February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom
Powered by InsaneJournal

Previous 20

Feb. 14th, 2019


[info]katara

| 268 |

Title: Mr. and Mrs. X (2018-) #8
Author: Kelly Thompson, Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator), Terry Dodson (Illustrator), Rachel Dodson (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: February 14, 2019
Book Summary: Spiral jumps into the fray! But whose side is she really on? Will Rogue and Gambit ever get the vacation they deserve?
Book Review:

Feb. 6th, 2019


[info]katara

| 267 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #10 (Labyrinth Coronation)
Author: Simon Spurrier, Ryan Ferrier, Daniel Bayliss (Illustrator), Dan Jackson (Illustrator), Fiona Staples (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: February 6, 2019
Book Summary: The battle for the heart of the Labyrinth is underway as the goblin rebellion storms the Owl King’s castle, with Maria and her companions right at the heart of it.
Book Review: We are coming to the part of this series where the movie and the comic book begins to run parallel to each other.

Meaning: both our heroines are about to front the Goblin King in order to retrieve the child that was taken from them.

We find Jareth taking Toby out of the arms of Beetleglum. He orders the guards to capture Sarah and gives Toby to another goblin. As Beetleglum tries to take Toby back, Jareth stops him and tells him that he no longer trusts Beetleglum.

The story once more shifts back to Maria. Here the group has come across a mob of goblins waiting for them. At this moment, Maria looks at each of her friends and tells them how much she has come to love and appreciate them each.

From Maria to the Owl King. We find the Owl King impatient. He has two hours left on the clock before he can siphon Jareth's life away. He orders Beetleglum to send a message to his generals that they need to keep their focus sorely on Maria. After all, she is the threat to him moreso than those whom are threatening to rebel against him. Beetleglum has become fond of both Jareth and his mother and wants to find some way to help Maria. Although the Owl King rules over this domain, he also has to observe the same rules everyone else in his domain do. Unfortunately baby Jareth offers him a slight solution when he moves the clock's hand down to one hour for Maria.

Beetleglum writes a message to the goblin general but tells him to leave the girl alone. Unfortunately Septimus has seen what he has done and threatens to chase him down.

The battle between Maria's group and the goblins doesn't seem to be making any sort of leeway. Maria seizes on this moment to hold up Cible, whom offers an observation about the goblins. She tries to bring the entire group of imposing sides together by telling the goblins of how they are always doing what the Owl King wants and never what they want. She goes on to tell them the king is not as powerful as they think he is. Unfortunately her speech does nothing to unite the goblins to their cause. Instead the only agreement they can come to is that goblins should have fun.

Our story returns to Sarah whom is working her way through the castle and has come upon Beetleglum, whom is sitting between two identical doors. For a moment, the two talk a bit and then Sarah asks him for his help in finding Toby. It is then Beetleglum gestures to one of the doors.


This series is getting close to its climatic end but we still have roughly two issues left before it ends. We are seeing parallel imagery between Maria's story and that of Sarah's. We already know how the latter ends entirely but what about Maria. She seems to have done something much more than Sarah accomplished in the Labyrinth - she united many of residents within and has helped take their cause to the front door of the Owl King's castle. So exactly what will happen to Maria afterwards when she does possibly lose?

That unfortunately remains to be seen.

As for this issue, there was more dialogue than action. We see Maria offering encouraging words and affection to each of her friends whom have helped her through this ordeal. I am going to assume that at some point in the next two issues, she is going to be separated from her friends and made to face the Owl King alone just as Sarah had to do with Jareth. So I am wondering if Maria has given this any thought. I am pretty sure some sort of thought has entered her head and whether she is ready or not will remain to be seen.

This was a great issue imo. I really enjoyed the affection Maria feels for each of her friends. It felt genuine and I am hoping that none of them ever forget her. I think she has made quite an impact on all those around her and I am looking forward to seeing how this ends.

Feb. 4th, 2019


[info]katara

| 266 |

Title: Let Me Finish: Trump, the Kushners, Bannon, New Jersey, and the Power of In-Your-Face Politics
Author: Chris Christie
Format: Epub
Rating: 1.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: February 2, 2019 to February 4, 2019
Book Summary: From the outspoken former governor, a no-holds-barred account of Chris Christie's rise to power through the bare-knuckle politics of New Jersey and his frank, startling insights about Donald Trump from inside the president's inner circle.

After dropping out of the 2016 presidential race, Chris Christie stunned the political world by becoming the first major official to endorse Donald Trump. A friend of Trump's for fifteen years, the two-term New Jersey governor understood the future president as well as anyone in the political arena--and Christie quickly became one of Trump's most trusted advisers. Tapped with running Trump's transition team, Christie was nearly named his running mate. But within days of Trump's surprise victory over Hillary Clinton, Christie was in for his own surprise: he was being booted out.

In Let Me Finish, Christie sets the record straight about his tenure as a corruption-fighting prosecutor and a Republican running a Democratic state, as well as what really happened on the 2016 campaign trail and inside Trump Tower. Christie takes readers inside the ego-driven battles for Trump's attention among figures like Steve Bannon, Corey Lewandowksi, Reince Priebus, Kellyanne Conway, Jeff Sessions, and Paul Manafort. He shows how the literal trashing of Christie's transition plan put the new administration in the hands of self-serving amateurs, all but guaranteeing the Trump presidency's shaky start. Christie also addresses hot-button issues from his own years in power, including what really went down during Bridgegate. And, for the first time, Christie tells the full story of the Kushner saga: how, as a federal prosecutor, Christie put Jared Kushner's powerful father behind bars--a fact Trump's son-in-law makes Christie pay for later.

Packed with news-making revelations and told with the kind of bluntness few politicians can match, Christie's memoir is an essential guide to understanding the Trump presidency.
Book Review: This book should have been titled: Let Me Remove My Lips From Trump's Backside First.

I was never a fan of Christie and I thought about just bypassing this book entirely. After all, I was pretty sure that we would read nothing new on the dumpster fire that is the Trump Adminstration. But I was curious and you know what they say: Curiosity killed the cat.

The first section of the book talks about Christie's early part of his life prior to politics. He was your All-American boy whom found and fell in love with an All-American girl. You could say that they were the perfect couple.

Okay, they were NOT that perfect and had a dark time during the early stages of their marriage but something seemed to change and Christie ended up getting into politics shortly afterwards.

All this would probably be boring to most people. I did find it a bit interesting but really not by much. I see this book as a ego booster for Christie more than anything especially as we get into the 2016 election where he begins to blame everyone else around him. They should have listened to him...blah blah blah...they should have followed his binders....blah blah...and how Jeff Sessions should have never been Attorney General because he recused himself from the investigation on Trump.

But if you were looking for any real bitterness toward Trump on this one, you were not going to find whatsoever. Christie pretty much kisses his ass all through the book. He doesn't even take him to task over any of transgressions in the past especially on those tapes.

So if you are looking for something good to read, bypass this book and find you something else. This one was not worth the read.

Jan. 27th, 2019


[info]katara

| 265 |

Title: Witches Tarot
Author: Ellen Dugan
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 26, 2019 to January 27, 2019
Book Summary: 78 Card Deck and Companion Book

Here, the Hierophant becomes the High Priest, Wheel of Fortune becomes Wheel of the Year, and Judgement becomes Karma.

Based on the traditional Rider-Waite-Smith deck and filled with images that speak to today's magickal practitioner, witchcraft takes center stage in this stunning deck designed by highly respected Witch and Tarot reader Ellen Dugan. Featuring the vibrant artwork of award-winning artist Mark Evans, Witches Tarot is the perfect combination of Tarot and the Craft.

In addition to card descriptions and meanings, Dugan’s companion guide features spell-enhancing spreads—such as the Triple Goddess Spread, the Four Elements Spread, and the Wheel of the Year Spread—that you can use in both Tarot readings and magickal practice.
Book Review: First off have you seen how gorgeous this deck is?





I got these the other day as a gift the other day from my sister. I had not read tarot since my Mom got sick and passed away and I wasn't planning on returning to doing so. My sister, on the other hand, hated seeing something I had been so passionate about pushed to aside and simply left in the dust. So she got it in her head to pick these beautiful cards up and get me back into reading again.

I must say I was impressed with the cards and their interpretations. The art is gorgeous and the book offers a wonderful insight into their meanings. This set is a must have for those whom love using the Witches Tarot. This set is my second Witches Tarot and this set will be my most used set. I am really pleased with these cards and I am looking forward to their usage in the future.

Jan. 19th, 2019


[info]katara

| 264 |

Title: Slayer (Slayer #1)
Author: Kiersten White
Format: Epub
Rating: 2.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 17, 2019 to January 19, 2019
Book Summary: Into every generation a Slayer is born…

Nina and her twin sister, Artemis, are far from normal. It’s hard to be when you grow up at the Watcher’s Academy, which is a bit different from your average boarding school. Here teens are trained as guides for Slayers—girls gifted with supernatural strength to fight the forces of darkness. But while Nina’s mother is a prominent member of the Watcher’s Council, Nina has never embraced the violent Watcher lifestyle. Instead she follows her instincts to heal, carving out a place for herself as the school medic.

Until the day Nina’s life changes forever.

Thanks to Buffy, the famous (and infamous) Slayer that Nina’s father died protecting, Nina is not only the newest Chosen One—she’s the last Slayer, ever. Period.

As Nina hones her skills with her Watcher-in-training, Leo, there’s plenty to keep her occupied: a monster fighting ring, a demon who eats happiness, a shadowy figure that keeps popping up in Nina’s dreams…

But it’s not until bodies start turning up that Nina’s new powers will truly be tested—because someone she loves might be next.

One thing is clear: Being Chosen is easy. Making choices is hard.
Book Review: No.

Just no.

I had so much high expectations for this book but ended up being so disappointed in it. It was cast in the Buffy universe and this was made me so excited. I enjoyed watching the shows and read most of the comics when it moved there. So finding out that there was going to be a book in the universe I was happy because we were going to meet other people.

Unfortunately all my joy left my body when I found the main female lead, one of a twin named Athena aka "Nina", was a bit of a whiny, clingy brat whom made it quite clear that her situation was all Buffy's fault. It was all we ever heard her say. She hated Buffy this. She hated Buffy that. It didn't matter what time of the day because whatever part it was, she still hated Buffy and it was all Buffy's fault. So when a situation arises and Nina is the one whom takes out a demon. It comes at a surprise to everyone and there is a belief that Nina may just be a Slayer. Nina even goes as far to admit that she has been feeling slightly different for quite some time.

Nina's character just fell flat to me. She didn't seem to grow as a character and she seemed so stuck on how much everything is Buffy's fault. We get it. Can we move forward from that and onto something else?

I suppose not.

I don't see myself reading the next book. I had to actually force myself to finish this one. For those of you whom are huge Buffy fans and are looking for a read filled with Buffy and her universe, then this is definitely the book for you.

Jan. 16th, 2019


[info]katara

| 263 |

Title: The Return of Lady Jane (The Scandal Sheet #1)
Author: Jess Michaels
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.8/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 16, 2019
Book Summary: After a surprisingly passionate wedding day, Viscount Colin Wharton begins to believe he could overcome a painful betrayal in his past and truly make a future with his new wife, Jane. But a shocking betrayal crushes his heart. He sends her away, determined to forget her.

Viscountess Jane Wharton has no idea what hardened her husband's heart to her, but she is trying to make the best of her banishment. When she returns to London, she hopes to simply avoid Colin. But that is not to be. As the couple reunites in a clash of harsh words and heated passions, both begin to wonder if they could overcome the past.

Only a secret lurks that is darker than anything either could have imagined. And they will have to fight to survive, as well as fight for the love they both deserve.
Book Review: Wow.

Just wow.

I don't believe I have read anything by Jess Michaels and for some odd reason this book seemed to call to me. Having been disappointed by recent reads, I thought I would try to return to a genre that I loved to read as a teen in high school. I am serious I read these cheesy romance novels in high school and loved them. It was because of them that I always had a book or two in my purse for leisure reading during class.

In this book, we meet Colin and Jane. They have just recently wed and unfortunately for Colin, he has been badly burned by his former lover, Cassandra. For the moment, he believes Jane might be the one. That is until his cousin spots something during the wedding party and Colin is heartbroken to the point that he sends Jane away to live at one of his estates. Now it has been some months and Jane has returned but only because her sister has given birth. Colin has gotten wind of Jane's return and he brings her back to his home to live.

I really, really enjoyed this book. Jane was the kinda of girl I enjoyed. She was not spoiled. Not a one-dimensional character and you really felt sorry for her because she had no idea what she had done to earn the punishment her husband had doled out to her. But even her banishment did not keep her down, it actually made her a bit stronger and she learned to live with it. She went about running her husband's estate and earned the love of the tenants and servants that presided there.

As for Colin, there were moments I wanted to smack him upside of his head. I understand that being betrayed by one person you can be a bit wary of it happening again. Yet inside of listening to his cousin and seeing if what he had said was true, he simply banished Jane as if she were nothing more than a common criminal. I do, however, like that he would eventually redeem himself to her as well as to the audience.

This book was a fun read. I really could not put it down. The storyline was attention grabbing and the characters drew you in to the point that you actually felt compassion for both leads regardless. I cannot believe I am going to say this but I am honestly looking forward to rest of the books in this series and I have every plan to read them.

If you are looking for something really quick to read and filled with historical romance, then this novella would definitely be for you.

[info]katara

| 262 |

Title: Sea Witch (Sea Witch #1)
Author: Sarah Henning
Format: Epub
Rating: 2.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 14, 2019 to January 16, 2019
Book Summary: Everyone knows what happens in the end. A mermaid, a prince, a true love’s kiss. But before that young siren’s tale, there were three friends. One feared, one royal, and one already dead.

Ever since her best friend, Anna, drowned, Evie has been an outcast in her small fishing town. A freak. A curse. A witch.

A girl with an uncanny resemblance to Anna appears offshore and, though the girl denies it, Evie is convinced that her best friend actually survived. That her own magic wasn’t so powerless after all. And, as the two girls catch the eyes—and hearts—of two charming princes, Evie believes that she might finally have a chance at her own happily ever after.

But her new friend has secrets of her own. She can’t stay in Havnestad, or on two legs, unless Evie finds a way to help her. Now Evie will do anything to save her friend’s humanity, along with her prince’s heart—harnessing the power of her magic, her ocean, and her love until she discovers, too late, the truth of her bargain.
Book Review: -sighs-

What is it lately with YA becoming so incredibly boring and the characters as interesting as a board?

Please don't get me wrong I really enjoyed the history lesson given with this story but you can only put in so much before it drags the story to a slow crawl. And this is exactly what it did. I get it that since the story takes place in a part of actual history that there are to be lessons about the period, its people, and the land. This is always a given but having so much of it often takes away from the time of characters and plot that it drags the storyline.

Yes I get that witches were burned. But witches or anyone considered associated with magic were literally burned at the stake. Our center character has to keep her abilities a secret not only from her friends but the rest of her village or else she could suffer the same fate as those whom they celebrate burning at a yearly festival.

I know this is suppose to be a retelling of The Little Mermaid but it took what felt a long time to actually get to that part and even the ending was lackluster.

I hate being disappointed in YA books. Lately there has been some really big hits that have ended up becoming nothing more than big misses for me. :/ Maybe I am just in that sort of funk and all YA books have become like that. Maybe it is time to find another genre for awhile.

To those whom love The Little Mermaid will possbily love this retelling. As for me, it just was not for me whatsoever.

Jan. 13th, 2019


[info]katara

| 261 |

Title: Mr. and Mrs. X (2018-) #7
Author: Kelly Thompson, Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator), Terry Dodson (Illustrator), Rachel Dodson (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 13, 2019
Book Summary: Stuck in the Mojoverse! Rogue and Gambit are forced to relive moments of their past…but this time for the cameras!
Book Review: Like all issues of past and present, this issue pretty much continues from the last.

Gambit and Rogue are hanging over a pool of aligators and are about to be the main course for them. Yet neither of them know how exactly they have gotten there. Neither of them aware of the fact they were part of Mojovision's desire once again to give an audience what he believes they need. He removes them from their current situation and puts them into a noir-like show called, "Honey Moonlighting." Unfortunately this story ends quite horribly and before either can react, Rogue is tossed into the next story and we get a glimpse of a recast as we go into a story with a Sleeping Beauty-esque.

I must admit this new arc into the Gambit and Rogue series was a rather fun addition. Unfortunately we have no idea exactly what Mojovision has in store for our newly married couple especially now that Gambit has been recast with another character. What is going to happen is the fun of it all. I am really excited to see exactly which direction this series goes. It has been fun and watching Gambit and Rogue in many situations from space to domestic life to now being part of Mojovision's stories has been quite a roller coaster.

Gambit and Rogue have always been my favorite X-Couple and to finally have them married has always been a great dream for me. I know that there have been past events where they were a married couple of sorts and unfortunately I missed those but they really never received air time as they are right now and this series has been a great read.

Unfortunately where there are great stories sometimes the art has a bit of a misdirection. There were a couple of panels that were a bit weird. Otherwise I think these are mere hiccups and nothing more to be honest.

I am looking forward to seeing the next part of this storyline.

Jan. 7th, 2019


[info]katara

| 260 |

Title: Crazy Rich Asians (Crazy Rich Asians #1)
Author: Kevin Kwan
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: January 6, 2019 to January 7, 2019
Book Summary: Crazy Rich Asians is the outrageously funny debut novel about three super-rich, pedigreed Chinese families and the gossip, backbiting, and scheming that occurs when the heir to one of the most massive fortunes in Asia brings home his ABC (American-born Chinese) girlfriend to the wedding of the season.
When Rachel Chu agrees to spend the summer in Singapore with her boyfriend, Nicholas Young, she envisions a humble family home, long drives to explore the island, and quality time with the man she might one day marry. What she doesn't know is that Nick's family home happens to look like a palace, that she'll ride in more private planes than cars, and that with one of Asia's most eligible bachelors on her arm, Rachel might as well have a target on her back. Initiated into a world of dynastic splendor beyond imagination, Rachel meets Astrid, the It Girl of Singapore society; Eddie, whose family practically lives in the pages of the Hong Kong socialite magazines; and Eleanor, Nick's formidable mother, a woman who has very strong feelings about who her son should--and should not--marry. Uproarious, addictive, and filled with jaw-dropping opulence, Crazy Rich Asians is an insider's look at the Asian JetSet; a perfect depiction of the clash between old money and new money; between Overseas Chinese and Mainland Chinese; and a fabulous novel about what it means to be young, in love, and gloriously, crazily rich.
Book Review: Wow.

Just wow.

This entire book read like the soap operas I used to watch with my Momma. There was a moment where I kept waiting to hear the music and someone tell me, "And these are the days for Crazy Rich Asians...." Seriously I waited for that. LOL

This book introduces us to Rachel and Nick. Rachel has never met Nick's family and this opportunity comes when a family wedding pops up. The thing is Nick has never mentioned his family to Rachel but when Rachel finally meets them she is in for a shock. Here she learns that her boyfriend is pretty much rich and his mother is no angel. In fact, the woman will do anything to dig up dirt on Rachel to break up her up with her son.

Honestly if you thought the shows Dallas and Dynasty were filled with drama and intrigue than you are sadly mistaken. This one has one up on those shows. Although I have to admit, Nick's mother would probably put Alexis Collins to shame.

This book was a fun read and I have to admit I enjoyed it. I intended to read the book way before the movie but when you work in a movie theatre as I do and get to hear what your guests are saying about it, then reading is pretty much further from your mind. I am glad I had a chance to see the movie first and read the book later because I ended up appreciating both in their own way. This was something I could not achieve after reading the Harry Potter books and then seeing the movies to them.

I think this book just became a guilty pleasure and I will eventually read the other two books in this trilogy. Still if you are looking for something fun and trashy, then you will really enjoy this book.

Dec. 27th, 2018


[info]katara

| 259 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #9
Author: Simon Spurrier, Ryan Ferrier, Daniel Bayliss (Illustrator), Dan Jackson (Illustrator), Kat Leyh (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 27, 2018
Book Summary: Maria finds herself in a stunning, masquerade ball of her dreams, reunited with her husband at long last. But like all things in the Labyrinth...everything is not what it seems.
Book Review: Wow!

Just wow!

The story between Maria and Sarah in this issue is eerily parallel. Both girls experience a dream-like dance event and both end up breaking the dream-like state. Both girls are out to rescue a baby from the Goblin King. The only difference is that in Maria's dream-state it is her husband that tells her that the owl King is out to make their son his heir and she needs to get to him quickly.

When Maria comes back to the Labyrinth, she finds that her friends had been captured and that they are ready to ready to storm the castle to save Maria's son.

Again this continues to be a bit of a parallel between Sarah and Maria. Both women will be doing the same thing but in their own way. We already know how Sarah's journey ends but we still have yet to see how Maria's plays out and how hers will end. I mean we have an idea but not the entire story.

Part of me really wants to see Maria succeed but the other part of me knows she won't. I really would love to see her continue to raise her son but it is apparent from jareth's storytelling that isn't how it ends. So we will be left wondering until the very end of it all.

This series is wonderful and I love how we are still getting Jareth's origin storyline. Maria is one fierce Momma and she has the determination to continue her quest to gain back her son.

I cannot wait for the next issues and I am looking forward to seeing how this story concludes at the end. If you are looking for something fantasy to read, then definitely pick up this series. You will not regret it.

[info]katara

| 258 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-2018) #25
(Darth Vader (2017) (Single Issues) #25)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator), Elia Bonetti (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 27, 2018
Book Summary: FORTRESS VADER: FINALE! The FORTRESS is complete. The door will be opened. VADER finds everything he has ever desired. THE DARK LORD gets everything he deserves.
Book Review: December seems to be the month that we are seeing many of the great comics coming to the end.

Vader's series is no exception to the rule.

This series goes right into the action and it does not stop until the very end. Vader is plunged into the Force and through that, he sees his past and even finds out something that he does not expect in his life. Exactly what does this do to his mental state is not really quite known. Vader's mask conceals his face from view so any sort of revelation that is revealed does not tell us anything. We can only come to suspect that this has some sort of impact on him. Exactly how we don't know.

Nor will we.

This series was a great series. I think it was one of the most solid ones to date but then again anything with Vader is a solid hold for me. I absolutely loved getting to see Vader from the moments after Revenge of the Sith.

And what about that revelation? Holy shi-! That was one hellva of a reveal and one that I really was not expecting but now I understand why Palpatine was so interested in Anakin since the beginning. Still I am not sure if I can get over this. I doubt I ever will!

Whatever series that does come out with him later in the future, you know definitely I will be picking it up.

Dec. 20th, 2018


[info]katara

| 257 |

Title: Mr. and Mrs. X (2018-) #6
Author: Kelly Thompson, David Lopez (Illustrator), Terry Dodson (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.8/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 20, 2018
Book Summary: Gambit and Rogue are throwing a party, and you’re invited! Guest-starring every X-Man their apartment can fit! Hey, who invited the Thieves Guild?!
Book Review: With their adventure in space over and done, it is time for Remy and Anna Marie to settle down into marital bliss.

What better way than to have a party to celebrate not only their return home but also their home.

Unfortunately things don't just go their way. Remy's father appears to warn him that he's about to be attack and from the skyliner, a set of thieves burst forth to attack Remy and his father. Of course this doesn't make Rogue happy at all and sets them to take it outside. Rogue does join her husband on the roof to rid themselves of the pesky intruders and shows them exactly how unhappy she is by their unannounced arrival by unleashing the full magnitude of her powers.

Later both Belle, Remy's ex-wife, and Magneto, Rogue's ex, end up showing up. For both, the parallel of wanting to see the marriage of Remy and Rogue succeed is something I never thought I would see when it comes to both Belle and Magneto. Both offer advice - or a warning from one and the other asking for both to trust each other.

As the party winds down, Beast finds Rogue to give her a new power-neutral bracelet.

But things are not quiet. Not by the least. As Remy and Anna kiss, something changes for them and they both find themselves hanging by a thread (s0 t0 speak).


This series has been great. It appears Gambit and Rogue don't seem to catch a break to enjoy a quiet, married life but I suppose being X-Men they will never catch a break whatsoever. So where is this series going? It appears to me that we are about to see Mojo.

I cannot wait for the next issue. It was wonderful seeing Gambit and Rogue in their older costumes at the end. I have always had a love for those. I hated the fact that after the movies came out that Rogue's skunk-like hair was changed to fit the movie.

I miss Gambit being in his original costume. I don't think I have seen it on him in quite some time (unless I have missed it somewhere in other series).

So in conculsion, I am looking forward to seeing how the next storyline plays out.

Dec. 19th, 2018


[info]katara

| 256 |

Title: X-Men Red (2018) #11
Author: Tom Taylor, Roge Antonio (Illustrator), Jenny Frison (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.25/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 19, 2018
Book Summary: The X-Men have battled valiantly against their powerful psychic foe, Cassandra Nova, since the moment she framed Jean Grey for murder on the world stage. They have been hunted. They have been hated. And now…they can fight no more.
Book Review: As we come to the end of the X-Men Red series, we also come to the conclusion of the end of the Cassandra Nova storyline.

And let me say that this end is quite a bit unexpected.

But I cannot say that Cassandra didn't deserve it. She had put too many people's lives on the line to continue spewing hate with the hopes to cause a war between both mutant-kind and homosapiens.

Unfortunately for her, she has the X-Men, the Atlantians, and the Avengers ready to take her down and bring about peace. Of course, Cassandra isn't going to go down easy either and she shows that too several times but Jean Grey is resilient and won't be going down that easily. After all, once upon a time ago she was the held the power of the Phoenix force and had just been resurrected from the dead. She wasn't going to allow Cassandra to cause pain, not when she had just come back with the hopes of bringing peace.

In the end of all ends, Cassandra is finally brought down to heel and not exactly the way one would have thought.

I am honestly sad to see that this series has come to an end. I was hoping to see Jean continue to lead her newfound group onward but I am hearing the X-universe is about to get another reboot and characters are going to be resurrected. So I suppose we will have to see how things are handled once more and see what sort of storylines are brought once more to the tables of the X-Men universe.

Dec. 11th, 2018


[info]katara

| 255 |

Title: Typhoid Fever: X-Men #1 (Typhoid Fever #2)
Author: Clay McLeod Chapman, Will Robson (Illustrator), R. Silva (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 2.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 11, 2018
Book Summary: TYPHOID MARY has returned to Hell’s Kitchen and taken over the neighborhood’s psychiatric hospital, overwhelming Manhattan’s most dangerous neighborhood with her unique telekinetic abilities. When mutants and humans alike get caught in the crossfire, the X-Men have no choice but to intervene… only to square off against THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN?!
Book Review: Okay maybe I should have taken note that there is actually a part one of this series in the form of Spider-Man and set to continue in Iron Fist. Unfortunately I didn't and ended up a bit confused exactly how Typhoid Mary has came into the scene.

Meet Typhoid Mary. You might be familiar with her if you read Daredevil. Here she has escaped a hospital and has begun her assault on the people of New York. Led by Jean Grey, the X-Men appear with the hopes of bringing Typhoid Mary to heel but she isn't going to make it easy. Mary's ability to create false memories ignites the team causing them to turn against each other.

Overall this series did not entertain as I had hoped. Maybe it might be that I may have missed something from the first half but either way I was not impressed. Normally the X-Men's presence is felt in the comic books but this one made them fall a bit flat.

I don't see myself picking up the two issues to this series so I may never know exactly what may happen to Mary Walker but perhaps I never really cared for the character.

If you like Typhoid Mary character, then this series may just be for you.

Dec. 10th, 2018


[info]katara

| 254 |

Title: Merry X-Men Holiday Special (2018) #1 (X-Men: One-Shots)
Author: Charlamagne Tha God, Chris Sims, Chad Bowers, Ed Brisson, Matthew Rosenberg, Kelly Thompson, Rainbow Rowell, Charles Soule
Format: Epub
Rating: 2.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 10, 2018
Book Summary: Twenty-five holiday tales of merry mutants, one for each day of December 1 through December 25! What does Magneto do for Hanukkah? What’s Rogue and Gambit’s first married Christmas like? Is Jubilee truly the master of navigating malls during the holidays? These questions and more are answered as all your favorite X-Men and more creators than you can shake a jingle bell at come together for a holiday celebration to last all month long!
Book Review: Okay so I picked this one because it really seemed kinda cute and I have always wanted to see what the X-Men do during the holidays. Unfortunately I must say I was a bit disappointed in this.

These stories follow a sort of advent calendar and deal with each X-Men during a time period. Although some of the stories are great (i.e. Gambit and Rogue) and some of them just felt sort of rushed or fell really short in their storytelling.

This is a really nice addition to any collection but it is more of a one-read and kept nicely packaged in your boxes.

[info]katara

| 253 |

Title: Mr. and Mrs. X (2018-) #5
Author: Kelly Thompson (Illustrator), Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator), Terry Dodson (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 10, 2018
Book Summary: Gambit and Rogue’s honeymoon/mission has been crashed by the likes of Deadpool, the Imperial Guard, the Technet, Deathbird, Shi’ar rebels…and now the Starjammers! Best honeymoon ever?
Book Review: So this will end the space arc and begin something new for both Gambit and Rogue - domesticated life as a married couple. Of course neither of them had a proper honeymoon given that Kitty had an important mission that needed their attention straight away.

And what had been so important? An egg. An egg that contained the child belonging to Charles Xavier and his late love, Lilandra. Unfortunately it seemed that everyone in the universe far and wide were after this child. She was, after all, proving to be powerful and anyone whom had her could be able to use this to their advantage.

For Gambit and Rogue, this meant going up against the former members of Lilandra's honor guard as well as Deathbird, Lilandra's sister.

As Gambit and Rogue fought off these groups with the help of the Starjammers, both Xandra and Rogue saw no other way but to make the others believe that the two of them had exploded. Even Gambit would be left out from knowing of the plan.

And he would not take it well when it came to the big reveal and he learned that neither Rogue nor Xandra actually exploded. Unfortunately at this time, Rogue's powers go haywire and it ends up kinda scaring her for life. Both she and Gambit reconcile and end up returning to Earth.

This series continues to amaze and I have quite enjoyed this series immensely. I am sad to see that we may not get to see anymore Xandra anymore but I am hoping there is a small chance she might reappear some time later on in the future. She was a rather interesting character and I would love to see how the other X-Men will react to her especially when they learn she is their mentor's daughter.

As for Gambit and Rogue, we will get to see how their domestic life is going to be. We know being X-Men means that married life is never easy for them and I will expect this to be the same for Gambit and Rogue as well. I am sure there might be a time when something may or may not come between them but I hope it doesn't mean that will tear them apart completely.

Overall this is an enjoyable series and if you are looking for something worth reading, then this series will definitely be the series for you. The art is wonderful and storyline has been quite worth immersing yourself into.

Dec. 1st, 2018


[info]katara

| 252 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Under the Spell
Author: S.M. Vidaurri, Michael Dialynas, Sina Grace, Sarah Webb, Boya Sun, Rebekah Isaacs
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 1, 2018
Book Summary: An all new collection of never before seen stories from Jim Henson’s beloved fantasy classic Labyrinth, including the secret history of Sir Didymus and the vow he once made to guard the bridge over the Bog of Eternal Stench.
Book Review: I must say that when I saw this issue I was midly surprised that we are going to get a bigger look into the inhabitants of the Labyrinth. It has been great that we are getting things from one of my favorite movies. I had always wondered what life was like in the Underground and now I have my chance to explore it.

In this issue, we are getting three different stories. All dealing with people and the changes that came to their lives.

In our first tale called "The Eternal Tournament". Here we learn exactly how Sir Didymus and his faithful steed, Ambrosius, came into guarding the Bog of Eternal Stench as well as Jareth's service. A long time ago, one bloodline had been in charge of this bridge but the current generation of said bloodline longs to be free of this burden. So every year there has been a tournament in hopes of changing that. Mariell wants to be free and eventually she comes across Sir Didymus. After a friendly competition, Mariell is finally free and Sir Didymus becomes the guardians of the Bog.

In our second tale called "En Guard!". Ever wonder how Hoggle came to his current job before meeting Sarah? Well this will be the story for you. A long time ago, Hoggle used to be cleaning all the goblin's smelly armour. This is not the job Hoggle really wants but when he runs into a bird whom is the current groundskeeper and talks him into changing jobs. The Groundskeeper also offers some sage advice of places that offer shortcuts throughout the Labyrinth. This knowledge will eventually be brought in to some use especially when Sarah finally arrives.

In our third and final tale simply called "No", we meet a clumsy goblin named No. No has been kicked out of the goblin army after failing miserably at each task he has been given. The poor goblin is pushed away into the unknown edge of the Labyrinth. There he finds a book called "The Sneaky Pirate King", which offers him another job he just may be good at - thieving. No now begins to venture through the labyrinth collecting books. He goes from "No: The Clumsy Goblin" to "Know: the Almighty Moving Library."

These stories were great and it adds a really nice addition of learning more about the inhabitants of the labyrinth. I am glad I picked this one up and I quite enjoy these tales. I am hoping that this is not simply a one-shot and that we will get other stories to come.

[info]katara

| 251 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #24
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator), Elia Bonetti (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 1st, 2018
Book Summary: “FORTRESS VADER” - PART 6 The FORTRESS will stand, but at a terrible cost. The fire will come to MUSTAFAR, and all will burn. The final design is revealed, woven from war, treachery and pain.
Book Review: I must say for this issue to see this side of Vader - enemies at all side trying to take him out and him rally his troops even if it is to their deaths - was something I did not expect.

In our last issue we learned that Momin built the temple with the notion he was just using Vader to open a door to the Force. Completely unaware of this motive, Vader did open the portal into the Force only to be betrayed by Momin whom wanted to use the Force door to gain back his body.

Now in this issue, Vader is up against not only Momin but also those of the planetary inhabitants whom are none too thrilled by the prospect of their planet being used as it is. Vader may have his back to the wall but he is not about to go down without a fight. After all, that would not be Vader's cup of tea and we see this as he rallies his troops to take down the inhabitants whom have come to fight to protect their planet and possibily their way of life before Vader returned.

I must say this issue has it all and it continues to draw readers deeper into Vader's world. I was hoping a big fight between Momin and Vader but it was a bit short. Vader has made it quite clear that it is he that controls his own destiny but how much of that is true? I suppose all the questions that still linger within the readers will have to wait to see if some of them are even answered.

[info]katara

| 250 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #23 (Darth Vader (2017) (Single Issues) #23)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator), Elia Bonetti (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 1st, 2018
Book Summary: “FORTRESS VADER” - PART 5 Darkness rises above MUSTAFAR as the brutal designs of LORD MOMIN begin to take shape. But the planet’s inhabitants cannot take this desecration lightly, and shape plans of their own.
Book Review: Darth Vader is on a mission and that mission is to bring back his beloved Padme to him. All this started when his master, Palpatine, gifted Vader with a ship that once belonged to his wife. Palpatine has also allowed Vader to build his own castle and Vader has chosen the place where not only he had been defeated by Obi-Wan so long ago but also the place where Darth Vader had been born.

While there, he found a strange helmet where he learned that it had once belonged to Lord Momin. At one time, Momin had been one of the most dangerous men in the galaxy. He was once strong with the Force but now he is a lost soul connected to a helmet waiting to do the bidding of his master.

But he has promised that he can bring back Padme to Vader.

Calling it his "Masterpiece", Momin has built a temple to bring back Padme. Vader uses the temple to open door into the Force. He nearly succeeds but in the end it is not enough and nearly destroys Mustarfar. For Vader, this is the fifth time that Momin has failed him.

Suddenly a giant monster comes out of the lava and attacks the stormtroopers. The indigenous people are pleased. They do not like the idea of their home world being used as they are doing so. They are easily taken care of.

As Vader watches his castle being built, he tells Momin that there will be no tenth chance to do it over again. Vader has pretty much lost his patience of gaining back Padme and Momin knows this. So Momin prays as Vader once more opens a door in the Force.

He is interrupted by the fleas of Mustarfar. The Stormtroopers engage in a fight with them as Momin walks off but not before telling them to get it done and he didn't care how they did it.

Once again Vader tries to open the door to the Force. And again Vader is interrupted by the arrival of more fleas. He leaves the chambers of the temple and goes out only to find that Momin has betrayed him. Vader is angry at this but before he can go confront Momin, an explosion throws him toward his death.

Inside the temple chamber, Momin is greeting his body and comes out wielding both lightsabers.



This series has been great. I absolutely love the idea that there is still a major part of Anakin that has not actually died. I mean if you consider it, Vader would have never bothered with toying the idea of bringing back Padme to him. In fact, I believe regardless of what Vader says and does that Anakin is still there but it would take a lot of effort to reach the former Jedi.

Unfortunately now Vader has other things that he will have to deal with and one of them is Momin. Momin was not actually building Vader anything. It was more for himself and trying to regain back his former self from deep within the force. Without a corporal body, Momin was stuck attached to the helmet. He knew that by giving Vader a false that he could bring back Padme through the force, he would have his chance when the time came to reclaim his body from the force as well. But the thing is Momin really had no intention of bringing back Padme for Vader.

So what does this mean? Vader is going to have himself a dogfight on his hands against Momin and I am seriously looking forward to seeing how exactly Vader comes out of this fight.

Nov. 16th, 2018


[info]katara

| 249 |

Title: Ripley's Believe It or Not #2
Author: Howard Mackie, Dale Mettam, Ben Meares, Oliver Kaplowitz, Deivis Goetten (Illustrator), Marcelo Basile (Illustrator), Renzo Rodriguez (Illustrator), Moy R (Illustrator) , Fred Harper (Illustrator), Lucas Meyer (Illustrator), Ceci de la Cruz (Illustrator), Roberto Epps (Illustrator), Robby Bevard (Illustrator), Marco Lesko (Illustrator), Fran Gamboa (Illustrator), Jorge Cortés (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 16, 2018
Book Summary: More fantastic tales straight from the vaults of Robert Ripley himself! Told by legendary talents and rising stars alike! 48 pulse-pounding pages of magic and mystery featuring Howard Mackie, the legend of Stingy Jack, Tony Isabella, the inexplicable Winchester Mansion, and much, much more! Even when you see it, you won't believe it!
Book Review: Have I mentioned how much I love this series so far?

Then again I love these type of comics that offer a fascinating look at true stories and what drove people to do the things they did in order to get the outcome either they were looking for or the result that came from the right moment.

Much like the last issue, you are given true stories and offered the tales behind them. This one was no different. So let's get started on these. :D

In our first story, "Framing Sequence", we find a married couple entering into the Ripley's Museum. They are greeted by hypnotic hologram of the collector who tells them to enjoy his collections from around the world. While the wife seems fascinated by all the odds and ends of the museum, her husband, however, is not. That is until he spots an unusal object....

"Egyptian Cats"
In the ancient world of Babylon, King Camnyses has demanded that the daughter of Pharaoh Amasis as his prospective bride. Unwilling to send his daughter but at the same time trying to keep the peace between them, the Pharaoh sends a body double of his daughter to Camnyses. Not fooled by this, Camnyses demands his advisors prepare to go to war. As the Pharaoh waits for the inevitable, Princess Nitocris tells her father that patron goddess Bastet would have protected Egypt where she had been allowed to go to Persia. Now they are about to be invaded....

"Frozen Girl"
In Minnesota, a worried young woman is trying to rush home before a winter storm comes. She races down an icy road more worried about changing the radio station than actually watching the road. In a matter of moments of her eyes off the road, her car comes up upon a rabbit. She serves her car to avoid hitting the animal. The car spins out of control and violently impacts a tree. She decides to run home only to be halted by the strong storm and ended up being frozen. The next day she is found by a man named Wally Nelson, whom whisked her to the hospital quickly.

"Irish Giant"
Meet Charles Byrne, the Irish Giant. He stood at 7 foot 7 inches. At this time, he was considered to be the tallest man alive. He was born to a rural irish couple and while they were happy, their boy kept on growing. As he aged, he continued to grow but he never waivered in his generosity. Charles decided it was time to move and did so by moving to London. There he would find people whom were jealous of his stature including a doctor whom wanted to learn his secrets.

"Winchester Mansion"
The Winchester name is synonymous with the rifles that it created and were used during the expansion of the West. William Winchester met and married a young woman named Sarah. The young couple welcomed a daughter named Anne. The couple were in bliss but that bliss did not last. Young Anne died and her parents found different ways to grieve for her. Her father, William, threw himself into his work and would later pass away himself. Her mother, Sarah, fell into deep depression and upon the death of her husband and child, moved herself to San Jose, California, where she would build the most famous mansion of all. All this due to a medium she consulted and told her to continue to build to keep the spirits at bay.

"Stingy Jack"
In New York City, there was a man named Jack, whom was notorious for bullying the patrons of a pub. The only thing that saved him from the angry patrons was his silvered tongue. One night a stranger appeared. He was dressed finely and easily ripe for the picking and Jack did so. He used the man for drink. After quite some time, Jack learned the man's name and he was quite taken aback when the man told him he could see the blackness of Jack's soul. Of course this makes Jack laugh and tell the man that the only way he would know is if the man were the Devil himself. In which the man would answer with a wicked grin. Time would pass and eventually Jack died. He found the Devil waiting for him at the Pearly Gates and would deny him entry. Jack carved the turnip that he had been buried with and used it to light his way.....

In this second issue, Ripley's story continue to come alive through these pages. They draw you in to the characters and give you a lesson to be learned with each one. I think I have actually found another series to quite enjoy reading. I am really quite looking forward to reading the next issue of this.

Previous 20