August 2018

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom
Powered by InsaneJournal

Previous 20

Aug. 18th, 2018


[info]katara

| 219 |

Title: Unhinged: An Insider's Account of the Trump White House
Author: Omarosa Manigault Newman
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: August 15, 2018 to August 18, 2018
Book Summary: The former Assistant to the President and Director of Communications for the Office of Public Liaison in the Trump White House provides a jaw-dropping look into the corruption and controversy of the current administration.

Few have been a member of Donald Trump’s inner orbit longer than Omarosa Manigault Newman. Their relationship has spanned fifteen years—through four television shows, a presidential campaign, and a year by his side in the most chaotic, outrageous White House in history. But that relationship has come to a decisive and definitive end, and Omarosa is finally ready to share her side of the story in this explosive, jaw-dropping account.

A stunning tell-all and takedown from a strong, intelligent woman who took every name and number, Unhinged is a must-read for any concerned citizen.
Book Review: To Come Soon.

Aug. 5th, 2018


[info]katara

| 218 |

Title: X-Men Red (2018-) #6
Author: Tom Taylor, Carmen Carnero (Illustrator), Travis Charest (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: August 5, 2018
Book Summary: From deep beneath the ocean, Jean Grey’s X-Men watch as waves of anti-mutant hatred wash over the world! Can the X-Men quell the tide? Or will they be swept away in its wake?
Book Review: Cassandra Nova has come to crash the party and she is going to make sure that she leaves behind a trail of death in her wake.

We learn from Cassandra Nova that while she and Charles Xavier were in their mother's womb, he tried to strangle her with the umbilical cord. That is really our first taste of her reasoning behind her clear hatred for her brother and the team he created.

With Charles not around to torment, Cassandra Nova has set her sights clearly in Jean Grey and she makes her appearance to Jean when Jean uses Searebro for the first time. This gives Jean a glimpse of her enemy as she tries to once more clear her name. The thing is Cassandra is not going to allow it one bit and she has one more ace up her sleeve and it is about to go out with a bang.

Recently we met Nezhno Abidemi, a mutant named Gentle. His history has been quite placed in the background up until now. We learn that his mother was a Wakandan and his father an American. It seems that even though he is with her, she doesn't want him and neither does his step-father. And the feeling seems to be a bit mutual with the latter. Nezhno doesn't like the idea his step-father beats on his mother but his mother simply hits him and tells him to stay out of it.

Jean has broken down the barriers in his mind and his first touches do not hurt him in any way.

This series continues to entice me further and I am loving this series. I have not really touched the other X-Men series (other than the wedding issue of Gambit and Rogue and their new title together). I am glad to see Jean alive and I cannot wait to see how she will handle Cassandra Nova now that she knows she is the one behind it all.

By the way, can we have some Jean and Ororo friendship-love? I have always loved their relationship together. They are friend goals.

Aug. 3rd, 2018


[info]katara

| 217 |

Title: Mr. and Mrs. X (2018-) #1 (Mr. & Mrs. X #1)
Author: Kelly Thompson, Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator), Terry Dodson (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: Auguest 3, 2018
Book Summary: LOVE & MARRIAGE PART 1! Straight from the pages of X-MEN GOLD...to the surprise of everyone, the Marvel Universe's hottest couple has finally tied the knot! In their extraordinary lives, they've faced nearly every challenge imaginable, but how will they fare against former flames making trouble? An entire galaxy in jeopardy? You want it? We got it, as Kelly Thompson (HAWKEYE, ROGUE & GAMBIT) and Oscar Bazaldua (SPIDER-MAN, STAR WARS: ROGUE ONE) bring you the tantalizing tale of a modern marriage...X-MEN STYLE!
Book Review: This was me when I found out Gambit and Rogue married:



What was suppose to be the most anticipated wedding in the X-Men universe ended up being a wedding of a totally different kind.

In X-Men Gold Issue #30, Kitty has gotten cold feet and decided that it best she and Colossus not marry, leaving guests confused by what had just happened. Of course, Gambit sees this as a blessing for him and he gets down on one knee to ask Rogue to marry him.

This first issue of this series offers you an insight into exactly what prevailed just before Gambit and Rogue said their vows. You get sweet moments between friends as they prepare for

This issue was so worth being picked up and I am happy I did. I love Gambit and Rogue and they are one of the biggest reasons I have returned to the Marvel universe. Otherwise I would probably be dabbling in DC comics for awhile.

This issue is really worth picked up. There isn't a lot of action. Mostly a large portion of a backstory of the wedding before we find them in space enjoying a honeymoon. That is until they find the Imperial Guards at their door. Throw in Deadpool and you have a recipe for disaster about to come from this

....And I cannot wait for what happens next!

[info]katara

| 216 |

Title: X-Men: Grand Design - Second Genesis (X-Men: Grand Design)
Author: Ed Piskor
Format: Epub
Rating: 1.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: August 3, 2018
Book Summary: The sequel to the critical smash hit X-MEN GRAND DESIGN is here - and it's ALL-NEW and ALL-DIFFERENT! Witness Wolverine, Thunderbird, Colossus, Storm, and Sunfire suit up as X-Men for the very first time all over again! And then the Shi'ar! The Brood! The Starjammers! Watch as Marvel's merry mutants take to the stars. See the first X-Men adventures of Kitty Pryde and Carol Danvers. Marvel at the conclusion of the now-classic DARK PHOENIX SAGA. All through the lens of indie auteur ED PISKOR, who lovingly researches, writes, pencils, inks, colors and letters every page just for you! This volume also includes an issue of Giant Size X-Men and pinups by Art Adams, Todd McFarlane, Jim Lee and Joe Madureira masterfully recolored by Ed. Presented in the same dynamic, oversized format of the best-selling Hip Hop Family Tree (9" x 13").
Book Review: I wish I could say something good about this comic book.

Okay I can say something good. This issue follows the Phoenix and Dark Phoenix Sagas - two of my favorite X-Men storyline.

Unfortunately the art leaves something to be desirable. I feel like a three-year-old could draw better than this. Jean's Dark Phoenix face in several panels looks awkward and just plain weird to the point of being almost creepy.

This was the one comic book I was looking forward to but there isn't much more of the Phoenix entity and it really honing in on Jean. I see it seems to make a connection with her during the period of radiation in the solar storm. But in the last issues we got panels of the Phoenix as it traveled; I saw none of this in this issue.

So disappointed. :/

[info]katara

| 215 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) Annual #2
Author: Chuck Wendig, Leonard Kirk (Illustrator), Mike Deodato (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.2/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: August 3, 2018
Book Summary: DARTH VADER intends for the Empire to hold no secrets for him — or from him. Which means it is time to dig into the pet project of GOVERNOR WILHUFF TARKIN and ORSON KRENNIC: the massive battle station being built on GEONOSIS. Opportunity arises when the project is hindered by sabotage from unknown forces. THE EMPEROR calls on his dark enforcer to root out the source of treachery that threatens to destabilize the Empire’s galactic ascent.
Book Review: This issue ties inbetween the book Catalyst and the Rogue One Storyline.

Here we find see a bit more of the relationship between Vader and that of Tarkin. There was time when these two were battling for the favor the Emperor. Now there seems to be a mutual bit of respect forming between the two. However, in this issue, we see a bit of a small change in that sort of relationship because as we find Tarkin arriving on Scarif, he also learns Vader is there and possibly snooping around for information upon Project Stardust. Tarkin is less than happy with this and demands that Vader stand down.

And Vader being Vader, well, you know that he doesn't take orders from almost anyone and tells Tarkin this. Of course, Tarkin is almost gleeful in his rebuttal and calls the Emperor to set things straight with Vader. In the end, the Emperor ends up being on Tarkin's side and this angers Vader to the point he envisions killing Tarkin.

Upon the conclusion of their scenes, we are pulled into another scene. This time with Lyra Erso on Alpinn. She is there collecting Kyber Crystals for Galen. While she is working, an unidentified droid appears and gives her a warning: that those crystals she is collecting are for a super weapon....that countless of lives will be at stake if she continues her work...and what would her daughter think if she knew that her parents knew? Before Lyra can even ask about the droid's owner, the thing unexpectedly self-destructs. Without a second thought, Lyra runs off to give warning to Galen.

So who was it that gave Lyra the warning? Many fans believe that it was Vader behind the warning because he was simply jealous of the Death Star. We never knew what his thoughts were completely on the thing in the trilogy because he was not the focus of the story itself. So getting a chance to see his way of thinking lets the reader believe this. Is it true? Or just wishful thinking on our part?

I believe that Vader being the one behind the warning is a possibility. My thought is that Vader doesn't like anything that could make him irrevelant later on and the Death Star would do just that. So being jealous of this weapon would have caused him a brief moment of humanity relapse.

Overall this was a great annual. I quite enjoyed seeing this side of Vader and I am looking forward to seeing more of him to come in the next issues.

Jul. 23rd, 2018


[info]katara

| 214 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #18 (Darth Vader (2017) (Single Issues) #18)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator), Elia Bonetti (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: July 23, 2018
Book Summary: It is time for GRAND MOFF TARKIN to repay a long-standing debt to DARTH VADER…and settling what is owed will require every last bit of his cunning, and will cost more than he ever imagined.
Book Review: This was a rather interesting one-shot in a series.

Vader is being hunted by Tarkin - at the request of the Sith Lord. A favor returned for the events played out in the last issue.

This was another excellent issue. Tarkin continues to prove to be quite the tactical mind and his presence in these comics have been superb. In past issues, we have seen Tarkin weigh the opinions of his officers instead of going off and doing his own thing. These issues have shown the reason that the Emperor has placed him in command of his own vessel.

As for Vader, Vader continues to grow in these issues. We have already seen him shed off the last remanants of his humanity and become what he is really known for - being the most feared Sith Lord in the galaxy.

I love this issue. I am well aware that the fighting was minimal but it is still one of the most interesting. Again it felt more of a "What if" issue than anything. Vader has fallen from grace...Tarkin sent out to punish Vader but then we actually realize that this was the promise kept by Tarkin for the orders on Mon Cala.

These issues continue to give us an insight into Vader's rise and I am quite looking forward to these issues going into Rogue One storyline and then into A New Hope.

Jul. 10th, 2018


[info]katara

| 213 |

Title: Persephone (Daughters of Zeus #1)
Author: Kaitlin Bevis
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: July 9, 2018 to July 10, 2018
Book Summary: One day Persephone is an ordinary high school senior working at her mom’s flower shop in Athens, Georgia. The next she’s fighting off Boreas, the brutal god of Winter, and learning that she’s a bonafide goddess—a rare daughter of the now-dead Zeus. Her goddess mom whisks her off to the Underworld to hide until Spring.

There she finds herself under the protection of handsome Hades, the god of the dead, and she’s automatically married to him. It’s the only way he can keep her safe. Older, wiser, and far more powerful than she, Hades isn’t interested in becoming her lover, at least not anytime soon. But every time he rescues her from another of Zeus’s schemes, they fall in love a little more. Will Hades ever admit his feelings for her?

Can she escape the grasp of her powerful dad’s minions? The Underworld is a very cool place, but is it worth giving up her life in the realm of the living? Her goddess powers are developing some serious, kick-butt potential. She’s going to fight back.
Book Review: This book has been on my "to be read" list forever and I finally pushed this book up to the front of the list. Mainly because I have always loved any retellings of the Hades and Persephone myth. Okay, not all of the retellings out there have been worth the pick up and some have really fell short of their retellings but I had a lot of high hope for this one.

In this book, Persephone is living a pretty mortal life. Her mother runs a flower shop business and her friend is Melissa. She really has no idea that she is a goddess. This all changes when she catches the eye of Boreas, the brutal God of Winter. Persephone is taken down into the Underworld where she finds herself "married" to Hades, God of the Underworld. Stuck in the Underworld with Hades, Persephone finds herself falling in love with him with passing day. Now she will have to fight off her father's minions and deal with her growing abilities. Will Persephone be able to do it?

For once, I have to say that the heroine of this story did not annoy me as they have been doing in the past. I actually found her likeable. Color me completely surprised by this. Persephone is a teenager whom is currently enjoying her quiet life. Yet things start to get weird for her. People act different around her, she gets a phone number from a rockstar, and on top of all that, her mother tells her that she is a goddess. Of course, Persephone is skeptical, believing that her mother has gone over the deep end of the pool over this but her opinion begins to change when she finds herself down in the Underworld below and now the "bride" to the God of the Underworld, Hades. Persephone has a lot to take in but despite all of this, she finds herself enjoying the company below. Persephone's character grows from being skeptical to wanting to learn how to use her powers and understand them.

Hades is someone quite different. Although he is Persephone's uncle (yes, yes Mythology is riddled with incest) but here in this book, they don't look at family ties. In fact, they don't seem to really exist in this world. So here it is safe without the thought of incest. Contrary to what popular culture has said of him, Hades has neither flame for hair nor is evil. In fact, it seems to be the other way around: he is a nice guy and seems to be quite the fair ruler to this Underworld kingdom. You can see that he grows to care for Persephone and even love her as their relationship develops.

As for the other secondary cast of characters, they are not one-dimension. There is some depth to them and they can become quite likeable to the reader. Even the Underworld is something different. Not the dark, dank world we are used to reading about but a world filled with stores, Starbucks, and other places.

All in all, I was surprised about liking this book. I quite enjoyed it actually and I am quite looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

Jun. 27th, 2018


[info]katara

| 212 |

Title: The Lantern's Ember
Author: Colleen Houck
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.75/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 22, 2018 to June 27, 2018
Book Summary: Welcome to a world where nightmarish creatures reign supreme.

Five hundred years ago, Jack made a deal with the devil. It’s difficult for him to remember much about his mortal days. So, he focuses on fulfilling his sentence as a Lantern—one of the watchmen who guard the portals to the Otherworld, a realm crawling with every nightmarish creature imaginable. Jack has spent centuries jumping from town to town, ensuring that nary a mortal—or not-so-mortal—soul slips past him. That is, until he meets beautiful Ember O’Dare.

Seventeen, stubborn, and a natural-born witch, Ember feels a strong pull to the Otherworld. Undeterred by Jack’s warnings, she crosses into the forbidden plane with the help of a mysterious and debonair vampire—and the chase through a dazzling, dangerous world is on. Jack must do everything in his power to get Ember back where she belongs before both the earthly and unearthly worlds descend into chaos.
Book Review: I would like to thank Netgalley and the publisher for giving me a chance to read this book prior to it's release.

In "The Lantern's Ember", we meet Jack. Once upon a time long ago, Jack was a mortal whom met the devil and made a deal. In this deal, Jack became bound to a pumpkin and now his job was to be keeper of all things that went bump in the night. In becoming this, he was also the reason for the legend of the Headless Horseman. One day, he meets a young witch named Ember and finds himself trying to protect her from the creatures of the Otherworld whom would enjoy tasting her magic. Because you see, the witches have left Otherworld and with them so was their magic.

When I first saw this book, I was excited because this book had a different premise from those of recent reads. Here, I thought, things would be different and the book would take me on an adventure that most of the ya books seemed to have lacked lately.

Unfortunately I found the same qualities in this heroine that I keep finding in other heroines - brainless, never listening, and taking off on their own despite the fact there is danger. I get that authors are trying to make their heroines brave and the ideal for those younger readers but at the same time, they are not changing the heroine personality. This is unfortunate because all heroines have potential to become something much more than just brainless twits.

I wanted to like Ember but she seemed to be one-dimension and too predictable. Her reactions to situations seemed off. While others reacted to something accordingly, she didn't. I don't know why but it bothered me. It was like she was in another world and she was reacting to something entirely different.

And who the hell allows themselves to follow someone they don't know into a world they have no idea about!? This has been reoccuring theme in the ya universe. We meet heroine and heroine goes off on an adventure into a world she has followed someone into. This has started putting me off on reading ya lately. :/ The heroines have gotten annoying and brainless. There is no personality growth and they always seem to be in some world of their own.

As for Jack? Well I liked him, if that helps, but he isn't something I would be jumping for joy over or writing to people about. I loved the idea of how he is the reason behind the legend of Sleepy Hollow. This was the most awesome part of his story. Otherwise he could be part of the background and would not be newsworthy.

Overall the world building was interesting and I really enjoyed it but the secondary characters were just like Ember - predictable. No growth, no personality, no anything.

If you enjoy movie monsters and a little bit steampunk, then this book you will definitely enjoy.

Jun. 21st, 2018


[info]katara

| 211 |

Title: The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #2)
Author: Rick Riordan
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.75/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 20, 2018 to June 21, 2018
Book Summary: Thor's hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon - the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn't just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can't retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer's return is the gods' worst enemy, Loki - and the price he wants is very high.
Book Review: Magnus Chase has returned for his second adventure!

This time, Thor has lost his hammer again. The thing is that it is not really lost but in the hands of Thor's enemies. On top of that, the Valkyrie Sam has been promised to a giant named Thrym. It is a marriage that Sam doesn't want. Magnus and his friends are determined to save her and gain back the hammer before Loki finds a way to release himself from his prison.

Have I ever mentioned how much I love Rick Riordan's books? They are always full of fun adventures and humorous twists and turns.

This one, however, seemed to be my less favorite of his books. The plot seemed to drag in the beginning and the humor seemed to be a bit flat all together. Still this book was a definite fun read. I have had this book on my reading list for quite some time and I had been meaning to crack it open. I am glad I did. Despite its short fallings, it was still a really good read and a wonderful addition to my collection. I am quite looking forward to the third book and I cannot wait to see Percy Jackson finally appear in this one!

[info]katara

| 210 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #17 (Darth Vader (2017) (Single Issues) #17)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli, Elia Bonetti (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 21, 2018
Book Summary: As the remnants of the Mon Cala resistance crumble into the seas, Vader and his Inquisitors finally confront the Jedi survivor at its core. The seas will weep…
Book Review: Darth Vader returns in the finale of Mon Cala arc.

In this issue we find Ferren Barr and his apprentice are surrounded not only by the Troopers but also by Vader's Inquistor. Barr uses the Jedi mind trick (?) to fool the Troopers, telling them that the Inquistors were once Jedi. Before the Inquistors have a chance to refute this claim, the Troopers begin firing on them allowing Barr and his apprentice to slip away during the maylay.



With the escape of Barr and his apprentice, Sixth Sister takes a brutal path to continue her hunt. In her doing so, she leaves one of her own behind whom vows revenge against her.

And when the scene changes, we finally get to see what Vader is doing. He has found where the King is hiding and destroys all those whom are guarding him. As Vader appears before the King, he tells Vader that even though there is carnage he knows he and his people will not surrender. It is at this moment Barr appears and tells that it was he whom killed the Ambassador. This surprises the King whom calls for a stand down and he tries to negotiate with Tarkin but Tarkin refuses and continues the bombardment on Mon Cala.

In the end, Barr is dead and the people of Mon Cala head into space only to met with Tarkin's ships, whom fire upon them.


I must say Vader's comics do not disappoint. There is always something going on within the pages of new issues and this one really is not different. It was interesting to see the indifference from Barr especially after he admitted to being the one whom caused all of this. He really didn't seem to care how many people were killed, only that it fitted with his agenda. I found myself not a fan of his whatsoever over this because what Jedi would dare to do something like this? Especially when the people of the planet allowed him to hide there?

As for Tarkin himself, he continues to be an amazing character. I am quite enjoying the idea of him being up front and center and I am quite looking forward to seeing more interaction between himself and Vader that seems to be coming.

Have I mentioned how much I have loved these comics? Vader continues to entertain and I am quite enjoying seeing what is up to between the time of his arrival from being Anakin to Vader and up to Rogue One and so on. I cannot wait to read the next issue.

Jun. 20th, 2018


[info]katara

| 209 |

Title: X-Men Gold (2017-) #30
Author: Marc Guggenheim, David Marquez (Illustrator), Phil Noto (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 20, 2018
Book Summary: OVERSIZED WEDDING ISSUE! Dearly beloved, we are gathered here today for the ultimate union! After a lifetime of will-they-or-won’t-they, new boyfriends and ex-girlfriends, KITTY and COLOSSUS are finally walking down the aisle together…GUEST STARS GALORE IN THIS VERY SPECIAL MOMENT IN X-MEN HISTORY!
Book Review: Holy crackers...!

Just wow...!

Holy wow!

I must say this was a wonderful build-up to a wedding that seemed to really come out of nowhere. I mean I was never expecting to Piotr and Kitty to become engaged in the first place. If you think about it, this really was all of a sudden. Maybe I have not been keeping up with the various X-titles that have been out there but this one I had been waiting for since I first read the issue of their engagement.

I will admit that a long time ago I was a fan of the pairing between Piotr and Kitty but then I saw things between them distance and both seemed to move on. If there was anyone I would have thought Kitty would have married, it would have been Star-Lord of the Guardians of the Galaxy. I mean there seemed to be more of a chemistry between the two of them than Colossus and Kitty but I suppose that saying of "you really never get over your first love" must have reapplied here.

So here we are at the wedding that the previous issues have been leading up. All the guests have arrived. And we have one very special guest whom is watching on the outside.



All this wedding talk even has Kurt talking about popping the question to Rachel Summers. So we may very well see another wedding to come soon in the future.

But as the guest assemble and the wedding procession begins, we find that there won't be a wedding at all as Kitty disappears before we even know what happens.

The guest move to the inside where the reception would have been held. Here we find Gambit talking to our favorite Weather Goddess, Storm. You can see this wedding has him thinking of our favorite power stealing gal from the South. And what does he do? He goes and does this:



So what was to be a non-wedding really does end up being a wedding. Just Gambit and Rogue's wedding to be exact.



What does this mean for Piotr and Kitty? That will remain to be seen but I expect a big fallout between the two of them and perhaps a large need of a repair of their relationship but I could be entirely wrong on this.

The good thing is if you are a fan of the Gambit and Rogue pairing then good news for you: there is a new series coming for them called Mr. and Mrs. X.


OMG! -squee!- My dream has come true! Gambit and Rogue married! This was a wonderful surprise and treat. I was actually expecting something to happen but not this. I didn't think Kitty was really ready for marriage to Colossus. I don't know why this was pushed. I would have tought it would have been a slow build-up. I understand alot of fans of the couple were thrilled with this but I think this is going to upset a lot of people.

Still this was a great issue and I may pick up the next issue to see what happens to between Kitty and Colossus. I am hoping there is some resolve between them and that maybe there is still a chance for them. I am not a fan of the couple now as I was when I first was introduced to them but I do hope something good comes out from this especially for them both.

Jun. 13th, 2018


[info]katara

| 208 |

Title: Harley Quinn (2016-) #43
Author: Christopher Sebela, Alex Sinclair (Illustrator), Gabe Eltaeb (Illustrator), Amanda Conner (Illustrator), John Timms (Illustrator), Mirka Andolfo (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: .5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 13 2018
Book Summary: When Harley Quinn finds herself hammer-deep in a paranoid spiral, the last thing she needs is for someone to blow up her favorite bodega! Worse, the only clue she finds seems to indicate Harley herself was the actual target of the attack! What’s a girl to do when she’s pushed all her friends away just as someone decides to kill her?
Book Review: Okay.

What the hell did I just read?

This issue seemed to be a bit of a mess. I see that Harley has gone insane a bit. We see Batman and Superman with her but then we find that is nothing more than a dream...?

Whatever is going on seems to be messing up Harley big time.

Toss in Professor Pyg and The Reaper and we have something that I cannot seem to quite understand.

I am seriously on the verge of not bothering with this series anymore. The storylines are becoming a bit ridiculous and Harley seems to be out of character.

[info]katara

| 207 |

Title: X-Men Red (2018-) Annual #1 (X-Men Red (Single Issues) Annual #1)
Author: Tom Taylor, Pascal Alixe (Illustrator), Travis Charest (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 13, 2018
Book Summary: After Resurrection. Before Red. Jean Grey was reborn in a world that had changed. Her friends and family had lived lives. Some had lost lives. This is Jean's story of catching up losses and triumphs. Reconnecting with old colleagues, grieving for those lots, and meeting family members she didn't know existed.
Book Review: I actually had planned to do summary of this issue but I think it best not to do so. I believe there are a bit of spoilers in there and I think it best to allow others a chance to read this one without possible going through my post and finding a spoiler.

All this issue really does is give us a glimpse into Jean Grey's life after the limited series X-Men Phoenix Resurrection and before the start of X-Men Red.

The only thing I am not impressed with is the art. It just - I don't know. I felt it seemed like was too rushed and if were the colors were done by a child. I wish I could have enjoyed this issue a lot more.

[info]katara

| 206 |

Title: X-Men Red (2018-) #5
Author: Tom Taylor, Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator), Mahmud Asrar (Illustrator), Travis Charest (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.95/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 13, 2018
Book Summary: MUTANT HATE IS AT AN ALL-TIME HIGH…and Jean Grey is caught right in the middle! CASSANDRA NOVA’s plan is finally revealed….but to devastating consequences. And just because JEAN GREY’s team finally knows what’s going on, doesn’t mean they can actually stop it. Someone close to Jean is about to become Nova’s latest pawn…but who? And why?
Book Review: Ever since the televised head explosion of the British Ambassador believed to have been by the newly-resurrected Jean Grey, hatred of mutants have reached an overall high. Poland has recently enacted a law to apprehend any all mutants within their country.

In a undisclosed hospital, Jean and Trinary are working to remove the Sentite lodged into the head of David Bushell, whom had killed a mutant girl Gambit was protecting. Unfortunately for David, Gambit has come to seek revenge for the girl he has killed. Gambit appears in the hospital room and both Jean and Trinary try to recruit him to their group.

It is at this point Trinary has found the switch and turned off the Sentite in David's head. Also at this time, Nightcrawler appears in the room with David's dad and the two are reunited. For the newly formed red team, there is little time to celebrate as there is another mutant problem they need to attend to.

When they reappear, they find Storm and the others waiting for them. Storm informs the group that there is a set of Polish mutants on the run. Jean replies that they will help them out and the group (along with the Sentinel colored in rainbow) take off.

Upon arrival, they find the mutants cornered near the Baltic Sea. The army is converging on the fleeing mutants. Jean and her team arrive just in time to stop the slaughter from happening. It is at this moment that Namor appears and begins to take the fleeing mutants into his bubble-like ship. Jean, whom has finished showing the soldiers what the fear the mutants were having and this seemed to back them off. All the mutants board the ship leaving the army behind.


This series really has set itself apart from its predecessors. There is a big difference in this group. Although we find Jean in place of what would be Charles. However, unlike Charles, she has pretty much become quite active in the group, seeing that her not only her group is continually protected but also rescuing those whom are being perscuted by their own country. Jean knows that there is someone out there doing this but she has no idea quite whom it is.

I like this series. It is so different and we see Jean and her team growing together. They seem to be insync with each other and this is what every team should be like. I hope this series continues on this path and that it continues to do stronger than that of the other series.

[info]katara

| 205 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #4 (Labyrinth Coronation)
Author: Simon Spurrier, Daniel Bayliss, Mattia Di Meo (Illustrator), Dan Jackson (Illustrator), Fiona Staples (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 12, 2018 to June 13, 2018
Book Summary: Maria finds allies willing to help guide her to the center of the Labyrinth and to her son, Jareth. But how much can she really trust them?
Book Review: This issue pretty much picks up after where the last issue has left off at.

Our favorite Goblin King is keeping watch on unsuspecting Sarah's progress. Of course when he sees that is getting a bit too close in gaining back her brother from Jareth.



He decides it is time to put a large stop to Sarah's progress and he hands over Toby to one of the goblins.



As the story returns to the past, we find that Maria has been captured by the Trawlers and is being taken in their airship to be hand delivered to the Owl King. While in her cell, her captors return with Sir Skubbin, whom she befriended when she first entered into the Labyrinth. Once the captors are gone, Maria finds bedsheets in which she begins to tie together to escape but it is Sir Skubbin that halts her when he announces that he has a skeleton key.



As the knight opens the door, they find themselves face to face with the Night Troll Septimus. He has been sent to kill Maria, whom has unseemingly become a thorn in the side of the Owl King. Even faced with this, Maria refuses to be deterred from trying to gain back her son from the Owl King. She tells the Knight to open all the doors for the other creatures that are locked away in cages. One creature, a rather living rose bush, rises up from the bottom of the ship and sends the Night Troll in the air and the ship crashing down into the waters below.

The scene changes to Lord Albert Tyton. Here we find him being visited by the Owl King in a painting. He warns Albert of the scandal that will come should his father ever learn of his marriage to Maria and the birth of his own son. He then asks Albert what he would do to keep that from happening. Albert answers he would do anything.

We return back to Maria, the knight, and the living rose bush which has now been named Tangle. They swim to shore and decide to regroup there, deciding which direction to head to next. While they are discussing this, Tangle the bush says something that causes Maria to think of her mother. She believes that there is something familiar about this bush but she is unable to put her finger on it. Maria starts to realize that the Labyrinth keeps changing because of both herself and the memories she possesses. She closes her eyes and begins walking. The three of them come around a corner where they find a gate leading to a cemetery with a giant mausoleum in the center. On the mausoleum, she finds her husband's name "Tyton" on it. Maria doesn't seem to remember this image as she has never seen this before. She knows this image doesn't come from her mind and certainly has no idea where it has come from.

Once more we find the Owl King with Albert. With the Owl King looming over him, Albert tells the Owl King of the time his father took him to the family crypt to show him where the blood line end. Of course, Albert admits this scared him as a child. This seems to please the Owl King whom tells Albert that terrifying is always a good thing and to concentrate on that.


This series continues to remain one of my absolute favorites. It has been a breath of fresh air to see how exactly Jareth came to reign on the Goblin King. His mother, Maria, has proven to be the most resourceful woman I have ever seen. She is relentless in her pursuit of gaining back the son her husband has sold. She is fearless but determined. She is not going to let anyone stop her from getting back her beloved child. She already knows that her husband is cowardly and sold them out so he is no longer a thought in her head.

Honestly a part of me is really cheering her on but I know this is not going to end well on Maria's end. I hope that she doesn't have her memories erased but is given a chance to remain nearby her son in the end.

Still if you are a fan of Jim Henson's The Labyrinth then this series is definitely one you should pick up.

Jun. 8th, 2018


[info]katara

| 204 |

Title: The President Is Missing
Author: Bill Clinton, James Patterson
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 5, 2018 to June 8, 2018
Book Summary: President Bill Clinton and bestselling novelist James Patterson have written a spellbinding thriller, The President is Missing.

As the novel opens, a threat looms. Enemies are planning an attack of unprecedented scale on America. Uncertainty and fear grip Washington. There are whispers of cyberterror and espionage and a traitor in the cabinet. The President himself becomes a suspect, and then goes missing...

Set in real time, over the course of three days, The President Is Missing is one of the most dramatic thrillers in decades. And it could all really happen. The President Is Missing is Bill Clinton and James Patterson's totally authentic and spellbinding thriller.
Book Review: Wow.

Just wow.

I have always loved James Patterson's books. I tend to devour them in a short span of a few days. This one was really no different. I absolutely found myself unable to put it down. Unfortunately there are moments when you have no choice for sleep, eating, and running errands.

In this team-up collaboration, Bill Clinton and James Patterson offer a thrilling and suspenseful ride into the Oval Office. Here we find the President of the United States under a cloud of suspicion where there is belief that he has made a pact with a well-known terrorist. His constitutes are out to impeach him believing him guilty. There is an uncertainty and fear within the American public. Sprinkle in cyberterrorism and a missing president and you have one hell of a thrill ride til the very last pages.

Although I really enjoyed this book immensely, there was a lot of backstory that I had to trudge through. I know backstories are great for establishing a character but too much makes the story a bit laggy and unfortunately, it lagged a bit in the beginning.

But I suppose without a backstory to establish a character, the character would be one dimensional.

Still this story is really worth a read and it will keep you turning the page until the very end of the page.

Jun. 5th, 2018


[info]katara

| 203 |

Title: The Isle of the Lost (Descendants #1)
Author: Melissa de la Cruz
Format: Epub
Rating: 2.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 3, 2018 to June 5, 2018
Book Summary: Twenty years ago, all the evil villains were banished from the kingdom of Auradon and made to live in virtual imprisonment on the Isle of the Lost. The island is surrounded by a magical force field that keeps the villains and their descendants safely locked up and away from the mainland. Life on the island is dark and dreary. It is a dirty, decrepit place that's been left to rot and forgotten by the world.

But hidden in the mysterious Forbidden Fortress is a dragon's eye: the key to true darkness and the villains' only hope of escape. Only the cleverest, evilest, nastiest little villain can find it...who will it be?

Maleficent, Mistress of the Dark: As the self-proclaimed ruler of the isle, Maleficent has no tolerance for anything less than pure evil. She has little time for her subjects, who have still not mastered life without magic. Her only concern is getting off the Isle of the Lost.

Mal: At sixteen, Maleficent's daughter is the most talented student at Dragon Hall, best known for her evil schemes. And when she hears about the dragon's eye, Mal thinks this could be her chance to prove herself as the cruelest of them all.

Evie: Having been castle-schooled for years, Evil Queen's daughter, Evie, doesn't know the ins and outs of Dragon Hall. But she's a quick study, especially after she falls for one too many of Mal's little tricks.

Jay: As the son of Jafar, Jay is a boy of many talents: stealing and lying to name a few. Jay and Mal have been frenemies forever and he's not about to miss out on the hunt for the dragon's eye.

Carlos: Cruella de Vil's son may not be bravest, but he's certainly clever. Carlos's inventions may be the missing piece in locating the dragon's eye and ending the banishment for good.

Mal soon learns from her mother that the dragon's eye is cursed and whoever retrieves it will be knocked into a deep sleep for a thousand years. But Mal has a plan to capture it. She'll just need a little help from her "friends." In their quest for the dragon's eye, these kids begin to realize that just because you come from an evil family tree, being good ain't so bad.
Book Review: Color me slightly entertained.

Which really is a first of these ya books lately. Most of them have had the most annoying female leads to date but this one was a bit different.

This time we find that all the Disney villains of today and yesteryear have been placed upon an island and left there. Even those villains whom had died in their own stories have been brought back to life and placed upon this island encased in a dome. Magic is gone on both the island and the Kingdom. Now the Descendants want to return the magic back to the island and reclaim the glory of their parents had.

Malficent is currently in charge of the island. Unfortunately this does not sit very well with the Evil Queen. The Evil Queen has a party for her six-year-old daughter Evie but doesn't invite Malficent or her daughter, Mal. This causes Malficent to curse the Evil Queen and send both she and her daughter to live in isolation. Fast forward a few years, Malficent's daughter rules the school. And when Evie arrives, Mal turns her nasty attention to making Evie's life miserable. Then one day the island receives a brief bit of magic which awakens Malficent's beloved raven. This leads Malficent to believe that her Dragon's Eye is on the island and the Decendants set out to find it.

This was a rather interesting series. The idea of Disney villains having children is rather interesting. The only thing is exactly how? I know they could not be created through magic unless for some reason or another King Adam (sorry I refuse to call him King Beast seeing as Disney had already had a name for him) allowed them this brief moment.

Unfortunately for me, the storyline seemed to bore me. It seemed to drag along and the children of the villains seemed to be a bit one dimensional. It was like the author simply decided to take a villain, downsize them to pre-teen size, and slap them with teen angst and need to prove themselves to their parent. I sort of felt sorry for Mal, at times, because she was doing everything possible to prove to her own Mom that she could be just as evil as she was but the thing is when you are on an island filled with villains that have the same mentality as yourself, there is little you can do to prove yourself.

But this book is basically a prequel to the television series.

Will I continue this series? I just may because I would love to see exactly what happens with Mal through the series. I haven't seen the actual television series yet and that comes on Friday so I may just watch it.

Jun. 3rd, 2018


[info]katara

| 202 |

Title: The Assassin and the Healer (Throne of Glass 0.2)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Format: Epub
Rating: 1/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 2, 2018 to June 3, 2018
Book Summary: Meet the Assassin: beautiful, defiant, destined for greatness. Celaena Sardothien has challenged her master. Now she must pay the price. Her journey to the Red Desert will be an arduous one, but it may change the fate of her cursed world forever...
Book Review: I hate not liking a book.

This has been the norm for me lately. I try out books that have accumulated a massive fanbase and end up hating something about it.

Currently I have a strong dislike Celaena. I had a strong hope that this short novella would redeem her in some way. Instead, she seemed more full of herself as well as holier-than-thou attitude. Please don't get me wrong I understand that saving someone from certain death you want to offer advice to not go outside alone but when you pretty much lay the blame at the victim's feet, then really you need to be slapped in the face.

For now, I think it is best that I put the rest of this series down for the time being. I may try to pick it up at a later date.

Jun. 2nd, 2018


[info]katara

| 201 |

Title: The Assassin and the Pirate Lord (Throne of Glass 0.1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Format: Epub
Rating: 1.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: June 1, 2018 to June 2, 2018
Book Summary: A Throne of Glass novella.

On a remote island in a tropical sea, Celaena Sardothien, feared assassin, has come for retribution. She’s been sent by the Assassin’s Guild to collect on a debt they are owed by the Lord of the Pirates. But when Celaena learns that the agreed payment is not in money, but in slaves, her mission suddenly changes—and she will risk everything to right the wrong she’s been sent to bring about.
Book Review: This series was part of my book club's book of the month. Actually the first book is but I hate getting into a series without going in order. I thought that since these books are pretty much easy reading this would be a piece of cake and I would find a new series to enjoy.

Unfortunately this turned out to not be the case at all.

I found the lead female to be nearly Mary Sueish in character. She was annoying as hell, young, full of attitude that made her seem like she had a stick so far up her ass that it had probably been lodged there since birth, and a plain out spoiled brat. Seriously I want to know why no one has taken over their knee and beaten her ass. During the beginning of this book, she really seems like she needed it.

Does Celeana ever become likeable in this series? Because if she doesn't, I feel this entire series will be tossed over onto the "Not Gonna Touch These Again" pile.

May. 29th, 2018


[info]katara

| 200 |

Title: Who Was Princess Diana? (Who Was/Is...?)
Author: Ellen Labrecque, Jerry Hoare (Illustrations)
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.75/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: May 29, 2018
Book Summary: Learn how Lady Diana Spencer became the People's Princess as she takes her place in the ranks of the Who Was? series.

A shy twenty-year-old girl stepped out of a horse-drawn coach and into the world spotlight, capturing the imagination of millions as a real life fairytale princess. Although the storybook marriage didn't have a happy ending, Diana learned to use her fame as a way to champion charitable causes near to her heart. She became the People's Princess by humanizing the image of the royal family and showing care and concern for all people, including the homeless, the sick, and others in need.
Book Review: She was one of the most photographed women in the world.

She was once Lady Diana Spencer, 19, and relatively unknown to the photographers whom pursued Prince Charles during the early stages of his life. She would not become well-known until the two of them were caught fishing. From there, the world became fascinated by the nineteen-year-old and her wedding to Prince Charles on July 29th, 1981, would be known as the "Wedding of the Century."

During her marriage to Charles, she had two sons, William and Harry, and she would teach them the world outside the gilded palace gates by taking them to homeless shelters and teaching them that there was much more for them to learn.

Her death in 1997 would devastate a country but her sons continue to carry out her work,

This was a nice little book about Diana. There are amazing sketches of parts of her life. This would be a perfect gift for anyone whom had been caught up in the royal wedding fever during Harry and Megan's wedding. It is a great introduction to the woman whom brought the British Royal Family into the modern world and how she continues to this day to affect the work her children continue to carry out in her name.

The downside to this book is that it glosses over her life. Although there are some mentions of Charles and Diana's marriage falling apart, it doesn't really go into detail but I suppose this book is meant for younger audience and give them just a bit of small biography upon the subject of choice. Still if this does fascinate you about her, then there are plenty of reading material out there that would defintely be perfect for any reader interested in Princess Diana.

I would recommend this book to any Diana fan out there. It would be a really nice edition to your collection.

Previous 20