May 2017

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom
Powered by InsaneJournal

Previous 20

May. 19th, 2017


[info]katara

| o89 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #20
Author: Jimmy Palmiotti, Amanda Conner, Paul Dini, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), J. Bone (Illustrator), Joseph Linsner (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator), Bret Blevins (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 19, 2017
Book Summary: “FUTURE KILL” part one! You’ve seen her story begin to unfold in prior issues…who in the world is Bat-Fan, and why does she think Harley Quinn must die to save existence itself?! And in the backup story “Harley Loves Joker” part four, Harley’s mistakes have forced her to hide out with The Joker in a low-rent motel…unfortunately, they’ve had to bring their entire goon squad—and a pack of very poorly behaved hyenas—along!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Harley is heartbroken to find that the people that had been killed by the cannibals/vampires were only given a simple marker. Not even properly buried. She learns that the people behind the killings have either lawyered up or are not talking. So until then, there is not much no one can do.

The scene changes to Harley tending to Red Tool, who has been in the hospital recovering from his wounds. It is during this time that Harley's phone rings and she finds Harley Sinn on the other line. She has kidnapped Harley's neighbor and the "eye-candy". Harley demands to know where she is but Harley Sinn hangs up leaving Harley herself to call in a favor.

The future version (?) of Batgirl has arrived in the bat cave and promptly gets to work on locating Harley. And she does. She blasts through Harley door and accuses her of murdering Batman. A fight ensues with Harley launching Batgirl into the sky.

Although there was a bit of action, there was no solution nor back tale as to why Batgirl or even Harley Sinn were after Harley. I don't know the history between Harley and Harley Sinn but it seems to have boiled over into hatred but what caused it remains to be seen. I am not sure if the other comics ever had a story about the fallout between the two and maybe I will go into those later to see if there is a story there.

As for the Batgirl storyline, I am a bit confused as to why Batgirl has gone back to the future. I would have thought she would be looking for Batman to warn him of his impending death at Harley's hand? I would have taken that course rather than make a side trip to hunt down the killer, but that is just my take on it.

Still I am quite pleased with the direction of Harley's character. She is quite the character and it is nice to see her having some emotion toward others.

[info]katara

| o88 |

Title: Guardians of the Galaxy/All-New X-Men: The Trial of Jean Grey (All-New X-Men #4)
Author: Brian Michael Bendis (Writer), Sara Pichelli (Artist), Stuart Immonen (Penciler), Wade Von Grawbadger (Inker), David Marquez (Artist), Marte Gracia (Colourist), Justin Ponsor (Colourist), Cory Petit (Letterer)
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 17, 2017 to May 19,
2017
Book Summary: The arrival of the original X-Men in the present sent shockwaves through the Marvel Universe, but we've only seen the effects on Earth - until now! When an alien race discovers that Jean Grey, host of the destructive Phoenix Force, is back on Earth, they decide to hold her accountable for the heinous acts of Dark Phoenix!

Now it's up to the spacefaring Guardians of the Galaxy to help the all-new X-Men save Jean Grey from twisted intergalactic justice! A surprise ally from one character's past comes to help, but is that enough against the most powerful army in the Universe? You won't want to miss the first encounter between two of the biggest franchises in the Marvel Universe!

Collecting: Guardians of the Galaxy 11-13, All-New X-Men 22-24
Book Review: Real Rating: 3.5

Gladiator of the Shi'Ar Empire has learned that Jean Grey - perhaps the future host of the Phoenix Force - has come to future and decides that she has to answer for the crimes of the other Jean. He kidnaps her and takes her back to the Empire to face charges of the crimes that have yet to be committed by this Jean. The X-Men must team up with the Guardians of the Galaxy and free Jean from a fate she has not even been a part of.

This was a nice anthology read. You have to feel sorry for this Jean because she is being accused of something that hasn't quite happened to her yet and here she is being placed into the same bubble as the original Jean herself. I am sure that now that she is aware of her crimes she will do whatever is necessary to change her course in the scheme of things but one must always learn that one cannot fully escape your fate nor the Phoenix itself. So this pretty much sets up the upcoming comics (including Jean Grey's own series) dealing with the knowledge of what she has done or very may well do in the future.

I was also happy to see the Star Jammers as well as the Guardians. It was nice to have another two teams join in the prison break of Jean. I thought the scene between Scott and his father was a nice touch. It was too bad it was a bit short. I would have loved to have seen a bit more interaction between them and perhaps even a chance at some sort of reconcilation between them. The scene did nothing really to bring the two to some sort of conclusion. Who knows maybe we will see Scott and his father meet again in the future.

This series also gave hint to a relationship coming between Kitty and Peter. Of course I had been a fan between Kitty and Colossus and this could easily change. I am quite aware that things have long since moved forward from here between the two and I will eventually read the comics to them.

Overall, I enjoyed this anthology. It was nice to see everyone and yet see the scope of Jean's struggle as she tries to understand it all. She is still young and eventually she will have to figure out exactly how she is going to try to change her fate but she is also going to have to face her greatest fear - the Phoenix force itself.

May. 16th, 2017


[info]katara

| o87 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-A-Lot (Captain Underpants #12)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 15, 2017 to May 16, 2017
Book Summary: George and Harold, and their doubles, Yesterday George and Yesterday Harold, have a good thing going. Two of them go to school, while the other two hide in the tree house and play video games all day -- then they switch! But when their malicious gym teacher, Mr. Meaner, creates a method of mind control that turns their fellow students into attentive, obedient, perfect children, the future of all humanity will be in their hands!
Book Review: This is the end...?

Wow I am not sure whether to celebrate a wonderful set of books or cry because it is the end of a fun series.

I have to admit it was the movie's trailer that brought down the path of these books. The movie looked fun and I was certain the books would probably be just as fun. I was not disappointed when I picked up the first one that it kept bringing me back for more of Captain Underpants alongside George and Harold. These books kept me in stitches and were the wonderful source of reading material I went to when I came home from a long day at work.

I am going to miss Harold and George. Those two mischievous kids who took us on adventures either on this time line or in the past.

I hope in the future we might see these two once again. Maybe a bit older and still having Mr. Krupp running around in his under - oh, right, he does! xD I have to admit seeing him older as Captain Underpants was hilarious and even sweet to see Harold had a husband and that they were both very happily married. :D That was a nice added bonus and that they could still do things their younger versions could do.

This book focuses on the P.E. coach who has concocted a potion that will turn children and even adults into obedient and mindless zombies. He uses this to his advantages and unfortunately Yesterday George and Yesterday Harold end up being caught into the trap. George and Harold have to find a way to break the potion's spell and they end up once more traveling into the past.

With this being the last hooray, you get to see how the future is for both boys. Both seem to be living happy lives with their families but they are both willing to put them aside for the moment to help out. This only goes to show their younger versions that they haven't changed even when they are older. Of course, seeing Mr. Krupp a bit older and out in his underwear is pretty hilarious, if not a mental image once does not really one floating in their head.

This series was great and one I would recommend to anyone with a kid. There is going to be potty-humor but you will find yourself in stitches over this book and I am quite sure the kids will enjoy it.

May. 15th, 2017


[info]katara

| o86 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Tyrannical Retaliation of the Turbo Toilet 2000 (Captain Underpants #11)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 15, 2017
Book Summary: When the Incredible Robo-Plunger defeated the evil Turbo Toilet 2000, George and Harold thought their toilet troubles were over. Unfortunately, their porcelain problems were only beginning . . .

Just when you thought it was safe to flush . . .

The Turbo Toilet 2000 strikes back! The carnivorous commode known for devouring everything in its path has built up a real appetite . . . for REVENGE! Join Captain Underpants for another epic showdown of Wedgie Power vs. Potty Power as our tighty-whitey-wearing superhero GOES TO ELEVEN!
Book Review: Harold and George - err, I mean Melvin is back!

This time Melvin is learning that walking in the shoes of Harold and George is really not all what it is cracked up to be and even worse there is an evil Toilet on the loose wrecking havok upon the world. Melvin has to find a solution to keep the Toilet and finds a toenail clipping belonging to Mr. Krupp. He rushes this back to his lap while being chased and develops a DNA drink to make him powerful just in time.

Then we get a small interlude with little Timmy and his grandmother before the action returns.

We find that Melvin has defeated the giant Toilet and has become a town hero. Unfortunately being such a hero is not all it is cracked up and he finds himself being called for the most obsured things.

It is about this time George, Harold, and Captain Underpants return holding three eggs. But for the boys things are not over quite yet. Mr. Krupp is gleeful when the boys don't go to school and thrilled now that he will have the opportunity to split the boys up. Then mix in Yesterday George and Yesterday Harold and the school will never be the same!

This book was funny. I love how the teachers ended up feeling like they were going insane enough to take off their clothes and run wild in their underwear! I would too, I think, especially if I came across two Georges and two Harolds. I think that would be enough to make anyone think they were crazy. I have really come to enjoy this series and even with it's potty humor, I have been recommending it to friends who have children.

May. 14th, 2017


[info]katara

| o85 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Revolting Revenge of the Radioactive Robo-Boxers (Captain Underpants #10)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 14, 2017
Book Summary: A world without UNDERPANTS?!!!

When we last saw our heroes, George and Harold, they had been turned into evil zombie nerds doomed to roam a devastated, postapocalyptic planet for all eternity. But why, you might ask, didn't the amazing Captain Underpants save the boys from this frightening fate? Because Tippy Tinkletrousers and his time-traveling hijinks prevented George and Harold from creating Captain Underpants in the first place! Now, having changed the course of human history forever, they'll have to figure out a way to CHANGE IT BACK.

Could this be the end for Captain Underpants?!!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Harold and George are back!

This time we learn that Professor Tippy Tinkletrouser did not meet his unfortunate end as we had once thought in last book. Instead we find that the two zombie George and Harold actually stepped on a large packet of ketchup.

We find Tippy Tinkletrouser in a bind. He has managed to scare some bullies and changed the course of history. In this set of events, he got Mr. Krupp fired and because of this there will be no Captain Underpants. So he decides to go back to stop himself from scaring the bullies and returns ten minutes before his first appearance and presses the "Go Away!" button. He hides behind the school and waits. When the bullies appear, he freezes them and it is then the other version of him appears. He tells himself that he has come to stop him from scaring the bullies. He then proceeds to shrink the other version of himself and puts him in his pocket.

To make this summary short, there is a time travel to 65 million years ago and another tiny Professor Tippy Tinkletrouser. Of course mix in Captain Underpants and you a recipe for hilarity and toilet humor all wrapped up in this issue.

We have reached book ten in the series of Captain Underpants and I don't think these books could become any more funnier. Harold and George are still keeping me in stitches. It doesn't matter whether they are directly or indirectly involve with any of the trouble that seems to find them.

I have come to enjoy these books and I have become a fan of Dav Pilkey. The boys are fun and engaging and keep you guessing exactly what is going to happen next in the book. You might think something happened at the end of the last book only to find out you have been fooled. I cannot wait to pick up the next book.

May. 13th, 2017


[info]katara

| o84 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Terrifying Return of Tippy Tinkletrousers (Captain Underpants #9)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 11, 2017 to May 13, 2017
Book Summary: Tra-la-laaa! Captain Underpants is back in an all-new epic adventure that's the zaniest, funniest, outrageousest, and time-travelingiest yet!

When we last saw our heroes, George and Harold, they were under arrest and headed for prison. Then Harold foolishly uttered the fateful words "What could be worse than going to jail for the rest of our lives?" and changed the course of human history.

In this ninth epic novel, Dav Pilkey takes readers back in time to the carefree days of kindergarten, when the worst thing George and Harold had to face was NOT evil mad scientists or alien cafeteria ladies but a sixth-grade bully named Kipper Krupp, the nephew of their clueless school principal. And because George and Harold don't actually invent Captain Underpants until fourth grade, the two clever kindergartners are on their own -- using their brains to beat the bully.

Hold on to your UNDERPANTS -- the Captain is back!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

This book picks up where the last book has left off. George and Harold are being arrested for the crimes that their evil counterparts did before returning to their own time. It is then that Professor Tippy Tinkletrousers (aka Professor Poopypants) appears in a giant trousers robot. He chases after the boys.

It is then we get a small interlude explaining the Banana Cream Pie Paradox.

The story returns where Tippy Tinkletrousers did not return and the kids are taken to Juvie. The police also pick up Mr. Krupp and he is sentenced to prison. While in prison, Mr. Krupp comes across Professor Tippy Tinkletrouser who is working on a secret project. The project is suppose to be a statue of the Warden but it is actually trouser robot that the professor uses to break out of prison. Along the way, the professor kidnaps Mr. Krupp.

We find Harold and George seemingly enjoying Juvie when the professor appears. He demands the boys be turned over, which the Warden does willingly after being threatened. Of course, Mr. Krupp enjoys the notion of the end of the two boys until bring out Captain Underpants in front of the professor. This drives the professor insane and sets of a hilarious fight between the two until Captain Underpants pulls part of the robot from the ice the professor accidentally placed himself in. This causes a lightning storm and we are sent back to a time to see how George and Harold meet as children and the tale of the Wedgie Magee.

This book was a bit longer than the others but it was just as fun. I love how we see the beginning of George and Harold's friendship. It was a nice little story and I even enjoyed how the two boys gave the school bully, a nephew of Mr. Krupp, a lesson he would never forget.

These books still keep getting better with each story and always there is a lesson to learn but George and Harold never have that chance to learn it because Captain Underpants always appears at the end. This time it was the professor who appeared and helped change a lot of the past but he also brought forth the apocalypse as well but before he could go back and change all that, something bad happens to him. I won't spoil it for you but you will have to read it.

Still I like that George and Harold taught the bullies a lesson they deserve. It was a nice change. It may not happen entirely in such a fashion in real life but it does help children to understand that bullying is not always the best course to take because there will always be that someone to make sure they get their comeuppance.

May. 9th, 2017


[info]katara

| o83 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Preposterous Plight of the Purple Potty People (Captain Underpants, #8)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 7, 2017 to May 9, 2017
Book Summary: Dav Pilkey's eighth epic novel promises evil, horror, and "laffs," and delivers on all three. In this rowdy episode, George and Harold take a wrong turn somewhere and wind up in a surrealistic alternate reality where everything defies expectation. As they try to adjust to a realm where teachers are nice and cafeteria food is good, our heroes encounter evil versions of themselves. Unless our dynamic duo can stop them, these diabolical twins plan to destroy their hometown.
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Deciding not to heed the warnings of Melvin about constant use of the time machine, Harold and George alongside Sulu and Crackers find themselves in an alternate world. In this world, the teachers are nice and extremely helpful to their students. Unfortunately the alternate versions of Harold and George are not. In fact, their creation is called Captain Blunderpants.

The evil versions of Harold and George kidnap Crackers and Sulu and turn the latter evil. The good versions flee back to their own time but the evil versions manage to hitch a ride back with them. Chaos and hilarity ensues with the grandparents accidently drinking down the power juice and the versions squaring off against each other.

Have I mentioned how much I love these books?

Harold and George are really not bad kids. Not in the bad way you think. Their pranks hurt really no one and they do it with the hopes it may lighten up some of the teachers. At least, this is the conclusion I have come up with.

The humor is toilet-filled but mild compared to the other books out there and it is not really bad as one will think. I doubt even a child reading these books would pick it up unless it is pointed out by an adult. I feel they will simply laugh and turn the page.

These books are fun and filled with some moral or another but unfortunately Harold and George really never learn it because Captain Underpants always reappears at the end dragging our young heroes off somewhere. Nevertheless it is fully and perhaps would even inspire the next child reading them to create their own comics or focus their creativity on something they might enjoy growing up. I think these books would inspire such ideals.

To make this review short, these books are awesome and engaging. They are light-hearted and should not be taken so seriously. Let the kids enjoy them and encourage them to pick up the book to read. Hell, I even encourage the parents to sit down with their children and read these books.

May. 7th, 2017


[info]katara

| o82 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Big Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 2: Revenge of the Ridiculous Robo-Boogers (Captain Underpants #7)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 6, 2017 to May 7, 2017
Book Summary: Just when George and Harold thought they'd saved the world again - oh no! Here come the Robo-Boogers! Disgusting and dangerous hi-tech robots made of gloomy SNOT. It's lucky that our heroic Waistband Warrior Captain Underpants is standing by, with the power of underwear on his side and his hankie to hand!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

This book picks up where the last book has left off at.

Captain Underpants sends the robo-boogers into space and everyone thinks it's over, right? Wrong. Melvin manages to have his brain changed with Mr. Krupps and decides that he wants Captain Underpant's power. So he sends back Harold and George into time. The two boys visit the past and then the way past.

I don't want to give too much away with this book because there is a lot of things going on but you will come to appreciate the fact Melvin gets his in the end.

I have come to really love this series and to actually think that it was the upcoming movie that pushed me in the direction of reading these books. There is toilet humor and much misspellings but don't let that deter you or your child from reading these books. Remember these books are being told from Harold and George's views (in a way or another).

So pick up these books and read them with your child. You will not regret it!

May. 6th, 2017


[info]katara

| o81 |

Title: The Dark God's Bride (The Dark God's Bride #1)
Author: Dahlia Lu, Dahlia L. Summers
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 2, 2017 to May 6, 2017
Book Summary: An ancient god on a destructive path of vengeance...

Imprisoned by the Archangel Lucifer ages ago, Summit, the Dark God, wanted nothing less than equivalent retribution. After breaking free and successfully retaining some splintered shards of his sanity, Summit set out to confront Lucifer. The Archangel was nowhere to be found. He has, however, left behind his most coveted mortal bride. The Dark God stormed into Hell to capture Lucifer's one and only weakness, but inadvertently abducted the wrong female - his own.

A reluctant heroine...

As a mortal raised among the demons inside a floating castle in Hell, Amara's life is not exactly what you would call normal. When she finds herself abducted by a half-mad god, who mistook her for the woman who brought her up, Amara chooses to hide her identity to protect her foster mother at the risk of her own life.
Book Review: I have had this book on my Nook for quite some time and I thought I would take a moment to check it out. This was truly a little gem of a book.

Our story opens as the dark god Summit awakens. He has no memory of who he is only that Lucifer had locked him away. He hears that Lucifer has taken a mortal for a bride and he decides that he is going to kidnap her. Unfortunately for him, he actually kidnaps the wrong woman. Amara is actually the foster daughter of Lucifer's wife.

During the beginning, he begins to call himself Noctis since he really does not remember who he is and takes Amara to a group of Lycans thinking that she will be harmed or even maybe killed. Unfortunately for him, he comes back to find her in the middle of a game of strip poker.

There are moments of where Amara does try twice to escape him and he always brings her back. She does her best to annoy the hell out of him and he wants nothing more than to kill her in front of Lucifer for revenge but we do so see a change come. He starts to find himself caring for her and she the same.

But that cliffhanger - I just was not expecting. At least now, it has me curious about reading the next book in this series.

I actually pleased with this book. I found it to be a rare gem of a book and a great read. I tend to have these little gem books under piles of books that are bestsellers and normally these little gems are great to get away from the mainstream area of books. If you want a book to get away with, then this one would definitely be one to consider.

May. 5th, 2017


[info]katara

| o80 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #19
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), J. Bone (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator), Bret Blevins (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 5, 2017
Book Summary: “DEADLY SIN” finale! Harley Sinn’s shown Harley her absolute worst…but she-and you-are not ready to see Harley Quinn’s rage unleashed! This one will shock you to your core! And in the backup story, “Harley Loves Joker” part three, a simpler time in the past for Harley and The Joker becomes much more complicated when they’re forced to mix it up with Batman!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

This issue continues where the last one left off.

We find out anti-heroine, Harley, tied up and bleeding in a room filled with broken bones and skulls. With a little help from a sort of talking-skull/ghost, she frees herself and heads off in search of weapons.

The other anti-hero, Red Tool, has found out where they have Harley and has gone to rescue her on his own. Of course you know this never ends quite well on Red Tool's part and he blasted right out the building.

Harley heads up to find the ones responsible for not only her kidnapping but also the murders of those missing people. She finds the final boss at the top and a nice little Harley-style climatic fight ensues with the bad guy in more pain than anything but that has always been Harley's way - give pain when they given you pain first.

This comic was a nice little wrap up. Harley is really growing on me. I like how her character continues to get fleshed out ever a bit more with each issue. I am quite looking forward to seeing what the next storyline brings to the table and what Harley will be getting herself into next.

[info]katara

| o79 |

Title: Jean Grey (2017-) #1
Author: Dennis Hopeless, Victor Ibañez (Illustrator), David Yardin (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 4, 2017 to May 5, 2017
Book Summary: When a teenage JEAN GREY traveled through time and arrived in the present, she learned the terrible fate that befell her predecessor: Possessed by a cosmic entity called the Phoenix, Jean was trapped in an endless cycle of life and death. Determined to escape that future, Jean set out to write her own destiny. But now, she's visited by a premonition that the Phoenix is coming for her…and in this new ongoing series by DENNIS HOPELESS (ALL-NEW X-MEN, SPIDER-WOMAN, X-MEN: SEASON ONE) and VICTOR IBANEZ (EXTRAORDINARY X-MEN, STORM), she's going to fight tooth and nail to escape becoming its next victim!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

This is not the Jean Grey you know.

This is not the Jean Grey whom was consumed by the Phoenix and died time and time again.

This Jean Grey does not want to become that Jean Grey and she is going to do everything possible to change her entire destiny but she is having these promonitions that that the Phoenix is coming for her and that there may not be any escape from it.

I haven't picked up X-Men comics in over twenty years and I thought I would return to the X-Men universe with this issue. This issue introduced me to another Jean Grey. Since I haven't followed the X-Universe in a long time, I am a bit confused as to why this Jean Grey was ripped from her world and brought to this one but I suppose as the issue progresses I will find out.

Still this issue has promise as Jean Grey navigates through this new world as she tries to change her life so that she will not share the same fate as the other Jean Grey. I am quite looking forward to seeing how this story pans out and to see if Jean and can even keep the Phoenix force at bay.

May. 4th, 2017


[info]katara

| o78 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 1: The Night of the Nasty Nostril Nuggets (Captain Underpants #6)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 2, 2017 to May 4, 2017
Book Summary: The sixth "epic novel" in Dav Pilkey's hugely popular series explains the awful truth about Captain Underpants (he is really the school principal), details "the night of the nasty nostril nuggets," offers up "the unnecessarily disgusting chapter," and even explains how "you can't have your cape and Edith, too."
George and Harold are "C" students (and bad spellers), but they are very good at "saving the entire planet from the nasty forces of unrelenting evil" and also at ketchup-toilet pranks. Unfortunately, they can't save Melvin Sneedly from getting paddled by his bionic hamster. But, frankly, they wouldn't want to, because besides being the school brainiac, Melvin is also a tattletale. When his robot-making hobby backfires horribly, Melvin transforms himself into the Bionic Booger Boy instead of a bionic superboy. Can Captain Underpants save everyone from this "greenish, glistening behemoth?"
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Our heroes, Harold and George, are back and this time they set out to teach the class how to do a "squishy". Of course this excites the rest of the class and even Ms. Ribble, who has changed much of her personality due to events from the last book.Unfortunately for everyone in the class is halted by Melvin Sneedly, the school's brainiac, who refuses to let anyone out the door until he has shown off his Combine-O-Tron 2000 during the class's demonstration speech.

However, the class is less interested and more interested in heading to the cafeteria for ketchup. This seems to annoy Melvin, who is determined to show off his invention. Once he has had Sulu the hamster undergo a groundbreaking transformation, Melvin proceeds to demonstrat with the hamster but Sulu doesn't obey. Instead, Sulu proceeds to spank Melvin sending Melvin running off in tears.

The class celebrates the end and the rest of the class follows after him chanting "Squishes!" but not George and Harold. They stay behind with the hamster. They offer to take Sulu home with them and the hamster takes them up on the offer.

Mr. Krupp is in a foul mood. He demands coffee from Miss Anthrope, who tells him to get it himself. This seems to only fuel Mr. Krupps mood as he heads to the bathroom. There at the door is Ms. Ribble, who is trying to hold back her laughter until she hears Krupp yell about having ketchup on his underwear.

Mr. Krupp heads off to find George and Harold and blames them for the new fad going around the school. Harold, who is sitting at the lunch table with George and several other members of their class, tells him they had nothing to do with it and even another speaks up for them. Unfortunately Melvin takes this moment to stick his nose and tell Mr. Krupp that they had taught the class the prank. Mr. Krupp sends the kids to the detention.

While in detention, the two boys create a new comic called "Captain Underpants and the Terrifying Tale of Tattle-Tron 2000" with Melvin as the villain character. The class loves it but not Melvin, who is angry at being portrayed by the two boys in their comic that he storms home to invent something that would make him much cooler than George and Harold. It is too bad though that Melvin's allergies (triggered by the cat). As he sets his invention on to become combined with the robot, his allergies make an unfortunate appearance adding to the transformation.

The next day, George and Harold bring Sulu to school to show their class what they have taught the hamster. It is during this moment that Melvin enters as a Bionic Booger Boy. From there hilarity ensues as the cold and flu season makes it dreadful appearance.

This was another fun read. I had been waiting for quite some time to see Melvin become the next villain of sorts. This time his need for attention and to prove that he can be cooler than George and Harold was his undoing. Instead of taking a moment to think things through, he went and created something that had dire consequences especially since his allergies were acting up. Yet, George and Harold proved once again to be the heroes that Captain Underpants should be and that is the hilarity of it all. This is still their mess and they still have to continue to keep Mr. Krupp from learning what they have done to him.

I have really come to love this series. The things these two kids do is funny as hell and there is always some moral lying underneath the rubble of each book.

May. 2nd, 2017


[info]katara

| o77 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Woman (Captain Underpants, #5)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 1, 2017 to May 2, 2017
Book Summary: George and Harold are having a normal kind of week. Yesterday they found out they were going to flunk fourth grade. Today they've created an evil, super-powerful monster. The Wicked Wedgie Woman is on a mission to take over the world ... and she'll give a whopping wedgie to anyone who stands in her way! Watch out!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

George and Harold are back once again and this time so is the Hypno ring that got them here in the first place.

Their prank this time revolves around their teacher, whom they use the Hypno ring on. Unfortunately for Harold and George they were not paying attention to the news. The news told them that the rings worked differently upon women and caused them to do the opposite of things. So now their teacher is Wicked Wedgie Woman and she wants to get rid of Captain Underpants. So she sets out her two robots (that look exactly like Harold and George) to find him.

This series never seems to have a dull moment. There is always something going on and Harold and George never really seem to learn a lesson even at the end when they should. Yet if they did I doubt we would have these fun continuations. George and Harold are smart. Very smart for their young age and they are producing their own brand of comics to the masses at school.

But pranking seems to be their number one priority and keeping their teachers - as well as Mr. Krupps - on their toes.

I am sure some parents would see these books as a means to teach children that it is okay to misbehave and cause trouble but there is always a moral to these stories - there are always consequences to the trouble you make.

[info]katara

| o76 |

Title: Unamused Muse (Mt. Olympus Employment Agency: Muse #2)
Author: R.L. Naquin
Format: Epub
Rating: 3/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 30, 2017 to May 2, 2017
Book Summary: Wynter Greene, newly minted Muse at the Mt. Olympus Employment Agency, is on loan for six weeks to Hades, CEO of Underworld, LLC. Not a bad gig, if she doesn’t mind running errands across the River Styx. She hardly ever has to clean up after the three-headed dogs that guard the front gates. But she could do without so many people eager to fix her up on what literally amount to blind dates from Hell.

All Wynter wants to do is get her six weeks over with so she and Phyllis, her talking plant, can go home, and she can go back to work inspiring people. If she can keep from screwing up on this job, she’ll get a clean slate at Mt. Olympus.

Stripped of her Muse title, Wynter discovers she still can’t stop herself from inspiring people, even when the people she’s encouraging are supposed to be trapped in eternal torment.

Not the best way to win points with her new boss.
Book Review: Wynter is banished to the Underworld for six weeks. Upon her arrival, she learns that she will be taking over for a woman who is on maternity leave and she will be a personal assistant to the head of the Underworld itself, Hades. Her many tasks include walking the three-headed guard dogs and helping find fresh reading material for the Hags of the Underworld book club.

I must say the Hags of the Underworld book club was quite entertaining. I loved how she went up against the most powerful witches and actually won against them. It was a first for them to have anyone say anything remotely against them but Wynter seemed to have won this round.

Wynter's character was more fleshed out in this book. She seemed more the person who was embracing her role rather than how we first met her - nonchalant about the direction she was going in life.

Another bonus to this book is we learned a bit more about Wynter and her mother, Persephone. I honestly was surprised to find this out especially when the first book kept throwing out there the "unknown father" every chance it got. And even more, we learned exactly what the cause was for Persephone's odd behavior.

I am going to be honest. I actually thought the father was Bacchus. I know he is not entirely like Demeter in the way of nature but he does have a way with the plants. I mean if you stop to think about it he is the God of Wine, which is from grape vines. Okay so that might be different but if you stop to think about it it sort of made sense. I just was not expecting Persephone being the Goddess-mother. That sort of threw me off.

I really hope Wynter's character continues to develops more when she returns to the agency.

May. 1st, 2017


[info]katara

| o75 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants (Captain Underpants #4)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 1, 2017
Book Summary: Professor Pippy P. (Pee-Pee) Poopypants is a brilliant scientist, but his ridiculous name means no one takes his fantastic inventions seriously. And now he's on the rampage! He's armed with fiendish inventions Shrinky-Pig 2000 and the terrible Gerbil Jogger 2000. Can Captain Underpants stop him?
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Harold and George are back once again alongside Captain Underpants!

In this book, we find Professor P. Poopypants in Swissland (the country where everyone has a really hilarious name) and he has discovered the answer to both the world's trash and food problems. He decides to go to America to show off his invention but everyone just laughs at his name.

Over at Jerome Horwitz Elementary School, Mr. Fyde has decided that it is time to retire because he keeps hearing things that are causing him to question his sanity. This leaves open the position of Science teacher. Professor Poopypants takes up the job only to find that the children laugh at his name. He decides the best course is revenge and shrinks the school down. With the school at his mercy, he starts to make them change their names into something funny.

Of course, Captain Underpants with the help of his two sidekicks (can we even call them his sidekicks?), Harold and George, defeat the Professor.

This series only seems to get better and better with each book. I haven't found one yet that I have not liked. I found it hilarious when they had to change their names to please Professor Poopypants. Mr. Krupps became Lumpy Pottybiscuits while George and Harold become Fluffy and Cheeseball.

These books are funny and the illustrations are fun to look at as you read the book. If you are trying to get a child to read or know someone who is starting to read, these books would be a great addition to the collection.

Apr. 30th, 2017


[info]katara

| o74 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Invasion of the Incredibly Naughty Cafeteria Ladies from Outer Space and the Subsequent Assault of the Equally Evil Lunchroom Zombie Nerds (Captain Underpants #3)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 29, 2017 to April 30, 2017
Book Summary: Hooray for Captain Underpants! Everybody's favorite waistband warrior is back, ready to fight for Truth, Justice, and all that is Pre-Shrunk and Cottony. If you've read Dav Pilkey's first two comic epics, The Adventures of Captain Underpants and Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets, you already know the brave Captain is really just crabby old Principal Krupp, hypnotized into becoming the world's greatest superhero every time someone snaps their fingers. And of course you know the trouble-making hypnotists are none other than Jerome Horwitz Elementary School's two most notorious tricksters, George and Harold ("We rule!" "Me, too!").
Well, George and Harold--surprise, surprise--are at it again. The cranky lunch ladies quit after George and Harold fool them into baking super-volcanic krispy kupcakes that flood the school with gigantic green globs o' goo. Mr. Krupp finds replacements and fast, but he unwittingly hires the tentacled alien trio of Zorx, Klax, and Jennifer in disguise! Will they turn everyone in school into evil zombie nerds? Can George and Harold save the world before it's too late? All seems lost until the diabolical Zorx snaps his... um, tentacles in front of Mr. Krupp, and the power of wedgies comes to the rescue once again.

Captain Underpants's third outing is better than ever, with patented Flip-o-Rama animation and wacky bonus comics like "Captain Underpants--Wedgie Wars" and "Captain Underpants and the Night of the Living Lunch Ladies." (Ages 8 to 12) --Paul Hughes
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

George and Harold are back!

Our story opens with a meteor moving across the sky only to stop over the school and unseemingly disappear. When morning comes, no one seems to realize that the shooting star was actually a space ship carrying aliens bent on conqueroring the Earth (and one of them had funniest name!). So when Harold and George play a prank on the lunch ladies and the women quit, the aliens find it the perfect opportunity to begin with the kids and adults there. It is up to George and Harold (and Captain Underpants!) to save the day!

My opinion:

I have come to love these books. They are funny and I love watching George and Harold try to keep Captain Underpants from getting his backside kicked so many times. These books have even brought my nephew to sit with me just so we can read together.

I know these books are not aimed at adults and have been banned in most libraries but I think if people would take the time and read these with their children, I believe they would find them funny and engaging.

George and Harold are great pranksters but at the same time they are also getting a dose of Karma with turning Mr. Krupps into Captain Underpants. They are learning a lesson with this and doing everything they can to keep everyone from learning who Captain Underpants really is.

I am seriously looking forward to seeing how these books play out in the rest of the series.

[info]katara

| o73 |

Title: The Perfect Weapon (Star Wars (canon))
Author: Delilah S. Dawson
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 29, 2017 to April 30, 2017
Book Summary: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens with this exclusive ebook short story set shortly before the events of the film, featuring a quick-witted mercenary who takes big risks for bigger rewards—and now faces the challenge that will take her to the edge.

There are plenty of mercenaries, spies, and guns for hire in the galaxy. But probably none as dangerous and determined as Bazine Netal. A master of disguise—and lethal with a blade, a blaster, or bare handed—she learned from the best. Now it’s her turn to be the teacher—even if schooling an eager but inexperienced recruit in the tricks of her trade is the last thing she wants to do. But it’s the only way to score the ship she needs to pull off her latest job.

An anonymous client has hired Bazine to track down an ex-stormtrooper and recover the mysterious package he’s safeguarding. Payment for the mission promises to be astronomical, but the obstacles facing Bazine will prove to be formidable. And though her eager new sidekick has cyber skills crucial to the mission, only Bazine’s razor-sharp talents will mean the difference between success or failure—and life or death
Book Review: Real Rating: 3.5

This book follows the bounty hunter Bazine a.k.a. The Perfect Weapon. From childhood, she was trained to be the perfect foe...the perfect assassin. She is one not be trifled with and those who have, well, they have met their demise at her hands.

Our story opens on a cantina, Bazine is there to meet a mysterious client. After ridding herself of a few "admirers", she let up to a room where she is given a task to find a metal case. She takes the case and is saddled with a slicer named Orri Tenro on a ship called the Sparrowhawk. They head toward the planet of Vashk in search of this case.

My opinion on this:

Okay, I get it. She is a beautiful woman. She wears black. I got that several times already. You do not need to continously put this out there. We get it. We get it. Just please stop.

The thing I would have liked to know is her backstory. Her complete backstory. There are no mentions of her parents or even how she really ended up being with her mentor and turned into this assassin. This is pretty much something I would have loved to have gotten the story on. This book gave nothing of importance to her character.

This book was short and I suppose it was meant to be that way. I had high hopes that this book would reveal more but I found myself disappointed. I vould not even connect with Bazine in any way and I wish I could have. She has so much potential rather than being just in one scene of The Force Awakens. Maybe we might get something more and I will hang onto that hope.

Apr. 29th, 2017


[info]katara

| o72 |

Title: Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets (Captain Underpants #2)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 29, 2017
Book Summary: George and Harold are up to their usual tricks. Last time they hypnotized Principal Krupp into believing he was Captain Underpants. Now, by mistake, they bring to life the most disgusting, life-threatening monster -- the terrible Turbo Toilet 2000. Can anyone save the school from the terrifying attack of the Talking Toilets? Watch out world, big briefs are back!
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

George and Harold are back.

And so is Captain Underpants.

Our story begins with there being an upcoming Invention fair at the school. Both Harold and George were in it last year when they invented a glue that sticks people to their chair. This, however, did not go well with the teachers and students and it certainly did not go well with Mr. Krupp. In fact, this year's invention competition finds both Harold and George banned from it.

All this thanks to Mr. Krupp.

But George and Harold are determined to enter and win the grand prize - one day of being Principal of the school. They sneak into the place where all the inventions are at but Melvin is there. Melvin shows them his invention - the PATSY 2000. This invention has the ability to take an image and bring it to life. Melvin demostrates this when he places an image of a mouse in the machine and the a mouse runs out. Harold and George are unimpressed and make Melvin promise not tell on them. Unfortunately this comes back to bit them when everyone's inventions fail and Melvin tells on them.

This, of course, delights, Mr. Krupps, who has been looking for reason to now put them in permanent detention.

But Harold and George invent a quick way to fill those chalk boards and work on their comic book at the same time but they need to print the book before the morning. They know they are not suppose to leave, but they do this anyways and head out to the copy machine. The teachers are in there so they decide to use Melvin's invention.

And that is where the fun begins!

My opinion:

This one was hilarious! I found myself laughing out loud this evening while I was waiting for my friend to get off work. Harold and George never seem to learn any lesson from the last time and unfortunately Mr. Krupp being Captain Underpants is not helping anything for the boys.

I love how Mr. Krupps is still unaware that he is the underwear hero and that his alter ego is just funny as hell. He keeps those boys on their toes and they have no idea when or where he is going to appear at the snap of a finger.

This book is definitely something I think parents should read with their kids. It would keep the entire family laughing at the antics the two boys are getting into. It is well worth it.

[info]katara

| o71 |

Title: The Adventures of Captain Underpants (Captain Underpants #1)
Author: Dav Pilkey
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 28, 2017 to April 29, 2017
Book Summary: Pilkey plays with words and pictures, providing great entertainment. The story is immediately engaging—two fourth-grade boys who write comic books and love to pull pranks find themselves in big trouble. Mean Mr. Krupp, their principal, videotapes George and Harold setting up their stunts and threatens to expose them. The boys' luck changes when they send for a 3-D Hypno-Ring and hypnotize Krupp, turning him into Captain Underpants, their own superhero creation. Later, Pilkey includes several pages of flip-o-ramas that animate the action. The simple black-and-white illustrations on every page furnish comic-strip appeal. The cover features Captain Underpants, resplendent in white briefs, on top of a tall building. This book will fly off the shelves.
Book Review: Real Rating: 4.5

Meet George and Harold.



These two fourth-grade students love playing pranks at school. They also love making their own comic book, Captain Underpants.



To distribute the comic to the rest of their school, they sneak into the office of the secretary and print them up. Unfortunately for these two, their principal, Mr. Krupp, is not a fan of children especially both Harold and George. He had been trying for quite some time to catch them in their act of pranking and one day, he gets his wish.



He brings to the two boys to his office and blackmails them into doing various chores at his home but the two boys are desperate to keep from being plummeted by their fellow classmates for ruining a football game and find a small ad in the paper for a hypno-ring.

When the ring comes in, they head to the principal's office to hypnotize him and it works!



Once they have him under their power, the two boys use their moment to not only get their things back but also to change Mr. Krupp, into first a chicken, and then a monkey, and finally their comic book superhero, Captain Underpants!



It is from there that all the hijinks ensue with Captain Underpants!

My opinion:

Although I am not the targeted audience with this book, it was a hilarious read. I found myself laughing out loud over the things these two kids get into with Captain Underpants. It was funny and fast-pace that kept you turning the page to the very end.

This would be a book that if you want to get your middle-grader reading. He or she would find it engaging and giggle at the parts of ensuing hijinks that makes Captain Underpants hilarious. George and Harold are pulled along for the ride as they try to keep Captain Underpants from getting into an assortment of trouble.

While reading this book, my nephew found himself interested when I started giving him small spoilers to the book that he came over to read beside me. This not normal for him. Although he does read on his own, he is often picky when it comes to books but I think now he may sit down with my Nook and read something other than the Percy Jackson books over and over again.

Seriously let your child read this book. You won't regret it especially once you hear them laughing.

Apr. 28th, 2017


[info]katara

| o70 |

Title: Unfinished Muse (Mt. Olympus Employment Agency: Muse #1)
Author: R.L. Naquin
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: April 22, 2017 to April 28, 2017
Book Summary: Wynter Greene is a chronic quitter—in work, in life, and in love. When she quits a job, a boyfriend, and a seemingly minor craft project all in one day, the dormant deity blood in her veins triggers a Welcome Package from the gods. A talking—and singing—houseplant named Phyllis bullies Wynter into taking a job at the Mt. Olympus Employment Agency.

Stuck with a job in the Muse department, Wynter discovers that helping others finish what they start isn’t easy, especially for someone who can’t seem to finish anything of her own. And how is Wynter supposed to focus on anything when that guy from the Dreams and Nightmares department keeps distracting her with his rippling muscles and magnetic stare?

Wynter needs to figure her job out soon. Each failure is a tick mark on her record, and if she continues to miss her deadlines, she’ll be reassigned to the Underworld as a dog walker.

And scooping poop for a giant three-headed dog is nobody’s ideal career.
Book Review: Real Rating: 3.5

Meet Wynter Greene, chronic quitter extraordinaire. She has recently decided to terminate her job and cut ties with her boyfriend. Of course during this moment of madness, she finds out that her plant, Phyllis, can talk and coaxes her into going to an agency that could help her find something worthy. What Phyllis does not tell her is that the agency she sends her to is connected to world where Gods and mythical creatures are real.

Wynter learns that somewhere down the line she has the blood of the Greek Gods running through her veins. On top of that, she has no knowledge of who her father is and her mother refuses to tell her anything about him.

When Wynter survives orientation and the tasks set for she and others, she is assigned to the Muse department. She only gets one day training and her next tasks are three people - a toothpick artist, a scrapbook maker, and a urban developer. She has to inspire each one of these before the deadline. If she does not, she will be reassigned to the Underworld.

But can a chronic quitter accomplish this fete?

My opinion:

I am not sure what to think of Wynter at this moment. I could not find myself connecting her in any way as I had with Patrice until nearly the very end of the book. I am not sure if it was the whole nonchalant approach to life or what. Part of me had to put the book down and come back to it because Wynter was becoming frustrating and the story just became a chore to read.

The only thing that I really enjoyed about this book was the concept of the whole agency that had been built by the Greek Gods. It was fun and one of the most interesting ideas I had seen yet. In this book, it was a bit more fleshed out than it had been in the Gorgon series. I suppose it would be with the many more pages this novel had than that with Patrice's story.

I will read the next book in this series. I hoping that by the time I finish with that one I will be able to connect further with Wynter but we will see.

Previous 20