December 2018

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom
Powered by InsaneJournal

Previous 20

Dec. 11th, 2018


[info]katara

| 255 |

Title: Typhoid Fever: X-Men #1 (Typhoid Fever #2)
Author: Clay McLeod Chapman, Will Robson (Illustrator), R. Silva (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 2.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 11, 2018
Book Summary: TYPHOID MARY has returned to Hell’s Kitchen and taken over the neighborhood’s psychiatric hospital, overwhelming Manhattan’s most dangerous neighborhood with her unique telekinetic abilities. When mutants and humans alike get caught in the crossfire, the X-Men have no choice but to intervene… only to square off against THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN?!
Book Review: Okay maybe I should have taken note that there is actually a part one of this series in the form of Spider-Man and set to continue in Iron Fist. Unfortunately I didn't and ended up a bit confused exactly how Typhoid Mary has came into the scene.

Meet Typhoid Mary. You might be familiar with her if you read Daredevil. Here she has escaped a hospital and has begun her assault on the people of New York. Led by Jean Grey, the X-Men appear with the hopes of bringing Typhoid Mary to heel but she isn't going to make it easy. Mary's ability to create false memories ignites the team causing them to turn against each other.

Overall this series did not entertain as I had hoped. Maybe it might be that I may have missed something from the first half but either way I was not impressed. Normally the X-Men's presence is felt in the comic books but this one made them fall a bit flat.

I don't see myself picking up the two issues to this series so I may never know exactly what may happen to Mary Walker but perhaps I never really cared for the character.

If you like Typhoid Mary character, then this series may just be for you.

Dec. 10th, 2018


[info]katara

| 254 |

Title: Merry X-Men Holiday Special (2018) #1 (X-Men: One-Shots)
Author: Charlamagne Tha God, Chris Sims, Chad Bowers, Ed Brisson, Matthew Rosenberg, Kelly Thompson, Rainbow Rowell, Charles Soule
Format: Epub
Rating: 2.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 10, 2018
Book Summary: Twenty-five holiday tales of merry mutants, one for each day of December 1 through December 25! What does Magneto do for Hanukkah? What’s Rogue and Gambit’s first married Christmas like? Is Jubilee truly the master of navigating malls during the holidays? These questions and more are answered as all your favorite X-Men and more creators than you can shake a jingle bell at come together for a holiday celebration to last all month long!
Book Review: Okay so I picked this one because it really seemed kinda cute and I have always wanted to see what the X-Men do during the holidays. Unfortunately I must say I was a bit disappointed in this.

These stories follow a sort of advent calendar and deal with each X-Men during a time period. Although some of the stories are great (i.e. Gambit and Rogue) and some of them just felt sort of rushed or fell really short in their storytelling.

This is a really nice addition to any collection but it is more of a one-read and kept nicely packaged in your boxes.

[info]katara

| 253 |

Title: Mr. and Mrs. X (2018-) #5
Author: Kelly Thompson (Illustrator), Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator), Terry Dodson (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 10, 2018
Book Summary: Gambit and Rogue’s honeymoon/mission has been crashed by the likes of Deadpool, the Imperial Guard, the Technet, Deathbird, Shi’ar rebels…and now the Starjammers! Best honeymoon ever?
Book Review: So this will end the space arc and begin something new for both Gambit and Rogue - domesticated life as a married couple. Of course neither of them had a proper honeymoon given that Kitty had an important mission that needed their attention straight away.

And what had been so important? An egg. An egg that contained the child belonging to Charles Xavier and his late love, Lilandra. Unfortunately it seemed that everyone in the universe far and wide were after this child. She was, after all, proving to be powerful and anyone whom had her could be able to use this to their advantage.

For Gambit and Rogue, this meant going up against the former members of Lilandra's honor guard as well as Deathbird, Lilandra's sister.

As Gambit and Rogue fought off these groups with the help of the Starjammers, both Xandra and Rogue saw no other way but to make the others believe that the two of them had exploded. Even Gambit would be left out from knowing of the plan.

And he would not take it well when it came to the big reveal and he learned that neither Rogue nor Xandra actually exploded. Unfortunately at this time, Rogue's powers go haywire and it ends up kinda scaring her for life. Both she and Gambit reconcile and end up returning to Earth.

This series continues to amaze and I have quite enjoyed this series immensely. I am sad to see that we may not get to see anymore Xandra anymore but I am hoping there is a small chance she might reappear some time later on in the future. She was a rather interesting character and I would love to see how the other X-Men will react to her especially when they learn she is their mentor's daughter.

As for Gambit and Rogue, we will get to see how their domestic life is going to be. We know being X-Men means that married life is never easy for them and I will expect this to be the same for Gambit and Rogue as well. I am sure there might be a time when something may or may not come between them but I hope it doesn't mean that will tear them apart completely.

Overall this is an enjoyable series and if you are looking for something worth reading, then this series will definitely be the series for you. The art is wonderful and storyline has been quite worth immersing yourself into.

Dec. 1st, 2018


[info]katara

| 252 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Under the Spell
Author: S.M. Vidaurri, Michael Dialynas, Sina Grace, Sarah Webb, Boya Sun, Rebekah Isaacs
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 1, 2018
Book Summary: An all new collection of never before seen stories from Jim Henson’s beloved fantasy classic Labyrinth, including the secret history of Sir Didymus and the vow he once made to guard the bridge over the Bog of Eternal Stench.
Book Review: I must say that when I saw this issue I was midly surprised that we are going to get a bigger look into the inhabitants of the Labyrinth. It has been great that we are getting things from one of my favorite movies. I had always wondered what life was like in the Underground and now I have my chance to explore it.

In this issue, we are getting three different stories. All dealing with people and the changes that came to their lives.

In our first tale called "The Eternal Tournament". Here we learn exactly how Sir Didymus and his faithful steed, Ambrosius, came into guarding the Bog of Eternal Stench as well as Jareth's service. A long time ago, one bloodline had been in charge of this bridge but the current generation of said bloodline longs to be free of this burden. So every year there has been a tournament in hopes of changing that. Mariell wants to be free and eventually she comes across Sir Didymus. After a friendly competition, Mariell is finally free and Sir Didymus becomes the guardians of the Bog.

In our second tale called "En Guard!". Ever wonder how Hoggle came to his current job before meeting Sarah? Well this will be the story for you. A long time ago, Hoggle used to be cleaning all the goblin's smelly armour. This is not the job Hoggle really wants but when he runs into a bird whom is the current groundskeeper and talks him into changing jobs. The Groundskeeper also offers some sage advice of places that offer shortcuts throughout the Labyrinth. This knowledge will eventually be brought in to some use especially when Sarah finally arrives.

In our third and final tale simply called "No", we meet a clumsy goblin named No. No has been kicked out of the goblin army after failing miserably at each task he has been given. The poor goblin is pushed away into the unknown edge of the Labyrinth. There he finds a book called "The Sneaky Pirate King", which offers him another job he just may be good at - thieving. No now begins to venture through the labyrinth collecting books. He goes from "No: The Clumsy Goblin" to "Know: the Almighty Moving Library."

These stories were great and it adds a really nice addition of learning more about the inhabitants of the labyrinth. I am glad I picked this one up and I quite enjoy these tales. I am hoping that this is not simply a one-shot and that we will get other stories to come.

[info]katara

| 251 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #24
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator), Elia Bonetti (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 1st, 2018
Book Summary: “FORTRESS VADER” - PART 6 The FORTRESS will stand, but at a terrible cost. The fire will come to MUSTAFAR, and all will burn. The final design is revealed, woven from war, treachery and pain.
Book Review: I must say for this issue to see this side of Vader - enemies at all side trying to take him out and him rally his troops even if it is to their deaths - was something I did not expect.

In our last issue we learned that Momin built the temple with the notion he was just using Vader to open a door to the Force. Completely unaware of this motive, Vader did open the portal into the Force only to be betrayed by Momin whom wanted to use the Force door to gain back his body.

Now in this issue, Vader is up against not only Momin but also those of the planetary inhabitants whom are none too thrilled by the prospect of their planet being used as it is. Vader may have his back to the wall but he is not about to go down without a fight. After all, that would not be Vader's cup of tea and we see this as he rallies his troops to take down the inhabitants whom have come to fight to protect their planet and possibily their way of life before Vader returned.

I must say this issue has it all and it continues to draw readers deeper into Vader's world. I was hoping a big fight between Momin and Vader but it was a bit short. Vader has made it quite clear that it is he that controls his own destiny but how much of that is true? I suppose all the questions that still linger within the readers will have to wait to see if some of them are even answered.

[info]katara

| 250 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #23 (Darth Vader (2017) (Single Issues) #23)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator), Elia Bonetti (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: December 1st, 2018
Book Summary: “FORTRESS VADER” - PART 5 Darkness rises above MUSTAFAR as the brutal designs of LORD MOMIN begin to take shape. But the planet’s inhabitants cannot take this desecration lightly, and shape plans of their own.
Book Review: Darth Vader is on a mission and that mission is to bring back his beloved Padme to him. All this started when his master, Palpatine, gifted Vader with a ship that once belonged to his wife. Palpatine has also allowed Vader to build his own castle and Vader has chosen the place where not only he had been defeated by Obi-Wan so long ago but also the place where Darth Vader had been born.

While there, he found a strange helmet where he learned that it had once belonged to Lord Momin. At one time, Momin had been one of the most dangerous men in the galaxy. He was once strong with the Force but now he is a lost soul connected to a helmet waiting to do the bidding of his master.

But he has promised that he can bring back Padme to Vader.

Calling it his "Masterpiece", Momin has built a temple to bring back Padme. Vader uses the temple to open door into the Force. He nearly succeeds but in the end it is not enough and nearly destroys Mustarfar. For Vader, this is the fifth time that Momin has failed him.

Suddenly a giant monster comes out of the lava and attacks the stormtroopers. The indigenous people are pleased. They do not like the idea of their home world being used as they are doing so. They are easily taken care of.

As Vader watches his castle being built, he tells Momin that there will be no tenth chance to do it over again. Vader has pretty much lost his patience of gaining back Padme and Momin knows this. So Momin prays as Vader once more opens a door in the Force.

He is interrupted by the fleas of Mustarfar. The Stormtroopers engage in a fight with them as Momin walks off but not before telling them to get it done and he didn't care how they did it.

Once again Vader tries to open the door to the Force. And again Vader is interrupted by the arrival of more fleas. He leaves the chambers of the temple and goes out only to find that Momin has betrayed him. Vader is angry at this but before he can go confront Momin, an explosion throws him toward his death.

Inside the temple chamber, Momin is greeting his body and comes out wielding both lightsabers.



This series has been great. I absolutely love the idea that there is still a major part of Anakin that has not actually died. I mean if you consider it, Vader would have never bothered with toying the idea of bringing back Padme to him. In fact, I believe regardless of what Vader says and does that Anakin is still there but it would take a lot of effort to reach the former Jedi.

Unfortunately now Vader has other things that he will have to deal with and one of them is Momin. Momin was not actually building Vader anything. It was more for himself and trying to regain back his former self from deep within the force. Without a corporal body, Momin was stuck attached to the helmet. He knew that by giving Vader a false that he could bring back Padme through the force, he would have his chance when the time came to reclaim his body from the force as well. But the thing is Momin really had no intention of bringing back Padme for Vader.

So what does this mean? Vader is going to have himself a dogfight on his hands against Momin and I am seriously looking forward to seeing how exactly Vader comes out of this fight.

Nov. 16th, 2018


[info]katara

| 249 |

Title: Ripley's Believe It or Not #2
Author: Howard Mackie, Dale Mettam, Ben Meares, Oliver Kaplowitz, Deivis Goetten (Illustrator), Marcelo Basile (Illustrator), Renzo Rodriguez (Illustrator), Moy R (Illustrator) , Fred Harper (Illustrator), Lucas Meyer (Illustrator), Ceci de la Cruz (Illustrator), Roberto Epps (Illustrator), Robby Bevard (Illustrator), Marco Lesko (Illustrator), Fran Gamboa (Illustrator), Jorge Cortés (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 16, 2018
Book Summary: More fantastic tales straight from the vaults of Robert Ripley himself! Told by legendary talents and rising stars alike! 48 pulse-pounding pages of magic and mystery featuring Howard Mackie, the legend of Stingy Jack, Tony Isabella, the inexplicable Winchester Mansion, and much, much more! Even when you see it, you won't believe it!
Book Review: Have I mentioned how much I love this series so far?

Then again I love these type of comics that offer a fascinating look at true stories and what drove people to do the things they did in order to get the outcome either they were looking for or the result that came from the right moment.

Much like the last issue, you are given true stories and offered the tales behind them. This one was no different. So let's get started on these. :D

In our first story, "Framing Sequence", we find a married couple entering into the Ripley's Museum. They are greeted by hypnotic hologram of the collector who tells them to enjoy his collections from around the world. While the wife seems fascinated by all the odds and ends of the museum, her husband, however, is not. That is until he spots an unusal object....

"Egyptian Cats"
In the ancient world of Babylon, King Camnyses has demanded that the daughter of Pharaoh Amasis as his prospective bride. Unwilling to send his daughter but at the same time trying to keep the peace between them, the Pharaoh sends a body double of his daughter to Camnyses. Not fooled by this, Camnyses demands his advisors prepare to go to war. As the Pharaoh waits for the inevitable, Princess Nitocris tells her father that patron goddess Bastet would have protected Egypt where she had been allowed to go to Persia. Now they are about to be invaded....

"Frozen Girl"
In Minnesota, a worried young woman is trying to rush home before a winter storm comes. She races down an icy road more worried about changing the radio station than actually watching the road. In a matter of moments of her eyes off the road, her car comes up upon a rabbit. She serves her car to avoid hitting the animal. The car spins out of control and violently impacts a tree. She decides to run home only to be halted by the strong storm and ended up being frozen. The next day she is found by a man named Wally Nelson, whom whisked her to the hospital quickly.

"Irish Giant"
Meet Charles Byrne, the Irish Giant. He stood at 7 foot 7 inches. At this time, he was considered to be the tallest man alive. He was born to a rural irish couple and while they were happy, their boy kept on growing. As he aged, he continued to grow but he never waivered in his generosity. Charles decided it was time to move and did so by moving to London. There he would find people whom were jealous of his stature including a doctor whom wanted to learn his secrets.

"Winchester Mansion"
The Winchester name is synonymous with the rifles that it created and were used during the expansion of the West. William Winchester met and married a young woman named Sarah. The young couple welcomed a daughter named Anne. The couple were in bliss but that bliss did not last. Young Anne died and her parents found different ways to grieve for her. Her father, William, threw himself into his work and would later pass away himself. Her mother, Sarah, fell into deep depression and upon the death of her husband and child, moved herself to San Jose, California, where she would build the most famous mansion of all. All this due to a medium she consulted and told her to continue to build to keep the spirits at bay.

"Stingy Jack"
In New York City, there was a man named Jack, whom was notorious for bullying the patrons of a pub. The only thing that saved him from the angry patrons was his silvered tongue. One night a stranger appeared. He was dressed finely and easily ripe for the picking and Jack did so. He used the man for drink. After quite some time, Jack learned the man's name and he was quite taken aback when the man told him he could see the blackness of Jack's soul. Of course this makes Jack laugh and tell the man that the only way he would know is if the man were the Devil himself. In which the man would answer with a wicked grin. Time would pass and eventually Jack died. He found the Devil waiting for him at the Pearly Gates and would deny him entry. Jack carved the turnip that he had been buried with and used it to light his way.....

In this second issue, Ripley's story continue to come alive through these pages. They draw you in to the characters and give you a lesson to be learned with each one. I think I have actually found another series to quite enjoy reading. I am really quite looking forward to reading the next issue of this.

Nov. 15th, 2018


[info]katara

| 248 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #8
Author: Simon Spurrier, Ryan Ferrier, Daniel Bayliss (Illustrator), Irene Flores (Illustrator), Dan Jackson (Illustrator), Fiona Staples (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 15, 2018
Book Summary: While Maria and her companions seek refuge among the Goblin rebellion, the Owl King’s plan takes a dangerous step forward bringing the second arc to a stunning conclusion.
Book Review: This story opens with Maria and her ragtag group coming down a ladder as Cible is surrounded by members of the rebellion. Cible has announced that Bunderghast the Invincible is here! This gains the goblins attention but also sends them to murmur rumors amongst themselves. Maria boosts the little catepillar up and Cible claims that it is she that is Bunderghast. Unfortunately this does not seem to impress any of the goblins. Realizing that hasn't worked, Cible makes the claim that Maria is a wizard. Maria makes a crevasse with her chalk which seems to impress the goblins immensely before they decide now is the time for some ale. Add in Tangle for some hugs and you have a bit of a chaos.

Cible has a quiet moment of disappointment. She tried to get the revolution started but it seems to have stalled at this point. Maria admits the same thing...admitting that she done the same thing in the past. She goes on to advise that have to know who you are before you allow yourself to become someone else.

Skubbin, on the other hand, has wandered off. He doesn't want to betray Maria as she has been a wonderful friend to him. A mosaic face appears and taunts Skubbin about his duties and that he cannot avoid them. It is then that Maria finds him and tells him of how she misses her old life of wealth and privilege but nothing like the feeling she has of missing her son.

We return to Jareth where we are given a brief glimpse of what Sarah is up to and apparently she has eaten the forbidden fruit of the peach. He is thrilled that he is about to ruin Sarah as he lays Toby back down in what looks like

The scene changes to Beetleglum showing up and warning that the King is coming. First Septimus appears and chaos begins. Cible urges an attack against him, which in turn caused confusion allowing both Skubbin and Maria to leave.

Maria sees a bright light up ahead of them but Skubbin tells her that it is a trap. He urges her back into the water where the gondolier awaits them. Skubbin pays for her passage just as the Owl King shows up and announces what a good son he has.

Maria sees this as a betrayal and runs into the light.....and right into a drawing room. She is finely dressed and surrounded by the wealthy. And Albert appears with a mask in hand and tells her that feels horrible for the way he has treated her...and that here they are together forever.


This story is now picking up steam as we are coming close to the final chapters of this series. Currently it seems that Maria is in the same sort of position that Sarah is in at the moment. Both are about to face a part of this game that will either make or break them. We know how Sarah's story turns out but not really anything of Maria's. Of course this is a dream. Maria spoke briefly of how much she has missed her life previously filled with wealth and power, something had not had growing up.

So how will all this lead to Maria's failure? This has yet to be seen but we know that Skubbin will have to do a lot to make up for what she has seen as a betrayal. This again seems to echo what Hoggle has done to Sarah when he gifted her the peach. So there is much parallel between Maria and Sarah with the exception of Sarah being jealous of her brother and Albert pretty much selling his son to the Owl King.

This story really is starting to shape up and I am quite looking forward to seeing how this all tidies up.

[info]katara

| 247 |

Title: Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #7 (Labyrinth Coronation)
Author: Simon Spurrier, Ryan Ferrier, Daniel Bayliss (Illustrator), Irene Flores (Illustrator), Joana Lafuente (Illustrator), Fiona Staples (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 15, 2018
Book Summary: While Maria continues to make her way through the Labyrinth, the Owl King’s plot ensnares her trusted goblin companion.
Book Review: Much like all previous issues of this limited series, we find Jareth keeping an eye on Sarah's progress throughout the Labyrinth while offering his tale to both Toby and his servant, Beetleglum. For once, Jareth doesn't hear Toby crying prompting him to confront the servant. Beetleglum, in turn, manages to get his master to leave the poor child alone and continue on with his tale of Maria and her quest to reunite with her son.

Once again we find Maria, Cible the catepillar, and Tangle the humaniod bush, are making their way through a beautiful labyrinth of greenery. During this stroll, Cible asks Tangle if he has revolution in his heart. This seems to make the humanoid bush extremely happy as he tries to hug both Maria and Cible.

It is then that they come across what looks like a little castle/cottage. The group heads in and they find that they are tiny compared to the toys that litter the room. Cible wonders if all human children have this and Maria answers that only children belonging to the rich would. Then one of the toy figures come to life and begins demanding that they name the colonies of Britannia, Until they do, there will be no play. Of course, Maria grew up poor and did not have the education as others did so she would not know any of these answers.

It is then that we find the Owl King watching from his crystal ball of a boy crying as his father yells at him. It is Albert, whom so willingly sold his son to Owl King and the reason now why Maria navigated the labyrinth to gain back her son. We learned recently that Skubbin is the son of Owl King and he really wants nothing to do with the throne. The only way for Skubbin to avoid being placed on the throne is by making sure that Maria fails in her attempts to get to her son.

Speaking of Skubbin, he arrives to save the day and they are taken down to a place below where the rest of the rebellion awaits.

I really love how this series seamlessly manages to merge from one issue into the other flawlessly. Another great thing is that we, much like Jareth, have been able to follow Sarah's progress as well. She might be in the background but we are given glimpses here and there to see where she actually is within the story and I love that.

What I have come to love is Maria's strength and determination throughout all of this. She continues to fight through the labyrinth determined to gain back the son her husband had handed off. To her, there is no failure in her determination and she won't let go of her son without a fight. It doesn't matter what she has to do to get him; only that she is willing to do it.

I also love how the secondary characters have so much personality and seem to be more out there characters rather than background characters. There is much to love about some of them and there are some that are questionable but still have enduring qualities to them.

All in all, I have really come to enjoy this series and I think I will be entirely sad when the series finally comes to its climatic end.

Nov. 14th, 2018


[info]katara

| 246 |

Title: X-Men Red (2018-) #10
Author: Tom Taylor, Paolo Villanelli (Illustrator), Jenny Frison (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.7/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 14, 2018
Book Summary: In the aftermath of a showdown between Jean Grey and Cassandra Nova, the rules have changed — and the battle is nowhere near over! It’s all hands on deck as the building wave of hatred against mutants crashes down on the X-Men!
Book Review: Jean has a message for the world and in her message, there seems to be an echo of the sentiments once belonging to that of Magneto.

Yet the image doesn't really belong to that of Jean Grey. In fact, the message is meant to shatter the innocent image of Jean Grey and prove that she is just like the mutant Magneto sharing the same sentiments of mutants having the superior beings.

Unfortunately the real Jean Grey and her ragtag group of X-Men are sequestered below in Atlantis. For a moment there, Jean seems to be willing to take the bait but it is one of her X-Men, Honey Badger, that actually halts her from doing so and the group plans a strategy that will finally bring an end to Cassandra's reign of terror.

With the help Namor and Tony Stark with the Avengers, the group sets their feet upon the shores of Genosha ready to confront Cassandra.

The cameras are rolling and the world is watching and Jean Grey is set to end Cassandra's reign forever.

Although this portion of the series is meant to be a build-up for the climatic end and hopefully future filled with new villains and different direction of storyline. Don't get me wrong it was great seeing Cassandra Nova. It has been quite a long time since I had been in the X-Universe that I had not realized that Professor Xavier had a twin sister. I don't ever remember ever hearing him mention of her but then again I kinda left the X-Universe during the time of the Onslaught storyline so she might have been mentioned or appeared afterward.

I am really hoping that if this is to be the end of this series that the next issue doesn't disappoint.

Nov. 5th, 2018


[info]katara

| 245 |

Title: Darth Vader (2017-) #22 (Darth Vader (2017) (Single Issues) #22)
Author: Charles Soule, Giuseppe Camuncoli (Illustrator), Elia Bonetti (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 5, 2018
Book Summary: “FORTRESS VADER” continues! The Tale of LORD MOMIN! Plans are drawn…a foundation is laid…and darkness rises on MUSTAFAR!
Book Review: This was yet another fascinating issue of Vader's series.

In our last issue, Vader found Alva Breene dead and her assistant wearing the helmet of the Sith Lord Momin. Vader kills the assistant and takes the helmet. Vader leaves the ship and heads to the cave where he had been previously meditating in. There he asks the helmet what it is and the helmet responds with, “I am Momin. And everything I did was guided by one simple principle.” And with that, the helmet unleashes a psychic outpouring into Vader giving a flashback history belonging to the Sith Lord.

After the history lesson, Vader briefly flirts with the idea of placing the helmet on himself but at a last minute, he decides not to and tosses it to the side. When invaders arrive, Vader engages them. He destroys all but one and places the helmet on them.

I won't go further as I do not wish to give up any ending spoilers but this series is quite entertaining and it continues to entertain while we get to see Vader grow into becoming a real Sith Lord. Vader is a complex character and this story adds another layer especially now that the helmet has a mind of its own.

I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the flashback scenes and I hope that Marvel will divulge a little more into Lord Momin's life. I think that would be quite a fascinating tale to be told.

[info]katara

| 244 |

Title: X-Men Red (2018-) #9
Author: Tom Taylor, Roge Antonio (Illustrator), Jenny Frison (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.8/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 5, 2018
Book Summary: Following the shocking events of X-MEN RED #8, it’s time for Jean to finally confront her demon head-on. Jean Grey and Cassandra Nova... The showdown begins here!
Book Review: Why does this issue feel like it is the last issue for X-Men Red?

In this issue, Rachel Grey, Jean's daughter from a possible not-so-near future, has been taken control of by Cassandra Nova. Jean has decided that it is time to not only face Cassandra Nova on her own but also Rachel. She believes that it best that she do this on her own but her friends are not about to allow her to do this on her own.

This issue was great. I must admit it was wonderful to see the ending conflict between Jean and Cassandra. I am quite sure that this is not the end between them and I am sure we are bound to see Cassandra pop up later in something else.

The reason I point out 'something else' because this issue felt not only rushed to finish up this storyline but it also felt as if this may be the last issue. Is it? I haven't seen anything about it being the last issue but this ending made it feel in such a way.

I really hope I am wrong on this because I would love to see Jean and her team do more and see yet another interesting villain pop up to throw another wrench in their plans to unite both mutants and non-mutants together.

But I guess we will have to see.

Nov. 4th, 2018


[info]katara

| 243 |

Title: Wychwood (Wychwood #1)
Author: George Mann
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: November 4, 2018
Book Summary: Elspeth May, a young female journalist who never seems to be in the right place at the right time, suddenly gets her big break only to find that no one will ever believe her story.

When a local woman is found murdered in her own home, slashed viciously across the throat, the police begin a manhunt of the surrounding villages, unsure exactly of who or what they are looking for. Elspeth, accidentally first on the scene, finds her interest piqued, and sets out to investigate the details surrounding the crime. In doing so she finds herself constantly battling against Peter Shaw, a police sergeant working on the case and under suspicion due to a terrible incident that occurred during a previous investigation. More murders follow, each of them adopting a similar pattern.

What links the victims? And why are some of the local people trying to cover things up?"
Book Review: This book had me at Arthurian mythology and I knew I had to read it.

And I must say I wasn't entirely disappointed by this read.

After a bad break-up, Elspeth May has decided that she needs time to recover and returns home. Upon her arrival, there is a murder in front of her house. Curious Elspeth decides to go find out exactly what has happened and when she does, she finds that there is something vaguely familiar about the pose the murdered woman is laid out as. There at the scene she sees DS Peter Shaw, a childhood friend, and through him, she gets access upon the case. The two start an investigation into the killer whom is becoming known as The Carrion King.

I must say this was a really interesting story. I was truly intrigued by the premise of someone using the Arthurian mythology as a bases for his killings. Although I do admit it was easy to figure out whom the killer was, I still enjoyed this book immensely. I loved the characters. They felt real and their personalities never clashed.

The big thing I did have against this book was that how easy it was for Peter to give Elspeth access to such a big case as this. I get it that she has somewhat solved what the killer was doing with each of the murders but I cannot see anyone in the line of homicide simply willing to allow their childhood friend to help solve it. Yeah, yeah she is an journalist also investigating but that still doesn't give her a right to enter into police business.

Another thing was the slowness of this novel. I understand there needs to be a build-up to the climatic ending but even the ending seemed weak. I had to put the book down a few times during the day and walk away because it was a bit boring to continue.

I am hoping that the next sequel will be a bit more better than this one.

Oct. 18th, 2018


[info]katara

| 242 |

Title: Mr. and Mrs. X (2018-) #4
Author: Kelly Thompson, Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator), Terry Dodson (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 18, 2018
Book Summary: Undercover in the Shi’ar Empire! Rogue and Gambit must infiltrate the Shi’ar homeworld in order to save a precious package. But how are they going to wine and dine the Empire’s elite when its soldiers are hot on their trail?
Book Review: In our last issues, we found our newlyweds enjoying the beauty of outerspace when Kitty called them for a job. Of course, neither Rogue nor Gambit exactly knew what they would be getting into only this was important. Add Deadpool and an egg and you have a recipe for trouble.

And trouble it had become. Inside of the genetically-created egg was the child belonging to the late Queen of the Shi'Ar, Lilandra, and her consort, Charles Xavier. Rogue and Gambit know they have to protect Xandra as best as only they can but there is war raging between the Shi'Ar and those whom have taken over the throne once occupied by Lilandra.

Unfortunately the ship belonging to the newlyweds is attacked by the Shi'Ar whom are after the egg and unaware of what it really contains. Xandra reverts back to the egg during the attack and is taken by the Shi'Ar.

The newlyweds establish an alliance with Cerise whom sneaks them into the Empire to search for the egg. Unfortunately the two are captured but find a clever way to escape and seek out the egg. Xandra has concealed herself into the egg again and when Rogue finds her, she is happy to see them. The group flees Chandilar but find out their ship is damaged and land on Chandilar's moon. During this bit of downtime between the three of them, Xandra confesses she can alter Rogue's abilities. She found this idea while she had been connected to Gambit's mind. This causes a bit of a discourse between the newlyweds.

All of this is cut short when the Shi'Ar Imperial Guard arrives as does Deathbird's group and a fight ensues between them all.

I am not going to spoil that last bit of this issue so I will leave it at that. This series continues to be great. In fact, I have enjoyed Xandra's presence in this series. Her story and character has been an interesting addition to the story. It is just sad that she has become a pawn between those upon the Shi'Ar Throne and that of Lilandra's sister, Deathbird. I think that Lilandra and Charles would be proud of her and the way she has been able to handle herself in these situations and the way she has bonded not only with Cerise but also with Gambit and Rogue.

I am seriously looking forward to seeing the next issue in this series. :D

[info]katara

| 241 |

Title: Raising Trump
Author: Ivana Trump
Format: Epub
Rating: .5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 17, 2018 ro October 18, 2018
Book Summary: In Raising Trump, Ivana Trump reflects on her extraordinary life and the raising of her three children—Donald Jr., Eric, and Ivanka—and recounts the lessons she taught her children as they were growing up.

As her former husband takes his place as the 45th President of the United States, his children have also been thrust into the media spotlight—but it is Ivana who raised them and proudly instilled in them what she believes to be the most important life lessons: loyalty, honesty, integrity, and drive. Raising Trump is a non-partisan, non-political book about motherhood, strength, and resilience. Though Ivana writes about her childhood in communist Czechoslovakia, her escape from the regime and relocation to New York, her whirlwind romance, and her great success as a businesswoman, the focus of the book is devoted to Ivana’s raising of her children. Donald Trump Jr., Eric Trump, and Ivanka Trump will all contribute their own memories to the book.

“Every day, people ask me how I raised such great kids. They are truly amazed when I tell them that there was no magic to their upbringing. I was a tough and loving mother who taught them the value of a dollar, not to lie, cheat, or steal, respect for others, and other life lessons that I’ll share now in Raising Trump, along with unfiltered personal stories about Don, Eric, and Ivanka from their early childhood to becoming the ‘first sons and daughter.’” —Ivana Trump
Book Review: I am not sure how the hell I managed to finish this book. There were moments while I was reading where I wanted to give up and toss this book into the "DNF" pile but I pushed myself. Maybe it was because I was on lunch break at work and didn't want to set another book down into the "DNF" pile again.

A long time ago when I first saw her headlining those grocery store lane newpapers where she first learned of her husband's infidelity with Marla Maples, I actually felt sorry for her because here was a woman whose husband's own mistress presented herself before Trump even had a chance to tell Ivana about her. This was a woman I had a ton of sympathy for and I wondered what would happen to her.

After reading this book, all the sympathy I had for her went right out the window. Ivana wants you to believe that she and her family are like you and me but they are far from it. Before Ivana married Donald Trump, she went from a modest living in communist Czechoslovakia where she modeled and became a competitive skiier. Of course during these hobbies, she had to always report to the authorities but often those integrations that were meant to be long and filled with lengthy questions of places Ivana went outside of her homeland were cut short when she brought back something for those authorities. Later when she was given the chance to leave, Ivana did so and would end up later in America where she would meet Donald Trump.

Although Ivana wants you to believe that she raised her children single-handedly, they were actually raised mainly by the nannies. Oh she did take them to school, spent time with them by taking them with her to work, but it was mainly the nannies that pretty much did everything. Ivana tells you that she was no soccer Mom . She went to events for the children, had parties, but she did not care to associate with any of the parents. From the way she wrote of this made me believe that she felt that was above them and any moment spent in their company would be horrible.

This is rather sad because Ivana pretty much allowed herself to be isolated instead of being out there making friends with parents. Even during the stage of her divorce, she cut herself off from people whom were close to her. I understand that it was a stressful time in her life and she really wanted to give her children a chance of normalcy but cutting yourself off really does add to all those rumors circulating at the time about the divorce. I respect her for keeping her head up and not allowing the tabloids to get the best of her.

I think the only thing worthy of this book were the recipes I found in the middle of it. Maybe one day I will find the courage to try to make them. Maybe.

If you are a fan of the Trumps, then this may be your cup of tea. It really wasn't for me.

Oct. 16th, 2018


[info]katara

| 240 |

Title: The Darkdeep (The Darkdeep #1)
Author: Ally Condie, Brendan Reichs
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 16, 2018
Book Summary: When a bullying incident sends twelve-year-old Nico Holland over the edge of a cliff into the icy waters of Still Cove, where no one ever goes, friends Tyler and Ella - and even 'cool kid' Opal -rush to his rescue... only to discover an island hidden in the swirling mists below.

Shrouded by dense trees and murky tides, the island appears uninhabited, although the kids can't quite shake the feeling that something about it is off. Their suspicions grow when they stumble upon an abandoned houseboat with an array of curiosities inside: odd-looking weapons, unnerving portraits, maps to places they've never heard of, and a glass jar containing something completely unidentifiable.

As the group delves deeper into the unknown, their discoveries - and their lives -begin to intertwine in weird and creepy ways. Something ancient has awakened... and it knows their wishes and dreams - and their darkest, most terrible secrets. Do they have what it takes to face the shadowy things that lurk within their own hearts?
Book Review: Holy....

This book was a fantastic read!

It has been quite sometime since I last dipped my toes into children/middle school genre but when I saw this book and had read the blurb, I had to read it. I am sooo glad I did. This book was worth getting my hands on.

In the first book of a new series, we find Nico, Tyler, and Emma out near Still Cove. The place is considered off-limits because of the all the weird things that have happened there. The group is out there flying Nico's quadcopter when a group of bullies led by Logan come and destroy the quadcopter by sending it out over the cliff. Logan and his group leave laughing but one of their members named Opal decides to go back to Nico and his group to help them find the copter.

Nico's group with Opal now among them discover a houseboat but there is something underneath this houseboat. A pool which is christianed The Darkdeep. Even stranger is that anyone whom goes through this Darkdeep ends up bringing back something - a figment. This can be anything from a fear to a favorite toy.

But each time someone goes through this darkdeep, the figments seem to get stronger and now they have found a way to leave the island. Nico and his friends have to find a way to stop the Darkdeep before something worse happens. Nico will have to turn to his worse enemy for help but will they be able to find out exactly what the Darkdeep really is?

Are you a fan of Stephen King? This book would be for you. Of course the horror is a bit watered down seeing as this book is mainly geared toward a younger reader but it is still worth the read. I cannot stress how much I enjoyed reading this book and even more surprised that this book only took me a day to read especially when I have been working all week. I have to say this book got me through a long day at work.

Seriously pick this book up and give it a chance! You won't regret it at all.

Oct. 13th, 2018


[info]katara

| 239 |

Title: The Lost Sisters (The Folk of the Air #1.5)
Author: Holly Black
Format: Epub
Rating: 3.5/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 13, 2018
Book Summary:Sometimes the difference between a love story and a horror story is where the ending comes . . .

While Jude fought for power in the Court of Elfhame against the cruel Prince Cardan, her sister Taryn began to fall in love with the trickster, Locke.

Half-apology and half-explanation, it turns out that Taryn has some secrets of her own to reveal.

The Lost Sisters is a companion e-novella to the New York Times bestselling novel The Cruel Prince by master writer Holly Black.
Book Review: If this was meant to be some sort of apology letter from Taryn to Jude, it was more of a half-ass attempt and it seemed to be void of any sort of remorse.

On top of all that, she uses writing instead of just going to her sister to explain her reasoning and motivates to her face. This is cowardly and this may do little to remove the damage that may have been done to the relationship between the two.

This letter garned little sympathy from me. I think Taryn deserves her sister's scorn and even more I believe Jude should really wash her hands of her all together. I feel Taryn doesn't really care. I understand that she wants the two of them to be accepted in the fae realm and to be given the chance to live "happily ever after" but the way Taryn is doing it is really going to end up biting her in the ass in the long wrong. She is playing a game of fire and she will get burned especially the way she is stepping over people to get where she wants.

If anything, I am starting to dislike Taryn and feeling sorry for Jude. At least Jude is fighting against it all and trying to set her own course in this world they have been taken to.

Although this was a tiny story, it sets up for the next book in the series and I can only surmise it is a bit of a bridge or something along the lines. This was just too short for me but was a nice read in the end. It helps to understand Taryn just a bit and her motives but it doesn't make me like her in the end.

If you are a fan of this series, then this will be a great read for you to tie you over for the next book. :D

Oct. 8th, 2018


[info]katara

| 238 |

Title: Mr. and Mrs. X (2018-) #3
Author: Kelly Thompson, Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator), Terry Dodson (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.8/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 8, 2018
Book Summary: LOVE & MARRIAGE PART 3!
ROGUE and GAMBIT'S romantic getaway is but a faint memory as they're forced to team up with DEADPOOL to protect a dangerous and extremely valuable "package" when half the galaxy comes to claim it. What secrets does the package hold that the Imperial Guard and Deathbird (with an entire Shi'ar rebellion in tow!) will risk everything for? More importantly, can Rogue, Gambit, and Deadpool stop bickering long enough to win?
Book Review: In this issue, we finally see what is so important about the egg that Gambit and Rogue now have in their possession that everyone else is after.

Before we begin the discussion of the egg, we see the Shi'Ar power has shifted since the death of Lilandra. In her place, her once leader of the Imperial Guard has risen to power and rules over all. Gladiator is also interested in the egg and orders it be taken from Gambit and Rogue and brought before him.

Meanwhile, Rogue is less than happy with Kitty as she gives her an update. She is upset that Kitty did not tell her and Gambit that the thing they were after was an egg and in that egg contained the child belonging to Professor Charles Xavier and the late Queen Lilandra. The child, having mind linked with both Gambit and Rogue to learn about her parents, has decided to call herself Xandra.

About this time, Deathbird's ship appears and begins firing on them. Rogue sends Gambit and Deadpool to teleport to the ship while she tries to out maneuver their ship out of harm's way. Gambit and Deadpool head over to take down the Imperial soldiers. Beforehand, Gambit hands Wade his staff telling him not to kill anyone.

When the fight is over and they reach where Deathbird is at, she confesses the reason she wanted the egg was to have Lilandra's child at her side while trying back the throne from Gladiator. Gambit is not happy to hear how Deathbird is willing to use her own niece as a pawn in these games but Deathbird tells them that the Shi'Ar are at war. He also warns Deathbird to gather her soldiers and get out of here before tossing telekentic cards to destroy the ship.

When Gambit and Deadpool reappear back on the ship, Rogue decides that Wade is too much for them and places him on a planet to recover from his wounds. Of course, Deadpool is not entirely thrilled with the idea of being left behind like this but Rogue doesn't give him much of a choice in the matter.

Out of the blue, Nightside appears and takes Xandra, whom has reverted back into her egg form.

Cerise appears. She knows where they have taken Xandra but she is unable to go as the Shi'Ar are hunting her as well. She tells them that she has a strong connection to the egg since it had been in her possession prior to it falling into the hands of Gambit and Rogue. The newlyweds tell Cerise that no one other than she and Gambit have knowledge of what Xandra looks like outside of the egg.

Gambit and Rogue prepare to go on a rescue mission to retrieve and reflect on how this was not the honeymoon they wanted.

And at the end, we find the two have been captured.


I have been so far out of the loop with the X-Men universe that I had not even realized that Lilandra was gone and now the empire that she had fought so hard to regain control over during the Phoenix Saga is now gone and in the hands of one her Imperial Guards. Exactly the extent of how much of a big change the empire is going through hasn't been told but we are aware that there is a war going on for the throne and the answer lies within that egg. I can only surmise that whomever has control over that egg remains a control on the throne but I wonder if anyone (other than Deathbird and Cerise) have come to realize that Xandra is in that egg.

Then there is Deadpool. We know we have not quite seen the end of him since he seems to be quite to the interesting character. But what would Deadpool need with the egg? I mean what would be his reasoning. Okay he has a higher chance of being paid by the highest bidder, I get that, but what would be his purpose entirely in this mess. I suppose it has been fun seeing one of Rogue's exs in the mix of things much to Gambit's chagrin.

This series continues to be great fun and I love seeing how Gambit and Rogue continue to get in the thick of things. I am just sorry that they did not have a quiet honeymoon but then again do we really want them to? I cannot wait for the next issue!

Oct. 7th, 2018


[info]katara

| 237 |

Title: Mr. and Mrs. X (2018-) #2
Author: Kelly Thompson Terry Dodson, Oscar Bazaldua (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4.9/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 6, 2017
Book Summary: LOVE & MARRIAGE PART 2!
ROGUE and GAMBIT find themselves tasked with protecting a mysterious package that everyone in the galaxy suddenly seems to want. Why does everyone want this thing and WHAT exactly is it? Perhaps more importantly, is there anything worse than Deadpool crashing your honeymoon? Yes! There is something worse! TECHNET crashing too! Man your battle stations, people -- it's absolute honeymoon mayhem!
Book Review: In this issue Deadpool joins our favorite honeymooning couple as they navigate through space for a mission given to them by Kitty to retrieve a special item.

And what is so special about this item? No one really knows except it is shaped like an egg and worth mllions. Well, millions according to Deadpool whom has joined the hunt for the egg.

Now Rogue and Gambit have to not only hold off alien forces whom have come searching but now they have Wade Wilson to worry about. Unfortunately Gambit isn't quite happy about his appearance seeing as he is one of his wife's ex's.

Okay they are not entirely ex's. They have made out a few times but have never really dated but still Deadpool has come to add to the mix and this seems to make things awkward between Rogue and Gambit's honeymoon romance.

This series has become a lot of fun. One of my favorite pairings has finally walked down the isle and are now making their own way into the world as a power couple. Unfortunately for them they are now wrapped up in something they really have no idea is. The egg itself seems to be something everyone is after but there is no backstory about it so far. So why this egg is special isn't really revealed until the end.

This series continues to become one of the best X-titles that has managed to stand alone from other X-titles and allow Gambit and Rogue the chance to not only shine as individuals but also as a married couple.

Oct. 6th, 2018


[info]katara

Title: X-Men Red (2018-) #8
Author: Tom Taylor, Carmen Carnero (Illustrator), Jenny Frison (Illustrator)
Format: Epub
Rating: 4/5
Status: Finished
Reading Date: October 6, 2018
Book Summary: In the wake of an unprecedented assault on Atlantis, the X-Men must react and recover...while at the mercy of a world that grows more hostile to mutants every day, and a foe who is determined to keep it that way!
Book Review: This issue picks up where issue seven ended.

The world now knows about Cassandra Nova was behind the assassination of the ambassador and the mutant hatred that is currently broiling around the world because of it. Unfortunately for Jean and her crew, this has angered Cassandra Nova and she sets out on revenge against them and releases a swarm of sentinites that would kill off mutant kind.

Jean and Trinary try and locate the sentinites but Trinary cannot do this without help. So Jean has Gabby, a.k.a. Honey Badger, to be the conduit because her mind can handle the many sentinites due to her mutant ability.

It is then Cassandra connects with Jean interrupting their work on taking down the sentinites. Storm pulls Trinary to save her but Gabby's mind is overwhelmed and she ends up falling unconscious. Laura Kenny steps up to the plate and offers to take Gabby's place as Storm heads out to take down Nova.

And Storm finds her and does what she came to do - interupt the link that Nova has made with Jean so that Jean and her crew can finish up their job.

But this fight is far from over especially with the ending of this issue. It is about to become a family affair.

This series continues to surprise me. The series reads more like those thriller/suspense novels that are really popular. Nova is also proving to be the villain that proves to be pretty much more of a killer than that of the other villains the X-Men have faced in the past (except Dark Phoenix. Dark Phoenix was a huge bitch on an emotional trip that sent her out to kill an entire planet of beings). She seems to have no remorse for any life and as she sets her sights on ruining the X-Men name, she doesn't realize that X-Men have "done this, done that and have gotten the t-shirt for it" from the other villains they have faced.

Previous 20