie apocalypse? A runaway adolscent alien who was unfortunately introduced into the food chain via hot dogs on Coney Island.

Now Harley and her gang of misfits are trying to fight to keep themselves alive and also find a way out of there.

But when they find themselves cornered, someone comes to their rescue - Ivy!

It was great seeing Ivy pop up in this issue and that it was she who saved the ragtag band of misfits belonging to Harley.

This issue was fun and drama-filled. Harley seemed to be enjoying herself a bit there as she took down zombie after zombie. I mean who stops for a moment and eats a soft pretzel - only Harley could.

Seriously I am liking this series and I am not a fan of Harley!

[info]katara

| o36 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #3 (Harley Quinn 2016 #3)
Author: Amanda Conner (Writer), Jimmy Palmiotti (Writer), Chad Hardin (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 06, 2017
Book Summary: “DIE LAUGHING” part 3!

In this concluding chapter, Coney Island threatens to collapse completely under a tidal wave of zombies! Harley’s got a lead on a cure-but what’s it going to take to administer it to a thousand flesh-hungry fiends? Here’s hoping Poison Ivy has an idea…
Book Review: Harley and Ivy.

These two are becoming one of my favorite DC couples. I absolutely love and adore them to pieces. <3

This issue opens with Red Tool in the hospital after having his arm severed from his body. How it happened? I don't have a clue but I'm guessing from a previous issue that Harley had something to do with it. Intentionally done? I am not quite sure as I am going backwards with the issues.

We do find Harley and Ivy holed up some place. Unfortunately for Harley, the only food in the whole building is pet food and Harley is not having it. She likes to pig out on food and having none is not going quite well with her. So she and the others head off in search of food and a way out.

Again I loved Harley and Ivy in this one. They made this issue. I loved the humor and banter between the two of them. You can feel that there is something very special between those two and I hope to see even more of the pair together. I would really like to see Harley completely rid herself of Joker's influence.

[info]katara

| o35 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #4 (Harley Quinn 2016 #4)
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), Joseph Linsner (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 06, 2017
Book Summary: “108 MILLION WAYS TO DIE!” Even though she hates to leave Coney Island as it rebuilds after the zombie apocalypse, Harley must set out on a journey that will take her around the world-and into the clutches of a bizarre robotic enemy! Too bad her Mecha-Harley suit didn’t fit in the overhead bin…
Book Review: We open with the end of the whole Zombie thing on Coney Island. Harley is having her moment of reflection on both Red Tool and Ivy. She has asked the latter to move in with her but there are always excuses from Ivy.

Here she meets the Nate's Hot Dog man and makes a deal with him. She tells him she will help him resurrect his business by showing that hot dogs are not dangerous by going around eating them in front of people. Of course he agrees and she does her job even going as far to hand out hot dogs to locals.

Later we catch up with Harley on a plane with Bolly on the hunt to find out who is behind those IRS scam calls.

I loved this one. I even found myself giggling when she was spanking that little boy who was controlling the robot. That was just something I actually see Harley doing.

This one was good and sometimes I wish I was not going backwards on these comics but I cannot help it whatsoever.

Previous 20