July 2018

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom
Powered by InsaneJournal

Previous 20

Jul. 10th, 2018


[info]katara

| 213 |

Title: Persephone (Daughters of Zeus #1)
Author: Kaitlin Bevis
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: July 9, 2018 to July 10, 2018
Book Summary: One day Persephone is an ordinary high school senior working at her mom’s flower shop in Athens, Georgia. The next she’s fighting off Boreas, the brutal god of Winter, and learning that she’s a bonafide goddess—a rare daughter of the now-dead Zeus. Her goddess mom whisks her off to the Underworld to hide until Spring.

There she finds herself under the protection of handsome Hades, the god of the dead, and she’s automatically married to him. It’s the only way he can keep her safe. Older, wiser, and far more powerful than she, Hades isn’t interested in becoming her lover, at least not anytime soon. But every time he rescues her from another of Zeus’s schemes, they fall in love a little more. Will Hades ever admit his feelings for her?

Can she escape the grasp of her powerful dad’s minions? The Underworld is a very cool place, but is it worth giving up her life in the realm of the living? Her goddess powers are developing some serious, kick-butt potential. She’s going to fight back.
Book Review: To Come Soon.

Jun. 27th, 2018


[info]katara

| 212 |

Title: The Lantern's Ember
Author: Colleen Houck
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.75/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 22, 2018 to June 27, 2018
Book Summary: Welcome to a world where nightmarish creatures reign supreme.

Five hundred years ago, Jack made a deal with the devil. It’s difficult for him to remember much about his mortal days. So, he focuses on fulfilling his sentence as a Lantern—one of the watchmen who guard the portals to the Otherworld, a realm crawling with every nightmarish creature imaginable. Jack has spent centuries jumping from town to town, ensuring that nary a mortal—or not-so-mortal—soul slips past him. That is, until he meets beautiful Ember O’Dare.

Seventeen, stubborn, and a natural-born witch, Ember feels a strong pull to the Otherworld. Undeterred by Jack’s warnings, she crosses into the forbidden plane with the help of a mysterious and debonair vampire—and the chase through a dazzling, dangerous world is on. Jack must do everything in his power to get Ember back where she belongs before both the earthly and unearthly worlds descend into chaos.
Book Review: I would like to thank Netgalley and the publisher for giving me a chance to read this book prior to it's release.

In "The Lantern's Ember", we meet Jack. Once upon a time long ago, Jack was a mortal whom met the devil and made a deal. In this deal, Jack became bound to a pumpkin and now his job was to be keeper of all things that went bump in the night. In becoming this, he was also the reason for the legend of the Headless Horseman. One day, he meets a young witch named Ember and finds himself trying to protect her from the creatures of the Otherworld whom would enjoy tasting her magic. Because you see, the witches have left Otherworld and with them so was their magic.

When I first saw this book, I was excited because this book had a different premise from those of recent reads. Here, I thought, things would be different and the book would take me on an adventure that most of the ya books seemed to have lacked lately.

Unfortunately I found the same qualities in this heroine that I keep finding in other heroines - brainless, never listening, and taking off on their own despite the fact there is danger. I get that authors are trying to make their heroines brave and the ideal for those younger readers but at the same time, they are not changing the heroine personality. This is unfortunate because all heroines have potential to become something much more than just brainless twits.

I wanted to like Ember but she seemed to be one-dimension and too predictable. Her reactions to situations seemed off. While others reacted to something accordingly, she didn't. I don't know why but it bothered me. It was like she was in another world and she was reacting to something entirely different.

And who the hell allows themselves to follow someone they don't know into a world they have no idea about!? This has been reoccuring theme in the ya universe. We meet heroine and heroine goes off on an adventure into a world she has followed someone into. This has started putting me off on reading ya lately. :/ The heroines have gotten annoying and brainless. There is no personality growth and they always seem to be in some world of their own.

As for Jack? Well I liked him, if that helps, but he isn't something I would be jumping for joy over or writing to people about. I loved the idea of how he is the reason behind the legend of Sleepy Hollow. This was the most awesome part of his story. Otherwise he could be part of the background and would not be newsworthy.

Overall the world building was interesting and I really enjoyed it but the secondary characters were just like Ember - predictable. No growth, no personality, no anything.

If you enjoy movie monsters and a little bit steampunk, then this book you will definitely enjoy.

Jun. 21st, 2018


[info]katara

| 211 |

Title: The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #2)
Author: Rick Riordan
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.75/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 20, 2018 to June 21, 2018
Book Summary: Thor's hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon - the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn't just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can't retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer's return is the gods' worst enemy, Loki - and the price he wants is very high.
Book Review: Magnus Chase has returned for his second adventure!

This time, Thor has lost his hammer again. The thing is that it is not really lost but in the hands of Thor's enemies. On top of that, the Valkyrie Sam has been promised to a giant named Thrym. It is a marriage that Sam doesn't want. Magnus and his friends are determined to save her and gain back the hammer before Loki finds a way to release himself from his prison.

Have I ever mentioned how much I love Rick Riordan's books? They are always full of fun adventures and humorous twists and turns.

This one, however, seemed to be my less favorite of his books. The plot seemed to drag in the beginning and the humor seemed to be a bit flat all together. Still this book was a definite fun read. I have had this book on my reading list for quite some time and I had been meaning to crack it open. I am glad I did. Despite its short fallings, it was still a really good read and a wonderful addition to my collection. I am quite looking forward to the third book and I cannot wait to see Percy Jackson finally appear in this one!

[info]katara

| 210 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #17 (Darth Vader (2017) (Single Issues) #17)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli, Elia Bonetti (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 21, 2018
Book Summary: As the remnants of the Mon Cala resistance crumble into the seas, Vader and his Inquisitors finally confront the Jedi survivor at its core. The seas will weep…
Book Review: Darth Vader returns in the finale of Mon Cala arc.

In this issue we find Ferren Barr and his apprentice are surrounded not only by the Troopers but also by Vader's Inquistor. Barr uses the Jedi mind trick (?) to fool the Troopers, telling them that the Inquistors were once Jedi. Before the Inquistors have a chance to refute this claim, the Troopers begin firing on them allowing Barr and his apprentice to slip away during the maylay.



With the escape of Barr and his apprentice, Sixth Sister takes a brutal path to continue her hunt. In her doing so, she leaves one of her own behind whom vows revenge against her.

And when the scene changes, we finally get to see what Vader is doing. He has found where the King is hiding and destroys all those whom are guarding him. As Vader appears before the King, he tells Vader that even though there is carnage he knows he and his people will not surrender. It is at this moment Barr appears and tells that it was he whom killed the Ambassador. This surprises the King whom calls for a stand down and he tries to negotiate with Tarkin but Tarkin refuses and continues the bombardment on Mon Cala.

In the end, Barr is dead and the people of Mon Cala head into space only to met with Tarkin's ships, whom fire upon them.


I must say Vader's comics do not disappoint. There is always something going on within the pages of new issues and this one really is not different. It was interesting to see the indifference from Barr especially after he admitted to being the one whom caused all of this. He really didn't seem to care how many people were killed, only that it fitted with his agenda. I found myself not a fan of his whatsoever over this because what Jedi would dare to do something like this? Especially when the people of the planet allowed him to hide there?

As for Tarkin himself, he continues to be an amazing character. I am quite enjoying the idea of him being up front and center and I am quite looking forward to seeing more interaction between himself and Vader that seems to be coming.

Have I mentioned how much I have loved these comics? Vader continues to entertain and I am quite enjoying seeing what is up to between the time of his arrival from being Anakin to Vader and up to Rogue One and so on. I cannot wait to read the next issue.

Jun. 20th, 2018


[info]katara

| 209 |

Title: X-Men Gold (2017-) #30
Author: Marc Guggenheim, David Marquez (Illustrator), Phil Noto (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 20, 2018
Book Summary: OVERSIZED WEDDING ISSUE! Dearly beloved, we are gathered here today for the ultimate union! After a lifetime of will-they-or-won’t-they, new boyfriends and ex-girlfriends, KITTY and COLOSSUS are finally walking down the aisle together…GUEST STARS GALORE IN THIS VERY SPECIAL MOMENT IN X-MEN HISTORY!
Book Review: Holy crackers...!

Just wow...!

Holy wow!

I must say this was a wonderful build-up to a wedding that seemed to really come out of nowhere. I mean I was never expecting to Piotr and Kitty to become engaged in the first place. If you think about it, this really was all of a sudden. Maybe I have not been keeping up with the various X-titles that have been out there but this one I had been waiting for since I first read the issue of their engagement.

I will admit that a long time ago I was a fan of the pairing between Piotr and Kitty but then I saw things between them distance and both seemed to move on. If there was anyone I would have thought Kitty would have married, it would have been Star-Lord of the Guardians of the Galaxy. I mean there seemed to be more of a chemistry between the two of them than Colossus and Kitty but I suppose that saying of "you really never get over your first love" must have reapplied here.

So here we are at the wedding that the previous issues have been leading up. All the guests have arrived. And we have one very special guest whom is watching on the outside.



All this wedding talk even has Kurt talking about popping the question to Rachel Summers. So we may very well see another wedding to come soon in the future.

But as the guest assemble and the wedding procession begins, we find that there won't be a wedding at all as Kitty disappears before we even know what happens.

The guest move to the inside where the reception would have been held. Here we find Gambit talking to our favorite Weather Goddess, Storm. You can see this wedding has him thinking of our favorite power stealing gal from the South. And what does he do? He goes and does this:



So what was to be a non-wedding really does end up being a wedding. Just Gambit and Rogue's wedding to be exact.



What does this mean for Piotr and Kitty? That will remain to be seen but I expect a big fallout between the two of them and perhaps a large need of a repair of their relationship but I could be entirely wrong on this.

The good thing is if you are a fan of the Gambit and Rogue pairing then good news for you: there is a new series coming for them called Mr. and Mrs. X.


OMG! -squee!- My dream has come true! Gambit and Rogue married! This was a wonderful surprise and treat. I was actually expecting something to happen but not this. I didn't think Kitty was really ready for marriage to Colossus. I don't know why this was pushed. I would have tought it would have been a slow build-up. I understand alot of fans of the couple were thrilled with this but I think this is going to upset a lot of people.

Still this was a great issue and I may pick up the next issue to see what happens to between Kitty and Colossus. I am hoping there is some resolve between them and that maybe there is still a chance for them. I am not a fan of the couple now as I was when I first was introduced to them but I do hope something good comes out from this especially for them both.

Jun. 13th, 2018


[info]katara

| 208 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #43
Author: Christopher Sebela, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), Gabe Eltaeb (Illustrator), Amanda Conner (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator), Mirka Andolfo (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: .5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 13 2018
Book Summary: When Harley Quinn finds herself hammer-deep in a paranoid spiral, the last thing she needs is for someone to blow up her favorite bodega! Worse, the only clue she finds seems to indicate Harley herself was the actual target of the attack! What’s a girl to do when she’s pushed all her friends away just as someone decides to kill her?
Book Review: Okay.

What the hell did I just read?

This issue seemed to be a bit of a mess. I see that Harley has gone insane a bit. We see Batman and Superman with her but then we find that is nothing more than a dream...?

Whatever is going on seems to be messing up Harley big time.

Toss in Professor Pyg and The Reaper and we have something that I cannot seem to quite understand.

I am seriously on the verge of not bothering with this series anymore. The storylines are becoming a bit ridiculous and Harley seems to be out of character.

[info]katara

| 207 |

Title: X-Men Red (2018-) Annual #1 (X-Men Red (Single Issues) Annual #1)
Author: Tom Taylor, Pascal Alixe (Illustrator), Travis Charest (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 13, 2018
Book Summary: After Resurrection. Before Red. Jean Grey was reborn in a world that had changed. Her friends and family had lived lives. Some had lost lives. This is Jean's story of catching up losses and triumphs. Reconnecting with old colleagues, grieving for those lots, and meeting family members she didn't know existed.
Book Review: I actually had planned to do summary of this issue but I think it best not to do so. I believe there are a bit of spoilers in there and I think it best to allow others a chance to read this one without possible going through my post and finding a spoiler.

All this issue really does is give us a glimpse into Jean Grey's life after the limited series X-Men Phoenix Resurrection and before the start of X-Men Red.

The only thing I am not impressed with is the art. It just - I don't know. I felt it seemed like was too rushed and if were the colors were done by a child. I wish I could have enjoyed this issue a lot more.

[info]katara

| 206 |

Title: X-Men Red (2018-) #5
Author: Tom Taylor, Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator), Mahmud Asrar (Illustrator), Travis Charest (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 13, 2018
Book Summary: MUTANT HATE IS AT AN ALL-TIME HIGH…and Jean Grey is caught right in the middle! CASSANDRA NOVA’s plan is finally revealed….but to devastating consequences. And just because JEAN GREY’s team finally knows what’s going on, doesn’t mean they can actually stop it. Someone close to Jean is about to become Nova’s latest pawn…but who? And why?
Book Review: Ever since the televised head explosion of the British Ambassador believed to have been by the newly-resurrected Jean Grey, hatred of mutants have reached an overall high. Poland has recently enacted a law to apprehend any all mutants within their country.

In a undisclosed hospital, Jean and Trinary are working to remove the Sentite lodged into the head of David Bushell, whom had killed a mutant girl Gambit was protecting. Unfortunately for David, Gambit has come to seek revenge for the girl he has killed. Gambit appears in the hospital room and both Jean and Trinary try to recruit him to their group.

It is at this point Trinary has found the switch and turned off the Sentite in David's head. Also at this time, Nightcrawler appears in the room with David's dad and the two are reunited. For the newly formed red team, there is little time to celebrate as there is another mutant problem they need to attend to.

When they reappear, they find Storm and the others waiting for them. Storm informs the group that there is a set of Polish mutants on the run. Jean replies that they will help them out and the group (along with the Sentinel colored in rainbow) take off.

Upon arrival, they find the mutants cornered near the Baltic Sea. The army is converging on the fleeing mutants. Jean and her team arrive just in time to stop the slaughter from happening. It is at this moment that Namor appears and begins to take the fleeing mutants into his bubble-like ship. Jean, whom has finished showing the soldiers what the fear the mutants were having and this seemed to back them off. All the mutants board the ship leaving the army behind.


This series really has set itself apart from its predecessors. There is a big difference in this group. Although we find Jean in place of what would be Charles. However, unlike Charles, she has pretty much become quite active in the group, seeing that her not only her group is continually protected but also rescuing those whom are being perscuted by their own country. Jean knows that there is someone out there doing this but she has no idea quite whom it is.

I like this series. It is so different and we see Jean and her team growing together. They seem to be insync with each other and this is what every team should be like. I hope this series continues on this path and that it continues to do stronger than that of the other series.

[info]katara

| 205 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #4 (Labyrinth Coronation)
Author: Simon Spurrier, Daniel Bayliss, Mattia Di Meo (Illustrator), Dan Jackson (Illustrator), Fiona Staples (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 12, 2018 to June 13, 2018
Book Summary: Maria finds allies willing to help guide her to the center of the Labyrinth and to her son, Jareth. But how much can she really trust them?
Book Review: This issue pretty much picks up after where the last issue has left off at.

Our favorite Goblin King is keeping watch on unsuspecting Sarah's progress. Of course when he sees that is getting a bit too close in gaining back her brother from Jareth.



He decides it is time to put a large stop to Sarah's progress and he hands over Toby to one of the goblins.



As the story returns to the past, we find that Maria has been captured by the Trawlers and is being taken in their airship to be hand delivered to the Owl King. While in her cell, her captors return with Sir Skubbin, whom she befriended when she first entered into the Labyrinth. Once the captors are gone, Maria finds bedsheets in which she begins to tie together to escape but it is Sir Skubbin that halts her when he announces that he has a skeleton key.



As the knight opens the door, they find themselves face to face with the Night Troll Septimus. He has been sent to kill Maria, whom has unseemingly become a thorn in the side of the Owl King. Even faced with this, Maria refuses to be deterred from trying to gain back her son from the Owl King. She tells the Knight to open all the doors for the other creatures that are locked away in cages. One creature, a rather living rose bush, rises up from the bottom of the ship and sends the Night Troll in the air and the ship crashing down into the waters below.

The scene changes to Lord Albert Tyton. Here we find him being visited by the Owl King in a painting. He warns Albert of the scandal that will come should his father ever learn of his marriage to Maria and the birth of his own son. He then asks Albert what he would do to keep that from happening. Albert answers he would do anything.

We return back to Maria, the knight, and the living rose bush which has now been named Tangle. They swim to shore and decide to regroup there, deciding which direction to head to next. While they are discussing this, Tangle the bush says something that causes Maria to think of her mother. She believes that there is something familiar about this bush but she is unable to put her finger on it. Maria starts to realize that the Labyrinth keeps changing because of both herself and the memories she possesses. She closes her eyes and begins walking. The three of them come around a corner where they find a gate leading to a cemetery with a giant mausoleum in the center. On the mausoleum, she finds her husband's name "Tyton" on it. Maria doesn't seem to remember this image as she has never seen this before. She knows this image doesn't come from her mind and certainly has no idea where it has come from.

Once more we find the Owl King with Albert. With the Owl King looming over him, Albert tells the Owl King of the time his father took him to the family crypt to show him where the blood line end. Of course, Albert admits this scared him as a child. This seems to please the Owl King whom tells Albert that terrifying is always a good thing and to concentrate on that.


This series continues to remain one of my absolute favorites. It has been a breath of fresh air to see how exactly Jareth came to reign on the Goblin King. His mother, Maria, has proven to be the most resourceful woman I have ever seen. She is relentless in her pursuit of gaining back the son her husband has sold. She is fearless but determined. She is not going to let anyone stop her from getting back her beloved child. She already knows that her husband is cowardly and sold them out so he is no longer a thought in her head.

Honestly a part of me is really cheering her on but I know this is not going to end well on Maria's end. I hope that she doesn't have her memories erased but is given a chance to remain nearby her son in the end.

Still if you are a fan of Jim Henson's The Labyrinth then this series is definitely one you should pick up.

Jun. 8th, 2018


[info]katara

| 204 |

Title: The President Is Missing
Author: Bill Clinton, James Patterson
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 5, 2018 to June 8, 2018
Book Summary: President Bill Clinton and bestselling novelist James Patterson have written a spellbinding thriller, The President is Missing.

As the novel opens, a threat looms. Enemies are planning an attack of unprecedented scale on America. Uncertainty and fear grip Washington. There are whispers of cyberterror and espionage and a traitor in the cabinet. The President himself becomes a suspect, and then goes missing...

Set in real time, over the course of three days, The President Is Missing is one of the most dramatic thrillers in decades. And it could all really happen. The President Is Missing is Bill Clinton and James Patterson's totally authentic and spellbinding thriller.
Book Review: Wow.

Just wow.

I have always loved James Patterson's books. I tend to devour them in a short span of a few days. This one was really no different. I absolutely found myself unable to put it down. Unfortunately there are moments when you have no choice for sleep, eating, and running errands.

In this team-up collaboration, Bill Clinton and James Patterson offer a thrilling and suspenseful ride into the Oval Office. Here we find the President of the United States under a cloud of suspicion where there is belief that he has made a pact with a well-known terrorist. His constitutes are out to impeach him believing him guilty. There is an uncertainty and fear within the American public. Sprinkle in cyberterrorism and a missing president and you have one hell of a thrill ride til the very last pages.

Although I really enjoyed this book immensely, there was a lot of backstory that I had to trudge through. I know backstories are great for establishing a character but too much makes the story a bit laggy and unfortunately, it lagged a bit in the beginning.

But I suppose without a backstory to establish a character, the character would be one dimensional.

Still this story is really worth a read and it will keep you turning the page until the very end of the page.

Jun. 5th, 2018


[info]katara

| 203 |

Title: The Isle of the Lost (Descendants #1)
Author: Melissa de la Cruz
Format: Epub
Rating: 2.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 3, 2018 to June 5, 2018
Book Summary: Twenty years ago, all the evil villains were banished from the kingdom of Auradon and made to live in virtual imprisonment on the Isle of the Lost. The island is surrounded by a magical force field that keeps the villains and their descendants safely locked up and away from the mainland. Life on the island is dark and dreary. It is a dirty, decrepit place that's been left to rot and forgotten by the world.

But hidden in the mysterious Forbidden Fortress is a dragon's eye: the key to true darkness and the villains' only hope of escape. Only the cleverest, evilest, nastiest little villain can find it...who will it be?

Maleficent, Mistress of the Dark: As the self-proclaimed ruler of the isle, Maleficent has no tolerance for anything less than pure evil. She has little time for her subjects, who have still not mastered life without magic. Her only concern is getting off the Isle of the Lost.

Mal: At sixteen, Maleficent's daughter is the most talented student at Dragon Hall, best known for her evil schemes. And when she hears about the dragon's eye, Mal thinks this could be her chance to prove herself as the cruelest of them all.

Evie: Having been castle-schooled for years, Evil Queen's daughter, Evie, doesn't know the ins and outs of Dragon Hall. But she's a quick study, especially after she falls for one too many of Mal's little tricks.

Jay: As the son of Jafar, Jay is a boy of many talents: stealing and lying to name a few. Jay and Mal have been frenemies forever and he's not about to miss out on the hunt for the dragon's eye.

Carlos: Cruella de Vil's son may not be bravest, but he's certainly clever. Carlos's inventions may be the missing piece in locating the dragon's eye and ending the banishment for good.

Mal soon learns from her mother that the dragon's eye is cursed and whoever retrieves it will be knocked into a deep sleep for a thousand years. But Mal has a plan to capture it. She'll just need a little help from her "friends." In their quest for the dragon's eye, these kids begin to realize that just because you come from an evil family tree, being good ain't so bad.
Book Review: Color me slightly entertained.

Which really is a first of these ya books lately. Most of them have had the most annoying female leads to date but this one was a bit different.

This time we find that all the Disney villains of today and yesteryear have been placed upon an island and left there. Even those villains whom had died in their own stories have been brought back to life and placed upon this island encased in a dome. Magic is gone on both the island and the Kingdom. Now the Descendants want to return the magic back to the island and reclaim the glory of their parents had.

Malficent is currently in charge of the island. Unfortunately this does not sit very well with the Evil Queen. The Evil Queen has a party for her six-year-old daughter Evie but doesn't invite Malficent or her daughter, Mal. This causes Malficent to curse the Evil Queen and send both she and her daughter to live in isolation. Fast forward a few years, Malficent's daughter rules the school. And when Evie arrives, Mal turns her nasty attention to making Evie's life miserable. Then one day the island receives a brief bit of magic which awakens Malficent's beloved raven. This leads Malficent to believe that her Dragon's Eye is on the island and the Decendants set out to find it.

This was a rather interesting series. The idea of Disney villains having children is rather interesting. The only thing is exactly how? I know they could not be created through magic unless for some reason or another King Adam (sorry I refuse to call him King Beast seeing as Disney had already had a name for him) allowed them this brief moment.

Unfortunately for me, the storyline seemed to bore me. It seemed to drag along and the children of the villains seemed to be a bit one dimensional. It was like the author simply decided to take a villain, downsize them to pre-teen size, and slap them with teen angst and need to prove themselves to their parent. I sort of felt sorry for Mal, at times, because she was doing everything possible to prove to her own Mom that she could be just as evil as she was but the thing is when you are on an island filled with villains that have the same mentality as yourself, there is little you can do to prove yourself.

But this book is basically a prequel to the television series.

Will I continue this series? I just may because I would love to see exactly what happens with Mal through the series. I haven't seen the actual television series yet and that comes on Friday so I may just watch it.

Jun. 3rd, 2018


[info]katara

| 202 |

Title: The Assassin and the Healer (Throne of Glass 0.2)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Format: Epub
Rating: 1/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 2, 2018 to June 3, 2018
Book Summary: Meet the Assassin: beautiful, defiant, destined for greatness. Celaena Sardothien has challenged her master. Now she must pay the price. Her journey to the Red Desert will be an arduous one, but it may change the fate of her cursed world forever...
Book Review: I hate not liking a book.

This has been the norm for me lately. I try out books that have accumulated a massive fanbase and end up hating something about it.

Currently I have a strong dislike Celaena. I had a strong hope that this short novella would redeem her in some way. Instead, she seemed more full of herself as well as holier-than-thou attitude. Please don't get me wrong I understand that saving someone from certain death you want to offer advice to not go outside alone but when you pretty much lay the blame at the victim's feet, then really you need to be slapped in the face.

For now, I think it is best that I put the rest of this series down for the time being. I may try to pick it up at a later date.

Jun. 2nd, 2018


[info]katara

| 201 |

Title: The Assassin and the Pirate Lord (Throne of Glass 0.1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Format: Epub
Rating: 1.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 1, 2018 to June 2, 2018
Book Summary: A Throne of Glass novella.

On a remote island in a tropical sea, Celaena Sardothien, feared assassin, has come for retribution. She’s been sent by the Assassin’s Guild to collect on a debt they are owed by the Lord of the Pirates. But when Celaena learns that the agreed payment is not in money, but in slaves, her mission suddenly changes—and she will risk everything to right the wrong she’s been sent to bring about.
Book Review: This series was part of my book club's book of the month. Actually the first book is but I hate getting into a series without going in order. I thought that since these books are pretty much easy reading this would be a piece of cake and I would find a new series to enjoy.

Unfortunately this turned out to not be the case at all.

I found the lead female to be nearly Mary Sueish in character. She was annoying as hell, young, full of attitude that made her seem like she had a stick so far up her ass that it had probably been lodged there since birth, and a plain out spoiled brat. Seriously I want to know why no one has taken over their knee and beaten her ass. During the beginning of this book, she really seems like she needed it.

Does Celeana ever become likeable in this series? Because if she doesn't, I feel this entire series will be tossed over onto the "Not Gonna Touch These Again" pile.

May. 29th, 2018


[info]katara

| 200 |

Title: Who Was Princess Diana? (Who Was/Is...?)
Author: Ellen Labrecque, Jerry Hoare (Illustrations)
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.75/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 29, 2018
Book Summary: Learn how Lady Diana Spencer became the People's Princess as she takes her place in the ranks of the Who Was? series.

A shy twenty-year-old girl stepped out of a horse-drawn coach and into the world spotlight, capturing the imagination of millions as a real life fairytale princess. Although the storybook marriage didn't have a happy ending, Diana learned to use her fame as a way to champion charitable causes near to her heart. She became the People's Princess by humanizing the image of the royal family and showing care and concern for all people, including the homeless, the sick, and others in need.
Book Review: She was one of the most photographed women in the world.

She was once Lady Diana Spencer, 19, and relatively unknown to the photographers whom pursued Prince Charles during the early stages of his life. She would not become well-known until the two of them were caught fishing. From there, the world became fascinated by the nineteen-year-old and her wedding to Prince Charles on July 29th, 1981, would be known as the "Wedding of the Century."

During her marriage to Charles, she had two sons, William and Harry, and she would teach them the world outside the gilded palace gates by taking them to homeless shelters and teaching them that there was much more for them to learn.

Her death in 1997 would devastate a country but her sons continue to carry out her work,

This was a nice little book about Diana. There are amazing sketches of parts of her life. This would be a perfect gift for anyone whom had been caught up in the royal wedding fever during Harry and Megan's wedding. It is a great introduction to the woman whom brought the British Royal Family into the modern world and how she continues to this day to affect the work her children continue to carry out in her name.

The downside to this book is that it glosses over her life. Although there are some mentions of Charles and Diana's marriage falling apart, it doesn't really go into detail but I suppose this book is meant for younger audience and give them just a bit of small biography upon the subject of choice. Still if this does fascinate you about her, then there are plenty of reading material out there that would defintely be perfect for any reader interested in Princess Diana.

I would recommend this book to any Diana fan out there. It would be a really nice edition to your collection.

May. 28th, 2018


[info]katara

| 199 |

Title: The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1)
Author: Rick Riordan
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 25, 2018 to May 28, 2018
Book Summary: Magnus Chase has seen his share of trouble. Ever since that terrible night two years ago when his mother told him to run, he has lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, staying one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, Magnus learns that someone else is trying to track him down—his uncle Randolph, a man his mother had always warned him about. When Magnus tries to outmaneuver his uncle, he falls right into his clutches. Randolph starts rambling about Norse history and Magnus's birthright: a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

The more Randolph talks, the more puzzle pieces fall into place. Stories about the gods of Asgard, wolves, and Doomsday bubble up from Magnus's memory. But he doesn't have time to consider it all before a fire giant attacks the city, forcing him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents. . . .

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die.
Book Review: Rick Riordan returns us to the land of mythology.

This time with the Norse Gods.

Having lost his mother in an apartment accident, Magnus Chase has been living on the streets since then. He has had to stay one step ahead of both the police that seek him for answers over his mother's death and the truant officers whom seek to bring him back to school. One day he spots his cousin and his uncle on the street seemingly looking for him and he decides to go to the one uncle his mother warned him about.

Unfortunately for Magnus, his uncle finds him and insists that he go with him to a bridge to claim his birthright. Of course, Magnus is skeptical over his uncle's ramblings but when Surt appears and sets out to destroy everything in his path, Magnus is forced to believe everything his uncle tells him.

Magnus Chase is about to find out that Norse Gods of Old are indeed real.

Have I ever mention how much I love Rick Riordan? I have loved his take on mythology since the first moment I picked up The Lightning Thief. I have to admit that he has taken liberties with much of the mythology but that is what makes these stories so much fun to read. Normal books on mythology often make the Gods and their heroes seem one-dimensional but here we find that these Gods are much more and they are nearly like humans. Some of them even going as far as to blend in with the human world and interacting with them.

Much like I love Percy Jackson, I love Magnus Chase. He is a bit like Percy. They are both sarcastic, hilarious in their narratives, and draw you into their hijinks. There is never a dull moment in these books. There is always something going on and some sort of trouble that you find yourself cheering on Magnus. Even the secondary characters are not one-dimenional, lacking personality. Nope. Honestly you would think they were but you find them just as well-rounded and full of back story as Magnus.

These stories are fantastic and a great starter to get your child to begin reading. In fact, anything by Rick Riordan has my nephew's interest. Even my sister, whom has a strong dislike of reading, has come to enjoy his books even is she goes the route of audiobooks. Still it makes me happy that I have my family enjoying them.



Note: This is a second reading of this book.

May. 25th, 2018


[info]katara

| 198 |

Title: Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women & Witchcraft
Author: Tess Sharpe (Editor), Jessica Spotswood (Editor), Brandy Colbert, Zoraida Córdova, Andrea Cremer, Kate Hart, Emery Lord, Elizabeth May, Anna-Marie McLemore, Tehlor Kay Mejia, Lindsay Smith, Nova Ren Suma, Robin Talley, Shveta Thakrar, Brenna Yovanoff
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.50/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 23, 2018 to
Book Summary: A young adult fiction anthology of 15 stories featuring contemporary, historical, and futuristic stories featuring witchy heroines who are diverse in race, class, sexuality, religion, geography, and era.

Are you a good witch or a bad witch?

Glinda the Good Witch. Elphaba the Wicked Witch. Willow. Sabrina. Gemma Doyle. The Mayfair Witches. Ursula the Sea Witch. Morgan le Fey. The three weird sisters from Macbeth.

History tells us women accused of witchcraft were often outsiders: educated, independent, unmarried, unwilling to fall in line with traditional societal expectations.

Bold. Powerful. Rebellious.

A bruja’s traditional love spell has unexpected results. A witch’s healing hands begin to take life instead of giving it when she ignores her attraction to a fellow witch. In a terrifying future, women are captured by a cabal of men crying witchcraft and the one true witch among them must fight to free them all. In a desolate past, three orphaned sisters prophesize for a murderous king. Somewhere in the present, a teen girl just wants to kiss a boy without causing a hurricane.

From good witches to bad witches, to witches who are a bit of both, this is an anthology of diverse witchy tales from a collection of diverse, feminist authors. The collective strength of women working together—magically or mundanely--has long frightened society, to the point that women’s rights are challenged, legislated against, and denied all over the world. Toil & Trouble delves deep into the truly diverse mythology of witchcraft from many cultures and feminist points of view, to create modern and unique tales of witchery that have yet to be explored.
Book Review: I would like to thank Netgalley and Harlequin Teen for giving me a chance to read this book prior to it's release.

Wow.

Just holy crackers wow!

These anthologies were amazing! It was so hard to put this book down.

Even harder to really decide which story is my favorite because I think they were all perfect in their own way.

I know there are going to be tons of people whom may turn their noses up at the idea of gay witch romance but you guys have no idea what you are going to be missing. These witches are wonderful characters whom are determined to chart their own course instead of allowing Lady Fate to determine it.

I really don't want to give up any spoilers to these wonderful stories since this is mainly the ARC and some things may change but really give these stories a chance to cast their spell upon you. You will not be disappointed. You will fall in love with each witch and their own tale.

May. 24th, 2018


[info]katara

| 197 |

Title: X-Men Red (2018-) #4
Author: Tom Taylor, Mahmud Asrar (Illustrator), Travis Charest (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 24, 2018
Book Summary: JEAN GREY and her team of X-Men are trying to save the world…but one mutant could spoil that for everyone. When an old friend of Jean's is corrupted and turned against her, will Jean have to do the unthinkable?
Book Review: Our story thus far...

Jean has been resurrected; and in turn, has rejected the Phoenix Force. In doing so, Jean has set out on her own course. Her first order of business is to find herself a team. Her second order is to unite both humans and mutants together and the only way of hoping to do this is to go through the United Nations. Unfortunately one of the Ambassador's minds is hijacked and she comes out attacking Jean Grey before her head explodes. With the world watching, Jean is accused of the assassination and she is given no choice but to accept the offer of sanctuary in Wakanda. Despite this, Jean continues her work in saving mutants from the hatred being directed at them.

Our Story Now....

As Jean and her team return from a mission with a Sentienal in tow, they find themselves face to face with a possessed Weather Goddess.



Jean tries to probe Storm's mind but there is something there that keeps Jean from pressing further. She saves Storm but now realizes that even in Wakanda they are in danger. So the operation moves itself to Namor's home.

Of course what is an X-Men Red issue without a small cameo of our villain and the course she is taking.

This series is getting really good. Not only do we have a villain that is front and center but she is also causing tons of problems already for Jean.

As for Jean, she has no idea who is behind all of this havok. Cassandra has made sure that any probing Jean does there is no trace of her.

I am really enjoying this series and I cannot wait to see which direction this series goes.

May. 16th, 2018


[info]katara

| 196 |

Title: Damsel
Author: Elana K. Arnold
Format: Epub
Rating: 2.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 11, 2018 to May 16, 2018
Book Summary: The rite has existed for as long as anyone can remember: when the prince-who-will-be-king comes of age, he must venture out into the gray lands, slay a fierce dragon, and rescue a damsel to be his bride. This is the way things have always been.

When Ama wakes in the arms of Prince Emory, however, she knows none of this. She has no memory of what came before she was captured by the dragon, or what horrors she has faced in its lair. She knows only this handsome prince, the story he tells of her rescue, and her destiny to sit on the throne beside him. Ama comes with Emory back to the kingdom of Harding, hailed as the new princess, welcomed to the court.

However, as soon as her first night falls, she begins to realize that not all is as it seems, that there is more to the legends of the dragons and the damsels than anyone knows–and that the greatest threats to her life may not be behind her, but here, in front of her.
Book Review: I would like to thank edelwiss and the publisher for giving me a chance to read this book prior to it's release.

This story opens with a young Prince out to save a maiden from a dragon. When the dragon is slayed, the prince takes the maiden back to his kingdom where he will be crowned King and she his Queen. Unfortunately our maiden has no memory of her real name or even how the dragon got ahold of her. As the young maiden tries to come to terms of her future with the Prince as her husband, she also wants answers of her past.

If you are looking for some sweet, disney-esque where the Prince-saves-damsal-from-dragon and they live happily ever after, then this book definitely won't be for you. There is scenes of rape, discussions of a man's size, and a woman's gentials used as an insult.

Okay how is this book listed as a young adult when the themes are really meant for new adult? The idea that this book is geared toward younger adults doesn't fit quite right with me. I don't think even my sister would have allowed her daughter this book if it had came out while she was in junior high. The idea that there is rape scenes (or near rape) made me cringe and normally I can handle these scenes. I mean I have read them in other books but this one just made me cringe all together.

I will admit the world building was rather interesting and how this story really is not meant to be quite the "happily ever after" that we have grown up with but more of an ugly version of it. So I do see the reason behind the rape scenes, the discussions of a man's size, etc because this is not Disney, this is what life would have been liked outside of these fairytales.

Although the blurb was my cup of tea, the story, however, was not. I will recommend it to those over the age this book is intended for and I believe that many out there would enjoy the story for what it is worth.

May. 13th, 2018


[info]katara

| 195 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #16 (Darth Vader (2017-) (Single Issues) #16)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 13, 2018
Book Summary: Vader and his Inquisitors lead an elite squad of clone troopers to flush out the Jedi traitor beneath the waters of Mon Cala…and the oceans will burn with their fury.
Book Review: There are some really good series out there in the comicverse and then there are some really great series like this one that continues to give the readers exactly what they want.

Although the Jedi haven't had a real big front seat in this series during Vader's extermination of them, this one becomes a bit of a game changer in that. Here we find the Jedi taking center stage during a rough time on a planet that has gone to war against the Empire. Much like the occupants of this planet, the Jedi are doing everything to avoid being exterminated even going as far as to go underground to hide.

But when the Empire is determined to find you and eliminate you, then it becomes only a matter of time before you forced to face off against a former Jedi-turned-Sith Lord.

As for Vader himself, he is much more brutal in this issue as he hunts for his intended prey and when he finds them, he uses the force to take them out. He doesn't even have to move from the protective shell that keeps him from drowning to do damage. Yet as he is hunting down the main Jedi to take him out, he is requested by Tarkin to do something else. Of course Vader is Vader and he hates taking orders from someone else but yet he agrees and sets his Inquistors out to capture the main Jedi while he heads out to get the King of the Mon Cala.

I like Tarkin's character in these fellow issues. It is great seeing him more in a bit of a bigger role than what we are normally used to with the movies. His appearances may be here and there but it gives us a more interesting look at his character. We have seen him hold counsel with his officers and take in advice from them. He seems to treat them a bit of an equal but there doesn't seem to be any lost for Vader. There relationship is cordial at best and although Vader hates to be ordered by him, he does do what he asks. So this our first glimpse of their working relationship.

This series continues to show us Vader as he grows not only in his role as a Sith Lord but what he is actually capable of. He has sense shook off the last remaining bits of his humanity and has become exactly what Palpatine has wanted.

I love this series. The storylines are never boring and Vader continues to entertain. Maybe I am a bit biased as Vader has always been my favorite villain but I have yet to come across an issue that I haven't liked. I am really looking forward to further issues of this series.

May. 12th, 2018


[info]katara

Title: Rogue & Gambit #5 (Rogue & Gambit #5)
Author: Kelly Thompson, Pere Pérez (Illustrator), Kris Anka (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 12, 2018
Book Summary: It's ROGUE and GAMBIT vs. LAVISH for all the marbles (nobody cares about marbles anymore, but it's still a great saying, just go with it)! The stakes in Paraíso couldn't be higher — the fates of innocent mutants, Rogue and Gambit, AND the hottest relationship in the Marvel Universe — all hang in the balance! Does being together make Rogue & Gambit unstoppable? Or does it doom their mission and everyone they're trying to save? When the dust settles WHO and WHAT will be left standing?
Book Review: This issue pretty much picks up right where our last one left off.

Gambit and Rogue are fighting off various versions of themselves and in doing so, they are regaining the memories that have been inputted into these clones.



When Dr Grand appears, Rogue realizes that it is she whom is the golem copy and proceeds to destroy her. It is during this moment as Rogue absorbs the memories of the golem she learns that Dr. Grand lost control of her powers and split them, thus creating Lavish. The clone now known as Lavish convinces Dr. Grand that in order to become more powerful, they will need to create new vessels to house that power in.

With Lavish's power now encased within her own body, Rogue gets a boast in powers to her own. When Lavish appears, she orders the mutants in her presence to attack Rogue and Gambit but Rogue manages to absorb all the powers of the mutants in one single move.

When Rogue has absorbed all the powers of the other mutants and becomes a hybrid of sorts, she doesn't wait for Lavish to attack her on her own but Rogue takes matters into her own hands, destroying the golem known as Lavish.

Lavish gone; Rogue freaks out about having all these powers she has no idea of how to control. It is Gambit whom steps up to calm Rogue now and makes her focus on those powers she has absorbed from the others so that she will be ready to return each of them to their rightful owner.



The two of them share a kiss, remembering all the kisses that the two shared between them.

Gambit and Rogue set off to the find the other mutants that had their powers removed and Rogue sets about returning the powers she had absorbed to the right people. Later as the inhabitants of the island board the Blackbird, one of the mutants named Theo thanks Rogue for returning their powers to them. Rogue asks Theo if he is still contemplating having his powers removed. Theo answers that he may had once considered it but now he doesn't anymore.

With it appearing that everyone has gone back to their lives, Rogue sets off to find Gambit where she apologizes to him for the times she has ran away from them. Although she knows that there will never be a perfect time or moment for them, she still wants to give it a try. Gambit and Rogue kiss again.

When their kiss finishes, Gambit inquires if Rogue likes cats and she answers that she loves them. He then asks her if she would like to try to later to access Lavish's power and Rogue agrees.


This was a perfect ending to a great limited series. I am quite looking forward to seeing which direction this takes our couple and I am hoping that finally they will have some semblance to normacly.

Okay as normal as normal is with the X-Men.

I am glad I was able to get a hold of this series. It was definitely worth the read and fun to watch Gambit and Rogue go through couples' therapy.

This series will definitely be on my recommendation list to those whom are fans of the pair just as I am.

Previous 20