December 2017

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom
Powered by InsaneJournal

Previous 20

Dec. 6th, 2017


[info]katara

| 141 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #9
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator), Francesco Mattina (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 6, 2017
Book Summary: As the threat of the Jedi continues to menace the fledgling Empire, Vader finds himself on the trail of Jedi his master has commanded him…to keep alive?
Book Review: This issue picks up right where we leave off with the last. Vader has been made aware of Master Jedi Jocasta Nu is still alive by Emperor Palpatine. However, Palpatine, who normally prefers to have the Order of Jedi dead, wants this one kept alive and sends Vader out to retrieve her. Vader does as he is told by his Master and heads out to the Jedi Temple to retrieve Jocasta Nu. He informs the clone troopers stationed outside to allow no one in.

Inside, Jocasta Nu has drawn out her lightsaber against the Grand Inquistor in the library. Jocasta Nu is angry that anyone not a Jedi would dare step foot within these sacred walls of the temple and she lets it be known that his kind is really not welcomed whatsoever in the temple. A battle ensue between the two of them but not without Vader finally appearing to halt the Grand Inquistor from doing any harm to Jocasta Nu. He does, after all, need her alive because the Emperor wants the Jedi secrets.

Of course, Jocasta Nu isn't going to go quietly and sets out to destroy the Jedi files of force-sensitive children. She knows that if this information falls into the wrong hands, there could be horrible repercussions. As Vader arrives, she tells him that it is too late. It is then that the Droid that guards the temple archives announces that the Jedi within the Vader uniform is Anakin Skywalker and this surprises Jocasta Nu. She knows that this is very bad...extremely bad that Skywalker is a Sith lord now.

If you love lightsaber battles, then this is definitely the issue for you! Unfortunately this issue held very little of Vader but that is going to be expected especially when there is a larger storyline playing out around you. The interesting bit is that there is a bit of a small relationship between Jocasta Nu and the Grand Inquistor and it is not in the romantic sense. I would suspect that he was once a Jedi Apprentice who tried undoubtly to get pursue the information within the walls and was thawed.

I would love to see a limited series about Jocasta Nu. She seems to be a pretty interesting character.

[info]katara

| 140 |

Title: Magyk (Septimus Heap #1)
Author: Angie Sage
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.85/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 29, 2017 to December 6, 2017
Book Summary: The first part of an enthralling new series leads readers on a fantastic journey filled with quirky characters, clever charms, potions and spells. Ages 9+.

The 7th son of the 7th son, aptly named Septimus Heap, is stolen the night he is born by a midwife who pronounces him dead. That same night, the baby's father, Silas Heap, comes across a bundle in the snow containing a newborn girl with violet eyes. The Heaps take this helpless newborn into their home, name her Jenna, and raise her as their own. But who is this mysterious baby girl, and what really happened to their beloved son, Septimus?

The first part of this enthralling new series leads readers on a fantastic journey filled with quirky characters, clever charms, potions and spells, and a yearning to uncover the mystery at the heart of this story...who is Septimus Heap?

Angie Sage writes in the tradition of great British storytellers. Her inventive fantasy is filled with humor and heart: Magyk will have readers laughing and begging for more.
Book Review: To Come Soon.

Nov. 30th, 2017


[info]katara

| 139 |

Title: Jean Grey (2017-) #9
Author: Dennis Hopeless, Victor Ibañez (Illustrator), David Yardin (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 30, 2017
Book Summary: PSYCH WAR PART 2! Trapped in the mind of the White Queen! Will Jean be able to escape? And will she be ready in time for the Phoenix?
Book Review: "Imagine that. All it took was a little death and desperation to turn you into me."
-Emma Frost to Older Psy-holo Jean


This issue completely picks up where the last issue has left off.

Young Jean is in terrible shape after the war caused by older Jean and Emma. She is rushed to the hospital but there doesn't seem to be anything that any of the staff can do to keep the psy-flames from continuous appearing. This sends Older Jean to try to go back into young Jean's body but something rejects from entering her body.

Emma gets the idea of taking young Jean out of the hospital after that display and hijacks a life saving helicopter. They load the unconscious young Jean into it and head away from the hospital.

In another part of the world, Hope has been told of a cosmic detention on Earth. The young woman knows exactly what is here and heads off in the direction.

As we return to Emma and Older Jean, it appears that young Jean may have stablized but Emma's curiosity about the tiny spark that Emma believes Older Jean found. Older Jean tells her that it was actually younger Jean who found it. Older Jean continues to feel guilty for her part in all of this but inquires why would Emma continue to hold onto it.

"Power," Emma answered.

Of course, Emma reveled in the power that the Phoenix Force gave her and she wanted to keep it for herself.

The two of them land where they are met by three young women (The Stepford Cuckoos?) who try form a psychic link with young Jean only to unleash something -

"It's Here," young Jean announced.

The Phoenix Force hovers above them.

Now with the arrival of the Phoenix Force, does this mean this will be the issue that will awaken the older Jean from her grave. We have been teased by this and it is set for this upcoming month of her arrival. So I can only surmise the arrival of the Phoenix Force in this issue is the arc to the rebirth of older Jean Grey.

But if this is how it will be, then what is going to happen to young Jean in the scheme of this?

I mean this may not entirely lead up to older Jean's rebirth and I could be entirely jumping the gun here.

So if it is not for the awakening of Older Jean, what does this mean for the younger Jean? And now that the arrival of the Phoenix has come, exactly how is younger Jean going to avoid the fate of becoming its host?

I suppose we won't find out any of these answers until the next issue. So stay tuned!

Nov. 29th, 2017


[info]katara

| 138 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth 2017 Special #1
Author: Adam Smith, Katie Cook, Alessandro Ferrari, Jeff Stokely, Curry Ross, Delilah Dawson, Roger Langridge, Jared Cullum (Illustrator) , Derek Kim (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 29, 2017
Book Summary: Celebrate Jim Henson’s Labyrinth with an all-new collection of short stories celebrating the various characters and creatures from the world of Labyrinth. Includes the never-before-told story of how Sir Didymus met his trusted steed Ambrosius. Also includes the story of a goblin running late to the famous “Dance Magic Dance” sequence from the film.
Book Review: I had been hearing stories that there would be some Jim Henson's Labyrinth to be rolled out soon. Most of them had been hyped up causing many fans of the movie to be thrilled with the idea that our favorite movie would be given some type of further story or even some backstories for many of the characters.

Of course, there were the mangas called "Return to the Labyrinth". Although it was not entirely well-received by many of the older fans, the manga offered some taste of the beloved fantasy movie's characters. Still fans held up their hopes.

And their years of patient hope and waiting had arrived in the form of four short stories. Each story delivered tales of the denizens of the Labyrinth, breathing life into those of who were fan favorites and not be left out - the goblins themselves.

In "The Right Steed for the Right Deed" follows Sir Didymus on a quest to find himself a noble steed. Of course, the search for a trusty steed leads Didymus to the wrong sorts of creatures until he comes across a set of goblins who have a caged dog. One of the goblins lets it be known to Ambrosius that it is most likely that he is looking to be dinner and not anything else. It is then that Didymus comes out of hiding and declares that Ambrosius belongs to him. The two race off together and avoid the angry goblins that were chasing after them.

"The Wrong Toby" finds Jareth, the King of the Goblins, mumbling about Toby. Two of the goblins - Poxie and Mushmug - overhear him talking about a baby in a candy-stripe outfit and head out to the human world in hopes of finding the baby to bring it back to their king. The two look high and low in the human world and cannot seem to find a baby for their king. That is until they come across a gingered cat asleep. The two of them take the cat back to the kingdom where the cat gets loose, sending the two goblins scrambling after it. Once they recapture the cat, they head to the castle where they find Jareth holding Toby in his arms. Unfortunately for the two goblins, the cat is definitely not what their king was contemplating over.

"Cup of Tea?" - Remember the little blue worm that invited Sarah to come meet his missus and drink some tea? This story is all about him. It takes place shortly after Sarah leaves, taking the long route to the castle. Of course, the little worm is a bit put out over her dismissal of his invitation to come in for a spot of tea that he takes it upon himself to see if he can find one of the denizens who would be willing to come over and have tea with he and his missus.

"Into the Bog" finds three goblins who call themselves "The Threatening Trio" who are on patrol near the bog. Unfortunately for them, they fall from the top and only one of them lands into the bog. The other two goblins sort of remove themselves from him and the poor goblin finds himself alone. The three are reunited and the other two dip their foot into the bog just to be nice.

"Beauty or the Beast" follows Jareth and Toby. Jareth has since decided that Toby is his heir apparent and one day he will inherit the entire goblin kingdom. But Toby really isn't interested in owning a kingdom at the moment. He is, after all, still a baby who is crying. Jareth takes Toby into his arms and shows him what he can be if he stays with him. For a moment seems to be contemplating this as Sarah's image appears on the mirror but in the end, Toby picks his sister over Jareth.

In the last short story titled "Run, Goblin, Run" follows a goblin whom seems to be late for Jareth's song, Dance Magic Dance.

These were some really awesome stories that will tide me over. I am hoping that there is more to come seeing this as issue one but I suppose we shall just have to see. :D

[info]katara

| 137 |

Title: You Can't Spell America Without Me: The Really Tremendous Inside Story of My Fantastic First Year as President Donald J. Trump
Author: Alec Baldwin, Kurt Andersen
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.75/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 23, 2017 to November 29, 2017
Book Summary: Political satire as deeper truth: Donald Trump's presidential memoir, as recorded by two world-renowned Trump scholars, and experts on greatness generally

"I have the best words, beautiful words, as everybody has been talking and talking about for a long time. Also? The best sentences and, what do you call them, paragraphs. My previous books were great and sold extremely, unbelievably well--even the ones by dishonest, disgusting so-called journalists. But those writers didn't understand Trump, because quite frankly they were major losers. People say if you want it done right you have to do it yourself, even when 'it' is a 'memoir.' So every word of this book was written by me, using a special advanced word processing system during the many, many nights I've been forced to stay alone in the White House--only me, just me, trust me, nobody helped. And it's all 100% true, so true--people are already saying it may be the truest book ever published. Enjoy."

Until Donald Trump publishes his account of his entire four or eight or one-and-a-half years in the White House, the definitive chronicle will be You Can't Spell America Without Me: The Really Tremendous Inside Story of My Fantastic First Year As President.

He was elected because he was the most frank presidential candidate in history, a man always eager to tell the unvarnished truth about others' flaws as well as his own excellence. Now that refreshingly compulsive un-PC candor is applied to his time as leader of the free world. The mind-boggling private encounters with world leaders. The genius backroom strategy sessions with White House advisers. His triumphs over the dishonest news media. The historic, world-changing decisions -- many of them secret until now. What he really thinks of Melania and Ivanka and Jared, Donald Jr. and Eric and the other one. And many spectacular, historic, exclusive photographs of him in private and public, making America great again.

Presented by two of America's foremost Trump scholars, Alec Baldwin and Kurt Andersen.
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.75

It had been a long time since I watched SNL. It wasn't until I started hearing that Alec Baldwin's portrayal of Donald Trump was not only hilarious but also one of the most convincing. Since then, I have been glued to the television on Saturday Night just to watch what Alec's parody will be of Donald Trump. Of course, they have had plenty of material for the week to play around.

When I found out that this book was coming out, I was a bit aprenhensive. I knew Alec was great in his portrayal of Donald on television but how would he fair in writing this book in character?

But I found I was not at all disappointed in the least. Alec delivered each and every word to the point I came to believe that it was I was actually hearing the real Donald Trump speaking in my head. There never seemed to be a point where Alec broke from character. There was moments of giggles and there were moments of bouts of laughter.

This book really delivered when it comes to poking fun at Trump.

If you are a big fan of Alec's portrayal of Donald, then you will definitely find yourself immerse with Alec as he takes on Donald's persona.

Nov. 22nd, 2017


[info]katara

| 136 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #8 (Darth Vader (2017-) #8)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 21, 2017 to November 22, 2017
Book Summary: LEGACY'S END CONTINUES! Vader and the Inquisitorius set their sights on one of the most dangerous Jedi remaining alive...and it's not who you'd expect.
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.9

This issue opens up with Vader choking one of the Imperial officers in front of the Emperor. Exactly what the officer has done to warrant such a punishment is never really told but whatever it was, it must have been severe enough to be brought before the Emperor and Vader. The Emperor, on the other hand, decides that enough punishment has been dealt and forces Vader to halt the force-choke. This does not seem to forbode well for Vader that he causes his anger to rise. This leads us to know that this restaint placed by the Emperor does not last forever because there are two other Imperial Officers that end up on the far end of Vader's rage later on and even they are not as lucky as this Colonel.

As for the Jedi Master Archivist Jocasta Nu, she arrives on Coruscant for a way into the Jedi Temple. When she finally manages to find a way in, she is angered when she sees the Grand Inquistor leisurely leaning back in his seat perusing the books at his disposal. Of course, this angers Jocasta Nu but she cannot engage with him just yet. She has a mission that needs to be completed and only once it is done, then will she be able to remove the scum from the library. As she moves deeper into the library and into an area where a droid keeper awaits her, she lifts up a mysterious disk to show she has come to use it (?).

A mysterious wreckage has been found by members of the Imperial guards. A piece from the wreckage appears to show a Jedi symbol. Of course, this piece is what brings Vader from his meditation and to where the Imperial Investigator is, whom appears to be not happy whatsoever by his presence. In fact, he tells Vader that he is "only there as an observer" and nothing more. This only causes Vader to become angry and reply, "No you are."

The important disk shows where every force-sensitive child is located. She knows that if the Sith were to get ahold of it, then any chance of defeating them would be for naught. Since it seems to be not discovered at this moment, then it would appear safe for the time being. Once it is safe, she decides now is the time to engage the Grand Inquistor in the library.

Have I mention how much I love this series? No, then know I do. This has been a great series giving us look into what Vader was doing between Episodes 3 and 4 and during Rebel.

In this issue, there is a lesson Vader is learn. He should have some restaint in his rage but we know that even with the Emperor's leash upon it, there will be times that hold will be loosened to the point that Vader's rage will go unrestraint. Unfortunately there will be people who will feel this rage to come. So far we know of only two to three people who have come across it but I am certain as we go into this series, there will be more to come.

As for Jocasta Nu, I am curious as to how to she has managed to remain under the radar after all this time. I would have suspected she would have been the first to be found especially since she has knowledge of the Orders' ongoings. Apparently this has not been the case. Now what lies in her fate remains to be seen until the next issues to come. Still I would love to know what she has been doing prior to this.

I am looking forward to seeing the issue what is to come.

Nov. 20th, 2017


[info]katara

| 135 |

Title: City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments #4)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Format: Epub
Rating: .5/5
Status: Did Not Finish
Reading Date: November 18, 2017 to November 20, 2017
Book Summary: The Mortal War is over, and sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is back home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She’s training to become a Shadowhunter and to use her unique power. Her mother is getting married to the love of her life. Downworlders and Shadowhunters are at peace at last. And—most importantly of all—she can finally call Jace her boyfriend.

But nothing comes without a price.

Someone is murdering Shadowhunters, provoking tensions between Downworlders and Shadowhunters that could lead to a second, bloody war. Clary’s best friend, Simon, can’t help her—his mother just found out that he’s a vampire, and now he’s homeless. When Jace begins to pull away from her without explaining why, Clary is forced to delve into the heart of a mystery whose solution reveals her worst nightmare: she herself has set in motion a terrible chain of events that could lead to her losing everything she loves. Even Jace.
Book Review: Book Rating: . 5 or level BOREDOM

I tried. I really tried to read this book but I just couldn't go any further. Clary still does nothing to offer any interest in this story and she is still a level omega Mary Sue.

No idea what Cassandra was thinking but I suppose she needed to milk this cow with further books of this series.

I doubt I will ever revisit this series from now or in the future. I have removed all further books from my Nook and have started looking for something more that won't cause me to hate the lead female more than I should.

Nov. 18th, 2017


[info]katara

| 134 |

Title: City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Format: Epub
Rating: .5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 15, 2017 to November 18, 2017
Book Summary: To save her mother's life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters - never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family's past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he's willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City - whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of the New York Times bestselling series The Mortal Instruments.
Book Review: Real Rating: .5

This book was a chore for me to read. I had to put it down several times and walk away from it because I am at the point I really hate Clary. In fact, I hate her so much more than my dislike for Bella Swan. I honestly never thought it was possible to hate a character so much as it is now.

Clary is the most self-centered, annoying, selfish Mary Sue I have ever come across. People who love this series will say she wants to help but I have to disagree. She has to be center of attention and if she is not, then she sulks. She proves this when the others leave her behind and go to the city without her. She sulks because of it and does the most stupidest thing because suddenly she is an expert in creating and casting her own runes! It is a miracle! No other character can do that! OMG!

Her character is never redeemed in this series. She makes it worse when Max dies. Instead of mourning for a nine-year-old little boy, she does the complete opposite.

Sorry but I would have punched her lights out by now and drowned her in the lake.

I like Isabelle far more than I like Clary.

As for Valentine, he was a watered down version of Voldemort. There was nothing really threatening about him. With Voldemort and his Deatheaters, they were more frightening because even though you knew that the most dangerous were locked away, there were still more out there who were waiting in the shadows and you could never really tell whom was one. Valentine's were demons. They did not terrify me whatsoever or made me think, "Oh wow! These guys are badass!" Nope. These were more "yawn. Another demon. yawn."

And what do you know Jace and Clary are not siblings! OMG! Because incest is nasty! And what better than have a plot twist where a new introduced character was actually really Jonathan! How original!

Oh yeah my nephew is really going to owe me his soul for the next lifetimes we go into because these books make my brain throb and my desire to burn these books more tempting.

Nov. 15th, 2017


[info]katara

| 133 |

Title: City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Format: Epub
Rating: .5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 14, 2017 to November 15, 2017
Book Summary: Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what's normal when you're a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who's becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn't ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary's only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?
Book Review: Real Rating: .5

I blame my nephew for forcing me to read these books with him. I honestly cannot stand this series whatsoever and there have been times I found myself wishing more than anything to reach into the book and bitchslap Clary. She is one of the worst characters (next to Anatasia Steel and Bella Swan) and has joined their club in the "Super Special Snowflake Mary Sue Club." This girl has led her best friend on believing that she had feelings for him when she had feelings for her own brother.

Please don't get me wrong I have nothing against incest because of tons of anime have it in there. So it doesn't squish me any.

However, there is something about this one that rubs me the wrong way.

Maybe it is because I have never been a fan of Ginny Weasley. I am not sure why but she was never my favorite Harry Potter character. However, I doubt she would be anything like Clary, whom does the most stupidest and annoying things that make me want to throttle her. I love how everything she does tends to backfire on her and how she still hates Isabelle, whom tried to help out with Jace. Of course, Isabelle is going to work with the rules (somewhat. I mean she is suppose to be Hermione in disguise!) but she does things because she has her heart in the right area.

I really wish I could enjoy these books but my biggest peeve is that the transition into one character from another character seemed to confuse me. I mean you start reading whatever Jace is doing and suddenly you find yourself with Clary without wondering how the fuck that happened! It was confusing and I had to go back briefly to see exactly where the transition happened and why one point of view ended and another began.

Seriously my nephew is going to owe me his soul when I am done with this series because I have come close to throwing these books into the nearest trashcan and reading something much better.

Nov. 14th, 2017


[info]katara

| 132 |

Title: City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Format: Epub
Rating: .5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 12, 2017 to November 14, 2017
Book Summary: When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It's hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary's first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It's also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace's world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know...

Book Review: Real Rating: .5

Fifteen-year-old Ginny Weasley Clary Fray witnesses a murder but not just any other murder but one committed by three teenagers. Even worse, the guy Draco Malfoy she meets is much more than he seems. Caught up in their world, Ginny Clary's mother goes missing and she has the Sight. Now joining up with Dumbledore's Army Shadowhunters, she must find her mother and the wherebouts of the Mortal Cup before Voldemort Valentine does.

Honestly I had no desire to ever touch these books and have never bothered to crack open the cover of one but my nephew has these books listed in his AR and they were worth megapoints if he read them. So I decided that not only would I order him a copy of the book from the library but I would borrow the ebook edition from there.

Now I remember why I did not ever want to touch these books.

This entire story comes from her Harry Potter fanfiction called The Draco Trilogy. I may or may not have read the series a long, long time ago. There seemed to be some vague remembrance to some of the storyline but not all of it.

Or maybe I just simply pushed it out of my head like I do whenever I read horrible fiction such as Twilight and Fifty Shades series.

If Cassandra Clare was trying to make this book apart from the Harry Potter series, then she failed.

Miserably.

You could tell which character was which and whom each character was modeled after in the Harry Potter universe. Even the whole Mortal Cup screamed horcrux. The only big thing missing was quidditch and the four houses.

I wish I could say I was done with this series but my nephew has his eyes on the rest of the series sadly. I hope I can survive the rest of this before I go insane.


Nov. 12th, 2017


[info]katara

| 131 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #31
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 12, 2017
Book Summary: “VOTE HARLEY” finale! It’s all come down to this: Harley and her adversary, Mayor DePerto, have trotted out every dirty trick in the book...and now it’s up to the people to decide who will lead New York City into the next decade! No matter who wins, let’s be honest with each other: it might be time to consider moving to L.A.!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.95

Wow....just wow. I am not even sure what to really think of this issue at the moment. All I can say is that this may have changed everything for Harley. Here she has given up her candidacy for Mayor with the hopes of keeping Mason Macabre alive but this seems to change toward the end. Now whether or not it is as it seems, this may set the next issue's arc heading into a darker alley than what the series had been.

In some way, I am glad Harley has given up her politcal career. I know she wanted to make a change for not only those around her but also for those she loves. Unfortunately if she were to be mayor, all her love of violence would have to be watered down more than I am sure she would have wanted it to be. After all, there would be an expectation for her to behave and lead. I just didn't see Harley fitting this mold. She has never been the type of girl to sit back and allow others to do the work she could do on her own. It was a good run, I'm sure, but with the way things seem to be heading, I don't see it as a good idea.

So what does the ending mean for Madison? I see things are going to heat up for her and I mean really heat up for her if the ending is what everyone thinks. After all, she has done something unfathomable and she now has a large target right on her back. I am not sure whether to feel sorry for her or imagine what sort of demise Harley will in store for her.

This issue was dark. Much darker than other issues. The normal bubbly Harley was replaced with a much more panicked and worried Harley but then I can understand why. One of her loved ones had been taken from her and now may be dead.

So now we must wait with baited breath as to the next issue.

Nov. 3rd, 2017


[info]katara

| 130 |

Title: Old School: Life in the Sane Lane
Author: Bill O'Reilly, Bruce Feirstein
Format: Epub
Rating: .5/5
Status: Did Not Finish
Reading Date: November 2, 2017 to November 3, 2017
Book Summary: Old School is in session....

You have probably heard the term Old School, but what you might not know is that there is a concentrated effort to tear that school down.

It’s a values thing. The anti–Old School forces believe the traditional way of looking at life is oppressive. Not inclusive. The Old School way may harbor microaggressions. Therefore, Old School philosophy must be diminished.

Those crusading against Old School now have a name: Snowflakes. You may have seen them on cable TV whining about social injustice and income inequality. You may have heard them cheering Bernie Sanders as he suggested the government pay for almost everything. The Snowflake movement is proud and loud, and they don’t like Old School grads.

So where are you in all this?

Did you get up this morning knowing there are mountains to climb—and deciding how you are going to climb them? Do you show up on time? Do you still bend over to pick up a penny? If so, you’re Old School.

Or did you wake up whining about safe spaces and trigger warnings? Do you feel marginalized by your college’s mascot? Do you look for something to get outraged about, every single day, so you can fire off a tweet defending your exquisitely precious sensibilities? Then you’re a Snowflake.

So again, are you drifting frozen precipitation? Or do you matriculate at the Old School fountain of wisdom?

This book will explain the looming confrontation so even the ladies on The View can understand it.

Time to take a stand. Old School or Snowflake. Which will it be?
Book Review: Real Rating: .5

I tried, I really tried to read this book even going as far to place it down to finish reading several comic books I had put off until now.

Was this book humorous? Not really. Was this book interesting? Not at all.

This book was more about how people of the "Old School" generation are far better than those of generation that followed are nothing short of entitled "Snowflakes." This is coming from the same guy who just recently blamed his God for failing to protect him from all those sexual harrassment lawsuits.

You know that definition of "Snowflake"? The part where they offended and whatnot? Yeah Bill O'Reilly really shouldn't be throwing stones at glass houses when his own glass house already has tons of holes in it.

My verdict of this book:

Don't bother with it. The humor just falls flat. The quizzes are ridiculous and the author of this book tries too hard to prove his own experiences should be the same for the generations that follow him.

Nov. 2nd, 2017


[info]katara

| 129 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #7 (Darth Vader (2017-) #7)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 2, 2017
Book Summary: LEGACY'S END BEGINS! Vader takes his place in command of the Emperor's secret Inquisitorius Program!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.95

This issue opens with Vader giving the Inquistors a lesson. Well one of them a lesson in hand loss. In doing so, this has caused a bit of friction between Vader and the Grand Inquistor. There doesn't seem to be any sort of respect between them and the Grand Inquistor has come to know that Vader would rather do things on his own, rather than send anyone out to do it for him. Vader even lets the Grand Inquistor know he finds his lot entirely pathetic.

With Vader obviously not happy with the Inquistors, his attentions are turned to his Master, Palpatine, who informs him of another Jedi still out there. This is where we see Jocasta, an old woman with not much time left in her life but a Jedi with the determination to keep the dying belief alive. She knows she doesn't have much time left in her and she heads out into the city on a mysterious quest. Unfortunately for her Palpatine knows she is still alive but knows the Archive Temple contains a great treasure within. He decides that since Vader is eager for the hunt he sends him after her.

This issue lacked a bit of movement and action but it set up the next issue quite nicely. Here we see Vader's interactions with the Inquistors as well as his loathing for them being there. He doesn't like the idea that his Master has brought them forth to do his bidding. Vader prefers to do things himself and not with any of the hired help. Unfortunately for him he will have no choice in the matter. For now, his focus will have to be on the capture and extermintion of the female Jedi. It won't matter to him that the woman is old and feeble, only that she will be destroyed by his own hand.

This issue will draw you in and keep you glued until the final page. I am quite looking forward to seeing how things will go for Vader from here.

[info]katara

| 128 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #30
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 2, 2017
Book Summary: "VOTE HARLEY" part three! Harley's making some pretty unsavory alliances to keep her mayoral campaign humming...including drafting some of the worst villains from her Gotham City days! How will her New York friends react to that? Can they hold their noses and vote for someone who accepts campaign contributions from the Penguin?
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.95

Okay I am not certain how I feel about Harley's new boytoy. I don't know much about him and I pretty sure I never really caught his name. I think it's Mason Macabre but I could be wrong. Still I am not the fence with him. I don't really care for the idea that he's taking her attention away from Ivy. I prefer those two together more than she and Mason. I hope we don't see much of him in the future.

The Scarecrow has grown tired of playing games with the mayor. He's not the sort who likes these type of games either and the mayor seems bent on playing these games with him. Unfortunately for the mayor, the Scarecrow isn't in the mood and has decided to cut the leash off of him and move on. He does so by knocking out the mayor and taking his money to go. Is this the end of the Scarecrow? Who knows? We may see him later on. We know he isn't quite Harley's fan and I am certain that since she has bested him this time around, there is bound to some revenge or another in the future.

As for Harley, she has decided that there is too much concrete and massive buildings in the city. With the help of Ivy and the rest of the gang, she turns the city into something of a green space. Unfortunately for Harley, it backfires spontaneously on her. Her plan has caused power outages and other sort of problems for the city.

But Harley still has another problem in the form of the current and corrupted mayor. As she prepares for another round with candidate forums and such, she finds herself in a predicament when she is forced to give up her mayor candidacy. Apparently the mayor has gained the upper hand and has captured her friends and forced her hand.

Harley isn't going to let the mayor get away with this and we know there is bound to be a ton of revenge coming his way. If the mayor survives this, I will be surprised.

[info]katara

| 127 |

Title: Jean Grey (2017-) #8
Author: Dennis Hopeless, Victor Ibañez (Illustrator), Mike Mayhew (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.25/5
Status:Finished
Reading Date: November 2, 2017
Book Summary: The Phoenix is coming, and Jean is still not prepared for its arrival. And although she received advice from Namor, there's one other former Phoenix host that she hasn't gone to. A former host that could also prepare and train her telepathic powers. That person? Emma Frost. This won't be pretty.
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.25

This issue picks up right where issue #7 has left off. Older Jean has taken over younger Jean's body and has infiltrated Emma Frost's mind but Emma is going to let Older Jean go through her head willingly. She throws whatever she can to deter the Jeans away. Unfortunately for her, Older Jean is not easily deterred and when they reach Emma, they find her "playing" Phoenix with Scott.

But Older Jean seems to feel something and finds it in exactly in Scott - the burning flame of the Phoenix. Emma tries to stop the Jeans but it is too late! The small piece of the Phoenix Flame becomes part of the Jeans.

This was an interesting storyline. It was nice to see the Cuckoos make their appearance within Emma's mind and Younger Jean's small interaction with them. You could feel the tension between Older Jean and Emma. You know it is there and it is bound to escalate in the next issue but exactly how now is the remaining question.

I am excited with this series. I have enjoyed it so far and I am looking forward to seeing how the next issue pans out with Emma.

Oct. 23rd, 2017


[info]katara

| 126 |

Title: Harry Potter: A Journey Through A History of Magic (Harry Potter: A History of Magic Exhibition)
Author: British Library
Format: Epub
Rating: 5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 20, 2017 to October 23, 2017
Book Summary: An irresistible romp through the history of magic, from alchemy to unicorns, ancient witchcraft to Harry's Hogwarts – packed with unseen sketches and manuscript pages from J.K. Rowling, magical illustrations from Jim Kay and weird, wonderful and inspiring artefacts that have been magically released from the archives at the British Library.

This spellbinding book takes readers on a journey through the Hogwarts curriculum, including Herbology, Defence Against the Dark Arts, Astronomy, Divination and more. Discover the truth behind making the Philosopher's Stone, create your very own potion and uncover the secret of invisible ink. Learn all about the history of mandrake roots and dragons, discover what witches really used their brooms for, pore over incredible images of actual mermaids and read about real-life potions, astronomers and alchemists.

The perfect gift for aspiring witches and wizards and any Harry Potter fan. Celebrating twenty years of Harry Potter magic, and produced in association with the British Library to support their major exhibition, Harry Potter: A History of Magic.

Contents:
The magical world of Harry Potter --
The journey --
Potions and alchemy --
Herbology --
Charms --
Astronomy --
Divination --
Defence against the dark arts --
Care of magical creatures --
Past, present, future --
The British Library --
J. K. Rowling.
Book Review: Me when I found out this book was coming out:



This book was fascinating and filled with artifacts that inspired the Harry Potter series. There were also wonderful illustrations of characters and hand written letters such as that of Alice Newton, who had been given the Harry Potter manuscript to read.

If you cannot go to the Harry Potter exhibit like many of us, than this book is definitely for you.

Oct. 15th, 2017


[info]katara

| 125 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #29
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Tbd (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 15, 2017
Book Summary: “VOTE HARLEY” part three! Harley’s making some pretty unsavory alliances to keep her mayoral campaign humming...including drafting some of the worst villains from her Gotham City days! How will her New York friends react to that? Can they hold their noses and vote for someone who accepts campaign contributions from the Penguin?
Book Review: Harley has thrown her hat into the electoral mayoral ring and has been gaining traction in the polls with her ability to take out criminals and make the city safe. She even has the backing of the Police Chief.

This has caused a problem for the corrupted mayor. Madison has failed him in taking care of Harley so he has called in another - Harley's fellow madman-in-arms, Dr. Jonathan Crane aka The Scarecrow. The good doctor is always willing to help out but only if the price they offer is just right for him. His solution? Drug Harley during her debate.

And her hallucinations cause her to go crazy during the debate nearly hitting one of her opponents in trying to stop dream Joker. Thankfully Ivy comes to her rescue and takes the poison out of her, telling her that The Scarecrow is behind it.

Have I mentioned how much I adore Ivy and Harley together? I really do even when Harley sleeps with Red Tool, Ivy doesn't seem to be jealous. I do hope that Harley sleeping with Red Tool does not give Red Tool the notion that there may be something more or even she is playing with him. I don't think that would be really fair to either Ivy or Red Tool. Still I love Ivy because she could be jealous and angry and even vengeful toward Harley for sleeping with someone else, but she isn't. In fact, she literally sends them up breakfast.

This issue was really good and I cannot wait to see what retribution Harley dealts The Scarecrow.

Oct. 14th, 2017


[info]katara

Title: Imagining Diana
Author: Diane Clehane
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.75/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date:
October 13, 2017 to October 14, 2017
Book Summary: In Imagining Diana, the novel by New York Times bestselling author Diane Clehane, Princess Diana survives the 1997 car crash that led to her tragic death.

As the world awaits news of Princess Diana's fate following the paparazzi-fueled crash, Diana awakens from a coma to discover that she has survived the wreckage, but with her famous face—the most photographed in the world—forever changed. Based on actual events, what ensues is an elegant and riveting account of Diana's storied past and imagined future as an icon, lover and mother of a future king.

Book Review: Real Rating: 3.75

In the Summer of 1997, Princess Diana was killed in the Paris Tunnels during a paparazzi-fueled chase. Since then, millions have wondered what exactly life would have been life if Diana had simply put her seatbelt on and survived the crash. This book takes this "what if" scenario and plays it out. Diana is the only survivor of the crash. Her once most beautiful face has changed and now as she recovers from the crash and nagavates herself into the public eye once more, we see a different Diana as she watches her sons grow and her own romances take center stage once more.

This was a rather interesting "what if" storyline. I am pretty sure that many people always wondered the same thing - what if Diana had put on that seatbelt? Would she had survived? What would have been the consequences? Would her life be like now? With so many questions out there, the author managed to answer many of them and put them in a single story dedicated to the what if storyline. Diana was carefully portrayed her and her shattered life played out as she tries to re-establish herself in a world that rejected her upon her divorce from Charles.

If you are a fan of the late Princess Diana, then this book is definitely for you to check out.

Oct. 13th, 2017


[info]katara

| 123 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #6 (Darth Vader (2017-) #6)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 13, 2017
Book Summary: Darth Vader…meet THE INQUISITORIUS!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.95

This issue pretty much picks up where the last issue left off. Vader has gotten the kyber crystal and corrupted it to make his own Sith lightsaber. Currently he is recuperating in his healing tank while Palpatine stands outside admiring the new lightsaber that he has created. Of course, Vader is less than pleased by this and even more when Palpatine suggests that he send Vader's suit to be repaired.

The issue changes to an intruder in the Jedi Temple's library. Palpatine lets Vader know of this and sends him out to deal with it. At first, the intruder believes himself to be alone with all these books until he finds himself face-to-face with a lightsaber wielding Vader. Sabers clash against each other as the two begin a fight. Of course, the intruder believes himself to have the upperhand until Vader proves himself to be more powerful than the intruder. Just before the two decide to kill each other, Palpatine appears to halt the fighting and introduces Vader to the new Grand Inquistor.

This issue was pretty interesting as it sets up the storyline for the Rebel series. Here Vader meets Palpatine's group of Grand Inquistors. He has already had a taste of a fight with one of them and the rest will simply be waiting in the wings for their turns. If you have already seen the Rebel series, then you know what has happened to most of them but this is the story we haven't seen as the series focuses on a group of rebels but here, here we get to see the interaction between Vader and the Inquistors. Here we will see how he will be interacting with him and his very thoughts on Palpatine bringing them in. Plus we will also get to his part in all of this inbetween.

Vader has always been a fascinating and complex character. This will only prove to add to this complexity of what even more to what is Darth Vader. Since we never see him really in the series itself (only bits and pieces and only as a plot turning device). Here we will get to see more of Vader during this time and exactly what he does inbetween. I am hoping to see the issues where he was added to the series.

I am really excited to see how this series continues to pan out.

Oct. 8th, 2017


[info]katara

| 122 |

Title: Harley Quinn Batman Day Special Edition (2017) #1 (Harley Quinn (2016-))
Author: Amanda Conner (Writer), Jimmy Palmiotti (Writer), John Timms (Artist), Hi-Fi (Colors), Dave Sharpe (Letters), Chris Conroy (Editor)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 6, 2017 to October 8, 2017
Book Summary: The annual fan-favorite event, now in its fourth year, was first introduced to honor Batman’s 75th anniversary. This year, in honor of Harley Quinn’s 25th anniversary, BATMAN DAY will also feature the immensely popular Clown Princess of Crime who burst into our lives when she debuted on Batman: The Animated Series in 1992.

"JOKER LOVES HARLEY" part one! For months now, strange reminders of Harley's time with the Joker have been popping up in the most unexpected places...is this coincidence? Or a message? As our tale begins, Harley is introduced to a newer, kinder Joker...and Red Tool is not happy about it!
Book Review: This comic adds a missing scenes in the Harley Quinn issues #11 - 13.

The issue opens up with Harley finding the Joker in her apartment petting her beloved weiner dog, Nathan. Harley, of course, is not pleased at his appearance. In fact after she frees her little dog and sends him downstairs, she turns back to the Joker with a knife in her hands. Joker doesn't even twitch, only tells her he wishes to discuss some matters with her. Harley is thunder-struck that he wants to talk as adults.

As Joker exits, Red Tool comes blaring into her room. The two discuss the reason behind Joker's sudden appearance. Red Tool believes that there is motive for his appearance and so does Harley but she isn't in the mood to discuss it. Instead, she and Red Tool head off to do some damage.

The scene changes to the Mayor, whom has a Homeless problem he wants to get rid of. He also wants Madison as his assisstant. Madison, on the other hand, has reasons of becoming his second hand. She thinks that the Chief of Police employing Harley is headed to disaster and she also believes that if they make some big moves this may prove to get the Mayor re-elected when the time comes.

Harley and Red Tool have broken into a wax museum. There Harley takes down a ghostly tentacle monster. Afterward, Harley heads home to get ready for bed. There she sets her alarm to wake her for her meeting with Joker. As she falls asleep, she is unaware that Red Tool has turned off her alarm.

This was a nice added bonus. It helped to understand what exactly happened to cause Harley's alarm to be turned off. You cannot be too mad at Red Tool for trying to protect her. I know he is not everyone's cup of tea but I think he adds to her a bit. I don't see him as something as a romantic interest for her but more of a brother. I tend to like this relationship. Who knows maybe there might be something more to their relationship.

Previous 20