October 2018

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom
Powered by InsaneJournal

Previous 20

Oct. 18th, 2018


[info]katara

| 242 |

Title: Mr. and Mrs. X (2018-) #4
Author: Kelly Thompson, Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator), Terry Dodson (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 18, 2018
Book Summary: Undercover in the Shi’ar Empire! Rogue and Gambit must infiltrate the Shi’ar homeworld in order to save a precious package. But how are they going to wine and dine the Empire’s elite when its soldiers are hot on their trail?
Book Review: In our last issues, we found our newlyweds enjoying the beauty of outerspace when Kitty called them for a job. Of course, neither Rogue nor Gambit exactly knew what they would be getting into only this was important. Add Deadpool and an egg and you have a recipe for trouble.

And trouble it had become. Inside of the genetically-created egg was the child belonging to the late Queen of the Shi'Ar, Lilandra, and her consort, Charles Xavier. Rogue and Gambit know they have to protect Xandra as best as only they can but there is war raging between the Shi'Ar and those whom have taken over the throne once occupied by Lilandra.

Unfortunately the ship belonging to the newlyweds is attacked by the Shi'Ar whom are after the egg and unaware of what it really contains. Xandra reverts back to the egg during the attack and is taken by the Shi'Ar.

The newlyweds establish an alliance with Cerise whom sneaks them into the Empire to search for the egg. Unfortunately the two are captured but find a clever way to escape and seek out the egg. Xandra has concealed herself into the egg again and when Rogue finds her, she is happy to see them. The group flees Chandilar but find out their ship is damaged and land on Chandilar's moon. During this bit of downtime between the three of them, Xandra confesses she can alter Rogue's abilities. She found this idea while she had been connected to Gambit's mind. This causes a bit of a discourse between the newlyweds.

All of this is cut short when the Shi'Ar Imperial Guard arrives as does Deathbird's group and a fight ensues between them all.

I am not going to spoil that last bit of this issue so I will leave it at that. This series continues to be great. In fact, I have enjoyed Xandra's presence in this series. Her story and character has been an interesting addition to the story. It is just sad that she has become a pawn between those upon the Shi'Ar Throne and that of Lilandra's sister, Deathbird. I think that Lilandra and Charles would be proud of her and the way she has been able to handle herself in these situations and the way she has bonded not only with Cerise but also with Gambit and Rogue.

I am seriously looking forward to seeing the next issue in this series. :D

[info]katara

| 241 |

Title: Raising Trump
Author: Ivana Trump
Format: Epub
Rating: .5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 17, 2018 ro October 18, 2018
Book Summary: In Raising Trump, Ivana Trump reflects on her extraordinary life and the raising of her three children—Donald Jr., Eric, and Ivanka—and recounts the lessons she taught her children as they were growing up.

As her former husband takes his place as the 45th President of the United States, his children have also been thrust into the media spotlight—but it is Ivana who raised them and proudly instilled in them what she believes to be the most important life lessons: loyalty, honesty, integrity, and drive. Raising Trump is a non-partisan, non-political book about motherhood, strength, and resilience. Though Ivana writes about her childhood in communist Czechoslovakia, her escape from the regime and relocation to New York, her whirlwind romance, and her great success as a businesswoman, the focus of the book is devoted to Ivana’s raising of her children. Donald Trump Jr., Eric Trump, and Ivanka Trump will all contribute their own memories to the book.

“Every day, people ask me how I raised such great kids. They are truly amazed when I tell them that there was no magic to their upbringing. I was a tough and loving mother who taught them the value of a dollar, not to lie, cheat, or steal, respect for others, and other life lessons that I’ll share now in Raising Trump, along with unfiltered personal stories about Don, Eric, and Ivanka from their early childhood to becoming the ‘first sons and daughter.’” —Ivana Trump
Book Review: I am not sure how the hell I managed to finish this book. There were moments while I was reading where I wanted to give up and toss this book into the "DNF" pile but I pushed myself. Maybe it was because I was on lunch break at work and didn't want to set another book down into the "DNF" pile again.

A long time ago when I first saw her headlining those grocery store lane newpapers where she first learned of her husband's infidelity with Marla Maples, I actually felt sorry for her because here was a woman whose husband's own mistress presented herself before Trump even had a chance to tell Ivana about her. This was a woman I had a ton of sympathy for and I wondered what would happen to her.

After reading this book, all the sympathy I had for her went right out the window. Ivana wants you to believe that she and her family are like you and me but they are far from it. Before Ivana married Donald Trump, she went from a modest living in communist Czechoslovakia where she modeled and became a competitive skiier. Of course during these hobbies, she had to always report to the authorities but often those integrations that were meant to be long and filled with lengthy questions of places Ivana went outside of her homeland were cut short when she brought back something for those authorities. Later when she was given the chance to leave, Ivana did so and would end up later in America where she would meet Donald Trump.

Although Ivana wants you to believe that she raised her children single-handedly, they were actually raised mainly by the nannies. Oh she did take them to school, spent time with them by taking them with her to work, but it was mainly the nannies that pretty much did everything. Ivana tells you that she was no soccer Mom . She went to events for the children, had parties, but she did not care to associate with any of the parents. From the way she wrote of this made me believe that she felt that was above them and any moment spent in their company would be horrible.

This is rather sad because Ivana pretty much allowed herself to be isolated instead of being out there making friends with parents. Even during the stage of her divorce, she cut herself off from people whom were close to her. I understand that it was a stressful time in her life and she really wanted to give her children a chance of normalcy but cutting yourself off really does add to all those rumors circulating at the time about the divorce. I respect her for keeping her head up and not allowing the tabloids to get the best of her.

I think the only thing worthy of this book were the recipes I found in the middle of it. Maybe one day I will find the courage to try to make them. Maybe.

If you are a fan of the Trumps, then this may be your cup of tea. It really wasn't for me.

Oct. 16th, 2018


[info]katara

| 240 |

Title: The Darkdeep (The Darkdeep #1)
Author: Ally Condie, Brendan Reichs
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 16, 2018
Book Summary: When a bullying incident sends twelve-year-old Nico Holland over the edge of a cliff into the icy waters of Still Cove, where no one ever goes, friends Tyler and Ella - and even 'cool kid' Opal -rush to his rescue... only to discover an island hidden in the swirling mists below.

Shrouded by dense trees and murky tides, the island appears uninhabited, although the kids can't quite shake the feeling that something about it is off. Their suspicions grow when they stumble upon an abandoned houseboat with an array of curiosities inside: odd-looking weapons, unnerving portraits, maps to places they've never heard of, and a glass jar containing something completely unidentifiable.

As the group delves deeper into the unknown, their discoveries - and their lives -begin to intertwine in weird and creepy ways. Something ancient has awakened... and it knows their wishes and dreams - and their darkest, most terrible secrets. Do they have what it takes to face the shadowy things that lurk within their own hearts?
Book Review: Holy....

This book was a fantastic read!

It has been quite sometime since I last dipped my toes into children/middle school genre but when I saw this book and had read the blurb, I had to read it. I am sooo glad I did. This book was worth getting my hands on.

In the first book of a new series, we find Nico, Tyler, and Emma out near Still Cove. The place is considered off-limits because of the all the weird things that have happened there. The group is out there flying Nico's quadcopter when a group of bullies led by Logan come and destroy the quadcopter by sending it out over the cliff. Logan and his group leave laughing but one of their members named Opal decides to go back to Nico and his group to help them find the copter.

Nico's group with Opal now among them discover a houseboat but there is something underneath this houseboat. A pool which is christianed The Darkdeep. Even stranger is that anyone whom goes through this Darkdeep ends up bringing back something - a figment. This can be anything from a fear to a favorite toy.

But each time someone goes through this darkdeep, the figments seem to get stronger and now they have found a way to leave the island. Nico and his friends have to find a way to stop the Darkdeep before something worse happens. Nico will have to turn to his worse enemy for help but will they be able to find out exactly what the Darkdeep really is?

Are you a fan of Stephen King? This book would be for you. Of course the horror is a bit watered down seeing as this book is mainly geared toward a younger reader but it is still worth the read. I cannot stress how much I enjoyed reading this book and even more surprised that this book only took me a day to read especially when I have been working all week. I have to say this book got me through a long day at work.

Seriously pick this book up and give it a chance! You won't regret it at all.

Oct. 13th, 2018


[info]katara

| 239 |

Title: The Lost Sisters (The Folk of the Air #1.5)
Author: Holly Black
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 13, 2018
Book Summary:Sometimes the difference between a love story and a horror story is where the ending comes . . .

While Jude fought for power in the Court of Elfhame against the cruel Prince Cardan, her sister Taryn began to fall in love with the trickster, Locke.

Half-apology and half-explanation, it turns out that Taryn has some secrets of her own to reveal.

The Lost Sisters is a companion e-novella to the New York Times bestselling novel The Cruel Prince by master writer Holly Black.
Book Review: If this was meant to be some sort of apology letter from Taryn to Jude, it was more of a half-ass attempt and it seemed to be void of any sort of remorse.

On top of all that, she uses writing instead of just going to her sister to explain her reasoning and motivates to her face. This is cowardly and this may do little to remove the damage that may have been done to the relationship between the two.

This letter garned little sympathy from me. I think Taryn deserves her sister's scorn and even more I believe Jude should really wash her hands of her all together. I feel Taryn doesn't really care. I understand that she wants the two of them to be accepted in the fae realm and to be given the chance to live "happily ever after" but the way Taryn is doing it is really going to end up biting her in the ass in the long wrong. She is playing a game of fire and she will get burned especially the way she is stepping over people to get where she wants.

If anything, I am starting to dislike Taryn and feeling sorry for Jude. At least Jude is fighting against it all and trying to set her own course in this world they have been taken to.

Although this was a tiny story, it sets up for the next book in the series and I can only surmise it is a bit of a bridge or something along the lines. This was just too short for me but was a nice read in the end. It helps to understand Taryn just a bit and her motives but it doesn't make me like her in the end.

If you are a fan of this series, then this will be a great read for you to tie you over for the next book. :D

Oct. 8th, 2018


[info]katara

| 238 |

Title: Mr. and Mrs. X (2018-) #3
Author: Kelly Thompson, Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator), Terry Dodson (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.8/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 8, 2018
Book Summary: LOVE & MARRIAGE PART 3!
ROGUE and GAMBIT'S romantic getaway is but a faint memory as they're forced to team up with DEADPOOL to protect a dangerous and extremely valuable "package" when half the galaxy comes to claim it. What secrets does the package hold that the Imperial Guard and Deathbird (with an entire Shi'ar rebellion in tow!) will risk everything for? More importantly, can Rogue, Gambit, and Deadpool stop bickering long enough to win?
Book Review: In this issue, we finally see what is so important about the egg that Gambit and Rogue now have in their possession that everyone else is after.

Before we begin the discussion of the egg, we see the Shi'Ar power has shifted since the death of Lilandra. In her place, her once leader of the Imperial Guard has risen to power and rules over all. Gladiator is also interested in the egg and orders it be taken from Gambit and Rogue and brought before him.

Meanwhile, Rogue is less than happy with Kitty as she gives her an update. She is upset that Kitty did not tell her and Gambit that the thing they were after was an egg and in that egg contained the child belonging to Professor Charles Xavier and the late Queen Lilandra. The child, having mind linked with both Gambit and Rogue to learn about her parents, has decided to call herself Xandra.

About this time, Deathbird's ship appears and begins firing on them. Rogue sends Gambit and Deadpool to teleport to the ship while she tries to out maneuver their ship out of harm's way. Gambit and Deadpool head over to take down the Imperial soldiers. Beforehand, Gambit hands Wade his staff telling him not to kill anyone.

When the fight is over and they reach where Deathbird is at, she confesses the reason she wanted the egg was to have Lilandra's child at her side while trying back the throne from Gladiator. Gambit is not happy to hear how Deathbird is willing to use her own niece as a pawn in these games but Deathbird tells them that the Shi'Ar are at war. He also warns Deathbird to gather her soldiers and get out of here before tossing telekentic cards to destroy the ship.

When Gambit and Deadpool reappear back on the ship, Rogue decides that Wade is too much for them and places him on a planet to recover from his wounds. Of course, Deadpool is not entirely thrilled with the idea of being left behind like this but Rogue doesn't give him much of a choice in the matter.

Out of the blue, Nightside appears and takes Xandra, whom has reverted back into her egg form.

Cerise appears. She knows where they have taken Xandra but she is unable to go as the Shi'Ar are hunting her as well. She tells them that she has a strong connection to the egg since it had been in her possession prior to it falling into the hands of Gambit and Rogue. The newlyweds tell Cerise that no one other than she and Gambit have knowledge of what Xandra looks like outside of the egg.

Gambit and Rogue prepare to go on a rescue mission to retrieve and reflect on how this was not the honeymoon they wanted.

And at the end, we find the two have been captured.


I have been so far out of the loop with the X-Men universe that I had not even realized that Lilandra was gone and now the empire that she had fought so hard to regain control over during the Phoenix Saga is now gone and in the hands of one her Imperial Guards. Exactly the extent of how much of a big change the empire is going through hasn't been told but we are aware that there is a war going on for the throne and the answer lies within that egg. I can only surmise that whomever has control over that egg remains a control on the throne but I wonder if anyone (other than Deathbird and Cerise) have come to realize that Xandra is in that egg.

Then there is Deadpool. We know we have not quite seen the end of him since he seems to be quite to the interesting character. But what would Deadpool need with the egg? I mean what would be his reasoning. Okay he has a higher chance of being paid by the highest bidder, I get that, but what would be his purpose entirely in this mess. I suppose it has been fun seeing one of Rogue's exs in the mix of things much to Gambit's chagrin.

This series continues to be great fun and I love seeing how Gambit and Rogue continue to get in the thick of things. I am just sorry that they did not have a quiet honeymoon but then again do we really want them to? I cannot wait for the next issue!

Oct. 7th, 2018


[info]katara

| 237 |

Title: Mr. and Mrs. X (2018-) #2
Author: Kelly Thompson Terry Dodson, Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 6, 2017
Book Summary: LOVE & MARRIAGE PART 2!
ROGUE and GAMBIT find themselves tasked with protecting a mysterious package that everyone in the galaxy suddenly seems to want. Why does everyone want this thing and WHAT exactly is it? Perhaps more importantly, is there anything worse than Deadpool crashing your honeymoon? Yes! There is something worse! TECHNET crashing too! Man your battle stations, people -- it's absolute honeymoon mayhem!
Book Review: In this issue Deadpool joins our favorite honeymooning couple as they navigate through space for a mission given to them by Kitty to retrieve a special item.

And what is so special about this item? No one really knows except it is shaped like an egg and worth mllions. Well, millions according to Deadpool whom has joined the hunt for the egg.

Now Rogue and Gambit have to not only hold off alien forces whom have come searching but now they have Wade Wilson to worry about. Unfortunately Gambit isn't quite happy about his appearance seeing as he is one of his wife's ex's.

Okay they are not entirely ex's. They have made out a few times but have never really dated but still Deadpool has come to add to the mix and this seems to make things awkward between Rogue and Gambit's honeymoon romance.

This series has become a lot of fun. One of my favorite pairings has finally walked down the isle and are now making their own way into the world as a power couple. Unfortunately for them they are now wrapped up in something they really have no idea is. The egg itself seems to be something everyone is after but there is no backstory about it so far. So why this egg is special isn't really revealed until the end.

This series continues to become one of the best X-titles that has managed to stand alone from other X-titles and allow Gambit and Rogue the chance to not only shine as individuals but also as a married couple.

Oct. 6th, 2018


[info]katara

Title: X-Men Red (2018-) #8
Author: Tom Taylor, Carmen Carnero (Illustrator), Jenny Frison (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 6, 2018
Book Summary: In the wake of an unprecedented assault on Atlantis, the X-Men must react and recover...while at the mercy of a world that grows more hostile to mutants every day, and a foe who is determined to keep it that way!
Book Review: This issue picks up where issue seven ended.

The world now knows about Cassandra Nova was behind the assassination of the ambassador and the mutant hatred that is currently broiling around the world because of it. Unfortunately for Jean and her crew, this has angered Cassandra Nova and she sets out on revenge against them and releases a swarm of sentinites that would kill off mutant kind.

Jean and Trinary try and locate the sentinites but Trinary cannot do this without help. So Jean has Gabby, a.k.a. Honey Badger, to be the conduit because her mind can handle the many sentinites due to her mutant ability.

It is then Cassandra connects with Jean interrupting their work on taking down the sentinites. Storm pulls Trinary to save her but Gabby's mind is overwhelmed and she ends up falling unconscious. Laura Kenny steps up to the plate and offers to take Gabby's place as Storm heads out to take down Nova.

And Storm finds her and does what she came to do - interupt the link that Nova has made with Jean so that Jean and her crew can finish up their job.

But this fight is far from over especially with the ending of this issue. It is about to become a family affair.

This series continues to surprise me. The series reads more like those thriller/suspense novels that are really popular. Nova is also proving to be the villain that proves to be pretty much more of a killer than that of the other villains the X-Men have faced in the past (except Dark Phoenix. Dark Phoenix was a huge bitch on an emotional trip that sent her out to kill an entire planet of beings). She seems to have no remorse for any life and as she sets her sights on ruining the X-Men name, she doesn't realize that X-Men have "done this, done that and have gotten the t-shirt for it" from the other villains they have faced.

[info]katara

| 235 |

Title: Ripley's Believe It or Not 001 (2018)
Author: Howard Mackie, Fox Kavanagh, Dale Mettam, Victoria Rau, and Ben Meares
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 6, 2018
Book Summary: A 48-page anthology of some of the most phantasmagorical oddities in the Robert Ripley collection, written and illustrated by by an equally mind-blowing mix of comic book legends and rising stars. You'll have to see it to believe it! "A Tale As Old As..." (THE REAL STORY OF BEAUTY AND THE BEAST), written by Howard Mackie and illustrated by Hakan Aydin "I've Been Working On The Railroad" (PHINEAS GAGE, THE MAN WHO SURVIVED A RAILROAD SPIKE THROUGH HIS HEAD), written by Fox Kavanagh and illustrated by Daniel Maine "The Ride Of His Life" (THE DEAD MAN WHO WON A HORSE RACE), written by Dale Mettam "Mother Nature Blew Her " (THE YELLOWSTONE VOLCANO THAT COULD WIPE US ALL OUT), written by Victoria Rau and illustrated by Pat Broderick "49 Lives" (THE CAT WHO COULD PREDICT DEATH), written by Ben Meares and illustrated by Marcelo Basile And 5 illustrated fun fact pages, featuring more juicy tidbits about the stories within this issue and Robert Ripley himself!
Book Review: As a child, television channels were fairly new. We were just getting channels like HBO, MTV, and other great channels that would offer great new material for people to enjoy. One of those great material shows was one called Ripley's Believe it or Not starring Jack Palance and his daughter, Holly, as the shows two hosts. I remember watching this during the weekends with my parents. It was fascinating and filled with interesting facts and some even having demonstrations of various pieces believed to bring innovation to the world. I was sad to see it ended and when it was given a reboot in the nineties, I suppose I was just not impressed with it as I had been with the older version.

However, when I found that this was coming out in comic book form I was thrilled. For the first time, I was seeing my childhood returning and I could not wait to crack this comic open.

In the first issue, we are given four stories.

In the first story called "A Tale As Old As", we are given the tale of the real beauty and the beast set in a Chateau in the north part of France. Here we learn of a young man Petrus Gonsalvus suffered from a condition known as hypertrichosis, where hair grows all over a person's body. He was captured and put on display until King Henry of France saw him differently. Henry saw someone of intelligence and a soul. So he took it upon himself to make Petrus somewhat of special project. He was given a tutor and taught but Henry believed there was something missing from Petrus's life - a wife. Both he and his wife, Catherine, set out to find the young man a bride. At first, the girl outright rejected him but Petrus persisted and in the end, the two of them were married by the King himself. The one telling this tale? His daughter, Antonietta Gonsalvus.

In our second story, "I’ve Been Working on The Railroad", we learn how Phineas Gage managed to survive having his head impaled by a tamping iron‍. Unfortunately the damage it did changed much of Phineas's personality and behavior during the course of the rest of his life.

In our third story, "The Ride of His People", the year is 1923 and Frank Hayes was a horse jockey whom was about to compete in the steeplechase at Belmont Park. Sadly while he was riding a horse named Sweet Kiss, Frank Hayes had a heart attack and died during the race. He is the first dead man to ever win a race.

Our fourth story called "Mother Nature Blew Her", a father tells his daughter what the future would be like if pollution continues to dirty our air and waters.

And our last story called "49 Lives", we meet a cat whom cares little for human companionship but tends to visit those on the verge of death and stays with them until the very end. The cat's name is Oscar and he lives in a nursing home. He visits those whom either have no family or the family is far away and unable to be there during the final hours before death claims their loved one.

To those whom may not know of this series may find some of these true stories utterly bizarre but quite interesting. For those, like myself, whom grew up with these sort of tales on television this is a nice added addition to your collection. Each story is unique and each one told by different artists and given their own spin upon these tales.</i>

Oct. 1st, 2018


[info]katara

| 234 |

Title: The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel: A Story of Sleepy Hollow
Author: Alyssa Palombo
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.25/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: September 24, 2018 to October 1, 2018
Book Summary: When Ichabod Crane arrives in the spooky little village of Sleepy Hollow as the new schoolmaster, Katrina Van Tassel is instantly drawn to him. Through their shared love of books and music, they form a friendship that quickly develops into romance. Ichabod knows that as an itinerant schoolteacher of little social standing, he has nothing to offer the wealthy Katrina – unlike her childhood friend-turned-enemy, Brom Van Brunt, who is the suitor Katrina’s father favors.

But when romance gives way to passion, Ichabod and Katrina embark on a secret love affair, sneaking away into the woods after dark to be together – all while praying they do not catch sight of Sleepy Hollow’s legendary Headless Horseman. That is, until All Hallows’s Eve, when Ichabod suddenly disappears, leaving Katrina alone and in a perilous position.

Enlisting the help of her friend – and rumored witch – Charlotte Jansen, Katrina seeks the truth of Ichabod Crane’s disappearance, investigating the forest around Sleepy Hollow using unconventional – often magical – means. What they find forces Katrina to question everything she once knew, and to wonder if the Headless Horseman is perhaps more than just a story after all. In Alyssa Palombo's The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel nothing is as it seems, and love is a thing even death won't erase.
Book Review: I would like to thank Netgalley and the publisher for giving me a chance to read this book prior to it's release.

I saw this pop up one day on my goodreads feed and thought that since we were nearly on the cusp of one of the most favorite holidays belonging to the Autumn season that this was the best time to take a moment to read this.

And I was not at all disappointed in this book. It had everything from the historical setting of the Sleepy Hollow to the downright ghostly ride of the Headless Horseman. Of course, there is much more of the element of romance lingering between two star-crossed lovers whom share a moment in this mythical setting.

This story is basically a retelling of Icabod Crane but from the point-of-view belonging to the lovely Katrina Van Tassel. Katrina's parent's own the largest farm in the sleepy town of Sleepy Hollow. They often even play hosts to the many people that pass through this lovely town. One day, Icabod arrives in town and Katrina's world is turned upside down by the handsome school teacher. She finds him intelligent and engaging where she never found that with Brom. And even worse Brom is hinting to her father that Katrina would make a lovely bride for himself, something Katrina completely despises. Yet, her feelings for Icabod continue to grow and so do her dreams of the Headless Horseman.

I have always loved the story of Sleepy Hollow ever since I was a kid. I used to love it when October would roll around and Disney would have those Halloween specials which always included The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.

I was even more thrilled when the idea of Sleepy Hollow came to television in a series. Unfortunately they could only draw upon the story for so long before it would ultimately lead to its death.

This book was a wonderful addition to all of that. I was happy to finally see it from another point view - Katrina's. We always see it from others but not really from her. She is everything I had hoped. Lately of all the YA females have been nothing but Mary Sue but Katrina isn't. She doesn't make you think she is perfect and she has her own flaws and faults. Something that had been lacking in the other females of the YA universe. I was so very happy with that.

This book was a wonderful read. It was engaging and kept you turning the page to the very end (unfortunately for myself work kept me from finishing up in a day). This book is worth the read. You will enjoy the characters, the historical Sleepy Hollow, and the Horseman himself.

Sep. 24th, 2018


[info]katara

| 233 |

Title: Bunnicula Strikes Again! (Bunnicula #6)
Author: James Howe, Alan Daniel (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: September 23, 2018 to September 24, 2018
Book Summary: It's happening again. The Monroes's kitchen is littered with the remains of vegetables, drained of all color. To Chester, it's obvious: Bunnicula, the vampire rabbit, is up to his old tricks.But Harold is more frightened for Bunnicula than of him. The poor bunny doesn't look too good. Is he sick? Or just unhappy? Or has Chester finally gone too far in his attempt to make the world safe for veggies?

One thing's for sure: Harold isn't going to let anything bad happen to his long-eared pal -- even if it means leaving the comfort of his home, losing his best friend, and risking his own life. And if he fails -- could this be the end of Bunnicula?

Don't miss any of the adventures of Harold, Chester, Howie, and the vampire bunny, Bunnicula!
Book Review: While in the last book we had no real interaction with Bunnicula due to the Chester, Harold, and Howie were sent to Chateau Bow-Wow where they were met once more with a mystery that needed to be solved. Now they are back home and the Monroes have learned that the theatre where they found Bunnicula is due for demolition.

And what irony is the fact that Dracula will be the last movie to be shown.

On top of all this, Bunnicula seems to have lost that "sparkle in his eyes" whenever the two boys take him out of his cage to play. Harold begins to worry that something may be wrong with him. Chester, on the other hand, knows for certain that Bunnicula is not sick. Chester is just back on his whole "Bunnicula is a vampire bunny and needs to go."

Now Howie and Harold have to stop Chester from taking his plans too far and saving Bunnicula from the fate that Chester has set for him. Will these two succeed? Or will Chester finally realize that Bunnicula isn't that bad before it is too late?

This series continues to be a great and fun read. It is something quick especially if you are in that reading slump as I have been lately. This series has been a nice break from the Mary Sues and Gary Stus of the YA universe. I was happy to see that Chester does redeem himself in this one and becomes something of Bunnicula's protectors. The idea that Chester finally realizes how wrong he is is what I have been waiting for this entire series.

I am glad I took a chance upon this series and found that I really have enjoyed it. I am looking forward to reading the last and final book of this series.

Sep. 19th, 2018


[info]katara

| 232 |

Title: Return to Howliday Inn (Bunnicula #5)
Author: James Howe, Alan Daniel (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: September 18, 2018 to September 19, 2018
Book Summary: HOW DID ROSEBUD CHECK OUT FROM HOWLIDAY INN?

The Monroes have gone on vacation, once again leaving Harold, Chester, and Howie at Chateau Bow-Wow, which Chester aptly dubbed "Howliday Inn" during their last stay there. The motley crew of boarders may have changed, but the creepy goings-on at Howliday Inn have not. A ghostly voice, buried bones, and a collar with the name "Rosebud" on it suggest that murder may have been added to the services offered at the kennel.

A pair of yuppie puppies from posh Upper Centerville, two cat burglars (sisters-in-crime) named Felony and Miss Demeanor, a melancholy Great Dane named Hamlet, and a weasel named, well, The Weasel, join the Monroe pets in getting to the bottom of the mysterious happenings. But will they be able to escape the fate that may have befallen Rosebud?
Book Review: The Monroes are going on vacation and Harold, Chester, and Howie are heading back to Chateau Bow-Wow. Howie is excited about returning to the place of his birth but Chester and Harold have no desire to return to a place where things were weird.

And where is Bunnicula? Well he won't be joining the group. He is going to a friends house to stay.

The moment they arrive they meet several new faces and a mysterious voice that begs for them to release them. A pile of bones and the ghost of a Yorkshire dog named "Rosebud" whom has warned that there is some sort of terrible secret within the walls of Chateau Bow-Wow. Now it is up to the group and their new friends to solve this mystery!

This book was not entirely as good as the first visit to Chateau Bow-Wow but it still ranks up there as a great read. This book will keep you turning the pages until the very end as you try to figure out exactly what the mystery really is this time.

However, I wish we would see more of Bunnicula or even interaction with him. We know he is around but we never see any interactions with the other pets. Still this series is great and I recommend it to anyone whom has children.

Sep. 17th, 2018


[info]katara

| 231 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #21
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator), Elia Bonetti (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: September 17, 2018
Book Summary: DARTH VADER returns to the place of his birth as he seeks the path to his destiny. Echoes from the past reach out to him — both from his own, and from the dark history of the SITH.
Book Review: In our last issue Vader was less than pleased with the gift given to him by the Emperor. In fact, he was downright angry over it. He may not have shown his rage towards his mentor but it was certainly felt. Vader did not appreciate the fact that the gift pretty much reminded him over his human past but it was accepted nevertheless.

Now we find Vader is on his way to the volcanic moon named Mustafar. With him are two members of a design team. Vader has given his team no plans nor has he offered any sort any idea of what exactly Vader wants for his fortress. So now they have to figure something out and come up with an image that will make Vader pleased.

Also with Vader is the Mask of Lord Momin once belonging to a Sith of long past. The problem with this mask is that anyone whom comes into possession of it ends up becoming the possessed. Unfortunately the mask ends up coming into the hands of Lieutenant Roggo whom ends up killing Colonel Brenne. Before Vader kills Roggo, the mask seemed to inspire him in some way for Vader's Fortress. This design seems to appease Vader.

This series continues to deliver when it comes to Vader. Vader has always been a complex and fascinating villain in the Star Wars universe. There is so much to him now that he is wearing a mask. You don't get to see what sort of expressions are playing upon his face but you can feel it is in his stance.

There might not be any combat in this issue, there is still plenty of action. Plus on top of it we are getting to see the mask in a bit of action but my question is: what does Vader plan to do with the mask? I suppose that answer is coming in the next issue. :D

Sep. 15th, 2018


[info]katara

| 230 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #6
Author: Simon Spurrier, Daniel Bayliss (Illustrator), Dan Jackson (Illustrator), Fiona Staples (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: September 15, 2018
Book Summary: Maria comes face to face with the underbelly of goblin society and meets a new companion along the way.
Book Review: As our story begins, we find Jareth unseemingly in a bit of a foul mood. He has ordered the goblin to bring back Toby to him so that the child could watch his sister fail in her attempts to retrieve him. But the goblin believes another singsong number might be a better trick to getting Toby back in a bit of a better mood. The goblin picks up Toby and brings him back to Jareth....

We once more return to the lovely Maria whom has learned she has the ability to manipulate and control the labyrinth with the power of her son's chalk. But she has also learned that she isn't the only one with that ability when the Owl King appeared to remind her of this and takes with him her two friends, leaving Maria alone.

Now alone and devastated by the loss of her friends, Maria feels for a brief moment that all her work is for naught but her love for her son compels her to keep moving forward. She finds the gondola driver whom offered her a ride earlier and she takes that offer now. Once in the boat, the gondola driver realizes Maria no longer has the ring in her possession, he throws her in the water and down into a tunnel. Maria grabs holds of a vine and clings to that until the moment she hears "G'Day". Looking up at a small ledge, Maria finds a pink worm named Cible. She explains her plight and her mission to retrieve her son from the Owl King's possession. The little worm pulls out a tiny saber and slashes the vine Maria is holding onto and the two plummet down into the water together.

The scene changes to the Owl King and his loyal minion, a troll named Septimus, are interrogating Skubbin. Here we learn the truth about Owl King and his relations to Skubbin and what Skubbin's true destiny and mission are revealed in these pages. Skubbin is defiant and will not not betray his friend no matter how much the Owl King threatens him.

As we return to Maria, we find her and the little worm have survived their fall. Here we find the fiesty little worm has a story. She tells Maria that she is part of a revolution against the goblins and the Owl King. As they head toward the castle, they catch sight of mounted goblin knights chasing after Tangle. It seems the walking bush has managed to escape his captors and is being chased by goblins. Maria, whom has had enough of the Owl King tormenting her friends, wields her chalk and draws the goblin knights out of the Labyrinth.

As we turn once more back to the Owl King with Septimus, the king has cast Skubbin back out into the Labyrinth with with a plan to ruin Maria's plan to reunite with her son. Once Skubbin is gone, the the King and Septimus turn to plan what to do with baby Jareth.

What can I saw about this series? It is the best. I have always loved The Labyrinth since I was a little girl and I always wondered what exactly was the backstory for Jareth. There was never anything that came out that offered an ounce of a backstory. Comic books just retold the tale of Sarah's adventures during her run through the Labyrinth to gain back her brother. And books were just a novelization of the movie. So there was never anything as I grew up to tell how he exactly became the Goblin King.

And now here we have something that offers us a backstory. Of course, most of this tale is taken during the time Sarah is running the Labyrinth. It comes from Jareth himself so I am going to assume that someone has told this tale to him when he was a child or he found out some way. Perhaps told that his mother was unworthy and his thoughts. But what about his father? We saw him in the beginning but that doesn't tell us anything about has happened to him since. I am certain he probably doesn't care whether Maria and his son survives or not. So I am guessing we have seen the end of him?

Or have we?

We won't know until the end of this series.

I am hoping that there is going to be more. Don't get me wrong the manga was nice but it seemed a bit rushed with the storyline like mangaka was given a certain amount of time and the product he/she released really offered no true character to the players - Jareth, Sarah, and Toby. So I am hoping that after this we will get more to come.

Still this series is wonderful and I am so happy I continously am picking this up. :D

Sep. 14th, 2018


[info]katara

| 229 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #5
Author: Simon Spurrier, Daniel Bayliss (Illustrator), Dan Jackson (Illustrator), Fiona Staples (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.85/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: September 14, 2018
Book Summary: Maria travels deeper into the Labyrinth in search of her son Jareth, but a strange new influence has changed its shape, making it even more unpredictable…
Book Review: In this issue, it picks up where the last one has stopped.

Here we find Jareth preparing to go out and try to stop Sarah from progressing further in his labyrinth. Before he goes, he continues with his tale of Maria and her journey through the labyrinth to gain back the son her husband gave to the Owl King.

As our scene changes, we find Maria standing before a cemetery. In this cemetery are strange mausoleums. One of these mausoleums bears the name "Tyton". This causes confusion in Maria as she believes the Labyrinth is taking from her dreams and mind. Yet she has never seen a mausoleum that bears the last name of the man whom has broken her heart.

As Maria tries to figure out exactly how the Labyrinth really works, her two friends - Skubbin and Tangle, a living bush - remain nearby to help her should she need it. It is at this moment that a old woman painter appears and seeks her help. Apparently the dead in the cemetery are none too fond of the mausoleums and are harrassing her because of it. She tells them that the Owl King has commissioned his mausoleum to be made as his end of days seem to be dawning upon them soon. Seeing as Maria has the signet belonging to the Owl King, the old woman wants Maria to vanquish the dead so that she may continue her work. Skubbin admits the ring actually belongs to him and takes up arms against the undead.

Maria, on the other hand, gets an idea to use the chalk belonging to her son and begins drawing the face of Lord Tyton on his mausoleum and it turns into a statue. It is then that Maria discovers that she has the ability to alter reality and matter within the Labyrinth. She then turns her attention to the Owl King's mausoleum and begins drawing. Of course this causes cheers from those occupants of the cemetery. The statue of her husband's head luminates and then explodes where the mausoleum once stood.

It is at this moment the Owl King appears before Maria and tells her that she isn't the only one whom has the ability to alter things in the Labyrinth. He goes on to tell her that all her emotions that she has gone through are nothing more than basic reaction and her biggest is to be alone. With this in mind, he takes her two companions and disappears.

This series continues to entertain greatly as we learn the origins behind Jareth's rise to becoming the Goblin King. All of this is being told during Sarah's run. We get to see snippets of Sarah in various areas from the movie in this. Although she is seen sometimes briefly, we still know where she is in progress. We also get to see how Jareth waits for the moment to have his triumph but we all know how it ends for him.

As for Maria, she remains a strong woman despite her circumstances she has found herself in. Even with her son in the hands of the Owl King and the betrayal of her husband, Maria doesn't let this stop her in the least. She carries on and works harder to get her son back.

Although we know how this will end, you cannot help but to cheer her on.

This is series is seriously recommended to all those who are fans of the Labyrinth.

Sep. 13th, 2018


[info]katara

| 228 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #3
Author: Simon Spurrier, Daniel Bayliss (Illustrator), Mattia Di Meo (Illustrator), Dan Jackson (Illustrator), Fiona Staples (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.75/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: September 13, 2018
Book Summary: A young woman journeys deeper into the mysterious Labyrinth and faces trials the likes of which she could never have imagined. Still, she is determined that nothing will stop her from saving her son!
Book Review: I thought I had this one already reviewed but I found that it had not been. I feel horrible because now I have a piece of the story that helped make sense to the next issue in line for it. I will probably have to read the 4th issue later on before I head into the next one after but for now, I am content with having this piece added.

In this issue, we find Jareth still watching the progress Sarah is making. He is waiting, even hoping, for the moment that Sarah will give up and allow him his moment of triumph. While he waits for it, he continues on with his story.

The scene changes to Maria whom is seated and crying in frustration at her situation. At her side, Sir Skubbin of the Garderobe. Moments ago, he saved her from being from a mermaid whom thought she would be a tasty meal to her young. Only afterward did he rob her. Despite all of this, Maria's determination to be reunited with her child keeps her motivated to continue her journey. She runs into the knight again and confronts him, only to learn that he was cursed with a heart. Of course this makes him one of the worst Goblin according to the Goblin standard. He tells her that he robbed her only to prove his worthiness to the Bandit Hordes.

The two part ways as friends and Maria allows Skubbin to keep the chalk she was carrying with her. Skubbin, in return, gives Maria a red ring as a symbol of their friendship and also to be used as passage to the Gondolier to help her get to the castle. Before the two part from each other, Maria shows Skubbin the way out of the Labyrinth before she heads leaves to gain back her son. As Maria makes her way toward her ride, she is stopped by a goblin whom asks her if she is Bundarghast the Invincible. Maria tells the goblin that she isn't the one he seeks. Continuing on her way, Maria has a revelation that the goblin is burning the bridges behind her.

Maria confronts the goblin whom tells her that these bridges are called Burning Bridges. These are meant for those whom tend to those who don't look back until it is too late. The goblin asks Maria again if she is Bundarghast the Invincible. Maria tells him that she is and the goblin suddenly announces she is under arrest and carries her up into the air carrying her away.

The scene changes to the Owl King in his chamber. Alongside him are Beetleglum and Baby Jareth. We also find the mysterious Septimus, whom was the one who stole Jareth from Maria. They are watching Maria get arrested. The Owl King, then, orders Septimus to kill Maria.

This series continues to be great. I have enjoyed reading the origin of Jareth becoming the Goblin King but my heart feels sorry and heavy for Maria. Here is a woman whom had her son taken from her and she is doing everything possible to gain him back by going into a world totally foreign to her. It has been hard for her. Every turn she has taken has become a roadblock on her way to gain back her son but Maria refuses to let it halt her in her pursuit. I find Maria to be quite a strong and enjoyable character. Along the way, she has come across some of the weirdest and strange creatures but each one has continued to make their presence known even after they are long gone from the pages and this is what a secondary character should feel like.

I am excited to find out how all of this ends up tying up and I am hoping that there will be more Labyrinth to come in the future.

Sep. 12th, 2018


[info]katara

| 227 |

Title: Nighty-Nightmare (Bunnicula #4)
Author: James Howe, Leslie H. Morrill (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: September 11, 2018 to September 12, 2018
Book Summary: An overnight camping trip! Not Harold's idea of fun. Too many mosquitoes, ticks and cockleburs. But when the Monroe family set out, their faithful dog Harold was with them, mostly because he remembered that camping could also bring s'mores and toasted marshmallows. Howie, the other family dog, and Chester the cat were also included in the trip. Only Chester thought the idea was completely insane. The woods, he informed Harold, were not only full of cockleburs and ticks, but of spirits, evil spirits who prey on the innocent. And on this, the worst night of the year -- St. George's Eve, when all spirits are set loose -- who knew what could happen. What Harold knew was that Chester was a well read, over-stimulated cat, full of weird ideas. He did not take Chester's worries too seriously. He had s'more to think about. But then, the Monroes set up camp near two strange men and their even stranger dog, and things began to happen that made even Harold wonder. Could Chester be right?

This begins a long night, full of terrors and alarms, full of Chester's horrifying tale of how Bunnicula, the vampire bunny, was born and came to America, full of storms and a total sense of danger; and at the end came surprises that even Chester could not have predicted.

Once again, the Monroe family may be the victims of evil forces or only of Chester's strange imagination. But whichever, the result is suspenseful and very, very funny.
Book Review: I have been trying to keep my promise of reading an entire series before I go onto another book be it single or a series. I hate leaving a series and then coming back to read the book next in line and end up forgetting things that force me to read the entire series again. >>

I have to admit this series has been quite a bit of fun and I am glad I have been keeping faithful to finishing it up.

In this book, we find that Mr. Monroe - with a bit of help from Harold, our little canine narrator for these books - has decided to take the family on a bit of a camping trip. Of course, this means Harold, Chester the cat, and the newest addition to the family a pup named Howie. Unfortunately Bunnicula, the so-called vampire bunny is being left behind. As the family settles in to an enjoyable camping trip, our animal friends decide to go out into the woods only to become lost. For Chester, our ever-loving gothic-reading, conspiracy theorist, decides to use this time to spin a tale of vampirism and a mad scientist.

I don't want to give up too much of the story but this one was once more another fun read. I have really enjoyed these books immensely. I do, however, tend to feel sorry for Bunnicula every time Chester is around. Chester seems to find conspiracy or some sort of evilness in everything. Recently Chester had a belief that Bunnicula was draining all of the vegetables in order to create minions. Thankfully Harold is more the level headed of the two and has saved Bunnicula from whatever plan Chester has made.

This series is really fun and I highly recommend this series to any parent whom is trying to get their child into reading. This may just be something they will definitely enjoy.

Sep. 11th, 2018


[info]katara

| 226 |

Title: The Celery Stalks at Midnight (Bunnicula #3)
Author: James Howe, Leslie H. Morrill (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: September 10, 2018 to September 11, 2018
Book Summary: HARE TODAY, GONE TOMORROW

Bunnicula is missing! Chester is convinced all the world's vegetables are in danger of being drained of their life juices and turned into zombies. Soon he has Harold and Howie running around sticking toothpicks through hearts of lettuce and any other veggie in sight. Of course, Chester has been known to be wrong before...but you can never be too careful when there's a vampire bunny at large!
Book Review: Another really great addition to the series.

In this book, we find our ever-favorite rabbit has returned. This time there is a new addition to the group. A young pup named Howie whom calls Harold "Uncle" and has latched onto Chester calling him "Pop" much to the chagrin of the cat. One day, Bunnicula disappears and vegetables are being found drained of their juices and turned white. Chester believes that Bunnicula is trying to gather minions to take over the world. Armed with toothpicks as stakes, the three set out to stop Bunnicula from gathering an army.

I swear this one was hilarious. I think it is time to take any sort of gothic novels or Stephen King books that cat comes up with sorts of theories that pull poor Harold and Howie into them. I am surprised that Harold has not put a stop to any of Chester's crazy antics and theories. I know he has tried to get Chester to believe that Bunnicula is not always evil but he has never gone out of his way to show that Chester that his crazy theories are just that - theories - and reading into them only causes trouble.

And Howie is a little nice addition to the group. I am really surprised that Chester has allowed him to call him "Pops" and latched himself to him. I can only surmise that somewhere deep within Chester that he does have a soft spot for the pup.

I wish this series had been around when I was a little girl because I would have latched onto it the moment it was in my hands. I like this series but I think the younger me would have loved it more than anything.

Sep. 8th, 2018


[info]katara

| 225 |

Title: Howliday Inn (Bunnicula #2)
Author: James Howe, Lynn Munsinger (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: September 7, 2018 to September 8, 2018
Book Summary: Not a great place to visit, and you wouldn't want to live there.

The Monroes have gone on vacation, leaving Harold and Chester at Chateau Bow-Wow -- not exactly a four-star hotel. On the animals' very first night there, the silence is pierced by a peculiar wake-up call -- an unearthly howl that makes Chester observe that the place should be called Howliday Inn.

But the mysterious cries in the night (Chester is convinced there are werewolves afoot) are just the beginning of the frightening goings-on. Soon animals start disappearing, and there are whispers of murder. Is checkout time at Chateau Bow-Wow going to come earlier than Harold and Chester anticipated?
Book Review: This is the second book of the Bunnicula series. Yet it doesn't even contain Bunnicula in it. This is quite an interesting thing about the book.

But anyway onward!

In this book, we find Chester and Harold are being sent to a boarding place called Chateau Bow-Wow while their family, the Monroes, are going on vacation. Of course, Chester is anything but pleased with this and Harold, well, he doesn't seem to mind being sent there. As the two settle in to the place, there are weird howls and one of the dogs being kept there goes missing. Chester, whom likes to read too much gothic mysteries, believes that it is the work of the werewolves and sets off to investigate. But when Chester goes missing, are there really werewolves at work? Or something else?

This was a rather fun read. I enjoyed this book immensely. Chester and Harold have become a real favorite. These books are really nothing like the show but it is still just as fun to read the antics of Chester and Harold. Although part of me feels sorry for Harold especially having to deal with Chester's vivid imagination; I think Harold should take away Chester's reading material. That cat always has some sort of conspiracy theory when it comes to strange things that go bump in the night. At the same time, Chester's theory does have some sort of substance of having truth to them. Not entirely of the supernatural, of course.

Still I enjoyed this book and I am quite looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

Sep. 7th, 2018


[info]katara

| 224 |

Title: Beast: A Tale of Love and Revenge
Author: Lisa Jensen
Format: Epub
Rating: 1/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: September 7, 2018
Book Summary: Filled with magic and fierce emotion, Lisa Jensen's multilayered novel will make you question all you think you know about beauty, beastliness, and happily ever after.

They say Château Beaumont is cursed. But servant-girl Lucie can’t believe such foolishness about handsome Jean-Loup Christian Henri LeNoir, Chevalier de Beaumont, master of the estate. But when the chevalier's cruelty is revealed, Lucie vows to see him suffer. A wisewoman grants her wish, with a spell that transforms Jean-Loup into monstrous-looking Beast, reflecting the monster he is inside. But Beast is nothing like the chevalier. Jean-Loup would never patiently tend his roses; Jean-Loup would never attempt poetry; Jean-Loup would never express remorse for the wrong done to Lucie. Gradually, Lucie realizes that Beast is an entirely different creature from the handsome chevalier, with a heart more human than Jean-Loup’s ever was. Lucie dares to hope that noble Beast has permanently replaced the cruel Jean-Loup — until an innocent beauty arrives at Beast’s château with the power to break the spell.
Book Review: To begin with this, please take note that there will be spoilers from here. I don't do the whole "beneath this cut is a spoiler". If you are going to go further, then you knew already that reviews contain spoilers and you are okay with them.

When I first saw this being listed as coming out soon, I was really excited. After all Beauty and the Beast was one of my favorite stories. Even when the blurb went up, I became more excited and thrilled that this would be out soon.

And like so many books of late, this will be added to books I cared little for the story and its main female and male characters. All other characters felt flat and one-dimensional.

This story falls Lucie whom is in need of a job and is given a chance at Château Beaumont. There is a rumor going around that the place is cursed but Lucie doesn't have time to believe such foolishness. She is doing her best to be remain invisible and not incur the wraith of Jean-Loup Christian Henri LeNoir. Then one night changes all that and Lucie vows to make Jean-Loup pay for what he has done.

The rape in this story is graphic and three pages long. Even worse we find that she has thoughts of suicide and even goes down to the river to drown herself because she finds herself pregnant. When she is pulled out of the river, an old woman named Mere Sophie gives her something that aborts the child in her womb.

When Jean-Loup is changed into the beast, Lucie starts to develop what seems to be Stockholm Syndrome and even falls in love with him.

Who the hell does that?

I get that she is pretty much left alone with him as he is beast form and she in candlestick (?) . And it is she whom pretty much interacts with him during this but at the same time how could one such as she forget the memory of what he has done to her? It doesn't matter if the beast is something different, it is still part of Jean-Loup regardless. I just did not get it. The whole thing seemed wrong.

The whole book made me cringe. My disappointment level on this book is unfathomable and I glad I was only borrowing this book from a friend. :/

Sep. 3rd, 2018


[info]katara

| 223 |

Title: Bunnicula (Bunnicula #1)
Author: James Howe, Deborah Howe, Alan Daniel (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: September 2, 2018 to September 3, 2018
Book Summary: BEWARE THE HARE!
Is he or isn't he a vampire?


Before it's too late, Harold the dog and Chester the cat must find out the truth about the newest pet in the Monroe household -- a suspicious-looking bunny with unusual habits... and fangs!
Book Review: So Bunnicula has been on Boomrang for awhile and I thought that it would be nice to grab the books to see how much of a difference there is between the book and the show.

First off there is no Mina and definitely no cutesyness that the show has. In fact, it is the Monroe family that finds Bunnicula and brings him home. The Mom names him Bunnicula since they have come back from seeing a vampire movie that evening but then things start happening. Vegetables are turning up white and Chester the cat is becoming increasingly erratic in his behavior. Harold, on the other hand, seems to feel sorry for the rabbit and comes to his rescue when he learns that Chester is keeping Bunnicula from eating.

Our narrator turns out to be the dog Harold and even has the ability to read old Carpathian writing. Our other main character of sorts is Chester the cat whom loves to read gothic tales but when Bunnicula comes into the picture, Chester's demeanor changes drastically and starts accusing Bunnicula of being a vampire. He even goes out to point the fact that the vegetables have been drained of all their color. While we don't really see much of Bunnicula but we do learn that he is a bit of a ninja bunny that get out of his cage to feed on the vegetables.

The Monroes have no idea what is going on and seem to be oblivious to the whitening of the vegetables. They pretty much write it off as bad vegetables from the store and even more they believe that Chester is suffering from sibling rivalry because of the new occupant of the house. So they pretty much are useless.

And Harold doesn't seem to believe Chester one bit. In fact, he just seems to chalk it up as Chester reading too many gothic novels.

This book was a fun read. It is so drastically different from the cartoon. Still I enjoyed it and have picked up the other novels in this series. I just wish this series had been out when I was a kid. I think this book would have definitely been a favorite of mine.

Previous 20